Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 692 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th Apr 2017
7.1

Un rude passage pour moi après l'Asie et l'Amérique du sud.. J'ai connu mieux dirons nous.. Ça fait l'affaire pour quelques nuits!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
7.7

Stayed there for one night, easy to checkin even though we arrived around 11.30 in the evening. A bit hot in the room, but it was a fine and good place to stay for a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
4.0

The room has no air circulation and it was too dusty, aircon was spreading dust everywhere and the room doesn't have window. We have asked at the reception to ask someone to vacuum the room and they didn't clean it. Checkin time is too late.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We keep the windows closed for the air-conditioning. Our check-in time is the same as hostels all over Australia but may ask reception to request an earlier check-in time for your next stay. We're sorry that you've experienced that. Our staff has a regular cleaning and vacuuming schedule and we will do our best to make sure this not happen again. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
4th Mar 2017
4.3

DON'T STAY HERE if you want to sleep. Dorm directly on top of pub was shaking with bass until late. Bunks so rickety you wake up when the other person moves slightly. No free wifi. Power socket by one bunk, not others. Bathroom wasn't clean. Guests getting it on in common area and dorm, loud and inconsiderate vs other hostels. That's not Base's fault, but the terrible facilities are. I've stayed in many, many hostels and this was one of the worst experiences. At least it's close to the station.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Thanks for the review! We have free wifi at the reception as we inform each guest upon check-in. Our bathrooms are in the process of deep cleaning as we speak and our staff has a daily schedule for cleaning. We will do our best to monitor this more closely. We're sorry that you found your experience with us to be unpleasant. Although we hope you consider staying with us to see how our place has improved. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

3rd Mar 2017
10.0

My stay here was great! I checked in late and he upgraded me to a private room! It was awesome since I hadn't spent by myself in over 5 weeks! It is also convenient to the greyhound which was my initial reason for choosing this location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Mar 2017
6.0

Location of the hostel was great as it was only a 10 minute walk from the centre and also opposite the bus transit centre. Kitchen had good facilities however it was ran by shouting staff who were quite intimidating when watching you to see if you would dry your pots and pans. Wifi was good but had to pay extra for it in rooms (as usual). Bathroom extractor fan did not work so build up of humidity in bathroom lead to condensation and damp leading to cockroach galore. Rooms small and not clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! Our bathrooms, including the extractor fans are being deep cleaned as we speak. We will also focus more on this during our daily cleaning of the rooms as we have staff scheduled to clean every morning. We hope to see you again!

1st Mar 2017
7.4

Surprisingly large room as i met two other backpackers that said they were squashed into small rooms. Small but okay kitchen. A negative-You get charged four dollars to hold your luggage after checkout if your not moving on straight away.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the review! We've had to charge for holding luggage after check-out as we have limited space to store all the belongings of all our guests. We're looking to allot a bigger space for this. Thank you and we hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in, great location and staff were all friendly and helpful. Made some great friends here, the bar has some good nights organised! Only downfall was the wifi wasn't great and the bathroom wasn't that clean despite being cleaned daily.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Feb 2017
4.9

The room are some of the smallest I've stayed in, 4 bunk beds crammed into one room. The ensuite bathroom between 8 isn't ideal. There is basically no communal area in the hostel, the kitchen is tiny and minimal seating. Claims free wifi but there isn't any, and the location is close to the bus station but a little out of town. Stay at Nomads it's the same price but closer to everything and better facilities.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. The communal are is located on level 1 just next to our kitchen with plenty of space to eat and have a good laugh. Our Wifi is from 7 am till 7 pm and reception are always happy to help you get set-up. From our hostel you're able to walk to the city center in 10 minutes, or you can take the train which takes 3 minutes. We hope you give us another try. Thank you for your review. Base Crew

16th Feb 2017
8.6

Clean & tidy. Great location for coach terminal. Felt more like a hotel than hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.