Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1360 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel. Great location, lovely crew. I'll be back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WE WANT YOU BACK NOW!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice hostel except for some workers cant keep up with things and get frustrated if you're trying to right a wrong. I got first charged too much and I tried to explain but it was beyond ones comprehention. Using own brain instead of trusting whatever computer says is allowed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!! thanks for staying with us and just remember we have a few new staff training, so it's little bit hard at the start ;) thanks for your review and stay

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Great atmosphere, and location. Stuff going on every night. The rooms are very clean, rooms are hoovered once a day and bathrooms are cleaned daily. The only thing what is dirty is the kitchen, due to people being not respectful for other people. The hostel are willing to help with job searches and help book trips etc. Very good for new backpackers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nathaliet964199
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.3

Messy kitchen, I wish people had more respect and cleaned up after themselves.. Party hostel, it's quite easy to make friends and easy access to everything around! The first hostel I've ever stayed at and it gave me a good first impression of hostel life!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awwww you always remember your first ;) Thanks for staying

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Mar 2017
6.9

Basic but had what I needed - not the best but definitely not the worst. Good location for exploring St Kilda.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for staying! Hopefully we'll see you again. Happy Travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Mar 2017
6.6

Just wanted to sleep for one night after a festival and got in too ages to sign in ok the weird app thing at the front, got to my room at 9 was immediately surrounded by drunks in the room that were sick in the bathroom and kept me awake all night.. definitely a party hostel and over priced. Won't come back again if I want to sleep and not party on a Monday night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Monday's are our crazy night because it's BINGO.....but that's not your fault...next time you're in town say "hi" and we can play some bingo together. happy Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Mar 2017
9.1

It's a party hostel so if you don't want that don't stay here, it's a lot of good fun tho, staff have been really friendly and helpful. Location is great, near the beach and an easy tram ride into city centre. Would definitely reccomend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thanks for the great review! Happy travels! Sophie, Reception Team.

6th Mar 2017
6.0

The room was the dirtiest hostel I've ever been. Told the manager and nothing was done. Sure everyone had their stuff out all over the floor with the useless bins underneath the beds but the floors were dirty. There were black mold in the shower, sink and along the walls. No windows thats why mold was comfortably incubating. Found out this place only score well cuz it's a massive party hostel that goes into the deep night. Bring ear plugs. Beware: no top sheets and comforters are not changed!!!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So, the Good News: Since you stayed with us we have new management, more housekeepers, a "Housekeeping Hit Squad" and heaps better vibe. The Bad News: it didn't happen before you stayed with us. If you're ever back in St KIlda drop by and come and have a look at what's changed. Happy Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Mar 2017
8.9

I was only here for two night but loved how close it was to the beach! The area it's in is also really fun. I accidentally booked for the wrong nights but the staff were super understanding and helpful and were able to get everything straightened out. The atmosphere is also really fun and it's easy to meet fellow backpackers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind words and awesome review! Hop[efully we see you again soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Syria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
5.4

Just checked out the resepstionest wasnot helpful at all she doesn't even look at me . bad Guests service

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, sorry check out wasn't as friendly as you wanted it to be but we can get pretty busy in the morning rush. Happy travels!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.