Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 851 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 851 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 5.9
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.0

Great location. Everything else was so so. Bed was awful, i actually cut my leg from a spring coming out of the side. My room smelt bad and I don't know why, bathroom wasn't awful. Stayed at sir Cedrics after and thought I was in luxury after base.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
8th Mar 2017
6.9

It's in town which is perfect. Bad experience checking in - it was so busy and only one girl on reception... Took forever! And because she was so over stretched she didn't explain anything about the hostel so I don't know what the facilities were like or how anything worked. Rushed away too quickly to ask - all a bit of a whirlwind. But served purpose for a quick night stay. They need more staff - party hostel so lots of chances to meet people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Mar 2017
7.7

6 bed dorm was clean an had good size under bed lockers. Staff were really helpful. Ensuite was good but could do with a bath may as the floor got really slippy. The kitchen is far too small for the number of guests, it was dirty, no clean tea towels, no ovens, not enough saucepans. Two of the fridges were not working during my stay consequently the other fridges were crammed full. Very noisy from the bar below. I wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • felipemartins5175
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
5th Mar 2017
6.9

I guess it is what you pay for. It's cheap, so keep your expectations low. Staff is friendly, but the place is packed so they don't have nearly enough people in the front desk to attend everybody. The worst part is the kitchen: very small, packed, the utensils are disgusting, there's not nearly enough places to sit and eat, and not enough ventilation. Rooms are small but ok. Shower was good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Mar 2017
7.7

Awesome party hostel, not so great if you're in Queenstown to work 👍

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
4.9

Party hostel - not the cleanest, just down the middle fine. Beds are not great, so don't expect too sleep to well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
5.4

The staff weren't very interested in serving us when we got there/checked out but all seemed overworked or busy. Wifi is only available in the check in area till 7pm and because its only available there it's slow because everyone is using it, I've had much better at cheaper hostels. Place wasn't super clean but it was booked out so lots of people messing up the place. Can't keep luggage there after checking out either which is super annoying. Wouldn't stay again personally for the price and the

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
6.0

Stayed in base queenstown in the 8 bed all female dorm aka 'sanctuary' as we thought this would be quieter. The room was small with 8 bunks and only 3 available plug sockets for charging. The bunk beds were noisy and creaked with any movement although the beds were comfortable enough. The dorm had an en suite but the shower was only ever too hot or cold. The kitchen was large enough and chill out areas were adequate. Only stay here if you want to party non stop! Not my scene!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
6.0

Super good location but incorrect info regarding amenities / services. Guy at reception refused to help organise airport transfers despite it being part of service and gave vague info about a bus near maccas. Wifi was pretty poor and the luggage storage is apparently only when checking in - so if you have an afternoon flight home be prepared to carry around your luggage as we were instructed to do. Rude af staff at reception. Room was a 4 bed w ensuite and it was really nice. Value overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.4

Were expecting the worse based on reviews but were pleasantly surprised. In 6 bed dorm with ensuit shower rm-good but no soap provided for hand washing. Dorms get a lot of street and bar noise so take earplugs if you need an early night, but this is to be expected due to the location. Plenty of electric plugs in rm but wifi only between 7-7 in communal area which seems a bit tight. Overpriced for the money but then this is Queenstown. Overall good for a short stay. Car parking free locally

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.