Hostelworld.com

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 530 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Located at 462 George Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 462 George Street
76% 530
-27.4672170 153.0197265
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
8.9

Booked a 13 bed and got a 6 bed instead. Very quiet on the top floor. We had an ensuite which was great. Staff weren't overly helpful but we're friendly enough and tried to help us. Kitchen was very clean as was the room. Location was good, right next to transit centre and 10 minute walk to the centre. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
6.3

The location was excelent and it was an okey place, nothing out of the ordinary except the lack of wifi. However, there is free wifi on the street outside so it is not a huge problem

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Jun 2016
7.1

Actually the hostel was pretty good in everything. Only the kitchen facilities were bad. Not enough stuff for everybody. And the pans and pots were bad too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy you enjoyed our hostel, and just to let you know, we have just renewed all our kitchen utensils! So we really hope to see you again in Base Uptown. Enjoy the rest of your travels! The Base Uptown Crew

  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jun 2016
10.0

Had an awesome stay at Base Uptown! The staff was really nice and helpful, rooms and bathroom were clean. Really close to the transit center but also to the city center! Great atmosphere in the hostel. Food at the bar is really good and you get 20% discount! I will definitely stay again at this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for leaving a review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Base Uptown and we hope we will see you again soon. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th May 2016
8.6

Enjoyed our stay here and are coming back soon! Really friendly and helpful staff only problem we found was that the bathrooms were dirty and the room smelt a bit put apart from that all good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here and had fun with our legendary staff! We hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
9.7

Really nice hostel and rooms with ensuites. Reception will store valuables for free which is gd. Staff super friendly on reception and travel sorted me with a really good deal. Bar downstairs has good guest discount and steak was great. good atmosphere in common room with tele

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th May 2016
7.7

Really nice staff and relatively cool hostel. The bar crawl is quite a laugh too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks so much for leaving us a review! We are glad to hear that you had a good time on our nights out! Enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2016
3.7

never seen smaller and messier rooms, never cleaned once in 4 days, seemed that people lived there keeping all their stuff around, plates and food included. very very dirty kitchen, and part of my food got stolen. not great atmosphere, and the staff was not friendly at all, always talking to each other not really interacting with guests. the pub was nice but always noisy if you need some good sleep... I survived, but wouldn't come back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We take all feedback positive or negative very seriously. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.I can assure you that we have a housekeeping team that goes into every room every day. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

Really decent hostel. Proximity to the CBD, South Bank, Romantic St. Park and transit centre is ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our great location. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

Apart from not being on the system when I turned up to check in,everything was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.