X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
959 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The staff were helpful and friendly, room was small, but the beds were comfortable and clean. Being a Saturday night and with a room facing the road it was crazy noisy, but you get that in St Kilda. The 'where's wally' party seemed awesome. Overall, a great place to stay.


97%

This was my first time staying at Base. I loved it! After roughing it through Indonesia and the Philippines, it felt so good to do my own laundry and cook my own meals! The kitchen and laundry room were kept very clean. Base was the best party in town every night of the week! Sanctuary girls, don't worry - you'll get your beauty sleep on the 3rd floor and it's very quiet. 1 hour of free champagne every night for the sanctuary goddesses ;) HELL YEAH


89%

Hostel was awesome, good work guys!


100%

Amazing stay! Everyone is so friendly and the staff are all super sexy

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! It's awesome that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come to Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

Good hostel overall, and an excellent location. Our room was very noisy, as the only window opened onto the smoking area, which was very loud. Would be worth installing aircon to allow the window to be closed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for giving us an honest review. We do have air-conditioning installed in every room and 24 hour staff to help with any maintenance issues however it seems that we failed to provide this during your stay, for which we are sorry :( We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and give us another shot! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had a great time in Base St Kilda ! Would recommend if you like partying all day long !

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for giving us a 100% review! We love that you LOVED us and we hope when you come back to Melbourne you come and party with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Great time at base st Kilda to finish off my stay in aus, lots going on and some awesome people

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay :-) We hope the next time you're in St Kilda you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

74%

Pretty standard. Noisy if your trying to sleep before 11:30 but good atmosphere if not. Loads of people in the bar and some good night's.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. Every night we have something fun happening in the bar but during the day we have fantastic free activities like the Queen Victoria Market Tour, Beach Days and Yoga :-) We hope to see you in our bar the next time you're in St Kilda :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Best Monday Sesh I've ever attended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We had a blast too! We can't believe it was Bingo's 200th birthday! Make sure the next time you are in St Kilda you come and see us again as we've always got something going on in our bar :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Absolute blast, I can't wait to come back. The staff were legendary aswell, thanks guys!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had such a great time here that I came back a second time. Would defiantly recommend it :)

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Hopefully we'll see you a third, forth and fifth time! Cheers for leaving us such an amazing review. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Great location, facilities are really good. Bit pricey and quite noisy at times but it's a party hostel so as to be expected. Quite young orientated like 18-22 but overall good hostel.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. We appreciate all feedback and it seems like you had a pretty great time with us which is fantastic! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you'll join us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

94%

Great staff, very professional! Brilliant atmosphere around the hostel (especially when the bar's open) and plenty of theme nights to keep you occupied. Would definitely stay there again when in Melbourne.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! It's awesome that you had such a great time with us. We'll see you the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

If you want a party hostel - this is THE place to be! A party every night - can be annoying when your roommates continue the evening in your room until 5 am. Friendly staff, but a rather young environment/guests, the shower/toilets are in each room which was very awkward at times, WAY too loud for me, especially when it's encouraged every night. They have an employment desk - but I highly recommend NOT paying the $125 for the membership - totally useless and I ended up getting a job on my own

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We agree - we ARE the best party hostel out there. However we do offer many other activities during the day like free yoga, free run club, free Queen Victoria market tours, free BASE RACE and more. Our jobs desk isn't only for getting a job - it helps travellers setting up bank accounts, tax file numbers, getting RSA & whitecards and many other things required for getting a job in Australia. Thanks again for your reveiw BASE

100%

Really enjoyed our stay and all the staff were extremely friendly, especially their awesome reception team.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and left us a review! Next time you're in Melbourne come and join us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Facilities were good, bar was great fun especially on Thursday nights. Kitchen was very hot all the time, and often a huge mess, not necessarily base's fault but they can do more to improve cleanliness, the floor was so sticky like a rubbish nightclub floor. The rooms were alright too, beds were comfortable enough. Cleaners hoovered daily but only glanced in bathroom and never once saw them dust / clean a mirror or window. rooms above night club also noisy but to be expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We've recently worked out the issue with our airconditioner which is making the downstairs area much 'cooler' ;-) We try and have the kitchen cleaned at least five times daily however sometimes we aren't able to, for this we're sorry. I will bring all your points up at our next managers meeting to see if we can fix some of the issues you've brought up. We hope you stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations! BASE CREW

89%

Really friendly place with loads going on! Bar at night always busy with a good atmosphere, staff were great also! I stay in a mixed 8 bed with was fine with ensuite! Would and have recommended this to a friend and definitely would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Cheers for the awesome review! It's great knowing that you had a great time and that you'd recommend us to all your friends :-) We definitely hope to see you the next time you stay in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

10/10 in all departments! Loved every moment of our stay in Base St Kilda. Super friendly staff, immaculate private room with the best shower ever (the small things... its kind of a big deal), had heaps of fun at the bar with cheap drinks and live music, free BBQ for dinner. All round awesome hostel :) definitely recommend to everyone!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! We really appreciate the banging review you've left us! It's always nice finding out that we got things right! Next time you're in Melbourne - make sure you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Absolutely loved my stay at Base St Kilda! Thanks to the incredible staff! Always nice to walk in and be greeted by friendly people! Hope to see you guys again soon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we absolutely loved having you! Hope to see you back here again as we warm up for another St Kilda Summer. Bring your travel buddies and some sun cream ;P Happy Travels! Piers Cooke Rooms Manager Base St Kilda

100%

Absolutley fantastic hostel, I've travelled the world and this is up there with the best. Staff are amazing and it has a real family like feel. The bar is pumping all the time and the rooms are exceptionally clean. You get exactly what you pay for. Transport to the city is on your front door and is extremely frequent. Kitchen and common area are relaxing and spacious. Base has it!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the AMAZING review! We certainly loved having you here and hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback