X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
284 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

I absolutely loved this place. This is no hostel, its more like a holiday complex. Its located on the beach, the views are stunning. The staff are also really helpful and friendly, always trying to include everyone and it has a real family feel about it. I initially booked for a few nights but ended up extending my stay because I loved it so much. Its my new favourite place in Australia!


100%

Only stayed here for one night and wish I could of extendedy stay if I hadn't already had other things booked. If you are looking for paradise then I have found it! You can chill in the day, feed the wild rock wallabies, find secret beaches and have a lot of fun in the evening with a bar on site! The hostel itself it's clearly well looked after and the staff are all so welcoming. A place I would recommend if you are by yourself or a group of mates. I will be back!!

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a bummer about the one night! Guess that means you'll have to come back and visit us again soon :) Thanks very much for taking the time to leave us a review, awesome to hear when people love the place as much as we do. Safe travels, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

Beautiful location! Brilliant value for money. Will be coming back!

  • 14th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Short and sweet, thanks so much for leaving us a review, always great to hear about something when you're doing it right. Thanks so much, safe travels, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

Base Magnetic Island is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in while travelling around Australia. The staff are all very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere around the hostel and at the bar was exactly what I was looking for and I shall be booking to stay again soon. The kitchen facilities and the bathrooms were both held to a high standard of cleanliness. I really cannot praise the place enough and thank all of the staff for making my stay both relaxing and enjoyable! Cheers Base!

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, It makes us all super happy to hear about it when people love the place as much as we do. I'll make sure all the staff get an extra high 5 for nailing over your stay, Hope you come back and visit soon, cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager

77%

Camping out was a good deal, but since I had no cushioning the ground was uncomfortably hard. If you're not interested in drinking at the bar the noise can get irksome. It's definitely the place to go for backpackers, but I would recommend ear plugs just in case. Side note: if you don't mind walking alongside the road, its only half an hour walk from the ferry so you might as well save yourself the bus fare!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving us a review, Great idea about the ear plugs, we've even got some at reception the next time you swing past. Also a good tip about the bus, it's quite a nice walk which is a plus. Hope the rest of your travels are awesome Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

Had the most amazing time at base magnetic island!! Would definitely recommend anyone stay here if they can. Food was great with affordable prices, great views with the beach right on your doorstep and super friendly staff who can help you book trips/car hire etc. We arrived on a Thursday which was ladies night where any ladies and guys dressed as ladies get $1 punch. So cheap!! Loved it so much that we've booked to come back in a few weeks for the full moon party :)

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What an awesome review, Thanks so much for taking the time. I'll make sure to share the love with the staff, Ladies night is one of our favourites also. Safe travel, Tom Cooney - General Manager

60%

The Burrito they serve at dinner is more like an Enchilada. 15minutes walk from the nearest shops but its right on the beach. Wifi is good. The door to my dorm didn't actually lock. Bar is good but if it's a cold or rainy day nowhere to hang out as the bar and other facilities are basically outside. Monday night there was a game of bingo at the bar, this consisted of an excitable young man with a loudspeaker shouting for hours on end, sub-optimal if trying to sleep

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there,. I was concerned by your comment about the door not locking but there is a lock inside of the door in your room (109) that you just lock and close the door, the door doesn't lock with the key, but I can see that we need to explain this better on check in. Hopefully you come back and give us another chance as it appears you didn't love the place as much as we do the first time round. Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

the impression of this place was set from the moment we arrived. we were greeted with a smile by the very enthusiastic reception staff then headed to our room. it was the furthest room from the reception but made up for it with the spectacular views right over the ocean. throughout the day there was volley ball slip and slides and standup paddle boarding to keep busy which made the place feel more like a resort than a backpackers. without a doubt ill be back just as soon as i recover from bingo

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks so much for leaving us this kind review, it's super appreciated. We really love to hear about it when people love this place as much as we do. I'll be sure to pass on your review to staff so they know they're did it right. How much fun is the slip and slide and paddle boarding right? Hope Bingo recovery is well underway now.. Safe travels, Tom General Manager

