Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 1326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 1326 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Feb 2017
5.1

First impression; scruffy base floor. Head upstairs to find an unkept bed with a condom waiting for me as only available bed in the room (yes, that was my bed). No soap dispenser or anything in the bathroom, so you can imagine thats a massive petri dish of filth. Otherwise the staff were blunt and unwilling to help with other matters. Nothing on the hostel, but first night I had to leave the room twice for a couple strangers having fun in an 8 bed dorm—just so you know what you're up for.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're very sorry you didn't have the most enjoyable stay at Base. Yes it is a bit of a party hostel and people can have a bit too much fun and forget to be considerate of other guests. Did you notify reception of your troubles? We would have been able to switch rooms or offered a solution for you. Hope you have enjoyed your time in Australia! Happy Travels

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Feb 2017
4.9

Very average hostel. Good location but that's about the only thing going for it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here with us. It is a young, high paced, party style hostel so potentially might not have been the best fit for you personally but I hope you could still see some great things we had to offer! Hope you enjoyed your time in St Kilda otherwise! Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.0

Great fun party hostel with cheap bar and lots of fun people. Rooms are perfectly good with lockable draws to keep stuff safe. Bathrooms are good and are cleaned often, great location close to the beach and a short tram from the city centre.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for the great review. Awesome to see someone enjoy the place as much as we do! Glad you got involved in the bar and had some fun. Tell your friends, and we'll see you next time! Cheers

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jan 2017
5.4

Staff are so rude .. they randomly walk into your rooms while your getting changed don't knock n just come n start cleaning n hoovering while your asleep at 9 in the morning! They lie about drink prices too cheaper out the hostel but say drinks are cheap they are not I wouldn't recommend!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.. I'm sorry you didn't have the greatest experience here. I can assure all staff are to knock and announce themselves before entering a room. They will either call 'housekeeping', 'reception' or 'promo'. Housekeeping don't start going in to the rooms until 10am which is check out time and totally fair. We need to flip the rooms for the next bunch of legends coming in. $4 Vodkas, $5 Jagerbombs, $3 Champagnes.. If those drinks aren't cheap then I would LOVE to hear where you found cheaper!!!!! All the best on your trip!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
25th Jan 2017
8.0

Really sociable hostel. Always got events going on, boozy bingo is a must! Good location right near St Kilda beach. Would stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome!!!! Come back soon!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel I highly recommend! Best hostel in Melbourne I've stayed in

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
8.9

Smiles all around!! Great atmosphere and super friendly and helpful staff... We went on the Friday night pub crawl which only cost $20 for an amazing night out! Great amenities and location. Definitely recommend Base!!! Cheers guys

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to stay - will definitely stay here again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Jan 2017
5.1

I was soooo disappointed with Base - the pictures listed are SO inaccurate and clearly taken years ago, the place is so much more run down than that. Sticky floors, massive stains in the carpet and on the walls, grubby sheets. The atmosphere is rubbish - they run events every night but they're far from inclusive, and very cliquey. On Friday night the music was SO loud and ear plugs didn't even help. If it had been a cheap hostel I wouldn't have minded all of this but its ridiculously expensive!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice location. Facilities were nice but a little out dated. Clanky, unmanageable metal storage bins were a fail in the rooms. Almost no outlets available in rooms. Staff was great. Always something going on at the bar. Atmosphere was very conducive to making new friends easily. Location was great -- walking distance to everything. Short Uber or train rides to different neighborhoods like Prahan or downtown for a night out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.