Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 628 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 628 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.7
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Located at 462 George Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 462 George Street
74% 628
-27.4672170 153.0197265
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jan 2017
5.7

Great location (next to transit centre an short walk from downtown). Reasonably clean. Free wifi is a lie. No lockers. Charge for luggage storage. Rooms directly above the bar, so don't expect peace and quiet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th Jan 2017
4.9

Hostel room was what you would expect, 6 dorm was extremely cramped an no lockers for your items, so 6 bags plus beds an people was a squeeze. Great location and upbeat staff, worth a stay of you don't mind the above conditions an are only stopping for a short time

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.7

Best hostel we stayed in in Australia so far. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was amazing (double ensuite) and had air con. The pub attached is cool and has great food. The slight mark down on facilities was just because the kitchen could have been slightly better equipped and a little bigger considering the size of the hostel. Everywhere was very clean though. Directly opposite transit centre so really easy to get around.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
7.4

Nothing fancy, but does the job!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

Great place to stay. Arrived at 4am and emailed to tell them we were checking in later than usual. The staff member on shift moved our check out time from 10am to 12pm so that we could get a couple of hours extra sleep. We stayed in a private double room with en suite. It was definitely value for money. Couldn't fault a thing about this hostel. Would recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.0

I was only there one night but it was nice and clean. They changed me from a 4 female to a 6 female which was fine but I wasn't really sure why that was necessary. The bathroom was nice to have as an ensuite.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Dec 2016
6.0

Staff on the front desk knew nothing about Brisbane when I asked him, felt like the place was run by kids. Kitchen, dining and TV area were bland and uncomfortably hot, no opening windows meant horrible air conditioning everywhere (rooms as well). If you can get past this then the location is great for central Brisbane and the South Bank and brilliant for the Transit Station (100 meters max.) and it was very cheap for such a central location. I have no doubt there are better hostels however.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
9.4

COLD SHOWER/// STRENEOUS EXERCISE FIRST UP /IAN

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
21st Dec 2016
9.7

Great hostel, just across the road from the greyhound stop which was helpful and not too far from the centre. Knew we'd have a good time here as soon as Ashleigh checked us in, she was so friendly, as were all the staff here. Great bar downstairs which we spent most nights in. Would recommend this hostel to anyone, stayed here 2 weeks and would happily go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
9.4

Awesome front of house staff and good activities in the bar attached. Beer pong winner right here!! Was upgraded to a 6 bed dorm even though I only booked the 13 bed dorm so was pretty happy. Will be back to try the the hot wing challenge in the bar when I finish my year in Oz.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.