X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
315 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

On arrival there was a long queue for check in, the staff were going as quick as possible but still meant a lot of waiting around. The staff are friendly but don't give quite as much informationotice as needed. The pool area is nice amend our private room was amended lovely little hut with great views. The kitchen is a nightmare, waiting 10-15 minutes to use a hob, no one cleans up and there isn't enough of anything, and our food got stolen.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us review, it helps us improve the bits we might not be focused on. We know the kitchen is a bit small for our guests, we're trying to get some plans through council at the moment so we can help ease the congestion. We've just never been this busy before so we weren't set up for this problem, but I promise we're working on it. We do have cleaners through the kitchen three times a day but obviously i'll have to have a look at that schedule as it would appear it's not often enough if you found the kitchen in a poor state. I had the guys run a stock take on kitchen equipment for me today, and we've ordered more of everything so people don't have the same issue you have run into. Once again thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and i hope the rest of your travels are spectacular. Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

Xbase on magnetic island was almost surreal. when i first arrived, a very friendly fella named Andy greeted me and said "welcome to paradise", he was absolutely right! the staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. The atmosphere was fantastic and the bar was always doing something fun ! i would recommend this hostel before any other that i've been to. It was an absolute treat to spend 2 nights here!!

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, its awesome to hear about people loving their stay with us. I'll make sure to pass on your words to Andy, From what I remember you still need some practice on the pool table but we'll be waiting eagerly for you to come back and try again ;) Hope the rest of your trip is awesome Tom Cooney General Manager

94%

Probably my favourite hostel on the east coast! Stuff happening every night. Such a beautiful location, and the hostel felt like a resort. Couldn't recommend this more!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, and what an awesome review to receive. Stoked you enjoyed the place. Hopefully you'll get a chance to visit again soon, the place gets better each time ;) Hope the rest of your travels are awesome, Tom Cooney General Manager

26%

This is one of the worst hostels I've ever stayed at. First of all the 3 days I was there- no soap in the main ladies toilets (which is a very basic requirement) the toilets smelt even after being "cleaned". The entire Kitchen had 4 elements to cook on!There was a line to cook. With such a large hostel this seems like the kitchen is made so small and poorly equipped (literally under 10 forks we had to wait for others to finish) so people buy food in their "restaurant". Overall just a bad time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and apologies it has taken me so long to get back to you, i wanted to ensure absolutely everything had to been to rectify the issues you had during your stay as i found it completely unacceptable. While i understand it does not improve your stay at all I just wanted you to be aware, we have completely restocked the camp kitchen of cooking appliances. We agree the kitchen is too small for our current number of beds we are just seeing an unprecedented amount of people coming to stay. Due to this issue i have bought two new gas cook tops so there are now ten gas hobs to cook on, on top of the three electric grills, and microwaves. I assure you the ill-equipped state of the kitchen was not an attempt to make more people buy food at our kitchen, just an miss-fortunate time for it to happen on top of all the other misgivings during your stay. The cleanliness of the bathrooms and lack of soap is also unacceptable and we now have cleaners going through all bathrooms facilities at least three times a day, to not only ensure everything is as clean as possible but also to ensure that all required cleaning materials are in stock. Whilst i know we did not leave a positive impression on you at all I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will contact me mangeticgm@stayatbase.com so i can attempt to make this situation right. Hope the rest of your trip was spectacular. With sincere apologies, Tom Cooney General Manager

74%

Great atmosphere but the kitchen is small and the toilets are not very clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and I'm glad you enjoyed most of our hostel. These reviews really help us to work out where we need to work on, and you have not been alone in commenting on the cleanliness of bathrooms, on the back of this we have put in new cleaning procedures so we can ensure the bathrooms are at their cleanest. Hopefully you'll get a chance to come back and visit us again soon, so we can blow your socks off Safe travels, Tom Cooney General Manager

83%

I camped so can't comment on the security or room facilities. Camping was good, apart from very little shade. Toilets and showers not the cleanest but good location, you have to get a bus to other places but that is the same for everywhere on magnetic island! Toilets and showers not the best but clean enough. Didn't use kitchen so can't comment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it helps us work on the bits that aren't at the top of our game. We've been trying to work out the shade issue in the camp ground since the beginning of time but hopefully you find a place that offered you a little cover and fingers crossed the next time you come through we'll have a solution. Hope the rest of your camping trip was next to luscious shaded lagoons, Safe travels, Tom Cooney General Manager

