Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Rotorua

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 324 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jdeters
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Jul 2017
8.3

Would not recommend if traveling alone as there are no common spaces for making new friends. The bar next door has a deal on Wed for a $5 drink and free dinner. The room got quite cold at night. But the kitchen and location were great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed our Wednesday drink and meal deal. We have taken your comment about our communal rooms into consideration and we are now in the works of upgrading this area. Safe travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jun 2017
10.0

Really nice hostel, great location and friendly staff. I would recommend staying here

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Cheers for your awesome review! We strive to give all of our guests the best possible service experience, and we're glad that we were able to personally prove this to you. You are welcome back anytime!

18th Jun 2017
7.1

dorm room was very hot and there was no way to turn it down. Pool was lovely and hot.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heya and thanks for your review! We're sorry that the heating was an issue for you during your stay - geothermal heating and Mother Nature can be unpredictable at times it seems! We are however, very happy that you enjoyed our heated pool. You're welcome back anytime!

17th Jun 2017
6.9

I stayed here on the night of the Lions match in Rotorua as it was the only hostel available and, to be honest, I'm pretty glad it was only the one night I stayed. Though staff were friendly it is a pretty depressing place and a good walk to the centre of town. Having Lava Bar next door was a nice touch but once you decide to call it a night the music reverberates through the rooms like you're still there. I was offered ear plugs by staff but these seemed to do little good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Hostel staff - one word...AMAZING! I seriously cannot stress how helpful, friendly and just down right awesome these girls are. Came to stay for four days with next to no plans and they helped me book everything and gave me great recommendations. They really make the hostel a great place to stay. In terms of the hostel itself, great location (right next door to lava bar so can get a bit noisey at night) and within 3 mins walking distance to town centre. Thermal heated pool - mad hangover cure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your awesome review. We take pride in the service that we give to our guests, and it's great to know that you found this so helpful for your travels. We agree that our location is very convenient with its proximity to the CBD, and agree even more so with the many uses of our heated pool! All the best for your travels..

  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
14th Jun 2017
8.9

Double room was very spacious and nice. Could not hear any noise from the barn next door, however friends staying in the dorm said it kept them up until 2am. Staff very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • elenmurphy951070
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.1

Very friendly staff, wifi was alright, good that we managed to get a double bed, big room, drier was terrible, nice pool, good bar next door.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
8.6

Great location, friendly staff and clean and spacious dorms. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alicewebbaw6240
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
6.9

Unfortunately when we stayed here there was a full hockey team also staying. Some of them were very young, probably 15 or 16, so shouldn't be allowed to stay in a hostel. They filled the kitchen and meant it was very difficult to cook. It was cheap and the room had an en-suite. Close enough to everything you would need in Rotorua.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jun 2017
8.9

Slow internet and not available 24hrs...just in the lobby during the day

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.