X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
189 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Excellent hostel! fun and friendly staff. Good atmosphere for the younger backpacker. I got free breakfast, a welcome drink and 30 mins of internet included in my stay because i booked through hostelworld! Only the second hostel i have ever stayed in (first was bungalow bay) and although both were great, this one was more fun and had a beautiful location facing the water.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for the kind words..We love to hear things like this from our guests, we hope you come back and play with us again soon..lots of love, Base Crew

100%

Excellent stay. Loved the facility, placement of everything, staff, just everything. Can't wait to return for the Full Moon party!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for coming to play with us, we're glad you had fun...We can't wait to party with you for the Full Moon party..

100%

Awesome ! best backpack ever !

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Thanks so much, what an awesome review. We hope you come back again so we can blow you away even more ;) Safe travels and lots of love, Base Crew.

51%

If you've stayed at Base hostels previously you know what to expect, however in comparison this hostel was worse. Couldn't lock bedroom door, bathrooms were smelly and disgusting, staff were useless when it came to enquiring about activities, etc. It is a nice beachside location and the bar has a nice atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving some feedback, I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. After reading your comments we've been through to make sure all doors lock correctly, the clean team have deep cleaned the bathrooms and I apologise about the staff not helping you out more, we have just employed a new team of superstar receptionists who are all well versed in everything the island has to offer. We hope you give us a second chance sto change your opinion. Safe travels, Base crew.

83%

Great location, in front of the beach. Bar stays open until midnight so if you want peace and quiet, better choose one of the back rooms. Friendly staff. Great place to party and meet nice people.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for playing with us, we're glad you enjoyed your stay, We hope you come back and visit us again soon. Base Crew

100%

Cant really think of anything wrong with this hostel! Great view! right on the beach! also the free scuba intro is handy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you kindly for your review, we are putting some more work into the place soon so the property is only going to get better and better, come back and see us again soon. Base Magnetic Island.

86%

Really good hostel! Toilet was just a bit dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, and we apologies the bathroom cleanliness wasn't up to scratch when you were here. We have put in place some new procedures based off your review so our clean team is on top of this from now on. We hope you come back to visit again soon. Base Crew.

71%

We were there for the NYE full moon party, not our kind of music but still a great night! The little dorms/huts are cute and have aircon & lockers, big toilet and shower blocks meant there was never a wait. Kitchen was not the cleanest and had a lot of ants as its outside. Great pool and bar area though with awesome views. Don't walk with your pack to the hostel from the ferry, its further than it looks on a map! Regular buses means its easy to get to other areas of the island.


94%

Great pool area and lots going on here. The bar closes at 12 so you still get a decent sleep too. The bathrooms were good but the kitchen was terrible. Full of ants. So much so that I lived off toast here just to be quick in there. Bus connections are easy and the drivers and nice and helpful.




View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback