Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 357 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.8
Base Magnetic Island Located at 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island.
Base Magnetic Island
Australia
Magnetic Island Queensland QLD, 4819 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay
79% 357
-19.1700184 146.8470811
Base Magnetic Island
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel is a bit far off from any of the towns so if you don't have a car it's a bit hard to get anywhere in the evening. Our sheets very a bit dirty and there was a mouse in the kitchen. But it's a beautiful location and the food at the bar was very nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. Our view and location is unbeatable, but it does mean we have to sacrifice a bit of space between us and the shops. However there is a bus stop right outside our door and it's only a 15 minute stroll to the nearest supermarket. I've passed on your other comments to our Managers so they can investigate. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Best wishes Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Jul 2016
7.1

The hostel is pretty nice - right on a beach, pool, hammocks around etc. Downsides: in the middle of nowhere (bungalow bay on the other hand has a village next to it), they always seemed (the two days I was there) to close the kitchen over lunchtime for cleaning, also seemed to be the staff/volunteers getting really pissed in the bar giving it a bit of a weird vibe for people staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Although we're in the middle of "nowhere" you certainly can't beat our location and view - also there is a bus stop right out front our door and a Supermarket only 15 minutes walk away. However this is too far away for some people, which we can understand. We've taken your comments on board about the staff as they should not be giving off a weird vibe ever. Again, thank you for leaving a review and we hope your onwards journey is a fun one! Best wishes, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.1

If you are coming to magnetic island you should book this hostel !! Feels more like a resort with his own beach, beautiful pool and cabines. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a fabulous time with us! We really hope you come join us again if you're ever up in Sunny North Queensland. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jul 2016
8.9

Great atmosphere, fantastic location by the beach, awesome nightlife. But not a place for anyone wanting to avoid a party!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving a review. We are a party hard hostel, however we do have an amazing location to just chill out and relax. We're really glad you enjoyed yourself and hope you'll come visit again next time. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • burgess78
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Jun 2016
7.4

Incredible location and decent bar

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review! We hope you come and party with us again the next time you're on Magnetic Island. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

15th Jun 2016
8.3

We liked staying here. It's about a 20-minute walk or a bus ride to the hostel, and was right along the beach. Had a swimming pool and a large bar/restaurant. Kitchen was small but pretty clean. Rooms also had air con which was a bonus. Would likely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Wow! What an amazing review. We really appreciate the time you took to leave us feedback and we hope to see you again the next time you're on Magnetic Island! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • claudiarack
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jun 2016
8.0

Cool hostel with a really good vibe. Not much to do during the day. Only one set of toilet and showers so it's annoying if your room is far from them, especially in the middle of the night

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review! We appreciate all feedback given. We hope if you're ever back this way you'll come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

Great stay at this Hostel, Staff and location were superb. The Hostel is more like a resort its that good. Food available is restaurant standard. All in all great stay!!!!!! =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Wow! Thank you for the amazing review. We really happy that you had such a fab time. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2016
7.7

Something is going on every evening. Really nice pool and easy to reach by bus!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Cheers for leaving us a review. We really appreciate your feedback and hope you come visit us again! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
14th May 2016
6.9

Probably not the best location if you don't have a car.15min walk to nearest supermarket.they have food at the bar though.most rooms are set back from the bar,girls dorm right at the end so good for sleep.bit of a walk to the loo showers block which were quite dirty most of the time awell as the rooms where people tread sand from the path.next to bus stop to get to the rest of the island.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review. Although we are 15 minutes walk away from the nearest supermarket - we are located on the beach which makes for it a pretty special hostel. We've taken your comments on board about our bathrooms and will endeavour to fix this issue immediately. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.