Hostelworld.com

Base Brisbane - Embassy

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 457 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.3

Good enough for a place to crash for the rugby but the rooms had serious smells going on. Lots of door slamming. Smokers on the balcony was annoying st dinner time too despite all the no smoking signage.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Feb 2017
7.4

Wifi only worked 6am - 6pm in the reception only. If you wanted it in your room you had to pay extra. Rooms were generally clean but staff could improve there local knowledge to assist tourists on activities to do in the city or surrounding areas.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.9

the staff were great. the place is well maintained n cleaned. Its as clean as a hotel. kudos for all cleaners there! security is great you literally need access key everywhere you go even to the toilet! the location right at the central. yet it is not noisy at night as the place r surrounded by shopping malls n offices instead of bars n pubs. Right beside hilton cbd. u cant get better place than that. cons: limited wifi at the tiny reception area till 6pm only. the slamming doors are annoying!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • andrewlochrie
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
26th Jan 2017
6.0

Pros - really central location. Easy to get most places in the city. Staff were always pleasant but not overly helpful. Cons - no lockers in room. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and there was only 2 sockets in the whole room?! One of the only 2 sockets had a fan in it because there was no air con controller. zero atmosphere here. Kitchen was alway dirty and like a hot box. Rooms were cleaned daily but just a once over with a hoover.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
9.1

The staff was very nice and helpful, the hostel has all the facilities you need, and it is right in the middle of town! Just great :-) Only annoying thing is that there is only free wifi in the reception from 6am to 6pm in the reception - if you want it in the evening or in your room, you have to pay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
21st Jan 2017
10.0

The hostel did just what it said on the tin, we would definitely return! Jess and Nathan were most helpful accommodating our needs! Great location, lovely staff!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
7.4

Locaion is good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Dec 2016
7.1

staff were friendly and helpful. Unfortunately we were put into the wrong room first of all so after my friends card didn't work it was a bit annoying to find we had to move again. First room had good lockers and beds. In second room the drawers under the bed weren't secured in so no lockable storage and beds were less stable. Kitchen was unbearably hot, no aircon. Good location. Air con in room very good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
6.3

Very noisy. Heavy security doors banging all night long as people come and go. Old rooms. Clean and good bathroom. Close to CBD and Transport.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Nov 2016
7.4

We stayed here for two nights during our journey up the east coast. When we arrived it was late at night and the reception staff weren't that helpful, they didn't explain anything about the hostel to us. The wifi is only free in the reception between 7am and 7pm, website says free wifi, I expected free wifi in the whole hostel, this was a bit misleading. Also the reception staff failed to explain that we had to pay a deposit for cutlery. Overall good stay but room for improvement!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.