X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
221 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I had an awesome time staying at Base Magnetic Island!! The staff were super friendly, the room was very clean and the bed linen was so soft! There was a great atmosphere in the bar and the games were heaps of fun. The pizza's were great for $9 too. I can't wait to go back! Highly recommended to anyone going to Magnetic Island. Best hostel I have been to!


83%

Even as oldies, we loved it, especially the location of our double cabin up on the rocks with great sea views. Good value for money and helpful staff. Hope to come again, Anne & Alan.


91%

Great place to spend a couple of days. Feels nearly like a resort. No as they

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here! Hope to see you again soon, enjoy the rest of your travels around this beautiful country. Thanks Base Management

77%

Good place for a night or two. Definitely a party hostel. Quite and relaxing during the day though. Beautiful views. Easy to catch a bus to other parts of the island

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do love getting our guest mingling and play games in the bar for them to meet people and have fun but we do have opportunities for guests who aren't keen on partying. :) Glad you enjoyed the views, we hope to see you here again soon! Thanks Base Management

97%

Base is the best hostel by far! Every Base has it's own awesome staff and special charm, but Base Maggie is the tops. Beachside, hammocks, pool, lounge chairs or a nap in the sand during the day, music

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for the awesome review you left for us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us! Hope to see you again soon :) Thanks Base Management

77%

Amazing location!!! I could even hear the sound of the sea from my bed. The hostel is not very close to the supermarket, but you can reach it having a nice walk on the beach or taking the bus, which is very convenient to reach any point on the island. The negative points are that the staff was quite unfriendly and that the bathroom was flooded and therefore inaccessible on one of the days I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us review,these reviews really help us to see what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I am sorry that you did not think our staff are friendly, I have had a meeting with our staff to ensure this does nto happen again. Unfortunately it is impossible to anticipate something like the bathrooms flooding, we did have this fixed within a couple of hours although it did happen at the most inopportune time) Sorry for the inconvenience. BASE CREW

94%

A hostel right at the beach... I can't ask for more! Such a beautiful location. I loved that my "room" was actually a little house. The Base area is therefore like a little village, lovely! Every night is something else on at the bar, the live music on the weekend was amazing! Quite a walk to the supermarket (25mins one way), but the Base sells breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for such an awesome review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us! We absolutely love our location, so happy you enjoyed it too. Hope to see you again soon! Base Management

100%

Might be the best hostel I've stayed in in AU so far! Great athmosphere and amazing location! It's right on the beach and there's a busstop right in front of the hostel. The hostel is so nice, the rooms where bungalows with an amazing view! There were hammocks you could chill in, awesome food in the bar and the staff was soo nice, the vibe was just awesome. Also went to the full moon party, which was a greay night out!! Defenitly stay here when you go to Magnetic, its the best! Best summer vibe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such an amazing review. Looks like you had a fantastic time here with us at Base Magnetic Island. We hope to see you back here to stay with us soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia. Safe Travels Base Management

100%

Couldnt have been better. The location is fantastic, right on the beach, they have a bar and do food all day which is great value. The full moon party was definitely a good choice! Staff were really friendly, always smiling and helpful, Tom in particular goes out of his way to ensure the guests are happy. All in all if you are going to Magnetic, stay at Base!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for an awesome review, we are happy you enjoyed your time here with us! Hope to see you again sometime soon!!! Safe Travels Base Management

57%

No alcohol allowed on premises, $4 for absolutely useless wifi a day, ants all over my bedroom. The quiz on an evening was brill though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately due the alcohol license we are, we are not permitted to have BYO on site. So it is not because we are trying to be the fun police, it is due to if we are caught with people with BYO we will get huge fines. Awesome that you enjoyed our quiz while you are here, it is always heaps of fun! We hope to see you again soon Safe Travels Base Management

89%

Great location and good value. Yet, kitchen could be cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us. Our cleaners clean our kitchen numerous times a day and sometimes when people don't clean up after themselves it is hard when the next person comes in after them. I have had a chat with our cleaning team to ensure they are on top of the cleaning at all times. Thank you Base Management

74%

Beautiful location, right on the beach. It felt more like a resort than a hostel. The male staff were very helpful and friendly. The female staff could be friendlier. A small on site shop would be handy as the nearest shop is 15-20 minutes away. Good atmosphere and overall I enjoyed my stay at base.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review, reviews really help us to see what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We love our location so are happy you enjoyed it as well. I am sorry you felt that our staff did not exceed your expectations, I will be having a chat to them to remind them the importance of customer satisfaction. And will give the boys a big high 5 for their wonderful service. We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks Base Management

94%

Absolutely fantastic stay here. Reception staff were great and looked after us for the full 3days we were there. Steph was our main port of call, helped us with everything during our time on the Island. Views from this place are amazing and you are literally right on the water. Will defo go back soon, for the best beach bar in Aus! 5 star

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a lovely at stay at Base on Maggy Island. Relaxing on th beach and just chilling out - just a shame the people in my room weren't more socialable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Base Magnetic Island. I'm sorry your room mates were unsocialble but am happy you still had fun here with us! Hope to see you again on the island soon Thanks Base Management

94%

Great hostel! The location is awesome! Good place to relax, chill atmosphere and cozy bungalows. I will definitely come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here at Base Magnetic Island. We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks Base Management

63%

Dirty and filthy kitchen that closes too early. Very high prices of food for low quality. Kitchen closes WAY too early so if you are hungry you have to walk for 30 min. Friendly staff at reception. Other staff (mainly kitchen) don't smile, look bored and are VERY rude (ruined the atmosphere). A lot to do at night for younger people, mainly involving drinking. Not much entertainment if you are a bit more older/mature or don't drink. Beds are very noisy and hard to climb out of. Location AMAZING.


71%

Very big hostel wouldn't recommend if on your own difficult to meet people. Can't byo alcohol cos there is a bar. Good atmosphere but it is loud until about 12pm lovely setting on beach but hostel is out on its own but easy to get anywhere on island!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, this really helps us to distunguish what we need to do better I am sorry that you felt it was difficult to meet people whilst you were here with us, we do trips to various spots around the island a few times a week which are really great to meet new people. Due to our license we can't legally have BYO alcohol onsite but we do have happy hours and drink specials in our bar :) Safe travels Base Management

94%

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Location is great - you're right on the beach - and the staff are so friendly, they make you feel really welcome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review.We are so glad you had an awesome time here with us!! Hope to see you again soon and enjoy the rest of your travels here in Australia. :) Base Crew

100%

I had great stay at Base!! Magnetic Island was beautiful and Base created an awesome vibe and atmosphere while I was there. I camped and the camping spots were in a handy location right by the toilets and showers so nice and convenient. Can't wait to come back! Not to mention the absolutely stunning location that Base has, right on the beach.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Base Magnetic Island and you love the location as much as we do. Enjoy the rest of your travels through Australia and we hope to see you again sometime. Thank you Base Management

91%

I loved my stay at Base! It's a good hostel and I recommend it to everyone. It has its own bar and kitchen, so for the lazy and well funded people you can buy food there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you really enjoyed yourself while you were here with us which is brilliant! We're happy to be a part of your holiday, keep us in mind if you ever come back to Maggie, we would love to see you again! Best wishes & safe travels, Base Magnetic Island Crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback