Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jun 2017
7.1

dorm room was very hot and there was no way to turn it down. Pool was lovely and hot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • elenmurphy951070
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.1

Very friendly staff, wifi was alright, good that we managed to get a double bed, big room, drier was terrible, nice pool, good bar next door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

Great location, friendly staff and clean and spacious dorms. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicewebbaw6240
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
6.9

Unfortunately when we stayed here there was a full hockey team also staying. Some of them were very young, probably 15 or 16, so shouldn't be allowed to stay in a hostel. They filled the kitchen and meant it was very difficult to cook. It was cheap and the room had an en-suite. Close enough to everything you would need in Rotorua.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
8.9

Slow internet and not available 24hrs...just in the lobby during the day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th May 2017
8.3

No free wifi in rooms a bit dispointing but the room and bathroom was clean. Staff friendly and helpful, Rotorua is a small city so it was easy to get places but the hostel is sort of on the edge of town. Good value for money, I wouldn't leave any windows open though, unless you like rotten eggs haha

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th Apr 2017
7.7

Really friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfortable, and it was fairly quiet in the section I was in. Kitchen was pretty well equipped, better than some places I've been. Great location for getting around. The only downside is the free internet restrictions, but that's normal for a base hostel

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for your review. Glad to hear that you liked our location and found the staff friendly and helpful. Enjoy the rest of your trip!

  • jwillis50
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.7

Staff were very good, best part of the hostel. The bar next door means you get some obnoxious types in there which can mean it gets very loud. No kitchen for customer use either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review. Our communal kitchen is available for all guests to use and is located on level 1. We are very sorry that you were not shown this when you checked in. Glad to hear you found our staff very good and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.6

Good location. Beds not great as shake & squeak when person on top gets in it. Bathroom clean, shower ok. Kitchen facility but lack of cutlery and dishes. Staff friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location for everything Staff are super friendly and helpful Bed was not the best creaked and rocked with the slightest movement and the pillows are horrendous !! Kitchen was small and not the cleanest Wifi is awful as so many people on it and cuts off at 9pm However there was a pool which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.