X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Brisbane - Central Reviews

308 Edward Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
1006 Total Reviews
  • 67%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 61%Cleanliness
  • 64%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Had great time, the staff were helpfull and friendly, the rooms were comfortable and good value for money, facilities were basic but adequate for what we needed. Location was excellent, we are looking forward to our next visit

  • 12th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff very helpfull. Love the building and the lift.

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Aged building with atmosphere. Central location good. Lift was an experience and much commented on. Cleanliness was average but the bed well made and suited me. Clean starched cotton sheets. Did not use kitchen, but did look in and it was very busy at 1700 hrs. Desk staff helpful but busy. Cheerful nature. Thank them for the upgrade without being asked. Enjoyed my brief stay. Thank you.

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Location is really good and it gives good discounts for bar downstairs on food and drink. We stayed in a four bed dorm but there were only two lockers. The place is noisy at night and extremely hot so if you want to chill then this is not the hostel but if you want to go out then it's perfect. Bed linen is very old and kitchen too small for amount of people but the food offers in the bar are very cheap. A very good steak for $9 on a Monday.


69%

Lovely staff. However, this is truly a backpackers hostel. Thin walls, shared bathrooms and a basement bar that holds events, basically every night. If you just need a bed to sleep on, that's in the middle of town and adjacent to a train/ subway station, then this establishment is fine enough (bring ear plugs and eye mask if you wish to have a decent enough sleep). If you're used to 3 star accommodation and above, I suggest you look else where.

  • 22nd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving a comment. We do promote Base Central as a party hostel, somewhere to make friends and have a good time. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon. JM

71%

Good place to stay for a few nights while in the city


66%

Just another standard hostel. Bathroom facilities and cleanliness are terrible but you expect this as its a hostel. Room was very spacious but also very basic. The lift is extremely hard to operate when you have bags as you have to open and close the doors yourself. The rooftop terrace is pretty cool however and the bar next door does very good quality meals and drink for the price.


71%

The hostel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Brisbane. The main door locks at night with key card access and all rooms use key cards too. I paid for a 10 bed dorm and was upgraded to a 4 bed dorm. The dorm had lockers and was cleaned every day although I don't think it was necessary to Hoover the room every morning. The rooftop area could of been great but didn't permit smoking or drinking alcohol so it was a bit pointless at night.


69%

Cleanliness is shocking, toilets are disgusting. If you want sleep dont stay here, the sound from the nightclub underneath can be heard. I was in town for the night and just needed something cheap and central. Brisbane central station is across the road so very convenient.

  • 13th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are surprised to hear that you think are toilets are 'shocking', the toilets are cleaned by professional cleaners twice a day. We also have staff checking our toilets quite regularly. Due to the high volume of guests using the bathrooms, sometimes they do seem over crowded. We do have the best located hostel in Brisbane with Central station only across the road. Thanks, JM

83%

+ Nice, easygoing, and helpful staff + Activities + Location right in the middle of Brisbane - Rooms are very small - Facilities are worn Activities every day add to the atmosphere. The staff is very young and easygoing. The location in Central Brisbane couldn't be any better! You basically got everything you need, if you are ok with a spartan room. Nights can be expensive depending on season. The room has a comfortable bed and is clean and there is a single outlet and a fan on the ceiling.

  • 5th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed the free activities, friendly staff and our great location! JM

69%

A place to stay for a short term!

  • 29th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review, we agree that any hostel is a place to stay short term! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, JM

57%

I can't recommend this hostel. My room was smelly, sheets were dirty and only 2 lockers in 4 bed dorm. Most of the staff were rude and it took ages to check in and out. You can hear everything through doors and the hostel it pretty loud. Really didn't enjoy my stay, and it didn't help that the people I was shearing my room didn't respect others at all. Maybe just bad luck.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. If you told reception then we would have been happy to move you to a different room. Surprised to hear that you thought our reception staff were rude, as you can see from all of our other reviews, people generally find our staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we can not make all guests respect other peoples belongings. I am glad to see that this unfortunate experience has not prevented you from staying with us again from your other bookings.

20%

very poor i spent three hours on the train after booking my accommodation i with with a friend who was meant to go out with me in Brisbane he wasn't even allowed in the room so when i asked for a refund they refused to give me one i was disgusted in the service and i will not be going there again

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Like most hostels in Australia, we do not allow guests in the rooms for security reasons. This is to prevent acts of theft or vandalism. It can be unsettling for most people to have people in your room who have not checked-in, shown I.D. or paid to be there. I am sure you can respect our decision. Thanks, JM

49%

Overcrowded or understaffed at busy periods, took so long to check everyone in and everyone out. got given an apparent upgrade to a 4 bedroom. The room was 2 jammed together bunk beds in a horrible orange room with 2 plugs to share between 4. One of the beds didn't have a window and instead had a mesh cage letting a constant breeze in which caused one of us to become ill. Above the door is a similar thing to the window meaning you hear every footstep and whisper. Lack of toilets and dirty shower

  • 25th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Unfortunate to hear about your check-in/out experience. I can see that you checked in at 2:18 PM and checked out at 10:01 AM. These are our peak times and when we are most busiest. We are a busy hostel with 400 guests. I'd suggest checking in/out when there are less people in reception. Luckily we have 2 fantastic bars to drink in downstairs while you wait. Thanks, JM

46%

Would not recommend staying here. There were two people living in one bed in our room. There were only two lockers in a four bed room. When we arrived, the beds weren't made. After requesting they be made, we were given loose sheets to make them ourselves. Staff were hit or miss for helpfulness. Music from nightclub can be heard even on the highest floor. Location was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience. We do have a great club downstairs. Always good to report to reception if someone is in your room that shouldn't be, it will be dealt with immediately. Thanks, JM

86%

Such a nice hostel. The rooms were fantastic, spacious with a balcony and great en suite. The only down side was that at night people hung about in the corridors making an awful lot of sound, the 4 people in my room asked them to be quite or go to there room but the commotion continued. But otherwise a great place to stay

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks so much for leaving a review. All noise complaints are taken very seriously, and once reception is notified they deal with the situation immediately. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our balconies. We hope you get the chance to stay with us again. Thanks, JM

71%

Really good location, good facilities and rooms were fairly clean. had a free walking tour around the city which is really helpful, however a number of members of staff were very rude and unhelpful. you also have to pay to store your luggage after you check out. overall a good hostel, would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Base Central. We are shocked to hear that you felt staff were unhelpful. We hope we can redeem ourselves the next time you are here. Thanks, JM

86%

Great staff & good events

  • 13th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for leaving a review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks, JM

83%

Staff are very helpful, nice place and good for what they charge.

  • 25th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location, but the noise nightclub downstairs is a bit to much if you have been on a long journey and need some sleep! Staff are really friendly helped straight away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are glad to hear that our staff were super helpful! We do provide ear plug to anyone who has trouble sleeping at night. Enjoy your travels! Regards, JM

(46 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback