X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Reviews

462 George Street, Brisbane, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

70%

Rating
426 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 72%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 63%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I really enjoyed my stay and would love to use it again the next time Iam in Brisbane, Cheers, James

  • 12th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

Was very DIRTY. The housekeepers only vacuum the floor for a few seconds when they have to do check out, they change rubbish bins and the pillow cover. That's it. The bathroom looks always poor and dirty. The smell in the room is always horrible because you can't open the window. The staff also are unfriendly. Very disappointed.

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Shoe-box room with only 1 ensuite bathroom in a 6-bed female dorm. Very loud AC + you cannot open the windows. Hostel has no atmosphere and no common room to relax really (kitchen with seperate eating area and TV is considered to be a 'lounge'. Close to the CBD. Some of the staff were very helpful and friendly whereas some were the opposite... Good for 'party people', otherwise you won't sleep there well...


80%

I didn't stay long. Looked a decent hostel, the lady at reception seemed like she was having a bad day for some reason.


51%

not clean at all, sheet and pillowcase are all not be cleaned, I can find golden hair on it. Room seems not be clean everyday, someone seems live there forever.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

What I expected. For a 10 bed dorm there were no lockers so security was pretty much nonexistent. 1 bathroom for 10 :/ poor. Hob cookers in the kitchen were poor and had no markings so you had no clue which was the higher heat. General cleanliness was average. Wifi was good but it should be when you have to pay for it. Location was good as it's near the shops and the river. Staff were poor and frankly unhelpful as they didn't know what they were doing or hadn't worked here before!


63%

+ the hostel is well located, open 24/24, thats good. The kitchen is big as well and you have spaces to chill. - The 8 dorm room looked like a jail dorm, no window, one dirty bathroom. You only have bathroom in the bedrooms, that means you always have to wait. Not good when you are in a hurry You cannot use the stairs because the doors are always locked. So you only can use the lift. One lift for one hostel-> long wait. We have legs, why cant we use the stairs? Staff is average, average hostel

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

feels like prison. But for a couple of days ok.


69%

LARGE HOSTEL, MORE OF A HOTEL FEELING. PEOPLE DON'T MINGLE MUCH. MOSTLY FOR WHO'S WORKING. HAS A BAR BESIDE IT. KITCHEN IS NOT VERY LARGE. LOCATION IS GOOD @ CITY. LOCKERS AND WIFI PAID.


40%

We got into our room and there was still trash from the person before us, there was a used mug on the table, and the bed had not even been made. There were hairs and dirt in the sheets and we had to go down and ask for extra sheets to remake the bed. It was obvious it had not been cleaned at all before we checked in. We also went down to the desk at one point to ask for help and there was a sign saying "be back in 10 minutes," but when we came back over 30 minutes later the sign was still there.

  • 28th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I've stayed here a lot of times before. I liked the location and the bar downstairs has amazing breakfast! The staff is always really friendly and helpful. I just don't like the PA system that wakes you up in the morning!! (It's not that early but after a fun night out its early!) I didn't like that you could easily get into the hostel by using the staircase instead of the elevator and tht wasn't a lot of space in the room to put all your stuff!!

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is very well located next to a big train station and the bus terminal as well as to the centre.


66%

staff was nice. Location are good. There was a room check at 12:00am which is quite annoying. The room was too small to fit in 6 people and a bit stuffy and dark.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Bed was awfully uncomfortable and squeaky hardly slept in 3 days Shower had hardly any pressure and leaked Bar/restaurant good food and liked discount Good location but would not recommend based on sleep

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice enough place for a couple nights in Brisbane, but dont expect to be blown away by the facilities. Staff are very friendly and they were happy to offer me tips on what to do in the city. The hostel is above a bar that serves good burgers, but nowhere else within a 5 minute walk really to eat. Quite close to lots of the "cultural" things in Brisbane, but best selling point is being 100m from the Greyhound stop.


94%

The hostel is in a great location near the transit centre. The bar downstairs serves really nice food and you get discount if you're staying in the hostel. Staff were nice too.


51%

Ok for a night or two, not very sociable and the smoking area is ridiculous! Staff were rather rude and impatient. Good location in centre of brisbane though


57%

Can't say much because I literally came in late one night and left early in the morning. But staff wasn't too friendly, and as it being in the same building as a bar, felt uncomfortable with it blaring it's loud music/was not fun to listen to all night. Also don't know if this is from that night or not but Deff work up with bug bites all over me the night day. But maybe there was just a mosquito in the room. They weren't the cleanest ...


66%

Very cliquey


71%

Really quite Hostel... Not much going on at all. The beds have rubber mattress covers or something similar on them making them very uncomfortable and every time you move they make loads of noise. The dorm was a decent size but given the choice I wouldn't stay here again. It just wasn't for me.


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Brisbane Hostels

Please give us your feedback