Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1378 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
9.7

Great hostel with a great location. I wanted to stay a little out of CBD when I came for a birthday weekend getaway and found St. Kilda to be the perfect location. The hostel is SUPER easy to get to from the airport, and there is always something going on. I found it more fun to stay at the hostel and party than to go out anywhere else. The front desk lady checking me in was a little rude, but other than that all other staff was super willing to help out in anyway. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the awesome review and kind words! Happy travels in the rest of Aus and don't forget to say "Hi" next time you're back in St Kilda. Base

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2017
9.1

Such a great hostel to stay at. I was in a 6 bed mix dorm for 4 nights, very basic but clean and plenty of room. Good value for money and great vibes going on every night. Live music was great and the staff are always around to help and get you hyped for a night out. Not sure his name but 'ball sack' as I knew him did such a great job hosting the trivia night whilst I was there and was always a friendly face around the hostel. I will definitely be back again!! CLASS hostel!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2017
9.4

Very good hostel, staff were amazing, bar downstairs had something on every night & cheap drinks. Cleaning staff were efficient, sheets changed every time somebody left the room & bathroom bleached. Didn't use the kitchen so no idea what it was like.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your great review, we are glad you enjoyed your time with us. Don't hesitate to come back or stay at one of our other properties. Best of luck in the rest of your travels!

  • annie_watts
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
7.7

Vibe was great. Certain members of staff ( Irish receptionist lady ) extremely rude. Should definitely review her job

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your time with us.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Lockers provided, good location for st kilda and easy to get to tram to city, atmosphere okay but has two nights alone in my dorm which was lonely as a solo traveller! Cleanliness depends on who cleans the bathroom - wasn't cleaned for two days and ran out of toilet roll so had to ask for more. Bar sociable and good fun - very loud but that's fine as knew it is a party hostel. Kitchen big and sofas to chill on. Would go back :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks for your review! A few things to work on but glad to hear you had a great time!

19th Apr 2017
8.0

Overall a good hostel! There wasn't free wifi, unfortunately, but other than that it was very clean and well kept.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your kind words!! happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Apr 2017
6.0

I think we were probably just unlucky with our roommates but our room was disgusting. There was stuff everywhere. One night my friends bed had crumbs in it when we got back from dinner. One guy also decided to trim his pubes in the bathroom and leave them in a nice little pile in the corner of the shower where the water wouldn't reach, with some sprinkled on the toilet for decoration. A very party atmosphere hostel and not the cleanest (it also stank in the corridors). Wouldn't stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

ewwwwwwww...that's not good. Sometimes you can't pick who you're going to have in your room, which makes you appreciate the good ones! Thanks for your stay and your advice, it'll be much better when you return

  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel. Great location, lovely crew. I'll be back :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WE WANT YOU BACK NOW!!!!

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice hostel except for some workers cant keep up with things and get frustrated if you're trying to right a wrong. I got first charged too much and I tried to explain but it was beyond ones comprehention. Using own brain instead of trusting whatever computer says is allowed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey!! thanks for staying with us and just remember we have a few new staff training, so it's little bit hard at the start ;) thanks for your review and stay

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2017
9.7

Great atmosphere, and location. Stuff going on every night. The rooms are very clean, rooms are hoovered once a day and bathrooms are cleaned daily. The only thing what is dirty is the kitchen, due to people being not respectful for other people. The hostel are willing to help with job searches and help book trips etc. Very good for new backpackers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

awwwwww, what a nice review! Thanks for your stay!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.