X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
940 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Pretty standard. Noisy if your trying to sleep before 11:30 but good atmosphere if not. Loads of people in the bar and some good night's.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best Monday Sesh I've ever attended!


91%

Had such a great time here that I came back a second time. Would defiantly recommend it :)

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location, facilities are really good. Bit pricey and quite noisy at times but it's a party hostel so as to be expected. Quite young orientated like 18-22 but overall good hostel.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great staff, very professional! Brilliant atmosphere around the hostel (especially when the bar's open) and plenty of theme nights to keep you occupied. Would definitely stay there again when in Melbourne.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

If you want a party hostel - this is THE place to be! A party every night - can be annoying when your roommates continue the evening in your room until 5 am. Friendly staff, but a rather young environment/guests, the shower/toilets are in each room which was very awkward at times, WAY too loud for me, especially when it's encouraged every night. They have an employment desk - but I highly recommend NOT paying the $125 for the membership - totally useless and I ended up getting a job on my own


100%

Really enjoyed our stay and all the staff were extremely friendly, especially their awesome reception team.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and left us a review! Next time you're in Melbourne come and join us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Facilities were good, bar was great fun especially on Thursday nights. Kitchen was very hot all the time, and often a huge mess, not necessarily base's fault but they can do more to improve cleanliness, the floor was so sticky like a rubbish nightclub floor. The rooms were alright too, beds were comfortable enough. Cleaners hoovered daily but only glanced in bathroom and never once saw them dust / clean a mirror or window. rooms above night club also noisy but to be expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We've recently worked out the issue with our airconditioner which is making the downstairs area much 'cooler' ;-) We try and have the kitchen cleaned at least five times daily however sometimes we aren't able to, for this we're sorry. I will bring all your points up at our next managers meeting to see if we can fix some of the issues you've brought up. We hope you stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations! BASE CREW

89%

Really friendly place with loads going on! Bar at night always busy with a good atmosphere, staff were great also! I stay in a mixed 8 bed with was fine with ensuite! Would and have recommended this to a friend and definitely would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Cheers for the awesome review! It's great knowing that you had a great time and that you'd recommend us to all your friends :-) We definitely hope to see you the next time you stay in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

10/10 in all departments! Loved every moment of our stay in Base St Kilda. Super friendly staff, immaculate private room with the best shower ever (the small things... its kind of a big deal), had heaps of fun at the bar with cheap drinks and live music, free BBQ for dinner. All round awesome hostel :) definitely recommend to everyone!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! We really appreciate the banging review you've left us! It's always nice finding out that we got things right! Next time you're in Melbourne - make sure you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Absolutely loved my stay at Base St Kilda! Thanks to the incredible staff! Always nice to walk in and be greeted by friendly people! Hope to see you guys again soon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we absolutely loved having you! Hope to see you back here again as we warm up for another St Kilda Summer. Bring your travel buddies and some sun cream ;P Happy Travels! Piers Cooke Rooms Manager Base St Kilda

100%

Absolutley fantastic hostel, I've travelled the world and this is up there with the best. Staff are amazing and it has a real family like feel. The bar is pumping all the time and the rooms are exceptionally clean. You get exactly what you pay for. Transport to the city is on your front door and is extremely frequent. Kitchen and common area are relaxing and spacious. Base has it!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the AMAZING review! We certainly loved having you here and hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Very nice hostel. Good for party scene but music is quite loud if not. Lovely staff and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a fantastic review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you've had a great time with us which is what we like! Next time you're in Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had a fantastic time at this hostel and wouldn't go anywhere else! All the people and staff are fantastic, like a little family, and there are always activities to take part in. It is a 20 minute tram ride to Melbourne and about a two minute walk to the beach. The hostel is the cleanest I stayed in. Loved my stay at base and miss it so much. I will definitely return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Wow! What a fantastic review. We really appreciate the time you took to leave us this amazing review! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you'll choose to stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

Good location in st kilda but far from the city centre. Full of long termers trying to find work though a good party hostel too. Bathroom was nasty, cleaned only once in my 5 days there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a fairly good time with us which is exactly what we aim for. Just so you know we clean the bathroom daily - we apologise if this didn't seem the case however we do have receptionists on duty at all times that could have taken note and fixed that for you. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Awesome place, awesome people will definitely be returning!! Thanks guys

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us an awesome review. It seems like you both had a great time with us and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

37%

dirty kitchen!!!!!!!!!, rude worker, uncomfortable bad and facilities, far location from central(at least 30 min by tram), and very noisy (everyday party)

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, facilities and staff however it seems in this case we failed you. If you could email me with more details regarding the staff and facilities it would help ensure this situation doesn't happen again. Just so you know, our reception desk is manned 24/7 and can help in any situation that arises. Thanks again for leaving us a review. Best wishes, BASE CREW

100%

Staff really friendly and helpful! Got everything you would need and location is really good

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and party with us! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Great Hostel...great vibe and energy. They have something going on every night so if you don't feel like going out you can have fun staying it. The rooms are great and clean and the staff if really helpful and friendly Made lots of great friends...will definately return

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like you had a great stay with us which is awesome! We will see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

This is a really great place to stay if you're looking for a lively, fun hostel. Every night they do a different deal on food/drink and there is usually we form of game going on in the evening which is great for meeting new people. It's cheaper than most other places too so it's a win win.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is awesome and exactly what we aim for! Next time you're in Melbourne definitely come back and stay with us! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(49 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback