Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 300 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jwillis50
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2017
7.7

Staff were very good, best part of the hostel. The bar next door means you get some obnoxious types in there which can mean it gets very loud. No kitchen for customer use either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Mar 2017
8.6

Great location for everything Staff are super friendly and helpful Bed was not the best creaked and rocked with the slightest movement and the pillows are horrendous !! Kitchen was small and not the cleanest Wifi is awful as so many people on it and cuts off at 9pm However there was a pool which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tthomps1226
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Feb 2017
6.9

The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a room by the pool so we can relax while my daughter swims. There was glass all over the place (which the manager took upon himself to clean up), the pool was not that clean and it was too hot to swim in. Also no drinking was allowed in the pool area. Our room was ok. Nothing special but the amount of money that was paid I would expect better cleanliness.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
4.9

Room 3 was nothing short of disgusting. You couldn't help but be hit by the heavy smell of mould as you entered the room. Thankfully neither my sister or I are asthmatic! There was mould growing above the window on the ceiling that ran the entire length of the room. There was mould on the net curtain and heavier curtain, which was hanging off at one end. There was mould on the bathroom walls. The sheets on the bed felt damp. The pillow was ripped and stained. I took photographs of it all.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
17th Feb 2017
6.3

Room was spacious and clean. Had an ensuite girl only dorm so got a towel and shampoo/conditioner plus hairdryer which was nice. The kitchen wasn't very big and never seemed to be clean. Wifi only on the ground level which didn't have many seats so everyone is lying on the floor. Also wifi is only during the day which isn't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Feb 2017
6.6

Standard industrial base, wouldn't stay again in favour of smaller independent hostels

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.0

well..generally the hospitality,facilities especially the warm swimming pool is awesome.However,we are group of 7 ,booked 2 double and one 4 bed dorm.Cleanliness of the room was the poorest.my double bedroom lighting is weak.while the dorm is good at the first glance.However,on the second day , all of us gotten the red rashes all over body.Its itchy.We thought it might be bed mites.Its really sad and till now(after 2 weeks),the mark is still there. And the kitchen is really very dirty &messy

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
6.0

We've found that base is nothing special around New Zealand. The kitchen is always filthy and too small, and it's not worth the price you pay. We stayed in a nice room but had to pay a lot extra for this

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
24th Jan 2017
8.3

Over all this was a nice hostel. But the biggest let down was the kitchen, it did have any useful utensils or anything really!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.0

Only 4 plugs for 8 beds. No internet after 9pm. Nice swimming pools.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.