X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Queenstown Reviews

49 Shotover Street, PO Box 1658, Queenstown, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

68%

Rating
544 Total Reviews
  • 62%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 70%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Base hostels have no personality, but this one i thought was better than the one in Wellington, nicer kitchen!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kendal, thanks for letting us know your thoughts about Base Queenstown. You state that Base has no personality; can I ask what would we need to do to make our property feel like it has personality? Could you please let us know your thoughts via email Thanks Kendal, regards, J.Smith

54%

To be honest this is one of those that I will not recommend. Not worth wats paid for. It was way too crowded and old, resulting in it being dirty. Kitchen's not well ventilated and there's not enough space just to just enjoy a good dinner. Room smells even though its cleaned daily. No free wifi. We stayed for a week, moved to a nearby hostel on our last day which was cheaper, so much cleaner & wifi. To be fair, its a party place. Staff are cool but you get a loud busy bar right downstairs.


74%

Too loud at night, you could feel the vibration from the bar underneath

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Franziska, thank you for giving us feedback regarding your stay at Base Queenstown. I'm sorry to hear that the bass from the bar kept you up at night. . I do apologise for this. We at Base do make it clear we're a property with a bar attached, however I will bring the levels of bass to the attention of our GM. I hope that this doesn't put you off visiting another one of our properties in the remainder of your travels. Warm regards, J.Smith

69%

Overall a fine hostel, but nothing special.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Michael, Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Base Queenstown. I see you think that it is 'OK' to stay here, but what do you think we need to do to make this a better experience? Please let us know via email. I do hope you get a chance to visit one of our other properties on the remainder of your holiday. Kind regards and happy travels, J.Smith

83%

The location is perfect! Al other thing pretty good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Benjamin, Thanks for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Base Queenstown. I'm glad to see you enjoyed your time here and we hope that you can return to stay with us again in the future. If not, please make a visit to one of our other properties on the remainder of your holiday. Kind regards and happy travels, J.Smith

66%

central and cheap, but dirty like ****.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Konstantin, thanks for your feedback in regards to your stay at Base Queenstown. It's a shame to see you didn't think our housekeeping was up to standard. Can I ask if you have any specific feedback on the areas we need to make improvements on to avoid this feedback in the future? If you could contact us via email that would be appreciated. Once again thank you for your time Konstantin. Kind regards and happy travels, J.Smith

69%

Not enough communal space for the number of beds in the hostel. Ladies on the desk during the day very helpful and friendly, however had food confiscated for no apparent reason and unfair demands forces upon us by the night staff. Not enough storage space in bedrooms (4 lockers for 8 beds) and staff then asking our belongings to be removed. Overall a good hostel, but the no drinking or socialising rules make it hard to meet people and have fun. Wifi is rubbish, do not pay extra for premium.

  • 3rd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rhea, thanks for your feedback on your stay at Base. In regards to the no eating policy upstairs, it is signposted before heading back up at night. It's enforced to try & keep noise levels down as we found people hang out in the halls eating & chatting which travels throughout the hostel. The no drink policy upstairs is also due to local liquor licensing laws as we have an onsite bar that does not allow BYO. The communal area is something we are working on & understand. Regards, J.Smith

80%

Great location, friendly staff, nice people... very expensive compared to similar hostels in Australia but that seems to be the norm for lots of kiwi places.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christine, thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at Base Queenstown. I'm glad to see you enjoyed the service we offer and that both the staff and travelers were friendly and helpful. I hope you continue to visit our Base properties and enjoy the remainder of your travels. Kind regards, J.Smith

83%

The reception area was amazing! The staff super helpful on all things travel related. Now the cons: The kitchen is an absolute nightmare! During the dinner rush, it is nearly impossible to cook, clean dishes or find the proper cookware ( 4 forks in the whole building). The stoves are all too close, and the lighters were all out so we were lighting the burners with sticks of pasta from already lite burners. Hot as heck in there. Definitely needs to be updated and rearranged.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kelsi, thanks for your feedback about your stay at Base. Great to see the staff were helpful. We are aware of the problems incurred with the kitchen and are awaiting approval to renovate the kitchen area to a larger space. We do replace kitchenware often, but find that it tends to 'go walkies'. I do hope that this doesn't stop you from visiting another Base or us here in Queenstown again. Good luck in your travels. Regards, J.Smith

77%

It worked out just fine for me. I'll certainly consider it when next in Queenstown. cheers

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


1 2 Next » last »
(30 results)


View all Queenstown Hostels

Please give us your feedback