Hostelworld.com

Base Queenstown

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 637 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.8
Base Queenstown Located at 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown.
Base Queenstown
New Zealand
Queenstown 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658
73% 637
-45.0320762 168.6583971
Base Queenstown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • flogonckel
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
21st Apr 2016
6.0

The hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to all the activities to do in Queenstown. I was a bit disappointed by the facilities provided: only 2 power outlets in a room of 8, shared bathrooms were really small and not really convenient, and wifi is at an extra cost. The bar downstairs is quite nice, not too noisy if you're staying in the hotel above (I was on the 2nd floor). All in all, convenient if you're just looking for a place to crash, I would not stay there for too long though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
3.4

Horrendous. Lasted 1 night and had to get another hotel! I understand basic, but this was NOT basic to an acceptable standard

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Very good A++++++++

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
5.7

Only good thing i found about this hostel was the staff as they were super helpful. All the other aspects of this hostel are shocking. I was in an 8 bed, which had only 4 plug sockets located on just one side of the room.The door didn't lock to our room and i was told by the staff that this was a common problem on the whole of level 2 as the doors are too big for the frames. Timed showers / Closing of the kitchen facilities at lunchtime for cleaning.You're unable to eat in the TV room & more!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2016
8.9

Great spot if you want to party all the time!! Amazing people!! Staff and backpackers!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.9

I stayed one night in a girls bunk room. The room was pink, with a big mirror and pretty lights. The staff with check in gave me the wrong key and it took a long time to check in. The bed was dirty, smelled and full of black hairs. The facilities are good for a hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
29th Mar 2016
5.7

Nice staff but a really dark and depressing hostel to stay at with a bad vibe to it. Decent comfy beds though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
14th Mar 2016
9.4

Great location! Comfy bed and clean!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Mar 2016
8.9

Good sized rooms. One of the bigger hostels I've stayed at. Had a bar downstairs which is cool. And you don't tend to hear it later on in the forms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
6.6

Base is a fine place to stay if you're looking to party, but if you're looking for a chill atmosphere where you can get a good night's sleep, this place is lacking. The atmosphere really isn't great either - hard to meet people outside of your own room. And the kitchen and lounge area wasn't particularly clean. Bathrooms and showers are in the rooms though so that's a huge plus! Overall it's my least favorite Base I've been to, and I've stayed at the ones in Welly and Wanaka as well.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.