Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 393 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 8.0
Base Magnetic Island Located at 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island.
Base Magnetic Island
Australia
Magnetic Island Queensland QLD, 4819 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay
80% 393
-19.1700184 146.8470811
Base Magnetic Island
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Nov 2016
4.6

Very dirty hostel and atmosphere poor a Constant entertainer shouting and joy actually giving any free items away.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, We do have nightly activities in our bar area but also offer other communal areas if you wish not to partake in these games. We are working very hard on the cleanliness of the property. Many Thanks Jamie Rooms Manager

3rd Nov 2016
7.4

Great place to stay and great atmosphere. But price was steep at $35 a night!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello, Glad you enjoyed your stay we really work hard on the vibe and atmosphere of the hostel as the scenery is amazing! Many Thanks Jamie Rooms Manager

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Oct 2016
8.6

Beautiful part of the world and easy bus links to explore the island. Beach view and your own shared cabin on the beach rather than a room in a building. Staff are lovely, this is certainly a party hostel though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks for the outstanding review, it means a lot to us! Our beach view rooms are certainly my favourite thing about this hostel too. I'm glad our staff made your stay delightful, come and visit us again sometime soon! Thanks Jamie

12th Oct 2016
7.7

Great location and nice pepole. The Sheets, toilets and kitchen were little bit dirty. No lockers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'Day, We have been working hard on the cleanliness of our toilets and i'm sure they'd be much better now if you came and visited us again. Our staff love going out of their way for our customers so it's nice to get that appreciation. Many Thanks Jamie Rooms Manager

8th Oct 2016
8.6

Beautiful hostel. Kind of far from the marina, you have to take a bus since there is no shuttle. There are also a bunch of tiny ants in the room, they're harmless but still kind of gross. It's not BYO so enjoy your drinks on the beach to save some money

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hello! Thanks for falling in love with our wonderful hostel! Sorry about the distance from the Marina but its worth it when you walk in through the front doors! Many Thanks Jamie

12th Sep 2016
10.0

Paradise Monday night boost bingo 👍🏻👍🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for a 10/10 review! We're really glad you enjoyed our Monday nights :-) We hope you come and join us again the next time you're on Magnetic Island. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

11th Sep 2016
8.9

Came here with a friend for a weekend away. Loved our stay. The grounds are beautiful and feels more like a resort. Staff is very helpful and bathrooms are kept clean. I loved the bungalows over looking the water, amazing way to wake up. It is a party hostel, so keep valuables locked up. The hostel is a bit out of the main town, but there is a bus stop right in front. Purchase a day bus pass and the island is yours!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
7.7

Beautiful resort-like hostel. Most of the staff is friendly, some are just drunk. Rooms were disgusting as far as cleanliness. Dirty floors, dirty sheets, dirty blankets,etc... I just think the empress are too hungover to clean lol. Great scenery and reasonably priced drinks. Definitely a huge party scene, but you can avoid it most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're upset to hear that you didn't find our cleanliness up to scratch - I've brought this up with our Housekeeping manager to see where we went wrong, and how to improve. We really hope if you are back on Magnetic Island you come and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • cdunleavy
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Right on the beachfront and has a great atmosphere. Rooms are little cabins- really nice and really clean but the toilets and showers are shared between everyone. This is a party hostel with nothing much around it so wouldn't recommend if you don't want to stay at the hostel most of the time. Didn't get to stay in a private room but they did look amazing! Would recommend getting a bus to other side of the island where there's more to do. Overall a great hostel :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
7.4

Fantastic location waking up on the beach! Fun bar activities in the evening, good food. Bedrooms can get a bit dirty due to sand being brought in but then again what else can you expect with it being right on the beach so only a minor matter. Bathrooms can get a bit smelly at times due to the amount of people using them I guess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your time here with us which is exactly what we aim for. It's an uphill battle with our bathrooms but I've passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager to hopefully brainstorm and fix the issue. We hope you come and visit us again the next time you're on Magnetic Island! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.