X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Reviews

462 George Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
472 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

One of the cleanest hostels I stayed in good location and reasonably priced too!!


63%

The location is pretty good since it's only a few minutes from the bus terminal. The rooms and kitchen facilities are clean. However there is nearly no shared food (like salt or oil) even though they advertise with free pasta and rice. Finally the staff was rather unfriendly and would give either no or wrong information. They actually tried to charge me 10 dollars more for a room than it was online. So I wouldn't recommend this hostel because there are cheaper and nicer ones in brisbane.


26%

REALLY HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!!!!!! Unfriendly Staff, VERY, VERY, VERY DIRTY kitchen!!!!!! Homeless people in our room! NOT what we accepted ! I will never go in a x Base hostel again, really disappointing and too expensive for what you get!

  • 24th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Although we are very disappointed with your experience, we hope this will not put you off staying with any of our other properties in the future. We pride ourselves on our very competent staff and try to have as much fun as possible while still offering a professional service, I would be interested to hear a little more about your comments about this. As for our kitchen, this common area is cleaned several times daily but, we do also rely upon our guests cleaning up after themselves, unfortunately this is not always the case. Finally, security is of the utmost importance to us and we have a 24 hour reception along with secure keycard access in order to stop any none guests from entering. I think you may have been mistaken about a random person in your room but if you would like to speak with me in person about this, then please feel free. We wish you all the best for your future travels Suzie Manager

34%

Not really a Place you should stay. Location is perfect, but no atmosphere. Furniture is old and brickle, not clean.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'Day and thank you for your review. We are currently undergoing renovations and upgrades in our hostel, half of which has now been completed in our rooms. As we are under new management, we have been given some amazing resources in order to bring the standard of our accommodation up, which we are really excited about. We have a common area with free games, Playstation 4, TV, DVDs and an awesome bar with nightly entertainment and amazing meals and deals. Again, we thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we hope we can satisfy your needs in the future. Take care Suzie Manager

57%

I arrived 2 h before checking in and had to pay 5$ to leave my luggage there. As a guest that's a no go in my opinion. The kitchen was to small beeing used by all of the house guests and just gave you cutlery and cup against money at reception. There was no other room to socialize. My dorm had a seperate clean bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'Day, thank you for your feedback. We do have a common area/TV room available 24 hours for our guests to relax in, this has free games, Playstation 4, TV, DVD's and sofas for our guests to meet and relax in at all hours. Due to our very small luggage room, we do have to charge our guests upon CHECK OUT if they wish to leave their luggage as we do have to provide a safe, secure location for our guests checking in. We do not charge our guests to store luggage that are checking in on that day so I think you may be confused by this. Take care and have an amazing trip. Suzie Manager

91%

This hostel was great. Very conveniently located so close to the transit centre where the greyhound bus stops and only a short walk to the main streets of brisbane with the bars and restaurants. The staff were so friendly and always had a smile. The room was clean and the air con worked which is a major plus!! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'Day and thank you for your very kind words. We pride ourselves on our staff and experience you have whilst you stay here with us. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again in the very near future. Take care and have an amazing remainder of your trip. Suzie Manager

51%

I stayed in the dorm room. The room and the bathroom/toilet were filthy. The bathroom I didn't even feel like washing my hands. The shower, bathroom and toilet were so dirty that I didn't even want to wash my hands in there. I don't know if it was because of the people staying there or poor cleaning.The bed frames are too weak and shaky. No fresh air so the room is like a cellar and smells unpleasant. Had a rough, sleepless night. No drinking water outlet after kitchen hours. Will not stay again

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are very sad to hear your experience with us, was not up to our usual high standards. Our en-suite bathrooms are cleaned every day to a high standard, obviously, when the bathrooms are being used during the day, they may deteriorate from the guests staying in the room and we always encourage our guests to remain clean for our next customers using the facilities. We have also recently replaced a lot of our beds and mattresses as we are going through a property refurbishment, we would be confident you would love our new beds, rooms and common areas. We wish you all the best for your future travels, stay safe and have fun Suzie Manager

83%

Was advertised as free rice and pasta but it wasnt! The 2 lads on reception were welcoming and friendly! Top lads!


66%

Only stayed the one night, but location is perfect for using the transit centre and only a short walk into the main city. There were a lack of power points in the room andand no lockers in the rooms, you hire a locker on site though. No issues and worked well for I needed!

