Hostelworld.com

Base Magnetic Island

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 337 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Base Magnetic Island Located at 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island.
Base Magnetic Island
Australia
Magnetic Island Queensland QLD, 4819 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay
79% 337
-19.1700184 146.8470811
Base Magnetic Island
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

Great stay at this Hostel, Staff and location were superb. The Hostel is more like a resort its that good. Food available is restaurant standard. All in all great stay!!!!!! =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. We really happy that you had such a fab time. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
6.9

Probably not the best location if you don't have a car.15min walk to nearest supermarket.they have food at the bar though.most rooms are set back from the bar,girls dorm right at the end so good for sleep.bit of a walk to the loo showers block which were quite dirty most of the time awell as the rooms where people tread sand from the path.next to bus stop to get to the rest of the island.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review. Although we are 15 minutes walk away from the nearest supermarket - we are located on the beach which makes for it a pretty special hostel. We've taken your comments on board about our bathrooms and will endeavour to fix this issue immediately. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

I loved my stay at base magnetic island From the receptionist that checked me in and made me feel welcome after a long journey to the house keepers who are happy to help with information about the island to the polite bar and kitchen staff that made sure I was enjoying my stay And best of all after a relaxing day by the pool recharging my batteries the night time activities was some of the best fun uv had in Australia with the bar mangers encouraging everyone to have a good time 10/10 stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review. We really appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a fabulous time with us which is awesome! We hope you come back and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • maxsenior
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
10.0

The best hostel I've stayed at!! The place is amazing during the day round the pool and bar area! And then at night it turns into a crazy party hostel with the events they have on every night!! A must stay on your travels!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us such a fantastic review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back and see us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Loved base!!! Has to be one of the most fun hostels I've stayed at through my whole east coast trip! Instantly welcomed by super friendly staff, and having a clean dorm with a balcony view of the sea was such a treat! The MCs are awesome at night and got the whole bar involved in hilarious games to win prizes.. And waking up to a cooked breakfast on the beach in paradise definitely cured the hangover from the night before. Definitely recommend!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello there! Wow! We're so glad you enjoyed yourself. We really love hearing such positive feedback and we hope that you and your friends come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • jwbateman
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
6.0

It was fine but for the most expensive hostel I have stayed in it just wasn't worth the money, you had to pay for wifi and the room was dirty and the bathrooms were horrible and covered I mus

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us an honest review. Although you do need to pay for wifi, we do offer lots of other free activities such as trivia nights, bar games, walking tours, volleyball court and paddleboard hire. We've taken your comments on board regarding the cleanliness of our hostel and will pass the message on to our Housekeeping manager to ensure they are up to a high standard. We'd love for you to come back and give us another shot! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia.

4th Apr 2016
8.3

One of the best party hostels I found up the east coast, staff made great atmosphere on both nights I was staying. Beds weren't the most comfortable, came out with a bad back after the mattress dipped a lot in the middle. But after you get out of the bed and see the view all if forgiven.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a review. We really appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you thoroughly enjoyed our island which is what we love! We've taken your comments about our mattresses on board and will discuss at the next Managers Meeting. We hope you come back and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Mar 2016
9.4

Felt more like a hotel resort than a hostel! Would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for leaving such a fantastic review. We hope you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Jan 2016
6.3

On arrival there was a long queue for check in, the staff were going as quick as possible but still meant a lot of waiting around. The staff are friendly but don't give quite as much informationotice as needed. The pool area is nice amend our private room was amended lovely little hut with great views. The kitchen is a nightmare, waiting 10-15 minutes to use a hob, no one cleans up and there isn't enough of anything, and our food got stolen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us review, it helps us improve the bits we might not be focused on. We know the kitchen is a bit small for our guests, we're trying to get some plans through council at the moment so we can help ease the congestion. We've just never been this busy before so we weren't set up for this problem, but I promise we're working on it. We do have cleaners through the kitchen three times a day but obviously i'll have to have a look at that schedule as it would appear it's not often enough if you found the kitchen in a poor state. I had the guys run a stock take on kitchen equipment for me today, and we've ordered more of everything so people don't have the same issue you have run into. Once again thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and i hope the rest of your travels are spectacular. Cheers, Tom Cooney General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jan 2016
10.0

Xbase on magnetic island was almost surreal. when i first arrived, a very friendly fella named Andy greeted me and said "welcome to paradise", he was absolutely right! the staff were incredibly helpful and accommodating. The atmosphere was fantastic and the bar was always doing something fun ! i would recommend this hostel before any other that i've been to. It was an absolute treat to spend 2 nights here!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, its awesome to hear about people loving their stay with us. I'll make sure to pass on your words to Andy, From what I remember you still need some practice on the pool table but we'll be waiting eagerly for you to come back and try again ;) Hope the rest of your trip is awesome Tom Cooney General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.