Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 558 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Located at 462 George Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 462 George Street
80% 558
-27.4672170 153.0197265
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
8.3

Great location. Has everything you need & added bonus of discounted food and drink at the bar downstairs is very reasonable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review we appreciate the feedback you have given us. Safe travels and hope to see you again in Brisbane. Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.6

Excellent location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review! We hope you enjoy the rests of your travels. See you next time you are in Brisbane Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.1

The best hostel in Brisbane I have try. About 80m from Roma St Station, wonderfull staff so friendly and smily, 24h reception (whith check-in/out). Everything provided in the kitchen, including tea/coffee/sugar. The common area are clean and cosy, every access need to have the electronic key, so great safety ! But more than everything else, this place had a wonderfull backpacker spirit, so great to live here ! But No free wifi provided... That's my only but not least bad point.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for this awesome review! We appreciate the feedback you have given us and we really hope to see you again in Brisbane. Base Uptown crew

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.6

It is a great place for a short stay. Hard to cool food here as the electric hobs take a long term to heat up but it is clean and in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review! We hope you enjoy the rest of you travels Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
9.7

Very good hostel Great location, great atmosphere. Clean with nice and happy bar. The staff was realy helpful, especially James. Will come back for sure. Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving this review! Safe travels and we are looking forward to seeing you again at Base Uptown! Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.9

We had hot water, not a bad bed, pillow was naff though and there wasnt a plug socket available next to your bed. They have an xbox 360 with fifa. All you need to know.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review we appreciate the feedback you have given us. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, and to see you again in Brisbane. Base Uptown Crew

  • helenngracee8654
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.3

Beds were very comfy. Bathroom was clean and had basic facilities. The bar next to the hostel does activities almost daily, musical bingo was fun! Rooms don't have lockers however you need key cards to get into the lift and the rooms so still pretty secure. staff seemed nice although didn't interact with them much. 15 min walk max, to south bank. There is lovely to just wander, or rent bikes, or kayaks, or rock climb. Loads to do. Also seemed to be a pokemom hotspot too haha!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving us a review! we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
6.6

On arrival I was told there was no hot water & this would not be back on during my 3 night stay here. I asked if I could have a refund to go elsewhere or have some kind of discount as I had paid for a full service & was not receiving it to which they said they cannot do. I had to have freezing cold showers for the 3 nights I was there & the staff or manager did not seem to care.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your reply, we are sorry you had bad experience with us. Unfortunately our hot water was down however we do have other hostels nearby that we were offering instead due to this mater. We also did offer refunds and once again i'm very sorry you felt your complaint was not heard. If you would like to message us privately we can help you out further and make sure you get the service you deserve. Thanks again, Base Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
4.0

No Hot Water which they failed to mention on arrival, TV room was taken over by guys on Games consule or people chatting, nowhere to just chill out (except lobby). Wifi is available in city so just outside door so no need to pay $4-$7 a night. Charge of $4 to store luggage. Kitchen facilities were terrible, after assistance I was able to figure which hob/temperature but still couldnt create enough heat to cook an egg, after 15 mins I gave up & went to the bar next door which is recommended

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your reply, we are sorry you had bad experience with us. We are currently working on our communal areas to make them fun and friendly, and any feedback is great. Our kitchen although small and functional is also being looked at so we can provide the best service. We're glad you took advantage of the 20% discount at the bar. Thanks again & we hope to see you soon. Base Uptown

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Great care and was a pleasure to stay .😃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for leaving us a review! we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with your stay. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.