Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 420 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.6

Good AC in the rooms. Wifi works well in bar area, but network coverage is spotty all through the property. Gorgeous pool, beautiful view, easy to get around the island or at least to and from ferry terminal by bus - not convenient walking distance to anything. Activities every night, good bar and cafe - expect to wait a long time for food to come from kitchen around dinner time... I waited over 30 minutes for a plate of wings. Long lines for the bar in the evenings as well. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thanks for the honest review and constructive criticism. We work around the clock the keep these heavenly spot as beautiful as possible. We are currently fitting all new Air Cons so if you come back they will be even better! Sorry about the wait time we now have a new system in place which really shortens the process. We are stoked you enjoyed your stay, so please come back and visit soon! Many Thanks Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Hidden gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HOW ABOUT THAT!!!!! All 10's, thanks for the amazing review. Love it when someone falls in love with this slice of paradise. Safe travels Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jan 2017
3.4

Poor facilities, poor service, poor management of the hostel. One of the worst and unorganised hostels I have ever been to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I'm really sorry to hear this about our hostel. I'd like to find out some more detailed information regarding your stay with us. If you would like to discuss this further please email me on jamie@base-magneticisland.com Thank you for your time. Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel! Everything was clean and plenty of facilities and very spacious room. Great place to chill out for a few days and easy to get to on the bus from the ferry. Met some great people here and had a good time in the bar in the evenings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Now that's one solid review. Thanks for taking your time out to write this review. I'm glad you loved our hostel. We've got new bean bags for chilling out in the day and we have great entertainment on in the evenings. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Jan 2017
6.3

Good location on the beach and a bus stop next door. As with any Base it's a younger crowd, therefore they're useless at tidying up. Plenty of showers etc could be cleaner. 6 bed dorm nice enough, your own locker would be nice. Air con included. Onsite bar is good, sit back on the deck with a beer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 38 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.9

one of the most beautiful hostels I've stayed in, right at the beach and the huts are nice with well working AC. pool area would need a bit more shade. would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Its a great place to come and soak up the sun, admire breathtaking views and sip on a few cocktails. Our AC's in the majority of the hostel are new and we are currently replacing all the others as we speak. We are also looking into more shaded areas for the pool and bar area. Safe travels Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
5.7

Cool hostel, but not close to shops or anything so unless you rent a car or catch a bus you're pretty much stuck there, the showers weren't the cleanest, there was constantly moths in the sink and around the showers, my room was right at the end so I had to walk to the toilet and back a fair amount of times, the staff were cool, the games each night resulted in clothes being removed by staff (not guests) maybe they should do a range of activities to suit the wide range of ages!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, The closest shops are just a 15 minute walk from here. We also have all the bus times on reception and have bus stops directly outside the front of the property. We also offer to organise all your car rentals. Unfortunately we are constantly battling with wildlife to keep the toilets clean and are looking at new ways to do so for long periods of the day. Thanks for the review Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.3

Pros: Really nice place to meet people, cool bar with organized events (although these are centered around drinking). Right on Nelly beach and just next to a bus stop for easy access to the rest of the island. Cute cabins and nice pool area. Nice food Cons: the air conditioner in the room barely worked. Also the wifi doesn't work at all and very hard to get any network coverage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day, Our hostel is extremely social, from the friendly staff to the good entertainment we try hard to make your stay as unforgettable as possible. It's in a great spot only minutes away from 3 beaches and has its own bus stops outside. Sometimes our air cons to struggle to keep up with the North Queensland heat but we are installing brand new air cons as we speak. Many thanks Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel is on the beach so it has great views and its own pool, they organise things to do in the evening and get everyone involved. Magnetic island is a beautiful place to visit so rent a car or go for a walk and see some views. There wasn't any lockers in the room but my room mates were nice and I didn't have any problems

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Our island home is very beautiful :) We can help with all your island info and can even organise you a car. We don't have lockers in the rooms but we can store all valuables in our office. Glad you enjoyed your stay and safe travels Jamie

  • louise2907676
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.0

Amazing hostel. Lots of activities, amazing place on the beach and cute accommodation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day, Thanks for the awesome review! We try to entertain all of our guests in one way or another, whether it's on walks to Hawkings point, playing volleyball or our pool parties! Enjoy the rest of your trip. Jamie

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.