Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Queenstown

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
Base Queenstown Located at 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown.
Base Queenstown
New Zealand
Queenstown 49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658
73% 675
-45.0320762 168.6583971
Base Queenstown
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
4.9

The hostel is dirty and is a party hostile. They have a lot of long term residents that smell pretty bad, especially since the hostile life revolves around a back pack. Also the staff cleaned the room and threw out my glasses during the process and were unapologetic about it whatsoever. Nor would they refund me the cost of my perscription glasses. The hostel has a bar attached to it, which has horrid food that they serve for a premium price tag. Overall - avoid Base, better options!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.6

Had a good time staying here worked well for me as most nights i was out til late, but a few roomates did say the nighht club could be heard until about 3am. All the powerpoints were in the corner if the room so would suggest a powercord. Needed to pay for premium wifi which wasn't advertised and it wasn't that good due to the amount if traffic that was going through, cheers polemon go. But overall real good spot, across the road from ferg burger so cant complain with that

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Jun 2016
2.9

Horrible Never want to back!!!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jun 2016
8.3

Stayed in a private three person room and it was great! We had our own bathroom and facilities were very clean! I'd recommend this hostel to everyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd May 2016
7.7

Great ensuite 4 bed dorm and the included towel, shampoo and tea/ coffee were unexpected bonus in the room. Not so good was the charge for WiFi; seriously, who isn't offering free wifi these days? It wouldn't have been so bad, but reception dropped in and out in bedrooms, even having paid the extra $2 for premium speed at $6 a day (their basic charge $4 connection so I hate to imagine how poor that is). Get with the 21st century Base!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th May 2016
8.9

Rooms cleaned daily (sometimes too often - housekeeping knocked 5 times before midday!) Bit annoying that plug sockets are all located in 1 corner of the room & are limited (Base - you should know by now how vital plug sockets are to backpackers!!) Great location & Loco bar had some good deals. Although this bar is connected to the hostel, if you stay in Nomads instead you get a free meal there every night! Worth thinking about if choosing between the 2...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
7.7

Stayed here two nights during our stay in Queenstown. The location was very good, near everything and the fact that there was a bar next door which they had deals with makes it even better. The facilities were lacking, only a few plugs for charging phones etc. in each room but otherwise good. Beds were comfy but creaky, staff were really helpful organising activies. Overall would recommend as location is so good and was cheap for what it offered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • flogonckel
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
21st Apr 2016
6.0

The hotel is conveniently located, walking distance to all the activities to do in Queenstown. I was a bit disappointed by the facilities provided: only 2 power outlets in a room of 8, shared bathrooms were really small and not really convenient, and wifi is at an extra cost. The bar downstairs is quite nice, not too noisy if you're staying in the hotel above (I was on the 2nd floor). All in all, convenient if you're just looking for a place to crash, I would not stay there for too long though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
7.4

Ok for teenage backpackers, but wouldn't recommend it if you're looking for a quiet, mature place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
3.4

Horrendous. Lasted 1 night and had to get another hotel! I understand basic, but this was NOT basic to an acceptable standard

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.