Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 409 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Base Magnetic Island Located at 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island.
Base Magnetic Island
Australia
Magnetic Island Queensland QLD, 4819 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay
80% 409
-19.1700184 146.8470811
Base Magnetic Island
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jan 2017
5.7

Cool hostel, but not close to shops or anything so unless you rent a car or catch a bus you're pretty much stuck there, the showers weren't the cleanest, there was constantly moths in the sink and around the showers, my room was right at the end so I had to walk to the toilet and back a fair amount of times, the staff were cool, the games each night resulted in clothes being removed by staff (not guests) maybe they should do a range of activities to suit the wide range of ages!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jan 2017
8.3

Pros: Really nice place to meet people, cool bar with organized events (although these are centered around drinking). Right on Nelly beach and just next to a bus stop for easy access to the rest of the island. Cute cabins and nice pool area. Nice food Cons: the air conditioner in the room barely worked. Also the wifi doesn't work at all and very hard to get any network coverage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.6

This hostel is on the beach so it has great views and its own pool, they organise things to do in the evening and get everyone involved. Magnetic island is a beautiful place to visit so rent a car or go for a walk and see some views. There wasn't any lockers in the room but my room mates were nice and I didn't have any problems

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • louise2907676
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
26th Dec 2016
8.0

Amazing hostel. Lots of activities, amazing place on the beach and cute accommodation

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
19th Dec 2016
7.7

Good fun and lovely place. Kitchen facilities were poor, never seemed to be any cutlery. The pool was lovely and location to the beach! Evening entertainment is fun but the bar staff are arrogant and think they are all that! The guy who does entertainment was great, it's a hard job but he makes it fun! Bathrooms not the best but so many people use it so hard for them too! It was good but stayed in better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
8.3

Total party hostel. I'm traveling alone but by the end of the night I had all sorts of drinking buddies. They have pretty fun games to start the night off (and most of them include people losing clothes) and everyone's just there to have a good time. Super fun. And right on the beach.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Wow! Cheers for leaving us such an amazing review. We're really glad that you enjoyed yourself here at Base Magnetic Island we hope you come back and join us again soon! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
11th Dec 2016
7.7

Beautiful locations - my room was right on the rocks, I could hear the sea from my bed, amazing! Clean room, bathrooms were cleanish considering the rain and mud at the time. The kitchen was fine, nothing remarkable, it did its job. The bar area was large and nice to chill there. Can imagine it got loud at night but my room was far away so I wasn't kept awake by the noise. Staff at reception were very helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Dec 2016
9.7

Great views and nice rooms, food was very good and well priced too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for giving us such a good review! We really hope you come back and join us again on our little slice of paradise! Cheers, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Dec 2016
10.0

Best place in the world

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Ha! Thanks! We're really glad you enjoy our hidden piece of heaven up in North Queensland. Please come back and stay with us again :-) Cheers, Georgia

  • elliotmoore
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Nov 2016
6.6

Actually really enjoyed my stay here with a decent location and nice looking features. The facilities and cleanliness of that toilets how ver is pretty bad, which has unfortunately let this place down

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us a review. I've passed on your comments about the toilets to our Housekeeping Manager. We're glad that you seemed to enjoy everything else, however. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.