Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane - Embassy

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 439 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.7
Base Brisbane - Embassy Located at 214 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Qld. 4000, Brisbane.
Base Brisbane - Embassy
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 214 Elizabeth St, Brisbane, Qld. 4000
73% 439
-27.4691542 153.0272126
Base Brisbane - Embassy
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Dec 2016
7.4

Locaion is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Dec 2016
7.1

staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we were put into the wrong room first of all so after my friends card didn't work it was a bit annoying to find we had to move again. First room had good lockers and beds. In second room the drawers under the bed weren't secured in so no lockable storage and beds were less stable. Kitchen was unbearably hot, no aircon. Good location. Air con in room very good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
6.3

Very noisy. Heavy security doors banging all night long as people come and go. Old rooms. Clean and good bathroom. Close to CBD and Transport.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
7.4

We stayed here for two nights during our journey up the east coast. When we arrived it was late at night and the reception staff weren't that helpful, they didn't explain anything about the hostel to us. The wifi is only free in the reception between 7am and 7pm, website says free wifi, I expected free wifi in the whole hostel, this was a bit misleading. Also the reception staff failed to explain that we had to pay a deposit for cutlery. Overall good stay but room for improvement!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

I did not explore the hostel beyond the reception, my dorm, and the bathrooms, but I was very satisfied. Reception was friendly and nice, the bed was comfortable, and the room and bathrooms were clean. I was in town for a concert at Riverstage, and the property was very easy to get to and from the venue, which allowed me to return back to the area the next day to kill time before my flight at the botanical gardens. Transportation, shops, and restaurants nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.7

Great location, very helpful staff. 24 hr reception makes it easy to checkout for an early flight or train. Bunks clean and comfortable (linen supplied). Dorms have a 'nightlight' so the main light doesn't have to be turned on when others come in and you are sleeping. Good hot showers. More of a 'stopover hostel' than a party hostel. Good all age hostel. Would stay deffo here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Nov 2016
8.3

Great Hostel! Great Location - woolworths just around the corner. Very clean room. Staff are friendly. Kitchen lacks general utensils. Showers could do with some attention. Overall great hostels and would highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Sep 2016
4.0

Security was basic at its best, there are no lockers in the room, meaning you must store your goods elsewhere in the hostel. Upon arrival, I was greeted quite rudely, gave them my details etc, only to have the front desk person answer a call with a colleague and stay on that call for 10minutes. The person did not apologise. I also awoke in the middle of the night to a cockroach climbing on the wall. I have stayed in many hostel around the world but this was definitely the worst. Poor effort.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • UzairButt
  • Pakistan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2016
8.6

Great place to stay. Neat and tidy, and great staff. A clean big kitchen is one of the things I like the most. Met some great people from around the world too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
7.4

This is a very basic place but the location is great. I was not impressed by the bed, the pillow may as well have not been there, but you get what you pay for and the staff were very friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.