X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Brisbane - Central Reviews

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
929 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I enjoyed my stay at this place, can only recommend to others. Cool!

  • 13th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review Base Central Brisbane. Were glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels from the Base Central crew.

77%

It was often seen the lift use to get stuck on 3rd and 4th floor because the door of the lift was malfunctioning properly due to which guest need to use the staircase to goup . Regds Nitesh

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

EXCELLENT location - EXCELLENT staff (very friendly and energetic) - EXCELLENT Value for money The main problem I had was with the SWIPE KEY - it would not work (reliably) for me with the ladies wc/bathroom - which meant I had to walk a long way (downstairs) to use these facilities. I brought it to the attention of one of the reception staff, and they checked the card and reloaded(?) it, but it was still unreliable for use with the wc/bathroom facilities at level 4.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and let us know your thoughts on the hostel this information is invaluable so we can make improvements to the hostel. It's great to read you found our staff's service and help excellent. We have fixed the card reader on the bathroom. Thanks again safe travels from the base Brisbane crew.

69%

The atmosphere is poor because even if there's an awesome rooftop terrace, it is forbidden to smoke there, so all people basically gather in the street besides the hostel =/ It is also forbidden to drink anywhere in the hostel, so that there is virtually no atmosphere. The hostel is incredibly NOISY due to extremely powerful ventilation systems that buzz like hell the whole time. If you pick a private room, be prepared ! The staff is friendly. All in all, just an average hostel

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

It's Base.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We hope you enjoyed your stay at Base Central. Travel safe. Base Brisbane Central.

80%

The continuos broken showers were a bit off putting, but don't know how to stop that

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review Base Central. We were working on a shower room during your stay this work has finished, we do apologize for the inconvenience this caused. Safe travels from the Base Central Crew.

51%

No alcohol allowed, almost no plugs in the room, bad beds making a lot of noise, no air conditioning and impossible to open the window, impolite staff The bar and the location are good, but it doesn't worth the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. I am sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay at Base Central. The hostel is a licensed premises so it is against the law to allow alcohol upstairs. We have addressed the issue of power points in the rooms where there were not enough. It's good to read you enjoyed the bar.

54%

The room itself was clean but on arrival the corridors were filthy and there was a foul smell throughout the 2 night stay. The corridor ceilings were leaking with buckets to collect the dripping water everywhere. The hostel itself really needs a lick of paint as I expected it to be up to the standard of other Base hostels which I have otherwise always found to be very good! Very disappointed with the state of the hostel. The reception staff were also not very friendly or helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. At the time of your stay Brisbane had a severe weather storm we were able to fix all the area's were water had leaked. You will be glad to hear that the hostel is being painted. Safe travels from the Base Brisbane Crew.

49%

Beautiful building from the outside, complete dump on the inside. It was raining while we were there (standard for Queensland) and they had to cope by putting buckets and towels in the hallways to deal with the leaks. The toilets were constantly dirty and half the showers were broken. Save yourself the pain and misery and go elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback, we take all of our guest’s feedback negative or positive on board so that we can make any necessary improvements and improve our service for our guests. We would like you to know we are going through major refurbishments including the bathrooms and showers and the leak we had has been fixed. Safe travels from the Base Central Team.

71%

The location is fantastic for a backpacker but every corner you turn there is water dripping from the ceiling. I can tell that if they don't sort that out then they won't pass safety and cleanliness regulations.

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking time to leave feedback. The aftermath from the storm that hit Brisbane was felt everywhere. Were glad to say our maintenance team has fixed any issues. Our location is very handy, making it easy to navigate and get to know Brisbane. Safe travels from the Base Central Team.

31%

Just bad.. Very bad...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Zeev, I see you left a bad score but did not leave any specific reason as to why in your comments. We would love it if you were able to give us a bit more insight about your stay. Please feel free to contact us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Thank-you, JM

77%

Clean but really hot room without airconditioning. Very close to all highlights


1 2 Next » last »
(32 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback