Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 929 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.3
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.1
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2017
10.0

Perfect location, lovely staff, good room size and shower was good, too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annekehoe
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2017
4.9

Bathroom was filthy, razors and clothes from previous tenants left in there. Toilet would not flush, had to fill the bin provided with water to help toilet flush everytime. Stains on duvet, wifi would not work the whole time i was there. Only pleasant thing in there was the girl who checked me in and its central location. Would not recommend to anyone and will not be going back.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.9

Overall great stay with good atmosphere! Organised social activities to meet other hostel mates would be cool. The showers were average - thermostat appeared broken so it was boiling hot one night and then barely warm the following night. Otherwise happy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
4.3

The hostel is dirty; the rooms, the sheets, the bathrooms and the property in general is scuffed everywhere. The facilities are poor and small for the size of the hostel. The staff seemed in a bad mood or grumpy. I really wasn't happy staying there, I wish I spend an extra dollar or two for a more decent place. I don't need anything fancy, Basic is more than enough, but there is no excuse for the dirtiness. Location is good, but queenstown is so small that you'll never be far off centre.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • m_sluysmans9661
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2017
7.4

Any toom above the bar is a guarantee no sleep until 01:30 😣

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Jasonha19871411
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 66 reviews
7th Jun 2017
2.0

Hell on earth!The Wi-Fi is not free, it runs 7-7 then you have to pay for it,breakfast is toast/brown water for coffee staff incompetent,rooms dirty,I watched a guy changing sheets but leaving a unclean duvet behind, the next day I saw a woman do the same, The kitchen is dirty, Theft of food occurs, randoms walk in/out of rooms,so noisy there's a club at the bottom floor,The hostel manager from Essex walked in at 3am woke up people asking if their was a spare bed for himself. Avoid this place!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jun 2017
5.1

I stayed 6 nights here recently and was very disappointed. Mostly it was the facilities that let us down. They advertise wifi but you have to pay for it and it doesn't really work, the shower is very poor. Most importantly our toilet broke on the first day and despite us and our room mates complaining every day there was no effort to fix it so we had to use toilets on another floor. Also there were 4 plug sockets for 8 people and all in the one corner some 4-6 feet off the ground.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.0

Incredible location. Bar right downstairs, which is awesome if you are looking to party but can cause problems with loud residents if you're trying to rest. Extremely squeaky beds as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th May 2017
8.9

Loved base. Washrooms and showers were clean always someone coming in to clean the rooms. The Girls I shared a room with weren't very friendly!! Base had no problem switching me to a different room where I made good friends. Made all the difference in my stay. Kitchen could be a little cleaner but I mostly ate at scary canary anyway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
4.6

Showers were horrible, they were either too hot or too cold

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.