X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1132 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Lovely staff super friendly and knowledgable, perfect hostel if you wanna party and meet people. Not ideal if you wanna get a good night sleep and explore the city as guests are loud and its a little way from the centre of melbourne.

  • 1st Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Got balls deep

  • 19th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
That's Mad!

71%

Lovely relaxed hostel with friendly staff. Unfortunately our balcony door (which was joined with all of the other rooms along that corridor) did not close properly so we were a little worried about our valuables. We reported this and they said that would look into it.

  • 17th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Hey thanks for the kind words regarding our staff. We are very proud of the our staff and the way the way they help and interact with guests. We have also been working hard to create a nice relaxed atmosphere so that's lovely to hear you acknowledging that. We did prioritise that particular lock to get fixed asap so cheers for bringing it to our attention. Legend! Thanks, Base St Kilda Management.

66%

Everything's just very tired. No personal lights or plug sockets per bunk which I found strange. The wifi you have to pay for and it's terrible (use the Internet cafe up the road for the same price) the air con didn't work and apparently hadn't for a while. However, when I complained they handled the matter well and upgraded me to a four bed dorm for the same price. Good location right in the heart of st Kilda. Just don't expect much. Sorry Base!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! We're glad to hear you were happy with how we handled the room upgrade for you. On the rare occasion there is an issue with the aircon, we do prioritise fixing the issue asap. We do have two options for purchasing WIFI, premium and standard. The premium is more suited to streaming etc so it's likely you purchased the standard option, more suited for standard browsing. It is interesting that you found it strange that we don't have plugs and sockets for each bed. It is fair to say that the majority of hostels in Australia don't have these facilities. If we were to have these facilities for over 240 beds, the carbon footprint we would leave behind would far outweigh our guest expectations. Safe travels! Base management.

74%

Hi, Very noisy hostel, as there is a "party" downstairs every day, lot of noise even throw the room..

  • 13th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for the good overall review! Our facilities, cleanliness and safety are areas that we are very proud of. We do have 3 levels of accommodation and we agree, at times level 1 can be noisy from all the fun times being had downstairs.Our reception is 24 hours so we always suggest coming to see our reception staff to see if there is something we can do to improve the situation. ie. room move etc. Cheers for the feedback and hope the rest of your holiday is railer! Kind regards, Base M'ment.

69%

The hostel is nice, the kitchen and lounge area is kept very clean and tidy (although sometimes there is a lack of equipment). Unfortunately our room was above the bar that plays very load music until the early hours of the morning, we were kept awake until gone 2am. Plus we had the most dreadful snorers in the room (not the hostels fault) which meant we barely slept and therefore te cost of the hostel was far too high. The fast tram wasn't working so it took a good 30 minutes to get to cbd.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Good news you found our kitchen and tv facilities nice and shiny! Our staff take great pride in keeping our guest facilities up to scratch. Our reception is open 24 hours so we always encourage guests to see our friendly staff to see if we can move you to a quieter level. Thanks for taking the time to give us the feedback! Safe travels! Base M'ment

43%

Not worth it at all. You pay for a poor breakfast!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to leave your thoughts. In our opinion the $5 all you can eat breakfast is pretty good value as there is a great selection. Also a great opportunity to mingle, meet new travel buddies and discuss the previous nights shenanigans!

74%

Nice, clean room, comfortable kitchen dining area and good location right on the beach. As far as entertainment it's a little 'girls gone wild', not my thing but great if that's what you're in to.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for the kind words! Our room cleanliness, kitchen and dining room is something that we're really proud of. Keeping guests happy in these areas is a really high priority so we're glad that you're happy! Yeah our entertainment is pretty classic and generally a great response overall. We hope the rest of your holiday is sweet! Cheers!

83%

Great hostel if you want to party but is quite noisy if you're looking for a quiet night. Great location near Luna Park and the beach. Good clean facilities ialthough after paying $20 for Wi-Fi though it didn't even work in my room and was slow in the common areas even though it was supposed to be 'high-speed'.


83%

No free wifi. That spoils the experience for me.


80%

Great atmosphere with things going on in the bar every night. However, the cleanliness wasn't very good. I know staff would clean the rooms daily, but there was a constant odour particularly on the second floor which needs badly attending too. Also, the air conditioning in 211 was broken during my entire 9 night stay so we had a tiny fan between 8 people making sleeping unbearable in the heat.


89%

Had a great stay at Base, perfect location for backpackers. Really easy to meet people too


60%

The staff has no information about everything. They didnt kbo how to go to brighton beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review. We're sorry that you found our staff unhelpful. We've spoken to all staff and tested them on their Melbourne knowledge to ensure they can help you have the best time possible! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

60%

It was the noisiest hostel and we had to ask for our air conditioning to be fixed.

  • 18th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there, Thank you for leaving us a review. We have taken your comments on board and will discuss them at our next managers meeting. We will revisit our noise management plans and have already had scheduled maintenance on our Air conditioning units. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

Overall good hostel. It is located super close to the beach but is about a 30 minute tram ride into CBD, so it's a win lose situation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We love our location here in St Kilda. We're only a five minute walk from the beach, and even closer to shops, cafes and bars. We are a little bit far away from the city but with Tram's right on our doorstep it is easy to get around. It's a small price to pay to be situated in one of Melbourne's best suburbs! We hope to see you again, Best wishes & safe travels BASE MANAGEMENT

57%

The place is way overpriced, the location is good in St Kildas and the bathrooms are clean. But that's about it. The rooms are not clean, and the same goes for the dungeon-like kitchen. Worst is the staff. Some of them are down right mean. All in all a unprofessional overpriced place. Would not stay again.


80%

Booked for a night and stayed for a week! Great hostel, staff were mostly friendly and helpful. The room was clean, and the hostel was cleaned daily which was good. Drinks from the bar were a little on the expensive side but with happy hour and free champagne for the sanctuary girls you can't complain! The kitchen wasn't very clean, it was more the fault of other guests not cleaning up after themselves but itit could do with checking or cleaning more often. Ate out most days because of this!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review! We try to go downstairs to clean the kitchen once every two hours but in summer with the increased amount of people using our kitchen it can be hard to keep on top of! Thank you for being understanding but we will keep a better eye on it from now on. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Probably the best Base hostel I have stayed at in Oz with the boys and I have even been staff at Base Uptown in Brisbane and this is by far the best!!


91%

Booked an 8 bed mixed was upgraded to a 6 bed female w/ ensuite when I got there! Happy about that. Every night something was going on which was fun and was easy to meet people being a solo traveler. Staff were all super awesome and friendly. Bathroom in my room was the cleanest I've ever seen in a hostel. Extended my stay with no issues or room changing. Even had the entire 6bed room to myself one of the nights! It was incredible. Definitely recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate your feedback :-) We're glad you had such a great stay with us and we hope that you come back another time and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

49%

THE MUSIC ALL DAY LONG. WHY?!?! The kitchen and the kitchen equipment was dirty and there were no spoons.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! We appreciate your feedback. We've taken your comments on board and will discuss at the next managers meeting. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

« first « Prev 1 2
(34 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback