Hostelworld.com

Base Rotorua

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 229 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
Base Rotorua Located at 1286 Arawa St, , Rotorua.
Base Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 1286 Arawa St
75% 229
-38.1350629 176.2473535
Base Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
25th Mar 2016
6.3

Everything you expect from a base hostel. You have to pay for WiFi and have to stop drinking at 9pm. It was a short walk from the centre of town but next to lava bar. There were some good food deals with lava bar though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Mar 2016
8.6

Had an issue with late check in, even though I had emailed ahead I had difficulty getting into reception and the staff seemed little, to not interested in giving me any direction towards facilities or check out times and proceedure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2016
9.4

We had a private twin room. Our own bathroom and to our surprise, a very nice little kitchen!!! Awesome value, wonderful helpful staff. Great location. Wish we could have stayed longer!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Feb 2016
8.9

Staff were very friendly, the pool was good and a pretty good location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Feb 2016
2.6

The hostel was horrid, with incompetent staff. The room was dirty and the shower room and no window or fan so it became a sauna when showering. I had prebooked 2 nights but was forced to chekc out after the first night and check back in. Even though I had the reservation confirmed and placed a deposit, they had no rooms available. Complete rubbish. They charge 6 Dollars for 1 day of internet which in my opinion is just ridiculous for a hostel. Stay at the YHA.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Feb 2016
6.6

Told the staff that some belongings were left behind in a room, which included rotting food and they didn't do anything about it. Had a large dorm room to myself my second night which was great. A little further from the isite than is enjoyable to walk with all your luggage.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2016
9.1

Located next to the bar/club they own. Therefore a bit loud at night. Nice atmosphere though and we got towels etc. for free because we booked with hostelworld (and an upgrade from I think 6 to 4 bed dorm room)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2016
4.9

Super music so those Who were to couldn't... And when I got there before at 9.30pm the to the reception Was and the phonenumber They was not getting up. Some Who Was in had to lock me in to the hostel where the one starfmember Was doing dishes. It should have been open to 10pm ...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2016
5.1

First, the music until 3am just in front of the room with unlockable windows Second, the very very very bad shower in the ensuite dorm (no pressure and only very hot or very cold water!!)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Jan 2016
7.7

Nice hostel, well located, clean facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.