Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 507 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2017
7.7

Had a great stay on Magnetic Island. Base has a great location right next to the ocean. Nice bar and pool. Rooms are all right, all female dorms a lot better than regular so would recommend girls to get that one

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • lizzyplace8163
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
15th Sep 2017
6.9

Right on the beach! Nice social areas, staff, cute dorms with porch, free coffee in the mornings... All good! Not as party as I expected but always people in the bar having drinks. Showers aren't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
1st Sep 2017
7.7

Great location, right on beach. Cool cabins with bar onsite. Kitchen too small and not very clean. Bathrooms also were a bit dirty, however great showers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
23rd Aug 2017
9.1

Brilliant. Great atmosphere for the two nights I was there! Always somebody to chat to & the evening bar activities enable solo travellers like myself to interact with others easily & comfortably! Great help with sorting out a 4x4 day trip for some mates I made there also! Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for the great review, we do try and create the best atmosphere for everyone and so we are very happy to hear you enjoyed this. Safe travels, Sophie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
20th Aug 2017
9.1

A fun hostel to stay in if you like to party. Very limited wifi and phone reception. If you want to hire a car I don't recommend Arcadia, which is where the hostel travel desk will send you. The cars were terrible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at the hostel and we will take your comments on board.Thanks for the review, safe travels, Sophie.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Beautiful location, really nice hostel but a bit out of town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for the review, have a safe trip. Sophie.

7th Aug 2017
7.7

Great location! Bus from ferry stops right outside. Beautiful beach and pool. Activities every night. Rooms were a bit cramped but overall it was a really good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for the review we are glad to hear you enjoyed our location and nightly activities, have a safe trip. Sophie

5th Aug 2017
7.7

The hostel had a great atmosphere and was a big party in the evenings. Food and drinks were on point and the pool was lovely. Only downside was that it is miles away from everything so you need to rent a vehicle or take a bus which doesnt come that regularly

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

Best Base hostel I've ever been. The toilets and the showers could be cleaner. Beautiful place, outstanding food! We had an absolutely gorgeous breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels, Sophie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
29th Jul 2017
9.1

Love this place as it felt like luxury after backpacking for 6 weeks! It's a beautiful beach side resort, massive lounge area and bar. Good music. And the private rooms are like hotel rooms, not hostel rooms. Only downside was that the communal kitchen and equipment was filthy, and the fridges were full of gone off mouldy food. You can also rent snorkelling gear and long boards from the hostel, which is good as the beach is about 10m away!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for taking the time to leave this review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we will pass on your feedback about the kitchen to our facilities manager to get this improved. Enjoy the rest of your trip. Sophie

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×