Hostelworld.com

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 653 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.6

Top spot. Ensuite in an 8 bed dorm a bit slow but ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for your awesome review and we appreciate the feedback. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Cheers, X Base Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
25th Jan 2017
7.7

ok place to stay for a night. not too social as there is no big outdoor hangout area. my room was facing the main road and the bar was underneath so it was a bit noisy until midnight. only ensuite bathrooms which makes you queue quite a bit in an 8 shared dorm...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jesspaxman
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.6

Amazing location - right next to greyhound bus and easy walk to South Bank and shops. All staff were so friendly, couldn't fault them. Rooms did get a bit hot but clean. Kitchen filthy and could do with more equipment - however this was the fault of the guests not really staff who were trying to clean it every time I was in there. The bar onsite was also really good fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
9.4

Host was amazing and awesome. And excellent location. Really really nice and cozy. But there is no aircon in the room. But the fan has. So dont worried about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Jan 2017
6.9

My room was infested with cock roaches and we had to switch rooms in the middle of the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Great location, not far from local nightlife but far away enough that you aren't disturbed if you fancy a quiet night in. The staff are incredibly friendly and it's a big plus that they are 24hrs. The adjoining bar (The Guilty Rogue) is great value for money, and has a variety of events you can get involved in. Overall, will definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Jan 2017
7.7

We stayed in a private room so it was pretty good apart from loud noise from the bar below throughout the night. It is a base hostel however so you have to expect noise. Good location next to train station and good walking distance to the shops.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Was upgraded to a 6 share dorm when I bought a 14 bed dorm :) it's a smaller hostel but the staff are nice and the free activities gave me a chance to meet people

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
5.7

Great location (next to transit centre an short walk from downtown). Reasonably clean. Free wifi is a lie. No lockers. Charge for luggage storage. Rooms directly above the bar, so don't expect peace and quiet.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Thanks for leaving us a review, with the luggage charges we also have to accommodate luggage for our guests that check in, as we have a small luggage room and we also do get busy. We do close the bar at midnight, if you come down to reception we would've happily moved you to a higher level.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.1

Good hostel, nice clean room. Great bar downstairs and the staff here are so nice. I ended up extending my stay here as I enjoyed myself so much! Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.