91%

Very good hostel overlooking the sea. Bar area is good, toilets, showers and rooms are big and clean. However, the kitchen is way too small and there aren't enough hobs or clean, dry towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks very much for leaving a review, its really nice to hear when people have enjoyed their stay with us. I promise i'm trying to work on a solution for the kitchen, we're not normally this busy so it hasn't been an issue, but i should have planned ahead, sorry.. Hope the rest of your travels are going awesome and you give us another chance in the future. Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

94%

The staff here were fantastic, very welcoming and informative about what to do on the island and what the hostel offered itself. The location was like no other hostel I had stayed in, right on the beach front with amazing views of the mainland. The bar always had a great atmosphere in the evenings, with bar events happening every night of the week! I was camping so I didn't stay in the dorm rooms but they were cute little huts mostly overlooking the sea. Ill defiantly be back to stay here again!

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • morag92
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What an awesome review, Thank you for taking the time to big us up. Hope the rest of your travels are awesome, we've always got a place for you to camp so I hope you come back and visit us again soon to see some more of Maggie's magic. Safe travels, Tom Cooney General Manager

91%

This is from "the nice guy" haha Ben. The staff here are AMAZING, soo friendly and just a pleasure to be with. The first receptionist Andy was really chilled and cool (and easy on the eyes, let's be honest). A HUGE shout out to Gina, Faye, Morag, Dave and Robyn (hope I spelt your name correctly!). Gina and Faye were just so kind and polite, Morag kept me company when I waited for the sunrise and Dave even ran to the bus stop to hug me goodbye when I was leaving (so cute!), STAY HERE!! 😁😁

Owner Comment (Hide)
Haha, thank mate.. Really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review, i'll make sure all the staff get an extra big high 5 from you, and extra hug for Dave. Hope you come and visit again soon. Love, All the Base family.

91%

Great hostel! Is literally at the beach, with great bar and facilities. I had a really good time, perfect social atmosphere! I stay an extra night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the review, we're stoked you enjoyed the place. Hope you come back and visit us again soon. Lots of love, Base Crew

86%

Nice place. If weather had have been better we could have stayed much longer. Lovely setting right on the beach and lots happening around the bar at nighttime. Much more like a resort than a hostel...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry for the delay in replying here. We really appreciate you taking the time to leave a comment, and glad you enjoyed your stay.. We'll work on making sure the weather is tip top for your next stay ;) Safe travels, and hopefully we'll see you again soon.

97%

Paradise. The rooms are cute little huts looking directly out onto the ocean, the showers were always hot (often a rarity on the east coast!) And the food was awesome! Staff were helpful (bending over backwards to fit me and my mates all into the same rooms), And fun. We were treated like their friends rather than just guests.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Maggie Base Hostel is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far in Australia. From the location, to the friendly atmosphere created by the staff - there is always something going on and you can be feel alone.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks ya big legend.. Hope the rest of your travels are going swell, come back and visit us soon :)

71%

Nice location, next to the beach. It is a party hostel. It;s fine for two nights, but not for longer. The showers are cold and not reallly clean. The kitchen is not big enough for all the people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks very much for the review, I've sent maintenance to have a look at the water heaters this morning, as the showers definitely shouldn't be cold, even if it is too hot most of the time to use the hot tap ;) We've got plans for a few more cookers and fridges in the guest kitchen too, so hopefully when you come back next time you'll be pleasantly surprised. Safe Travels, Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

Waking up every morning looking over the ocean is definitely one way I'll remember maggie island and the wet pussys were amazing!

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Great friendly staff beautiful scenery great night life. Would recommend

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, would definitely recommend it!! Loads to do and see around the island. Has an awesome atmosphere at night.


86%

I loved the scenery and the island during my whole stay. I don't have any complaints about the rooms or the facilities at all. I'll definitely be back.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the review. Hope you enjoyed the diving mate. Safe travels and we'll see you again soon, Base Crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback