Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2017
4.6

This is the worst hostel I've ever been to. The room stank of mould and feet. The bathroom was in a bad shape as the rest of the hostel. Really old building. The kitchen was a disaster; only two stove top out of four were working, that's a problem when a lot of people try to cook at the same time. They have free pancakes on Tuesdays but you have to be on the list (no one tells you about that) only to run out after 10 people have been served.Positive point: you get a discount at the pub next door

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
9th Jun 2017
7.1

A great location, with friendly staff and good facilities. However the taps in our bathroom didn't work and there was no lockers for valuables.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th May 2017
5.7

Noisy because of the bar. No free wifi. This is 2017, are you kidding? 5$ for breakfast should've been free.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for your review. We do have a bar on site that most nights shuts before 12pm. We do try to keep the noise from this to a minimum however we also like to give our guests somewhere fun to go! Our wifi is FREE in the reception from 7am-7pm and you can use as much as you like. Our $5 is super good value as it is all you can eat however on a Tuesday we do have FREE pancakes. We hope you pop back so we can show you why we are an awesome place to stay! Thanks Base

13th May 2017
7.1

Stayed here for 1 night, good location right by the bus station and tube so easy to get around! Rooms were ok and showers were powerful but not that clean. Overall it was pretty good and would probably stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thank you for leaving us a review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again. We currently have new staff who are part of our cleaning crew so we'll be sure to pass this on. Thanks again, Base Crew

10th May 2017
8.0

Typical large hostel. Room was nice wifi was paid for and good. Friendly staff and nice vibe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for your review! We are glad you had a great time at the hostel. Don't forget we also have FREE wifi in reception from 7am-7pm for all guests. Hope you have awesome travels. Base

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th May 2017
7.7

The hostel has a really nice kitchen. It's clean, enough space and enough stuff to cook with. The only thing I didn't like that we couldn't open our window and it smelled really bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi and thanks for your review. Our windows do not open for safety purposes however we do have air con in each room which should keep the air flowing. If you can get in touch and let us know which you were in we can make sure it is great going forward. Thanks, Base

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th May 2017
7.1

Booked this purely for how close it is to the bus station. Our dorm was above the bar so music was playing until the early hours and lots of shouting in the corridors. Easy walk to city centre though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for your review. We do have a bar on site which closes at the latest at 1am. If you are popping back our way we can put you on a higher floor to make sure you get a good nights sleep. We also try to keep noise in the corridor to a minimum after 10pm however some times guests do like to party a little too much. Hopefully you can swing back our way again and we can improve on your stay. Thanks, Base

11th Apr 2017
9.7

Very nice hostel, great atmosphere once you walk in the music is blasting. The location is perfect as right next to the Transit centre so you dont have to carry your rack sack a long distance. Also the adjoining bar as also a bonus as you get 20% off food and discounted alcohol prices if you stay in the hostel, also nightly activities aswell. Only downfall is no carpack, but it is in the city so I'll cut them some slack. Defs recommend to everyone

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there and thanks for leaving a review! It is awesome to hear you had a great stay. We do have parking out the front of our building which is free from 7pm-7am at night however after this time we suggest moving all vehicles to Toowong station as it is free and only a small train ride away. We look forward to having you back soon! Thanks, Base

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Good stay, had small free pancakes on Tuesday morning and joined in beer pong on Wednesday. Only a short stay but we got upgraded from a 14 share dorm to a 6 share so pretty happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

FREE PANCAKES!! WOOP! We love them too, thanks for leaving an awesome review and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Base x

  • Anonymous
  • United Arab Emirates, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
9.7

Enjoyed the bar next door and the hot wings were an epic challenge! Hostel was good and spoke to someone about joining in their activities next time round. I was too busy hungover this time. Good and nice beds in the 4 shares.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey and thanks for your review, it sounds like you had an epic time and even tried out our bar. Can't wait to see you next time so we can get you on some of our activities!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.