X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
852 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

If you're looking for an accommodation for fun and party, this is what you're lookoing for. If you look for a place for peaceful relaxation, it's not yours. I stayed in a private ensuite room with window facing the road side. The room is clean. Staffs are lively and helpful. Its location is superb. Find it convenient to go to the city center. On the other side, trams passing, after pub hour chit-chat on the street make it noisy at night. No surprise, ear plug provided in the room.


83%

Nice hostel. Staff were lovely. Room was very messy and was kept up all night by everyone coming and not not respecting the others in the room. One person had their other half stay in the room so there was 9 people not 8. Bar was cool and surprisingly quiet rooms considering the Noise downstairs. Good hostel if you want to party but getting up early for work was impossible after no sleep.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you filling out a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay! We're sorry that you had inconsiderate room mates - just so you know we do have a Night Receptionist that can help you keep your dorm room just for sleeping. We hope the next time you are in Melbourne you come back and stay with us so we can exceed your expectations and give you a 10 out of 10 experience! Best wishes, BASE CREW

66%

Location is excellent. The tram brings you fast into cbd. There are no bathrooms except the one in your room. If one of your mates has a shower for 20minutes everyone has to wait. Quite stupid if you are in a hurry. But the best is the noisy speaker which the staff uses frequently to remind you on check out time and the happy hour. Never seen such a stupid thing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review for us. We do try to monitor the use of our loud speakers and keep it to a minimum but we appreciate your feedback and will look into minimising it further. We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the future. Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE CREW

77%

Nice hostel, clean bathroom in the room, an easy tram ride from Melbourne CBD. Staff were very helpful, and Saturday nights there's a good atmosphere in the bar downstairs. A bit pricey, but overall a nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for writing a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given! It seems like you enjoyed your stay with us which is awesome! We hope to welcome you back to our hostel in the future :-) BASE CREW

89%

stayed in mixed dorm loved it staff excellent

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback given and you seemed to have a really good time with us! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Best hostel I have stayed at...highly recommend

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate every bit of feedback and it seems like you enjoyed your stay which is what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes! BASE CREW

71%

The hostel staff was helpful in finding trips and navigating St. Kilda and proposing ideas for things to do around Melbourned. Each dorm room has its own bathroom. The rooms get a quick clean over daily, which keeps the dorms fairly okay. This hostel caters to the idea of a good time and as such has a lot of events throughout the day and especially at night. So if you are looking to meet a lot of people and have a good time partying this is the place. Though the rooms were quiet.


100%

Had a great stay, very social hostel. One of the more modern hostels in St Kilda. Staff cleaned the rooms on a daily basis. Great location close to the beach and all the bars. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a great time staying with us which is what we aim for! We hope to again welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

WOW, I had the best time at this hostel don't know where to start. My flight got in late and i was really sick of travelling when i arrived at xbase. The reception staff was so welcoming and friendly that i instantly felt at home when they showed me I was booked into a female only dorm and i had free champagne every night of my stay. The bar was really busy and fun, LOOOOVE the ladies night. I can not wait for my next holiday to melbourne!! Thanks for everything

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay which is fantastic! We can't wait to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Property in the future. Best wishes and happy travels! BASE CREW

77%

If you're looking to party, then this is the best place in Melbourne. If you're not, then avoid staying at Base. For me, this was the perfect place to stay for 5 days -- do some partying, stay at the beach, & hang out. The staff is awesome & the atmosphere is great. Where Base lacks, however, is with it's cleanliness & the facilities. Overall, the rooms don't feel very new or well-kept. It would be great to have a mirror in the room, since an 8-person room all share one bathroom.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to give us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. It sounds like you pretty much enjoyed your stay which is great! During winter we go through and give our rooms some TLC and putting mirrors on the outside is the top of our list! Our rooms do get maintained regularly but I'm sorry we didn't meet your expectation this time. We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA in the future :-) Best wishes & Safe Travels, BASE CREW

100%

Very friendly staff, good facilities and a wide range of activities to do within the day and at night. Always made to feel welcome, very clean within the rooms and downstairs. Had a very enjoyable stay.

  • 4th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate the time you took to review us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems you had a great time staying with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Property in the future. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Lets be honest, is there really a better place to stay in the whole of Melbourne?

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback given and we are really happy you enjoyed your stay so much! We hope to again welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Property in the future! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Base is definitely the best hostel I have stayed in while I have been in Australia. Its a really fun and friendly environment. The rooms are very clean and the beds are comfortable to sleep in. All the staff are easy going and helpful. There is always something to do during the day and night, so you never get bored and you are always meeting new people. I would definitely recommend anyone to stay at base hostel!

  • 3rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you enjoyed your time here which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Hostel in the future, Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

You should try to make changes on the people who's on their arriving date instead of making people change if we exted our stay late. For me, it's just that you don't make enough effort

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for writing a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given. We understand that it can be frustrating to move rooms when you extend late - our team at front desk always try to keep people in the same room however it can be difficult when groups who have prepaid are checking in. We try to make in house guests priority however when people extend on the day it can be difficult. Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

It was very good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay which is what we like to hear! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Property in the future, Best wishes and safe travels, Base Crew

91%

Stayed 2 nights in a girls only dorm. Nice, on the 3rd floor so couldn't hear the bar downstairs to the room. Spacious, the bathroom was nice and clean. Easy to meet other travellers. Nice touch with the free sparkling wine every day from 8 to 9 for the sanctuary girls. Also location was great next to the St Kilda Beach! Would stay hear again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's means a lot to us to hear this feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Property in the near future. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

Great place to stay and as I frequently visit VIC I will most definitely stay here time and time again! This is a perfect hostel for solo backpackers or groups! Bar downstairs is great and food is quite reasonable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and knowing that we've done well is always a plus! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes and safe travels! BASE CREW

77%

Its a nice hostel but a bit to expensive. For example you can have a 5$ all you can eat breakfast which is just a normal toast and cereal breakfast which you get in most hostels for free and there is no free wifi. But its chlean and nice rooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to complete a review for us. We appreciate all feedback. Although we do have products that do cost money (all you can eat breakfast, unlimited download internet) we also do offer many free activities like yoga, run club, tours and games in the bar. We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base Property in the future where you can try all our free activities also :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

54%

This was like the worst hostel I've ever been to. You can call it the party hostel as there are partys every night until 12am, sometimes even until 2am to squeeze out the maximum of money from the guests. I hired a MyKi Card (Melbourne Trams) and it was in debt. I had to walk back the whole way from Melbourne City to the Hostel (2 Hours). The Kitchen was crowded, there were not enough dishes and it was very dirty. Facilities were ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review us. First of all, I am upset to hear your time with us was so unenjoyable as we strive on making a fun, memorable experience for everyone. I offer my sincerest apologises that we did not maintain your expectation of us. We appreciate any feedback given and we will endeavour to inform guests properly when hiring the MYKI cards and to have the Kitchen stocked appropriately. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

63%

Excellent location for st Kilda beach, not so good for the centre of Melbourne although the excellent tram service will get you there within 30 minutes. The kitchen here is disgustingly dirty and very under equipped. If you like lively hostels then this is for you, if not then there is better. Despite the hostel being pretty modern it's mainly let down by there insistence on charging you extra for every single thing they can get there hands on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for completing a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given. We apologise if our kitchen was not up to standard. Unfortunately although it is cleaned at least six times a day it can still get messy due to guests not cleaning up after themselves. We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property to exceed your expectations. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback