X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Queenstown Reviews

49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
523 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 62%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Great location, in the centre of town. Although very loud music playing until after 5am. Rather creaky beds but bathroom right outside the door of every dorm which was good.


80%

Very loud

  • 29th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

There were people in my room that used to be guests and still use the facilities, this does not help with security. The room could have been cleaner, the floor was not vacueemed, I think because there were many people living permanently in the hostel. the kitchen didnt even have forks.


80%

The hostel was very clean, warm and tidy in general. My only complaint is about the guy who did my check out. He asked what was my country, he said he had been living in certain city there and it was full of idiots. I didn't even ask. I think is not the best way to greet customers.


66%

Great central location but the carpets in the dorm rooms were sticky and at least half the toilets on the first floor were "out of order" and did not seem to be a priority to repair! In the kitchen the fridge was filthy and despite being cleared of unlabelled food weekly the bottom of the fridge was a mess of spilled, spoiled milk. This is because hundreds of people are cramming food into 2 double fridges. A gas hob was still labelled out of order (perhaps since my last visit in February!)

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

I stayed with two friends in an all female dorm, the “sanctuary”, for three nights. I guess it was a sanctuary from the rest of a party hostel like Base, but don’t expect to get a good night’s sleep. The music is pumping very loud until late at night. We were happy to have our own bathroom inside the room cause most other bathrooms weren’t that clean. However the shower was so warm you couldn’t stand under it most of the time. There was also a fridge in the room that smelled like something died

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Anna, thanks for letting us know about your stay at Base. I can understand your frustrations, however since your stay we have given the Sanctuary a facelift with some new paint, no fridges and the water levels has been addressed by our plumber. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind regards, J.Smith

69%

The base pumping through the beds and rooms is a joke. They all talk about it and its so unnecessary and I don't see why its needed. If you're up early the next day (i was doing Milford Sound) and don't want to drink...you cannot sleep until the music and especially the base stops at about 1.30. Not needed. When speaking to the guy at desk, he said he would ask to turn it down and nothing happened. Not a great stay. ALSO: CHARGING 2% CARD FEE ON EVERYTHING IS A DISGRACE!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Lee, thanks for letting us know about your stay at Base. It's a shame to see that the bar noise kept you up, I do apologise for this. We at Base do make it clear we're a property with a bar attached, however I will bring the bass to the attention of our GM. The 2% surcharge is due to cover fees incurred when processing international credit cards. This is standard practice throughout the pacific. We do inform customers of the charge, resulting in the option to pay cash. Regards, J.Smith

83%

This was my second stay at Base and it was just as good as the first, great location and great bar downstairs. Would definitely recommend and visit again

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rachel, Thank you so much for your feedback. I'm glad to see you not only enjoyed just your stay, but the bar also. We can't wait for you to stay again! Kind regards, J.Smith

66%

The kitchen is no where near big enough for the amount of people staying there- and it's filthy 99% of the time. I know this is down to the individual backpackers and their hygiene standards but the staff should really take a greater interest in what's going on there. We were put above Loco's despite checking in bang on time and the noise for most of the night wasn't great- they could have given us a choice or a warning to bring ear plugs. The lockers under the beds are great and huge!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Minna, I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at Base. I see you were put into an 8 bed dorm as per your booking via HW, unfortunately they're mainly located on the 1st floor above the bar, however we could have offered you to upgrade to another room. I am sorry that this wasn't offered to you upon check in. With regards to cleanliness, we do have housekeeping staff working to maintain the property, but we cannot control the mess created by customers at all times. Regards, J.Smith

89%

Best thing about this hostel is the location! So central! Staff are great. Kitchen is impossible to use. Is ridiculously noisy at night from the nightclub! Ear plugs dont even help oh well guess thats wat u get when its so cheap. Was difficult to use laundry as well because half the machines are broken and housekeeping use them all day. Oh and dont bother getting the premium wifi neither of them work that well anyway

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Erin, I'd like to thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Queenstown. We are aware that the kitchen needs to be bigger and I do apologise for the bass levels in the bar below, I will bring this to the attention of our GM. I hope that this doesn't put you off returning or visiting another one of our properties. Regards, J.Smith

80%

Base hostels have no personality, but this one i thought was better than the one in Wellington, nicer kitchen!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kendal, thanks for letting us know your thoughts about Base Queenstown. You state that Base has no personality; can I ask what would we need to do to make our property feel like it has personality? Could you please let us know your thoughts via email Thanks Kendal, regards, J.Smith

54%

To be honest this is one of those that I will not recommend. Not worth wats paid for. It was way too crowded and old, resulting in it being dirty. Kitchen's not well ventilated and there's not enough space just to just enjoy a good dinner. Room smells even though its cleaned daily. No free wifi. We stayed for a week, moved to a nearby hostel on our last day which was cheaper, so much cleaner & wifi. To be fair, its a party place. Staff are cool but you get a loud busy bar right downstairs.


74%

Too loud at night, you could feel the vibration from the bar underneath

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Franziska, thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay at Base Queenstown. I'm sorry to hear that the bass from the bar kept you up at night. . I do apologise for this. We at Base do make it clear we're a property with a bar attached, however I will bring the levels of bass to the attention of our GM. I hope that this doesn't put you off visiting another one of our properties in the remainder of your travels. Warm regards, J.Smith

69%

Overall a fine hostel, but nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Base Queenstown. I see you think that it is 'OK' to stay here, but what do you think we need to do to make this a better experience? Please let us know via email. I do hope you get a chance to visit one of our other properties on the remainder of your holiday. Kind regards and happy travels, J.Smith

83%

The location is perfect! Al other thing pretty good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Benjamin, Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Base Queenstown. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your time here and we hope that you can return to stay with us again in the future. If not, please make a visit to one of our other properties on the remainder of your holiday. Kind regards and happy travels, J.Smith

66%

central and cheap, but dirty like ****.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Konstantin, thanks for your feedback in regards to your stay at Base Queenstown. It's a shame to see you didn't think our housekeeping was up to standard. Can I ask if you have any specific feedback on the areas we need to make improvements on to avoid this feedback in the future? If you could contact us via email that would be appreciated. Once again thank you for your time Konstantin. Kind regards and happy travels, J.Smith

69%

Not enough communal space for the number of beds in the hostel. Ladies on the desk during the day very helpful and friendly, however had food confiscated for no apparent reason and unfair demands forces upon us by the night staff. Not enough storage space in bedrooms (4 lockers for 8 beds) and staff then asking our belongings to be removed. Overall a good hostel, but the no drinking or socialising rules make it hard to meet people and have fun. Wifi is rubbish, do not pay extra for premium.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rhea, thanks for your feedback on your stay at Base. In regards to the no eating policy upstairs, it is signposted before heading back up at night. It's enforced to try & keep noise levels down as we found people hang out in the halls eating & chatting which travels throughout the hostel. The no drink policy upstairs is also due to local liquor licensing laws as we have an onsite bar that does not allow BYO. The communal area is something we are working on & understand. Regards, J.Smith

80%

Great location, friendly staff, nice people... very expensive compared to similar hostels in Australia but that seems to be the norm for lots of kiwi places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christine, thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at Base Queenstown. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the service we offer and that both the staff and travelers were friendly and helpful. I hope you continue to visit our Base properties and enjoy the remainder of your travels. Kind regards, J.Smith

83%

The reception area was amazing! The staff super helpful on all things travel related. Now the cons: The kitchen is an absolute nightmare! During the dinner rush, it is nearly impossible to cook, clean dishes or find the proper cookware ( 4 forks in the whole building). The stoves are all too close, and the lighters were all out so we were lighting the burners with sticks of pasta from already lite burners. Hot as heck in there. Definitely needs to be updated and rearranged.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kelsi, thanks for your feedback about your stay at Base. Great to see the staff were helpful. We are aware of the problems incurred with the kitchen and are awaiting approval to renovate the kitchen area to a larger space. We do replace kitchenware often, but find that it tends to 'go walkies'. I do hope that this doesn't stop you from visiting another Base or us here in Queenstown again. Good luck in your travels. Regards, J.Smith

77%

It worked out just fine for me. I'll certainly consider it when next in Queenstown. cheers

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback