Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 746 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 746 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Aug 2017
9.7

Great location, awesome staff, awesome bar and clean room. Thanks for a great stay!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Nice quiet place. Ensuite was a pan when everyone wanted the bathroom at once. Staff were great though especially Dane. Good location next to bus station and good base to explore the city.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
6.9

Good location and quite nice hostel, guests not very friendly. Major problem was only one bathroom for 10 people, could do with communal bathrooms too to make this better. Also only 2 plug sockets for 10 people..... take your power pack! Other than that no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • wtrace6350
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Jul 2017
7.7

I was sick when I arrived to the hostel and asked if I could change my booking to be in a smaller room. The girl at the desk was so help and was able to accommodate my request, i never got her name but she was from Galway, Ireland. The next morning, I asked if I could leave my bag there for the day and I was charged 4dollars! Plus there is a 5dollar limit on card transactions. This is the first and only place in all my travels to charge to hold bags.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Excellent location. friendly and helpful staff. Good deals on food at the vibey pub next door

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dubhsinh3518
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.3

Australian friendly

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
10.0

Central to everything in the city close to all major attractions of Brisbane City and the double ensuite room I had was extraordinary for the price .....cleanliness was a 10 and the food downstairs was amazing. I'LL DEFINITELY BE BACK 10 OUT OF 10 GUYS WELL DONE.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review!!! We are so glad that you enjoyed our room and bar. Hope to see you again. Cheers, XBase.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2017
10.0

I had a very pleasant overnight stay the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2017
9.7

This is without doubt one of the best hostels I have stayed in during my East coast trip! The room was huge and the bed so comfortable. The reception staff were so lovely and helped me with all my train tickets so I knew where I was going. Location perfect and the bar on site was fab. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, thank you so much for your awesome review! We are so glad that you had a great time at ours. Enjoy your rest of trip, and we hope to see you again. Thanks, XBase.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jul 2017
7.4

Good location and no noise from the bar. Friendly staff but a weird check in process.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HI there, thanks for the review! Sorry to trouble you when you check in. We are glad that you enjoyed the stay at base, and hope to see you again. Cheers, XBase.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.