60%

Good hostel, great if you're up for a party. The kitchen was not very clean and had mice! Some of the staff were quite rude. Overall though a fun place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, and a sincere apology about some of your less than great experiences. On the back of your comments we are completely revamping the guest kitchen, the whole kitchen will be as mouse proof as we can make it in no time. I'm really sorry about your experiences with our staff - we clearly missed the beat on your stay, i'll be addressing this immediately and hopefully when you come back and visit you'll see for yourself Cheers,

100%

Thanks for a great stay guys! Will defos be back soon. :) Dee

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, stoked to hear about it a when people love the place as much as we do Safe travels, Tom Cooney General Manager

97%

I cant fault this place apart from the fact our door did not lock. There were lockers in our rooms so i was never worried about my stuff and the reception were more then willing to look after my passport and laptop while i was out and about during the day. The bar at night was always lively and had a great atmosphere. The views of the mainland made it a place that i will never forget!

  • 20th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for the review, we appreciate you taking the time to let us know where we can improve or what we've done right. I immediately passed this information on to our maintenance team, and you'll please to know that all our dorms rooms have been upgrade with swipe key locks effective today. Hope you come back to experience our new jazzy doors soon Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

Really enjoyed my stay here. Was only here for 1 night. With the effort of getting the ferry etc i would defiantly stay longer. Its a real cool hostel overlooking the sea with amazing views. Would recommend to anyone looking for something a bit different!!

  • 17th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review, Hopefully it means you'll have to come back to stay for an extra couple of nights soon Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

71%

One of the better base hostels. Great location, great views and a nice bar. Cannot escape music so it's most def a party hostel although it doesn't go on all night


100%

Staff were very helpful and welcoming. It is really a paradise and you have an amazing view at the coast!!

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it really is appreciated. Hopefully the rest of your travels are awesome Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

LOVED THIS PLACE. Anyone going try be there for monday night. Its BOOZY BINGO!!!!

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
POW - i'm guessing that means you won the jackpot Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, love to hear about people loving the place like we do Safe travels Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

Probably the best hostel we have stayed in on the east coast so far!! the surroundings were beautiful and the hostel was so much fun! The bar staff were all so lovely and fun. We booked through an agent and it made the trip so much smoother. We got a breakfast and dinner voucher included and there was also a camp kitchen so it meant we could make our own lunches. The island itself is quite but its a great place just to relax, especially after Airlie Beach!

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

As a lad, This place was fantastic. So many birds. Hostel was sweet, beds comfy, food cheap and good. Ladies night was amazing. Highly recommendable.

  • 14th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel with great and helpful staff. Always a nice chilled out atmosphere and entertainment each night. Rooms were clean and lots of space. Definitely recommend and will be visiting again! Thank you for a lovely stay!


77%

Staff were very helpful and welcoming. The rooms were great especially in the little bungalows. Not much going on around the area however there is a bus service running once an hour around the east coast of the island.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us review, it helps us focus on things we might have missed. We know we are a little tucked away from the rest of the island, but we kind of think that's a bit of the charm, plus the bus stop is right out the front. I'll definitely put the thinking cap on about how we can get more stuff happening around the hostel or maybe an easier way of getting out guests around the island. Safe travels, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

I absolutely loved this place. This is no hostel, its more like a holiday complex. Its located on the beach, the views are stunning. The staff are also really helpful and friendly, always trying to include everyone and it has a real family feel about it. I initially booked for a few nights but ended up extending my stay because I loved it so much. Its my new favourite place in Australia!

Owner Comment (Hide)
What an awesome review, Thank you so much for taking the time leave us such a positive review, it's really appreciated. It's amazing to hear about it when people love the place as much as we do. I'll make sure i pass it on to all the staff. Come back and visit us again soon Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

Only stayed here for one night and wish I could of extendedy stay if I hadn't already had other things booked. If you are looking for paradise then I have found it! You can chill in the day, feed the wild rock wallabies, find secret beaches and have a lot of fun in the evening with a bar on site! The hostel itself it's clearly well looked after and the staff are all so welcoming. A place I would recommend if you are by yourself or a group of mates. I will be back!!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a bummer about the one night! Guess that means you'll have to come back and visit us again soon :) Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review, awesome to hear when people love the place as much as we do. Safe travels, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

Beautiful location! Brilliant value for money. Will be coming back!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Short and sweet, thanks so much for leaving us a review, always great to hear about something when you're doing it right. Thanks so much, safe travels, Tom Cooney - General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback