X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
214 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

A hostel right at the beach... I can't ask for more! Such a beautiful location. I loved that my "room" was actually a little house. The Base area is therefore like a little village, lovely! Every night is something else on at the bar, the live music on the weekend was amazing! Quite a walk to the supermarket (25mins one way), but the Base sells breakfast


100%

Might be the best hostel I've stayed in in AU so far! Great athmosphere and amazing location! It's right on the beach and there's a busstop right in front of the hostel. The hostel is so nice, the rooms where bungalows with an amazing view! There were hammocks you could chill in, awesome food in the bar and the staff was soo nice, the vibe was just awesome. Also went to the full moon party, which was a greay night out!! Defenitly stay here when you go to Magnetic, its the best! Best summer vibe


100%

Couldnt have been better. The location is fantastic, right on the beach, they have a bar and do food all day which is great value. The full moon party was definitely a good choice! Staff were really friendly, always smiling and helpful, Tom in particular goes out of his way to ensure the guests are happy. All in all if you are going to Magnetic, stay at Base!

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

No alcohol allowed on premises, $4 for absolutely useless wifi a day, ants all over my bedroom. The quiz on an evening was brill though


89%

Great location and good value. Yet, kitchen could be cleaner.


74%

Beautiful location, right on the beach. It felt more like a resort than a hostel. The male staff were very helpful and friendly. The female staff could be friendlier. A small on site shop would be handy as the nearest shop is 15-20 minutes away. Good atmosphere and overall I enjoyed my stay at base.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review, reviews really help us to see what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We love our location so are happy you enjoyed it as well. I am sorry you felt that our staff did not exceed your expectations, I will be having a chat to them to remind them the importance of customer satisfaction. And will give the boys a big high 5 for their wonderful service. We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks Base Management

94%

Absolutely fantastic stay here. Reception staff were great and looked after us for the full 3days we were there. Steph was our main port of call, helped us with everything during our time on the Island. Views from this place are amazing and you are literally right on the water. Will defo go back soon, for the best beach bar in Aus! 5 star

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a lovely at stay at Base on Maggy Island. Relaxing on th beach and just chilling out - just a shame the people in my room weren't more socialable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Base Magnetic Island. I'm sorry your room mates were unsocialble but am happy you still had fun here with us! Hope to see you again on the island soon Thanks Base Management

94%

Great hostel! The location is awesome! Good place to relax, chill atmosphere and cozy bungalows. I will definitely come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here at Base Magnetic Island. We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks Base Management

63%

Dirty and filthy kitchen that closes too early. Very high prices of food for low quality. Kitchen closes WAY too early so if you are hungry you have to walk for 30 min. Friendly staff at reception. Other staff (mainly kitchen) don't smile, look bored and are VERY rude (ruined the atmosphere). A lot to do at night for younger people, mainly involving drinking. Not much entertainment if you are a bit more older/mature or don't drink. Beds are very noisy and hard to climb out of. Location AMAZING.


71%

Very big hostel wouldn't recommend if on your own difficult to meet people. Can't byo alcohol cos there is a bar. Good atmosphere but it is loud until about 12pm lovely setting on beach but hostel is out on its own but easy to get anywhere on island!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, this really helps us to distunguish what we need to do better I am sorry that you felt it was difficult to meet people whilst you were here with us, we do trips to various spots around the island a few times a week which are really great to meet new people. Due to our license we can't legally have BYO alcohol onsite but we do have happy hours and drink specials in our bar :) Safe travels Base Management

94%

This is by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in! Location is great - you're right on the beach - and the staff are so friendly, they make you feel really welcome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review.We are so glad you had an awesome time here with us!! Hope to see you again soon and enjoy the rest of your travels here in Australia. :) Base Crew

100%

I had great stay at Base!! Magnetic Island was beautiful and Base created an awesome vibe and atmosphere while I was there. I camped and the camping spots were in a handy location right by the toilets and showers so nice and convenient. Can't wait to come back! Not to mention the absolutely stunning location that Base has, right on the beach.

  • 1st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Base Magnetic Island and you love the location as much as we do. Enjoy the rest of your travels through Australia and we hope to see you again sometime. Thank you Base Management

91%

I loved my stay at Base! It's a good hostel and I recommend it to everyone. It has its own bar and kitchen, so for the lazy and well funded people you can buy food there!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you really enjoyed yourself while you were here with us which is brilliant! We're happy to be a part of your holiday, keep us in mind if you ever come back to Maggie, we would love to see you again! Best wishes & safe travels, Base Magnetic Island Crew

69%

We were disappointed with the 6 bed huts. Looked nice from the outside, but was awful inside. We may well have paid less and stayed in the 8 bed huts which were nicer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review. Customer reviews are very important to us and they help us to improve our hostel and keep up to our brand standards. Thanks to your review we have focused our maintenance and cleaning teams on ensuring each and every one of our rooms are up to standard If you are ever back over on this beautiful island we hope you choose to stay with us again so we can this time exceed your expectations. Happy travels! Base Magnetic Island

77%

Great party atmosphere with music until midnight and decent meal deals. The location is awesome with stunning sunset and sunrise panoramas overseeing Nelly Bay and the ocean. Staff are travellers too and are great to talk to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your review and I am really happy to hear you enjoyed your time on Magnetic Island as well as here with us at Base :) Enjoy the rest of your travels Thanks Base Management

86%

Excellent hostel! fun and friendly staff. Good atmosphere for the younger backpacker. I got free breakfast, a welcome drink and 30 mins of internet included in my stay because i booked through hostelworld! Only the second hostel i have ever stayed in (first was bungalow bay) and although both were great, this one was more fun and had a beautiful location facing the water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the kind words..We love to hear things like this from our guests, we hope you come back and play with us again soon..lots of love, Base Crew

100%

Excellent stay. Loved the facility, placement of everything, staff, just everything. Can't wait to return for the Full Moon party!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for coming to play with us, we're glad you had fun...We can't wait to party with you for the Full Moon party..

100%

Awesome ! best backpack ever !

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks so much, what an awesome review. We hope you come back again so we can blow you away even more ;) Safe travels and lots of love, Base Crew.



View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback