Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 718 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
Base Queenstown Located at 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown.
Base Queenstown
New Zealand
Queenstown 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658
75% 718
-45.0318531 168.6583703
Base Queenstown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Nov 2016
6.9

1 guy from the staff told me that the hostel was fully booked but on hostelworld it was not and told me that if that was the case I should just book through hostelworld. Wifi was down and not free. Not enough power plugs in huge dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Nov 2016
10.0

Great location, great staff, great gests. There is a guy who go's around the rooms and hands out free drink vouchers for Loco's, the bar next door. Wifi was a bit slow and for me that wasn't huge deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
19th Nov 2016
6.0

One of the least favourite hostels I've stayed at as the beds are very squeaky, keeping you up with other people moving around, there was someone else's hair all over the bunk of my bed when I arrived. The atmosphere is okay I guess, kitchen, lounge isn't too flash but the bar is good. Good location as 2 minutes from Fergburger.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
3.1

Beds were dirty. Hostel is loud much better value hostels in the same area. Staff were also very rude

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Nov 2016
8.0

Good location, comfy enough bed, definitely a party hostel if that's what you are looking for, staff sort of ignored us when we first got there, but after thier acknowledgment the service improved - for what it was, it was a good stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
8.6

Great location in town, my room had a great view, and it was nice to have an ensuite bathroom. The rooms are super narrow which is a bit annoying, also they advertise free wifi but really it's only in the downstairs lounge/reception, and only from 7am to 7pm, and it's super shotty--you have to pay to get reliable internet. Solid place to stay though, I didn't find it to be *too* party hostel-y.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
6.3

Free Internet just at the reception with limited time. Party hostel, too crowded. Private lockers under the bed was good and also the bathroom and toilet into each room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Nov 2016
10.0

Everything was 5 Stars but Mike 10 Stars ir more. He realy help to placn my trip, Thanks a lot, Mike!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.7

WOW ! amazing location, room was comfortable end the atmosphere was brilliant! Would 100% recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • henryjames94
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.4

Great staff but not clean enough. Good value for the price and great location just opposite Ferg Burger

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.