Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 545 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Located at 462 George Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 462 George Street
79% 545
-27.4672170 153.0197265
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
6.6

On arrival I was told there was no hot water & this would not be back on during my 3 night stay here. I asked if I could have a refund to go elsewhere or have some kind of discount as I had paid for a full service & was not receiving it to which they said they cannot do. I had to have freezing cold showers for the 3 nights I was there & the staff or manager did not seem to care.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2016
4.0

No Hot Water which they failed to mention on arrival, TV room was taken over by guys on Games consule or people chatting, nowhere to just chill out (except lobby). Wifi is available in city so just outside door so no need to pay $4-$7 a night. Charge of $4 to store luggage. Kitchen facilities were terrible, after assistance I was able to figure which hob/temperature but still couldnt create enough heat to cook an egg, after 15 mins I gave up & went to the bar next door which is recommended

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Great care and was a pleasure to stay .😃

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2016
8.9

The facilities were satisfactory but the staff were exceptional in their support and helpfulness, and friendly cheerful manner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
9.4

Super friendly staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.9

Booked a 13 bed and got a 6 bed instead. Very quiet on the top floor. We had an ensuite which was great. Staff weren't overly helpful but we're friendly enough and tried to help us. Kitchen was very clean as was the room. Location was good, right next to transit centre and 10 minute walk to the centre. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving a review! We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Base Uptown. We look forward to seeing you again. Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Jun 2016
8.0

I recommend booking online - much cheaper than in person! Typical city hostel really!! Thanks for the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
6.3

The location was excelent and it was an okey place, nothing out of the ordinary except the lack of wifi. However, there is free wifi on the street outside so it is not a huge problem

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for leaving a review! We are happy you had a good stay at our hostel. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
7.1

Actually the hostel was pretty good in everything. Only the kitchen facilities were bad. Not enough stuff for everybody. And the pans and pots were bad too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy you enjoyed our hostel, and just to let you know, we have just renewed all our kitchen utensils! So we really hope to see you again in Base Uptown. Enjoy the rest of your travels! The Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Had an awesome stay at Base Uptown! The staff was really nice and helpful, rooms and bathroom were clean. Really close to the transit center but also to the city center! Great atmosphere in the hostel. Food at the bar is really good and you get 20% discount! I will definitely stay again at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Base Uptown and we hope we will see you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.