Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 441 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • alicewebbaw6240
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
19th May 2017
8.3

The view from the hostel is the absolute highlight, especially with good weather. Liked the layout of the hostel with loads of outdoor space to chill in. Kitchen quite small but never busy as a lot of people ate at the bar. Travel people helped with booking a moped - would recommend for those under 21. Toilets always had toilet paper on the floor due it being cheap and tearing easily - small change would look a lot better. The cabin style rooms were nice and noise not a problem.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for the review. Our hostel boasts great views of the mainland and makes for some pretty special sunrises! We love the all year round good weather up here so why stay in side. Our travel shop are just happy to help you get the best out of your stay. Safe travels, Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2017
8.9

This place is amazing. Right on the beach so you can watch sunrise. Good bar with good food and nightly events, the rooms are nice and the set up of the hostel is cool. Kitchen is small and had to fight for a bowl in the morning but would still definitely stay here again and recommend to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day, Thanks for the amazing review! We are glad you got chance to soak up the views and witness some truly beautiful sunrises. Safe travels, Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
4th May 2017
8.6

Alright hostel - good fun when u want to drink !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the short and sweet review! We try our best to make sure you enjoy your stay as much as possible. Safe travels, Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd May 2017
8.9

Hostel's location is amazing with beautiful views, food was great and rooms were very clean. However, Wifi barely worked and when we paid for wifi, that didn't work either. Other than that, great stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for the awesome review. Our hostel boasts both beautiful views and food and we're glad to see you agree! Safe travels, Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Stayed at base a week ago and can't recommend it more! Location is perfect, right next to the beach! Food was awesome and reasonable prices! Staff were really friendly and couldn't be more helpful than they were! Really good party island, with the option of chilling out if you want to! One of the highlights of my east coast trip! Make sure you visit this hidden gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for the awesome review. Were glad you had such an awesome experience here at base. I will pass on the feedback to the chef, Safe travels Cheers Jack

12th Apr 2017
6.9

Party, party, party! If you like to drink, eat and stay out late this is your place. That being said, there were a few girls already resting when I arrived. Location is great though, and there was a pretty chill beach/tiki atmosphere. The free wifi is turned off for 12 hours at 8 PM and after that you have to pay, but the smallest time you can purchase is 24 hrs. That's stupid. Security is pretty nil and cleanliness was about what I would expect for checking into a party hostel at 6 PM.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to give us some valued feedback of your stay. We are always working on ways to improve and offer a better and cleaner service so thanks for the review. Cheers Jack

  • keanakachmar
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
8.3

Beautiful views, nice aircon and good vibes but dirty and stinky bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We've recently installed new air cons so glad you liked those! The atmosphere here is great along with our great views. We try our very best to work around the clock to keep the toilets in shape but thanks for the constructive critisim. Thanks Jamie

4th Mar 2017
5.7

Majorly overrated, nice spot but drink was overpriced and staff were sexist.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Thanks for taking the time out to leave this review. We'd like to get some more detail about your review. Please email me at jamie@base-magneticisland.com Thanks for your time. Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • Heard Island And Mcdonald Islands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel boasts a sublime location, with outrageous views and even better customer service. The staff here go above and beyond to help you out. They do everything from snorkel hire, car hire, smoothies, cocktails, pool parties, volleyball and sunset walks. The accommodation is unique and clean with A/C to keep you chilled all day long. They have hammocks and bean bags scattered everywhere for a lazy day and that holiday away from a holiday feel. By far the best hostel on the east coast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! How about that for a review! Thanks for taking the time out to write this lovely review. We try our best to do daily events and activities. Spread the love. Thanks Jamie

  • kruemelcx
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.6

It's kind of an unwritten law that you can bring alcohol in any hostel as long as you don't flaunt it. But no, they took our spirits and some goon and we weren't the first ones to suffer. Worst thing is they just come into the room without knocking or anything. They basically kick down the door as if privacy was a thing of the past. Apart from that it's a very nice hostel, even though it's kinda remotely located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Unfortunately we are a fully licensed venue so you can not bring your own alcohol in. Having said this we will ask politely and not go through your belngings. We will not keep the alcohol forever and we will keep it nice and chilled in our cool rooms for you to collect when ever you like. Thanks for leaving a solid review and all the best!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.