Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 570 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Located at 462 George Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 462 George Street
80% 570
-27.4672170 153.0197265
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Sep 2016
4.3

The worst hostel in my backpack record, worst no doubt. First of all, windows in room can't be open, which made the room smelt so bad. Then there’s no lockers, none. All the backpacks were piled messily on the floor, looking like we just got robbed. Besides, I didn’t have a bedside plug point, and I was not the only one. I think there’s only 3 available? but we had 8 beds in the room. So sometimes I saw people charging their phone in the toilet. Plus, the lift took forever. I do not recommend.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
7.1

Decent and cheap accommodation if you don't care the mess, smell, leaking showers and taps and useless stove top.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.1

Only stayed quickly for one night, didn't check out any shared facilities if there was any, (if there were, it was not brought to our attention) Room was clean & presentable, beds were solid & comfortable, with a nice size bathroom. Key Card system was a nice plus. Front desk staff were lovely & friendly, the breakfast staff seemed pre-occupied & not as friendly, but warmed up after a few minutes. All in all, was a lovely experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Aug 2016
8.3

This hostel needs a little bit of TLC. It's one of the more pricier hostels I've stayed in and it's a little tired. I was not a fan of the lack of outlets. Just 2 by the door. Your keycard must be in order for power to work, which is fine but it means in order to have lights, the Air Con needs to be on. You have no control over Air Con setting. Staff was wonderful, super friendly and helpful. The bar downstairs was great and the food was delicious. Girl at the trips desk was helpful too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We consider your advice about the lack of outlets. We are glad to hear you enjoyed you stay here and the great food from the Guilty Rogue. Enjoy the rest of you trips Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
7.4

Nice location and secure room Friendly staffs But weak water pressure in shower Found bunch of blond hair in my blanket which is definitely not mine (mine is black) Okay only for one or two days stay in city

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
8.3

Great location. Has everything you need & added bonus of discounted food and drink at the bar downstairs is very reasonable

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for leaving us a review we appreciate the feedback you have given us. Safe travels and hope to see you again in Brisbane. Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
16th Aug 2016
8.6

Excellent location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review! We hope you enjoy the rests of your travels. See you next time you are in Brisbane Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.1

The best hostel in Brisbane I have try. About 80m from Roma St Station, wonderfull staff so friendly and smily, 24h reception (whith check-in/out). Everything provided in the kitchen, including tea/coffee/sugar. The common area are clean and cosy, every access need to have the electronic key, so great safety ! But more than everything else, this place had a wonderfull backpacker spirit, so great to live here ! But No free wifi provided... That's my only but not least bad point.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for this awesome review! We appreciate the feedback you have given us and we really hope to see you again in Brisbane. Base Uptown crew

12th Aug 2016
4.6

I would not recommend this hostel. I was only there for 2 nights but from what I saw there was 0 atmosphere. The rooms are tiny, you can hardly walk around the room because its filled with luggage. There are no lockers. They post flyers on your door each day for discount deals, yet no one is at the travel desk to give you the promotion tickets. They also advertised discount train tickets to the airport & when I went to buy 1 they were "all out." Lastly, there were cockroaches in the bathroom.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2016
8.6

It is a great place for a short stay. Hard to cool food here as the electric hobs take a long term to heat up but it is clean and in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving us a review! We hope you enjoy the rest of you travels Base Uptown Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.