Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Magnetic Island Reviews

1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained


251 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 74%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


More like a resort than a hostel! Staff were very kind and helpful! Great atmosphere, very fun!


10/10 for absolutely everything. I've had trouble with every hostel i've stayed with up the east coast but these guys and this hostel is fantastic. The atmosphere in the hostel is amazing and the friendly staff go out of thier way take make sure you have a great time and help you all feel like a family. The toilets are really clean and the cabin rooms make a change from your normal small, smelly rooms! The bar is lively and they really know how to throw a party for you. The food is delicious too

Owner Comment (Hide)
Wow! Really happy you enjoyed your stay with us, sounds like you really got involved in everything we have to offer. Here's hoping we get to see you again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager


This hostel is outrageously good! The first thing you see when you walk in is an amazing view. After that you are greated by the really friendly and helpful staff. They know everything about the island and you can see that they love it. The rooms are kept extremely keen and the shared toilet facilties are awesome. The best showers on the east coast! As for night life, well what can I say, you will be entertained to the very end of the night. From boozy bingo and ladies night to bar wars!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thumbs up! Thanks for an awesome review, we really appreciate it and i'll make sure to pass your comments on to the staff. Hope you come back and visit again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager


Toilets were a mess but the hostel is top of my list! Highly recommend. Wouldn't recommend more than two nights, not a lot to do on the island.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI there, Thanks very much for the review and apologies about the mess, I have put it as an urgent memo to bring up with my cleaning staff to be on top of this. There's a couple of hidden gems around the island to keep you busy next time you visit as a few businesses/actvities close up around this time of the year due to weather. Well fingers crossed you come and visit us again soon. Safe Travels Tom Cooney - General Manager


Great stay!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanking you kindly, so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope we get to see you again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager


Staff were useless especially the guy on reception but beds bathrooms very good. Not a great fan off base hostels though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, I'm really sorry your stay wasn't amazing, especially with your staff experience. We are trying really hard to cultivate great staff team here that want to go above and beyond to help you enjoy your stay, and clearly this didn't happen so i need to do a lot more work. Truly sorry. Happy you were pleased with our facilities though. I hope in the future you will give us another chance to impress you, and maybe convert you to a Base fan ;) Happy travels. Tom Cooney - General Manager


Best 2 days!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to have you again sometime. Safe travels. :) Thanks, Base Management


Good place to stay but the location is a bit in the middle of nowhere. I would advice to go to the IGA that is close to the ferry terminal before heading to the hostel. There is nowhere to go but the hostel bar which is nice and does quit good food and entertainment.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI, Thanks for leaving your comments, we really appreciate it. You're right is about 1-1.5km to the closest store from the hostel, i will see if i can add that in to the description on Hostelworld so people know before they get here. Thanks for the idea, glad you enjoyed some of the parts of our hostel and island though. Hopefully you come back to visit us again soon. Cheers, Tom Cooney - General Manager


Had a bad base experience here and checked out! The management need to hire more staff, the cleaning needs to be looked at - the showers and toilets were the worst we have seen. Great location, but attention needs to be paid to common areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for the review and sorry for the delay in getting back to. You are 100% right, we had a little staffing issue at the start of the year and i'm truly sorry that it effected your stay - we are unseasonably busy this year, i can't make excuses, I just didn't plan right, and i'm sorry it meant the bathrooms and common areas weren't clean enough during your stay. I genuinely hope you give us the opportunity to impress you next time. Safe travels, Tom Cooney - General Manager


Entertainment at night time could be improved as there isn't loads to do on the island.


This hostel is located in a super great location, right on the beach, relaxed, beautiful swimming pool... Staff is friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We love to hear all feedback. We are please to hear you enjoyed your time with us. We would love to have you again on your travels. Thanks, Base Manangement.


The shacks don't have air con so to be told that would be nice as the fans in the room are useless. The netting of the window was ripped so mosquitos could get in and the shower room needs to be cleaned more often as it smelt like urine constantly.

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review. All feedback is appreciated. Without it we can't improve. We hope you enjoy the rest of yout travels. Thanks, Base Management.


Big hostel right at the beach, amazing vieuws! Every evening different activities, music stops at 24.00, what was fine for me. By bus you can see almost everything on the island. Only thing that I didn't like was that the toilets and showers never were really clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We love to hear what our hostel is like from our guests perspective. It helps us to know where we can improve. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Thanks, Base Management.


Good clean hostel, in walking distance of a supermarket. Rooms have lockers and aircon. Great pool area and bar with free pool tables, wifi wasn't working at the time only downer but otherwise all good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you for leaving us a review. We love to hear all feedback from guests. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Safe travels, Thanks, Base Management.


Party hostel be aware. There were ants in the kitchen & dorm. The AC in the room didn't work as the room was not sealed. No lockers in the room that can be locked. Supermarkets on the island are too far in the heat and expensive buy food in Townsville. You can't BYOB as base is licensed. The bus comes like once an hour. Wifi and phone coverage was terrible. Staff come and try to clear you out/ change the bed before check out at 10am. No shade at the pool. Not much shade / AC in the whole place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. All feedback is much appreciated as it helps us learn what aspects we need to improve on. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Thanks, Base Management.


Bathroom are really poor Sounds like camping

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. These really help us to see what we are doing right and wrong. I am sorry as it seems you did not enjoy your time here with us, if you would like to elaborate on the comments you have left so I have something to go back to my staff with please get in touch with me via email. magneticrm@stayatbase.com Thanks Base Management

View all Magnetic Island Hostels

Please give us your feedback