Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Magnetic Island

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0
Base Magnetic Island Located at 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay, Magnetic Island.
Base Magnetic Island
Australia
Magnetic Island Queensland QLD, 4819 1 Nelly Bay Road, Nelly Bay
82% 374
-19.1700184 146.8470811
Base Magnetic Island
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Paradise Monday night boost bingo 👍🏻👍🏻

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for a 10/10 review! We're really glad you enjoyed our Monday nights :-) We hope you come and join us again the next time you're on Magnetic Island. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

10th Sep 2016
7.7

Beautiful resort-like hostel. Most of the staff is friendly, some are just drunk. Rooms were disgusting as far as cleanliness. Dirty floors, dirty sheets, dirty blankets,etc... I just think the empress are too hungover to clean lol. Great scenery and reasonably priced drinks. Definitely a huge party scene, but you can avoid it most of the time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're upset to hear that you didn't find our cleanliness up to scratch - I've brought this up with our Housekeeping manager to see where we went wrong, and how to improve. We really hope if you are back on Magnetic Island you come and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.4

Fantastic location waking up on the beach! Fun bar activities in the evening, good food. Bedrooms can get a bit dirty due to sand being brought in but then again what else can you expect with it being right on the beach so only a minor matter. Bathrooms can get a bit smelly at times due to the amount of people using them I guess.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your time here with us which is exactly what we aim for. It's an uphill battle with our bathrooms but I've passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager to hopefully brainstorm and fix the issue. We hope you come and visit us again the next time you're on Magnetic Island! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Sep 2016
8.6

This is a really fun hostel, and only a short walk to the supermarket and local shops. The staff are really helpful and make it an awesome atmosphere to be in. I would recommend this place to everyone

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a positive review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you come visit us again soon! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Heard Island And Mcdonald Islands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

Had to come back to this hostel after i visited last year! Sometimes sadly things are never the same on a return trip, however this was not the case. I had forgotten what it was like waking up to the amazing view every morning! The staff were all friendly and incredibly helpful, the rooms and toilets all incredibly clean. The food here is of a high standard, i highly recommend the pulled pork!! Will defiantly be back in the future, keep doing what your doing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Cheers for taking the time to leave us such a fantastic review! We're really glad you enjoyed your stay the second time with us and we hope you come back for a third! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Albania, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Aug 2016
10.0

This hostel is on point! Anyone from 18 to their 30 somethings need to put Base Magnetic Island on their bucket lists. The hostel is on the beachfront, open air and spacious. It boasts a swimming pool, dive shop, hammock areas, volleyball court, 2 communal eating areas and easy access onto the beach. It's extremely clean and the grounds just like the shared wash facilities are always gleaming, fresh and tidy. Bingo, Trivia, Bar Wars, Pool Parties, BBQ's its got it all to a tee.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such a banging review! We really appreciate you taking the time to let others know how much fun you had here. We really hope you come and join us again in the future! Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
10.0

This place is unbelievable. Walking up the steps to check in was like arriving in paradise. Greeted by a very smiley reception lady and offered a glass of iced water which was needed! Arrived in our 6 bed hut style room with a balcony and ocean view and loved it. The food was great and the nightly entertainment was awesome fun with games and trivia going on.Staff really livened the place up and made us feel welcome and were extremely helpful with day time activities. Wish we were there longer!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Wow cheers for a fantastic review! We're really glad that you enjoyed our Trivia night. We hope that you come and stay with us again in the future :-) Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jul 2016
7.4

The hostel is a bit far off from any of the towns so if you don't have a car it's a bit hard to get anywhere in the evening. Our sheets very a bit dirty and there was a mouse in the kitchen. But it's a beautiful location and the food at the bar was very nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. Our view and location is unbeatable, but it does mean we have to sacrifice a bit of space between us and the shops. However there is a bus stop right outside our door and it's only a 15 minute stroll to the nearest supermarket. I've passed on your other comments to our Managers so they can investigate. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels, Best wishes Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Jul 2016
7.1

The hostel is pretty nice - right on a beach, pool, hammocks around etc. Downsides: in the middle of nowhere (bungalow bay on the other hand has a village next to it), they always seemed (the two days I was there) to close the kitchen over lunchtime for cleaning, also seemed to be the staff/volunteers getting really pissed in the bar giving it a bit of a weird vibe for people staying there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Although we're in the middle of "nowhere" you certainly can't beat our location and view - also there is a bus stop right out front our door and a Supermarket only 15 minutes walk away. However this is too far away for some people, which we can understand. We've taken your comments on board about the staff as they should not be giving off a weird vibe ever. Again, thank you for leaving a review and we hope your onwards journey is a fun one! Best wishes, Georgia

  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
9.1

If you are coming to magnetic island you should book this hostel !! Feels more like a resort with his own beach, beautiful pool and cabines. Great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a fabulous time with us! We really hope you come join us again if you're ever up in Sunny North Queensland. Best wishes & safe travels, Georgia

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.