Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 8.4
Base St Kilda Located at 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne.
Base St Kilda
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda
85% 1264
-37.8671294 144.9799847
Base St Kilda
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.3

Great vibes, good atmosphere, really enjoyed our 2nights. Pub crawl was lit AF! Would deffinitly recomend and return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ah damn! Thanks for the kind words! Our pub crawl is seriously..along with Bingo.. our favorite time of year!...every week! Safe travels homey!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
7.1

The hostel is in a really good location, close to the beach. Kitchen is small and dirty. Rooms are small but have bathroom for every room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heyy! Cheers for taking the time to leave your thoughts. The hostel's locations is Gnar...that's for sure. Sorry to hear you think our kitchen is small...and dirty. We find most guests don't have a problem with the size but size does matter! With every room having a bathroom it definitely helps make us the best hostel in St Kilda. Cheers and have a great holiday!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Nov 2016
9.7

Had a great stay in a 4 bed dorm. Table tennis and pool table downstairs a plus. Fun to go for a drinks at bar after 6pm. No complaints at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for the great review! Hopefully see you again soon- Safe Travels

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
6.9

The kitchen needs a lot of improvement. More hang out areas would really add to the hostel too. Great social events.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi!! Hey thanks for letting us know your thoughts. Our social events are really popular here and it's something that brings our guests together to enjoy and make friends. The kitchen is generally really clean it's just in the busy times it's always challenging to get the untidy guests to clean up after themselves. Cheers!

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
6.3

Good things: The location Fun events in the bar every evening Not so good: The beds are VERY uncomfortable You can hear the music from the bar downstairs a bit too clearly if you want to sleep early some night (and people in the hallways can be very loud aswell) Dirty bathrooms

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hiii hey thanks for leaving a review! Our events to make our guest experience is really good and we get excellent feedback on our nightly and daily events. It's a bummer you had an uncomfortable mattress though, look like we need to change that one! Cheers and have a great holiday!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Oct 2016
6.0

Staff were incredibly unhelpful, and the girl at the travel desk was super rude to top it off. Facilities were ok, good atmosphere, fairly quiet in the rooms but very dirty. The walls looked like they needed a new paint job or at least to be washed! Left asap mainly due to the staff and unsanitary room.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! That's a real shame to hear that about our travel girl. We have never had that feedback before and she is an experienced legend within the company.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
4.3

Staff were miserable and unhelpful, nobody showed me around, almost impossible to sleep in cold rooms with loud trams outside late. Bed in my room had a terrible blanket with no padding, asked for another they gave me a thin bed sheet that is made for going underneath a person to fit the mattress. Housekeeping left my door open and walked off whilst i was asleep and didn’t apologise. WiFi kept telling me i was logged on to another device when i wasn’t. Common room is not arranged to socialise.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Jeeps! Miserable and unhelpful?! Our staff rating is 8.7 so unfortunately your opinion on our staff is not a true reflection of what the majority of our guests believe. In regards to your other feedback, it's look like you really needed to communicate more clearly with staff while you were here. For example if you requested a sheet and got the room one, simply just ask for another. Despite your thoughts our staff are always here to help.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
5.1

Party hostel, far from Melbourne center and quite dirty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Oct 2016
7.4

The location is great; very central in St Kilda and just a 5 min walk to watch the sunset on the beach. The hostel is a great party environment, but if you want to sleep and relax I'd advise somewhere else. Base St Kilda advertises exactly what it is: a great social environment. I wasn't disappointed, but the 2 nights I slept sober I didn't get much sleep. Make sure to take a look at the trams and navigation; it can be a bit confusing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
6.0

I had an average stay at this hostel. It was extremely noisy until about 2am every night I was there and people were constantly in and out of the room even if they weren't staying in that room. The bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable. The kitchen was filthy and people didn't wash up and there seemed to be another staff to enforce this. However the rooms were generally clean and there were lockers available to store things. I would stay here again if it were just for a cheap overnight stop

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.