Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 276 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Base Rotorua Located at 1286 Arawa St, , Rotorua.
Base Rotorua
New Zealand
Rotorua 1286 Arawa St
80% 276
-38.1350629 176.2473535
Base Rotorua
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Only 4 plugs for 8 beds. No internet after 9pm. Nice swimming pools.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.9

Pretty solid place to stay. Fun bar next door and very helpful front desk staff. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
7.4

Good location. Friendly and helpful staff. Very noisy though as there is a bar next door that plays loud music - good if you want to party. Free wifi but only in reception area and it cuts off at 9pm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
8.3

Clean, spacious room with nice ensuite. Great staff in the hostel and bar next door

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Dec 2016
6.9

The heated pool was amazing! Kitchen needs more cutlery.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Dec 2016
8.9

Nice place. Clean. Rooms are bare but good enough. Right beside a bar. Which gives out free dinner with purchase of a $5 drink. It's really great. The free wifi is a generous act. But it's not great wifi. You'd be better off paying if ur staying a while.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Dec 2016
5.1

I don't recommend this place-6 bed room was so small with nowhere to put your bags or lockers. The beds were also so loud. One toilet/shower for a couple rooms.. always dirty. Difficult to cook in kitchen- only managed to find one bowl for the entire place? Free Wifi doesn't work in your room and only available till 8pm. It's easy to walk to town from, small town though but still a good bit of a walk to grocery stores. I just never felt comfortable at this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Nov 2016
9.7

The only thing I really have to complain about is the wifi - they advertise it as free but that only works in the common areas downstairs between 7am and 7pm. If you want 24/7 wifi or wifi in your room then you have to pay for it - $4 for 24 hours or $12 for a week... Otherwise location was good, facilities good, the bar next door had good atmosphere and good deals for dinner and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
4.0

There was 1 toilet and 1 shower for an entire floor of people. There were only a few bowls and a few mugs and spoons for everyone. It was particularly clean. The bunk beds were really low so you couldn't actually sit up in them. Was right beside a bar that was extremely loud. Was on the complete other side of the building and was woken up by it. The shower was literally a plastic box and so gross. Definitely not the best hostel I've ever stayed in

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
8th Nov 2016
8.9

I don't normally book into chain hostels. Only booked here because I was taking the late bus into Rotorua, and there aren't many other hostels that allow late check ins. It initially proved difficult: I called as instructed, but no one answered. I eventually followed some drunk people in, but couldn't find anyone to help. Fortunately the related bar hadn't finished cleaning for the night, and someone there tracked down a watchman. Other than that, no complaints, but nothing stands out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.