Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 1,207 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 1,207 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.1
Base St Kilda Located at 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne.
Base St Kilda
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda
73% 1207
-37.8671294 144.9799847
Base St Kilda
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
9.4

Pretty awesome hostel. Stoked with the bar and nice and clean rooms. Babes everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing experience! Best place in Melbourne by far. The staff were fantastic, the people I met were so great, and everyone is there to have a good time! The staff are always welcoming and the hostel was very well run and taken care of. Would 100% guarantee it to anyone! Definitely will be going back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.7

The Bingo here is the best night in the bar! We table danced and had a blast! Rooms are really nice with bathrooms. Would recommend for sure and will come back after my East coast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Mint! Sick! Hard to leave. See yas again soon

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Aug 2016
2.9

I would never stay here again. The halls and rooms stank. The bar/ social area is horrendous. There is no life here

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
10.0

Great stay, friendly staff and perfect location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.0

Nice place if you want to party

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

My stay at Base was wonderful. Although i stayed only one night, staff was really friendly and helpful over there. Pricing for the bed was spot on and i could not ask for anything cheaper. If you want to have cheap drinks and socialise in the bar, this is the place. They have some promotions going on all night. I'd recommend everyone, who wants to live near the beach and meet wonderful backpackers should stay here. I will be back again whenever possible :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd May 2016
9.1

Probably my best week in Australia. Firstly, big shout out to Mark Aso! What a great bloke! He made check in easy, check out easy, nights fun, and was super friendly! Great guy! The hostel was in a good location, not far from anything. St Kilda is beautiful! The bar was always social and great fun, never a dull moment, good rooms/facilities. I can hardly fault the place! Just over priced as with every hostel in Australia and no free wifi!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
1st May 2016
4.6

Bad from the start - one shower/toilet to share between a 10 bed dorm, no light/plugs by beds. Noticed our room had quite a lot of fruit flies - later to discover this was due to the fact the sanitary bin obviously hadn't been emptied for weeks! Also had to move rooms due to flies biting us in the night. Kitchen would have been fine except for the fact that there were no mugs, and we saw mice scuttling around on more than one occasion. Staff seemed not to care about any of this.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Daisy, All of our rooms are have ensuite bathrooms and there are other bathroom facilities located on the property, it's usually just a matter of asking one of our friendly reception staff . While we only have one 10 share dorm on the the property it would be rare to find dorm rooms with multiple bathrooms and toilets. We find with our housekeeping team in twice a day most guests are happy with the set up up. Light's and plugs per bed are actually not that common in Australia so it could be worth researching hostels that do if that is your expectation. Especially with a high number of dorms the energy drain on the would be massive and we're not prepared to do that to environment. When the fruit flies were brought to our attention we were able to act quickly however with our bathrooms cleaned daily we can assure it wasn't from weeks in between being serviced. Management at the time personally dealt with the issue with the deepest amount of care.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.