X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
264 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Nice place. If weather had have been better we could have stayed much longer. Lovely setting right on the beach and lots happening around the bar at nighttime. Much more like a resort than a hostel...


100%

Maggie Base Hostel is by far one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far in Australia. From the location, to the friendly atmosphere created by the staff - there is always something going on and you can be feel alone.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice location, next to the beach. It is a party hostel. It;s fine for two nights, but not for longer. The showers are cold and not reallly clean. The kitchen is not big enough for all the people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks very much for the review, I've sent maintenance to have a look at the water heaters this morning, as the showers definitely shouldn't be cold, even if it is too hot most of the time to use the hot tap ;) We've got plans for a few more cookers and fridges in the guest kitchen too, so hopefully when you come back next time you'll be pleasantly surprised. Safe Travels, Tom Cooney General Manager

100%

Waking up every morning looking over the ocean is definitely one way I'll remember maggie island and the wet pussys were amazing!

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I've ever stayed in. Great friendly staff beautiful scenery great night life. Would recommend

  • 3rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel, would definitely recommend it!! Loads to do and see around the island. Has an awesome atmosphere at night.


86%

I loved the scenery and the island during my whole stay. I don't have any complaints about the rooms or the facilities at all. I'll definitely be back.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the review. Hope you enjoyed the diving mate. Safe travels and we'll see you again soon, Base Crew

69%

Staff were nice enough but very cliquey and didn't really make much effort with travelers despite hanging out in common areas. Value for money for the room is alright but when there is no free WiFi, no free breakfast and no BYO and no shops close by expect to spend much more than the room price. Facilities were what you expect from a decent hostel. Overall, not to bad


100%

Base Magnetic Island is top notch. Staff are all friendly and super helpful. The room I stayed in was clean and well presented and so were the facilities. There is a great menu within any travellers budget and a great party atmosphere at night. Thanks for a great stay base x

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Such an incredible place to stay! The island is beautiful and staff so helpful where to go and see. So much entertainment on in the evenings at Base too aswell as being right on the beach. So glad I stayed and will definatley be going back.

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review, we love to read when our guests enjoy the place as much as we do.. See ya again soon, Base Crew

94%

The hostel is a amazing place to be, staff are brilliant and it has been the best time of my life.

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave the review. We hope you visit again soon, from all reports we hear you were an 'appropriate' Bingo representative. Thanks, Tom Cooney, General Manager

100%

Had an awesome stay at base in Magnetic Island! The location is lovely and right on the beach! The staff were all very friendly and helpful! I would highly recommend X base and we enjoyed our stay! Thanks base team!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review... and thanks for the continuous Trevi laughs.. See you again soon!

100%

On arrival I was greeted by a jolly happy guy in a beautiful dress welcoming us to the hostel, and informed us that it was ladies night were it was $1 punch if we dressed up in a girls dress. The room was a nice 6 bed dorm cleaned and tidy, one of the best I have seen on my trip. the showers were great, hot water and clean bathrooms. The hostel is beautiful and chilled during the day and a massive party at night!!! The staff are all welcoming and happy to help with anything and party all night

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • American Samoa
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful view over the ocean and the option to go to the beach and take a swim in the sea or a nice saltwater pool. Nice menue with perfect snacks for party nights. Lots of themes parties and the staff is greate party starters! If you´re going to Magnetic and you want to meet new people and party I strongly recommend this hostel!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

More like a resort than a hostel! Staff were very kind and helpful! Great atmosphere, very fun!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for the review, I'll make sure to pass on your comments to the whole team. Hopefully you come back and visit us soon so we can exceed some expectations. Cheers, Tom Cooney, General Manager

100%

10/10 for absolutely everything. I've had trouble with every hostel i've stayed with up the east coast but these guys and this hostel is fantastic. The atmosphere in the hostel is amazing and the friendly staff go out of thier way take make sure you have a great time and help you all feel like a family. The toilets are really clean and the cabin rooms make a change from your normal small, smelly rooms! The bar is lively and they really know how to throw a party for you. The food is delicious too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us, sounds like you really got involved in everything we have to offer. Here's hoping we get to see you again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager

100%

This hostel is outrageously good! The first thing you see when you walk in is an amazing view. After that you are greated by the really friendly and helpful staff. They know everything about the island and you can see that they love it. The rooms are kept extremely keen and the shared toilet facilties are awesome. The best showers on the east coast! As for night life, well what can I say, you will be entertained to the very end of the night. From boozy bingo and ladies night to bar wars!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thumbs up! Thanks for an awesome review, we really appreciate it and i'll make sure to pass your comments on to the staff. Hope you come back and visit again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager

83%

Toilets were a mess but the hostel is top of my list! Highly recommend. Wouldn't recommend more than two nights, not a lot to do on the island.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, Thanks very much for the review and apologies about the mess, I have put it as an urgent memo to bring up with my cleaning staff to be on top of this. There's a couple of hidden gems around the island to keep you busy next time you visit as a few businesses/actvities close up around this time of the year due to weather. Well fingers crossed you come and visit us again soon. Safe Travels Tom Cooney - General Manager

97%

Great stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanking you kindly, so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we get to see you again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager

66%

Staff were useless especially the guy on reception but beds bathrooms very good. Not a great fan off base hostels though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm really sorry your stay wasn't amazing, especially with your staff experience. We are trying really hard to cultivate great staff team here that want to go above and beyond to help you enjoy your stay, and clearly this didn't happen so i need to do a lot more work. Truly sorry. Happy you were pleased with our facilities though. I hope in the future you will give us another chance to impress you, and maybe convert you to a Base fan ;) Happy travels. Tom Cooney - General Manager

« first « Prev 1 2
(27 results)


View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback