Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • keanakachmar
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Mar 2017
8.3

Beautiful views, nice aircon and good vibes but dirty and stinky bathrooms

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We've recently installed new air cons so glad you liked those! The atmosphere here is great along with our great views. We try our very best to work around the clock to keep the toilets in shape but thanks for the constructive critisim. Thanks Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • Heard Island And Mcdonald Islands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Mar 2017
10.0

This hostel boasts a sublime location, with outrageous views and even better customer service. The staff here go above and beyond to help you out. They do everything from snorkel hire, car hire, smoothies, cocktails, pool parties, volleyball and sunset walks. The accommodation is unique and clean with A/C to keep you chilled all day long. They have hammocks and bean bags scattered everywhere for a lazy day and that holiday away from a holiday feel. By far the best hostel on the east coast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! How about that for a review! Thanks for taking the time out to write this lovely review. We try our best to do daily events and activities. Spread the love. Thanks Jamie

  • kruemelcx
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
24th Feb 2017
6.6

It's kind of an unwritten law that you can bring alcohol in any hostel as long as you don't flaunt it. But no, they took our spirits and some goon and we weren't the first ones to suffer. Worst thing is they just come into the room without knocking or anything. They basically kick down the door as if privacy was a thing of the past. Apart from that it's a very nice hostel, even though it's kinda remotely located.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Unfortunately we are a fully licensed venue so you can not bring your own alcohol in. Having said this we will ask politely and not go through your belngings. We will not keep the alcohol forever and we will keep it nice and chilled in our cool rooms for you to collect when ever you like. Thanks for leaving a solid review and all the best!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
12th Feb 2017
8.6

Good AC in the rooms. Wifi works well in bar area, but network coverage is spotty all through the property. Gorgeous pool, beautiful view, easy to get around the island or at least to and from ferry terminal by bus - not convenient walking distance to anything. Activities every night, good bar and cafe - expect to wait a long time for food to come from kitchen around dinner time... I waited over 30 minutes for a plate of wings. Long lines for the bar in the evenings as well. Overall a good stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Thanks for the honest review and constructive criticism. We work around the clock the keep these heavenly spot as beautiful as possible. We are currently fitting all new Air Cons so if you come back they will be even better! Sorry about the wait time we now have a new system in place which really shortens the process. We are stoked you enjoyed your stay, so please come back and visit soon! Many Thanks Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Feb 2017
10.0

Great hostel! Hidden gem!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

HOW ABOUT THAT!!!!! All 10's, thanks for the amazing review. Love it when someone falls in love with this slice of paradise. Safe travels Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jan 2017
3.4

Poor facilities, poor service, poor management of the hostel. One of the worst and unorganised hostels I have ever been to.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, I'm really sorry to hear this about our hostel. I'd like to find out some more detailed information regarding your stay with us. If you would like to discuss this further please email me on jamie@base-magneticisland.com Thank you for your time. Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.7

Loved this hostel! Everything was clean and plenty of facilities and very spacious room. Great place to chill out for a few days and easy to get to on the bus from the ferry. Met some great people here and had a good time in the bar in the evenings.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Now that's one solid review. Thanks for taking your time out to write this review. I'm glad you loved our hostel. We've got new bean bags for chilling out in the day and we have great entertainment on in the evenings. Enjoy the rest of your travels! Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
26th Jan 2017
6.3

Good location on the beach and a bus stop next door. As with any Base it's a younger crowd, therefore they're useless at tidying up. Plenty of showers etc could be cleaner. 6 bed dorm nice enough, your own locker would be nice. Air con included. Onsite bar is good, sit back on the deck with a beer.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 39 reviews
19th Jan 2017
8.9

one of the most beautiful hostels I've stayed in, right at the beach and the huts are nice with well working AC. pool area would need a bit more shade. would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Its a great place to come and soak up the sun, admire breathtaking views and sip on a few cocktails. Our AC's in the majority of the hostel are new and we are currently replacing all the others as we speak. We are also looking into more shaded areas for the pool and bar area. Safe travels Jamie

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
5.7

Cool hostel, but not close to shops or anything so unless you rent a car or catch a bus you're pretty much stuck there, the showers weren't the cleanest, there was constantly moths in the sink and around the showers, my room was right at the end so I had to walk to the toilet and back a fair amount of times, the staff were cool, the games each night resulted in clothes being removed by staff (not guests) maybe they should do a range of activities to suit the wide range of ages!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, The closest shops are just a 15 minute walk from here. We also have all the bus times on reception and have bus stops directly outside the front of the property. We also offer to organise all your car rentals. Unfortunately we are constantly battling with wildlife to keep the toilets clean and are looking at new ways to do so for long periods of the day. Thanks for the review Jamie

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.