Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1,223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1,223 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Base St Kilda Located at 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne.
Base St Kilda
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda
80% 1223
-37.8671294 144.9799847
Base St Kilda
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Best hostel I've stayed in Australia. Booked for 5 nights, have already extended twice. Met so many great people and is a really sociable hostel. St kilda is great an the hostel is close to the beach and the restaurants and bars. Easily accessible by tram to the city. Love it here, bingo on a Monday is a must. Will be staying here a while.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Sep 2016
10.0

Loved my stay at base in St Kilda! Great location, comfy beds and rooms all have bathrooms. Staff make this place so would recommend for sure!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Sep 2016
4.0

I stayed with Base, St Kilda. I was placed in a ten bed room and was the only female. The smell in this room was indescribable. It hit you when you entered the room and you could physically not get used to it. I complained and was told I could move to another room free of charge, but only if I provided a 5* review. I was emailed on the same day with a link, and as a penny pinching backpacker I didn't particularly feel I had a choice. The hostel already had my card details. Appalling.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Sep 2016
10.0

I had an amazing time at the st. Kilda base hostel. Such a lovely group of people and the room was perfect. I had the best sleep and felt refreshed the next morning. Great area to walk around - the beach and cafes are right around the corner. Would highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Aug 2016
9.1

Great hostel for the price. Clean, amazing location, very friendly staff. Only downside really was the lack of free wifi.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel! The staff there went way out of there way to help me (Ash and Chuck were fab) and I met some lovely people there! Great facilities and perfect location would definitely reccomend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
10.0

Couldn't of had a better time at base! Good rooms get cleaned every day, staff are canny and helpful, clean kitchen, the lockers are decent size too! Have entertainment every night - Monday for bingo is the best one (even if you don't stay in the hostel you've got to go and play the bingo!). Would defiantly recommend this hostel :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2016
9.4

Pretty awesome hostel. Stoked with the bar and nice and clean rooms. Babes everywhere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Aug 2016
9.7

Had an amazing time, there was four of us and had booked into a 12 man room but on arrival was told we had been upgraded to a 4 man room for the same price, then when deciding to extend our stay a guy called chuck was very helpful and let us stay in that same room for the price we had been paying previous... Great staff all in all and quality facilities. Will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Aug 2016
9.7

Absolutely loved my stay at base!! The staff were super welcoming from the first moment I arrived and played games and got everyone involved in the evening at the bar. They have everything you want in a backpackers - great atmosphere, kitchen, lounge and a famous bar that loads of people came from other hostels cos it was so fun! If you want to have an incredible time and feel safe (drawers you can lock under every bed and security at night) then this is the place for you! Sophie, 23, UK

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.