Hostelworld.com

Base Queenstown

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 811 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.0
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 811 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
5.4

The staff weren't very interested in serving us when we got there/checked out but all seemed overworked or busy. Wifi is only available in the check in area till 7pm and because its only available there it's slow because everyone is using it, I've had much better at cheaper hostels. Place wasn't super clean but it was booked out so lots of people messing up the place. Can't keep luggage there after checking out either which is super annoying. Wouldn't stay again personally for the price and the

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Feb 2017
6.0

Super good location but incorrect info regarding amenities / services. Guy at reception refused to help organise airport transfers despite it being part of service and gave vague info about a bus near maccas. Wifi was pretty poor and the luggage storage is apparently only when checking in - so if you have an afternoon flight home be prepared to carry around your luggage as we were instructed to do. Rude af staff at reception. Room was a 4 bed w ensuite and it was really nice. Value overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Feb 2017
7.4

Were expecting the worse based on reviews but were pleasantly surprised. In 6 bed dorm with ensuit shower rm-good but no soap provided for hand washing. Dorms get a lot of street and bar noise so take earplugs if you need an early night, but this is to be expected due to the location. Plenty of electric plugs in rm but wifi only between 7-7 in communal area which seems a bit tight. Overpriced for the money but then this is Queenstown. Overall good for a short stay. Car parking free locally

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
7.7

The staff were great, very helpful, nice and accommodating. On the other hand, their beds were falling apart. I thought i was going to fall through on the person below me. The showers were only cold water, and the place was in some serious need of a deep cleaning. When i first arrived the downstairs bathrooms were a complete wreck. People had intentionally clogged toilets and flooded it. Not the most reassuring welcome. Appreciate the bargain price considering it was the dead of summer

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Jan 2017
3.4

I can only describe the Base Hostel as a cesspool of filth. There was a cum stain on my bed (actually). I asked the staff twice to change it, and was told to leave it and they'd go in and fix it. They never did. Eventually I had to take it off my bed and get another sheet. The second sheet was filled with a wad of hair. The bathrooms were filthy, the staff was rude and couldn't be bothered to help you out. Everywhere else was full...NEVER GO HERE. It is truly a disgusting excuse for a hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
8.9

If you have stayed at party hostels before, it's expected to know what you are getting yourself into. I was a bit worried about the reviews but honestly if you don't mind a little bit of partying and somewhat cleanliness, it's not bad. People expect a 5 star hotel out of this place but honestly you are coming here for the hostel experience. I was a solo traveler and if you have some good social skills with a sense of humor, I guarantee you will find the best mates to create memories!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Jan 2017
6.3

The kitchen was extremely dirty. I could see that the staff were regularly cleaning the whole place but the guests didn't really put effort into keeping it clean. The kitchen tops were all covered in food in the evening. The bunk beds were very easy to shake if the person on the either bed moves. Thus it made it hard to sleep well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
4.6

Over crowded, noisy and staff at times were very unhelpful

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
6.3

External door wasn't able to be locked Bed bunks nearly broken when arrived which made for a very long night Photo identification a bit over the top My wife wasn't going to be allowed to stay out of a party of 6

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jan 2017
9.4

Best hostel I have ever stayed in! Super clean and modern! Amazing location and friendly staff! Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.