Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 764 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.2
Base Queenstown Located at 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown.
Base Queenstown
New Zealand
Queenstown 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658
71% 764
-45.0318531 168.6583703
Base Queenstown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.1

It was okay, clean rooms and kitchen. But you can't control the heat of the showers so it is super hot or cold. The laundry is only open after 5pm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.6

Staff were great just not enough of them.. we had to queue for quite some time to get checked in. Lounge area quite small for the size of the hostel and not many power points to charge things (as there were only 4 in our 8 bed dorm) Room, beds, bathroom etc however was fantastic! Kitchen was good size and well equipped. Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jan 2017
5.7

The bathrooms were disgusting. I arrived at 4pm and there was no toilet paper. The shower room is tiny. A bed had not been changed and someone came in changed the fitted sheet and just rolled up the quilt - someone different had slept in the quilt the night. The beds are uncomfortable and squeak. Most expensive hostel i stayed in NZ and the most disappointing. Wifi onlu avaliable from 7-7 when people are out all day!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Jan 2017
8.9

Staff were great as an error had been made by Hostelworld meaning we would be able to stay but would have to swap rooms after a night. They moved things around whilst we were out to negate the need. There are no plug sockets in the room or rather they are all tucked away in one corner but there is a sign next to each saying adaptors can't be used - what else would a traveller have?! Kitchen & bathrooms were clean & well maintained & staff helped us with storage and kitchen access out of hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.0

The location, facilities and things to do were brilliant however the staff at reception really weren't pleasant. They just looked like they didn't want to be there, quite miserable actually. It really puts you off and wasn't an enjoyable time when checking in or out. I felt like a big nuisance to them. There are a lot of travellers who would be really needing a job to fund their travels and would be far better and happier. Luckily I was only on holiday so only had to endure for a night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jan 2017
7.7

Someone stole my food

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
5.4

Staff was not very friendly and ran out of towels - not prepared for the large group that came in that day. The location is very convenient for getting around downtown but also very noisy. We stayed in a four bed ensuite and the shower was very moldy. Gross.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
4.6

If you're young and looking to get wasted and party then this is the place. I wasn't and as a result felt as welcome as a fart in a space suit. If Avoid. I read all the reviews but had to stay here regardless as everything else was booked out. That says a lot. It's horrendous. On the plus side it makes you see more of Queenstown, just to avoid being in the hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
5.1

After two years of travel this hostel easily finds its place in top 5 worst places I've been to. Staff is ignorant and does not help with directions. Beds are soft but unstable - loud and uncomfortable, ceiling is too close for the top bed. "Personal" light awakens the whole dormitory. Location is noisy. Breakfast is non-existant. Really - it is promoted but where are only coffee (checked multiple times and tried to ask on reception). I am lucky I had respectful and quiet roommates.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
6.9

The staff (except for one or two) is not friendly. Also, since they have a pub attached, they do not allow drinking in the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.