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'Day, thank you for your review. You are correct by us not having lockers in the rooms but this is something we are looking at introducing as part of our refurbishments. We do have lockers available for hire on site though. As we have a very high tech and safe security system, all of our doors, internal and external, are via key card access and we tend to find that this has eliminated any security issues in the rooms. Again, we thank you for your time and wish you all the best for your travels Suzie Manager

74%

All ok. The kitchen was not very tidy by night. Internet is really expensive

  • 13th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'Day and thank you for your feedback. Our kitchen is cleaned several times daily and we ask that our guests clean up after themselves in order to leave it clean for the next guests, but unfortunately this is not always the case. Although we do not offer free Wifi, we find that our prices are very reasonable with it only being $4 for 24 hours or $12 for 7 days access. Take care, have fun and stay safe Suzie Manager

94%

Couldn't help but feel that the reason for it being a "dry hostel" is because of it's association with the pub downstairs. Sneaky. Also, I felt that they could have had me in the room alone, instead of filling each room as they go, before moving on to the next room.

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. You are right, as we have the licensed bar downstairs that means that its illegal for our guests to have and consume alcohol in the building. We understand it is a bit annoying but there are huge implications such as fines and compromising our liquor license if we don't abide by this rule. Also as much as we would love to give you a room to yourself it is far more cost effective to fill each room as we go. Happy merry Xmas

71%

Had an old hotel vibe as it's just a lift up to the rooms which are just hallways. Not social at all. Room was ok, only 2 plugs for 4 people! Had an en suite which was clean but shower was rubbish. Had laundry facilities but no where to hang clothes, could only use the dryer which shrinks clothes and is expensive. Staff were good, 24 hr reception. Okay for a short stay but not good if you want to be social.


86%

+ super clean for a hostel: room, bathroom, kitchen were in excellent condition day and night + good value for money: around 30 dollars a night for superb location, quiet and clean (stayed in 3rd floor, no noises from the streets) + kitchen was well equipped, only had to "rent" cutlery from reception for $10 deposit + friendly staff - we had an ensuite with 2 showers and 1 toilet: had to lock the door to take a shower, cause curtains were so see-through Would def stay here again!


69%

Internet was so expensive and wasn't the friendliest place. Mostly because my roommates didn't say anything but it was not a place that encourages interaction. Clean and safe though


100%

The dude at the desk was the sickest 🦄🦄

  • 24th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there! Thank you so much for the comments. We love having a good time and helping out our guests, we hope that you come back and see us soon! Happy merry festive season! Love form the BaseUptown crew

91%

Staff very friendly and committed! Kitchen nice, cleaned 3 times/day. First room was a mess, after complaining manager was very caring. New room was very quiet, clean but small, less space for baggage. Housekeeping top. Community room top, free TV, DVDs, books, games. Location good, 10min walk to CBD, close bridge to Southbank is handy. Best experience in a hostel after 10 months of traveling. Extended 3 times, didnt have to change rooms. Always again! Best vibe, made me enjoy my stay even more!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hellloooo, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We take all of these reviews seriously and this just makes all our hard work worthwhile. We wish you all the best on the rest of your travels, please tell your friends and we hope to see you again soon. Happy merry season! Love from the Base Uptown Crew

23%

Was the worst hostel ever. Had to move rooms because staffs did mistakes all the time. AC was noisy. If you really want to go to this place. Don't take an 8 bed dorm. It's a really small room and if you have bad room mates like me (twice!!!) it smells horrible. These guys should travel with their moms. Too expensive for that what you get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. We are a new team and have made a lot of changes since your stay here. I am so confident that you would have an amazing stay here now that we are prepared to give you a free nights stay to turn your negative experience into a positive one. Please contact us on 07 33238 5888 and ask for Suzie. Happy merry Christmas Love the Base Uptown Crew

74%

Depressing atmosphere. Not very organised but wasn't as bad as expected going off the reviews. Wifi is cheap compared to other places but still should be free or included.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I really hope you get the chance to come back again. We have a brand new team and we are all really excited to make Base Uptown Brisbane an amazing place to stay. We have regular sign alongs in reception now and the occasional dance party I hope get the chance to come join in! Happy merry festive season Love the Base Uptown crew

69%

Gum all over the beds and very nasty bathrooms but the staff were extremely helpful. I dont know why all hostels have windows that are not openable, my guess would be that young people might fall out and die but come on, if you can travel to the other side of the world by yourself you can probably handle a window... the room was stinky and we couldnt do anything about it. there was some wierd thing on the wall spraying out refreshener but it made a lot of sound, woke us up at night several times

  • 22nd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We are a new team and are really proud of our customer service so we are gad you felt the love! I noticed you rated the cleanliness of your room as average, which was very concerning to read. We have a new housekeeping manager and she has done wonders with the rooms, they have all been deep cleaned since your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon Happy festive season Love the base uptown crew

77%

It's not bad,If you stay here 1 night or just sleeping, because this hostel is in front of the Roma Street Station and not expensive. But room was small and in a mess, my room has 3 showers and a toilet which are not clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Firstly we are sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience. We would like to let you know that since your stay we have employed a new housekeeping manager and we can assure you that every room and bathroom is cleaned daily and double checked by a supervisor. If you are ever in Brisbane again, we would love for you to come and see the changes. Happy festive season! Safe travels Base Uptown

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback