X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
226 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Good clean hostel, in walking distance of a supermarket. Rooms have lockers and aircon. Great pool area and bar with free pool tables, wifi wasn't working at the time only downer but otherwise all good!


54%

Party hostel be aware. There were ants in the kitchen & dorm. The AC in the room didn't work as the room was not sealed. No lockers in the room that can be locked. Supermarkets on the island are too far in the heat and expensive buy food in Townsville. You can't BYOB as base is licensed. The bus comes like once an hour. Wifi and phone coverage was terrible. Staff come and try to clear you out/ change the bed before check out at 10am. No shade at the pool. Not much shade / AC in the whole place.


69%

Bathroom are really poor Sounds like camping

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. These really help us to see what we are doing right and wrong. I am sorry as it seems you did not enjoy your time here with us, if you would like to elaborate on the comments you have left so I have something to go back to my staff with please get in touch with me via email. magneticrm@stayatbase.com Thanks Base Management

100%

I had an awesome time staying at Base Magnetic Island!! The staff were super friendly, the room was very clean and the bed linen was so soft! There was a great atmosphere in the bar and the games were heaps of fun. The pizza's were great for $9 too. I can't wait to go back! Highly recommended to anyone going to Magnetic Island. Best hostel I have been to!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you so much for your review, sounds like you had a wonderful time here with us! Hope to see you again soon! Glad you enjoyed the bed linen! Safe travels Base Management

83%

Even as oldies, we loved it, especially the location of our double cabin up on the rocks with great sea views. Good value for money and helpful staff. Hope to come again, Anne & Alan.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. I am glad you guys had an awesome time here with us. We also hope to see you again soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels Base Management

91%

Great place to spend a couple of days. Feels nearly like a resort. No as they

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here! Hope to see you again soon, enjoy the rest of your travels around this beautiful country. Thanks Base Management

77%

Good place for a night or two. Definitely a party hostel. Quite and relaxing during the day though. Beautiful views. Easy to catch a bus to other parts of the island

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do love getting our guest mingling and play games in the bar for them to meet people and have fun but we do have opportunities for guests who aren't keen on partying. :) Glad you enjoyed the views, we hope to see you here again soon! Thanks Base Management

97%

Base is the best hostel by far! Every Base has it's own awesome staff and special charm, but Base Maggie is the tops. Beachside, hammocks, pool, lounge chairs or a nap in the sand during the day, music

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for the awesome review you left for us! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay here with us! Hope to see you again soon :) Thanks Base Management

77%

Amazing location!!! I could even hear the sound of the sea from my bed. The hostel is not very close to the supermarket, but you can reach it having a nice walk on the beach or taking the bus, which is very convenient to reach any point on the island. The negative points are that the staff was quite unfriendly and that the bathroom was flooded and therefore inaccessible on one of the days I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to give us review,these reviews really help us to see what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. I am sorry that you did not think our staff are friendly, I have had a meeting with our staff to ensure this does nto happen again. Unfortunately it is impossible to anticipate something like the bathrooms flooding, we did have this fixed within a couple of hours although it did happen at the most inopportune time) Sorry for the inconvenience. BASE CREW

94%

A hostel right at the beach... I can't ask for more! Such a beautiful location. I loved that my "room" was actually a little house. The Base area is therefore like a little village, lovely! Every night is something else on at the bar, the live music on the weekend was amazing! Quite a walk to the supermarket (25mins one way), but the Base sells breakfast

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for such an awesome review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us! We absolutely love our location, so happy you enjoyed it too. Hope to see you again soon! Base Management

100%

I had the pleasure of staying here during a full moon party and it was ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! I befriended the people working there and they made sure i had a wild and crazy time. If you have the opportunity to go on a full moon party, GO. but if you cant fit it into your schedule you should go regardless because the view, and the beach right there are stupendous. nursing a hangover the next morning lying on the beach with that view was certainly the best hangover cure ive ever had.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

As every Base in Oz, the standards were high and atmosphere was great! We were there during the Full Moon party in September and can only say that we loved it there. The party was buzzing and was definitely one stop on our East Coast trip that we were eagerly looking forward to. The food at the bar was great and we were able to enjoy the beach and sun to the fullest! I can't wait to come back and experience Maggie Island and the FM party all over again!!

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Might be the best hostel I've stayed in in AU so far! Great athmosphere and amazing location! It's right on the beach and there's a busstop right in front of the hostel. The hostel is so nice, the rooms where bungalows with an amazing view! There were hammocks you could chill in, awesome food in the bar and the staff was soo nice, the vibe was just awesome. Also went to the full moon party, which was a greay night out!! Defenitly stay here when you go to Magnetic, its the best! Best summer vibe

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such an amazing review. Looks like you had a fantastic time here with us at Base Magnetic Island. We hope to see you back here to stay with us soon! Enjoy the rest of your travels around Australia. Safe Travels Base Management

100%

Couldnt have been better. The location is fantastic, right on the beach, they have a bar and do food all day which is great value. The full moon party was definitely a good choice! Staff were really friendly, always smiling and helpful, Tom in particular goes out of his way to ensure the guests are happy. All in all if you are going to Magnetic, stay at Base!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for an awesome review, we are happy you enjoyed your time here with us! Hope to see you again sometime soon!!! Safe Travels Base Management

57%

No alcohol allowed on premises, $4 for absolutely useless wifi a day, ants all over my bedroom. The quiz on an evening was brill though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Unfortunately due the alcohol license we are, we are not permitted to have BYO on site. So it is not because we are trying to be the fun police, it is due to if we are caught with people with BYO we will get huge fines. Awesome that you enjoyed our quiz while you are here, it is always heaps of fun! We hope to see you again soon Safe Travels Base Management

89%

Great location and good value. Yet, kitchen could be cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time here with us. Our cleaners clean our kitchen numerous times a day and sometimes when people don't clean up after themselves it is hard when the next person comes in after them. I have had a chat with our cleaning team to ensure they are on top of the cleaning at all times. Thank you Base Management

74%

Beautiful location, right on the beach. It felt more like a resort than a hostel. The male staff were very helpful and friendly. The female staff could be friendlier. A small on site shop would be handy as the nearest shop is 15-20 minutes away. Good atmosphere and overall I enjoyed my stay at base.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review, reviews really help us to see what we are doing right and what we need to improve on. We love our location so are happy you enjoyed it as well. I am sorry you felt that our staff did not exceed your expectations, I will be having a chat to them to remind them the importance of customer satisfaction. And will give the boys a big high 5 for their wonderful service. We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks Base Management

94%

Absolutely fantastic stay here. Reception staff were great and looked after us for the full 3days we were there. Steph was our main port of call, helped us with everything during our time on the Island. Views from this place are amazing and you are literally right on the water. Will defo go back soon, for the best beach bar in Aus! 5 star

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Had a lovely at stay at Base on Maggy Island. Relaxing on th beach and just chilling out - just a shame the people in my room weren't more socialable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us at Base Magnetic Island. I'm sorry your room mates were unsocialble but am happy you still had fun here with us! Hope to see you again on the island soon Thanks Base Management

94%

Great hostel! The location is awesome! Good place to relax, chill atmosphere and cozy bungalows. I will definitely come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here at Base Magnetic Island. We hope to see you back here soon! Thanks Base Management

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback