Hostelworld.com

Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 519 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly) Located at 462 George Street, , Brisbane.
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
Australia
Brisbane Queensland 4000 462 George Street
74% 519
-27.4672170 153.0197265
Base Brisbane Uptown (formerly Tinbilly)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
9.7

Really nice hostel and rooms with ensuites. Reception will store valuables for free which is gd. Staff super friendly on reception and travel sorted me with a really good deal. Bar downstairs has good guest discount and steak was great. good atmosphere in common room with tele

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
24th May 2016
7.7

Really nice staff and relatively cool hostel. The bar crawl is quite a laugh too

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Apr 2016
3.7

never seen smaller and messier rooms, never cleaned once in 4 days, seemed that people lived there keeping all their stuff around, plates and food included. very very dirty kitchen, and part of my food got stolen. not great atmosphere, and the staff was not friendly at all, always talking to each other not really interacting with guests. the pub was nice but always noisy if you need some good sleep... I survived, but wouldn't come back.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We take all feedback positive or negative very seriously. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.I can assure you that we have a housekeeping team that goes into every room every day. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

Really decent hostel. Proximity to the CBD, South Bank, Romantic St. Park and transit centre is ideal.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank-you for leaving a review. We are glad that you enjoyed our great location. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.3

Apart from not being on the system when I turned up to check in,everything was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay!

  • jennellybean69
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
8.0

Great staff especially Molly on reception . Kitchen could do with cleaning up at times . but rooms really clean shower really clean and the restaurant/bar next door is awesome ! Great food really cheap and i just booked more days here 😊

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad that you appreciated our levels of cleanliness. Enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
7.4

cockroach in our room but they're everywhere so.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved staying an Base Uptown! The staff were so friendly and helpful. The reception is open 24hrs and the team was happy to help with all my questions. Hostel is clean and has all you need for a comfortable and enjoyable stay! You get 20% of at the bar on food and drinks which was a cool bonus! I would definitely stay at uptown again! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review, we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

I had an excellent stay at Base Uptown! Location is awesome (right across from where the greyhound drops you off). The staff were so helpful and friendly and spent ages in telling me all there is to do in Brisbane (and all the cool local stuff to check out too!). The hostel was very clean and you could see a big effort is put into this. Great bar with yummy meals! Very helpful travel desk with great deals! All in all I would strongly recommend Base Uptown, I will definitely be coming back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review, we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
10.0

Great location, I got in late and it was just across the road from the transit centre. The staff were super nice, friendly vibe. Communal kitchen was clean and a good size. Breakfast at the bar (guilty rogue) was d-lish and super cheap!! Will definitely stay next time I'm in Brisbane.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review, we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.