Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 899 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Apr 2017
7.1

I stayed at base, bc it was the only available accommodation. The location is perfect- truly can't beat it. 2 min walk to the lake, 30 secs to fergburger and a great starting pt for hikes to Ben Lomond and queenstown hill. It is a great party hostel with a bar connected to it (can hear it from the room but it's not terrible), and they can accomm A LOT of travelers. That being said, the bathrooms either didn't have toilet paper or they didn't have soap and the kitchen was always dirty.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
8.0

My stay was good. It was quite noisy staying in the room above the nightclub which made sleep difficult

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
5.7

No heating, no spare blankets, no towels left to borrow (willing to pay), no food left some days for "free breakfast", paid wifi didn't work in rooms, no shower mats, good location,

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • beckykatiesam
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
6th Apr 2017
4.9

Probably the worst hostel I have ever stayed in and considering I've travelled all over Europe, Asia, Australia and New Zealand... that's pretty bad. Firstly, do NOT stay here if you don't want to go out every single night. Needs to advertise it is next to a club - not a bar which is open every night and your bed literally shakes with how loud it is. Shockingly bad bass. The kitchen is absolutely disgusting, nobody cleans and facilities basically don't work. No plugs in rooms. Smelly rooms. Poor

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.3

Lovely staff, made an old bird feel at home

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Mar 2017
7.1

Location is great, but can get really noisy, free wifi only available between 7am-7pm (??!!) and one of the bar girls is unbelievably rude...there's so much to do in Queenstown it's unlikely to spend much time in the room anyway! Another good thing was each room has it's own shower and toilet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Mar 2017
7.7

Rooms are decent and have a balcony. Kitchen is big so no problem trying to cook amongst people. Staff were pretty rude and patronising. Location is what makes this place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.1

Stayed in an all girls room which was nice and cleaned on a daily basis. There are only two sockets in the room to charge things which is less than ideal with 8 people in the room. The kitchen is big and clean however half of the fridges don't work and the ones that do aren't very cold so food turned quickly. The noise and base from the club below is very intense and ear plugs are highly recommended if you want to sleep at all !!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.0

Great location. Everything else was so so. Bed was awful, i actually cut my leg from a spring coming out of the side. My room smelt bad and I don't know why, bathroom wasn't awful. Stayed at sir Cedrics after and thought I was in luxury after base.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.4

Enjoyed our stay Staff very friendly and helpful Wonderfully close to city centre Shower fittings a little worn Room a bit jaded - needs a refresh But overall a pleasant stay in a well managed hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.