X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1026 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great place with an amazing atmosphere, 2 minute walk to the beach, and all kinds of mayhem on every night!


77%

Think I made the wrong choice picking Base because I'm a grumpy old bugger but all the social interaction that's available in the bar/common areas seem to be really good for the more lively of people. The shower was pretty awful if I'm honest, not overly hot water and the water pressure was terrible. I felt that the hostel could have been kept a little cleaner despite daily housekeeping. Having to pay for WiFi was a bit of a pain, especially as even the 'premium' service was intermittent.


94%

Had a great time at Base. it's so much fun, loads of activities going on and the bar is always busy. Really clean as well!


83%

Really nice hostel. St kilda has a cool beach town vibe and the hostel lived up to that. Always some event or 'free' social thing going on (free bbq with a drink but it works out as a bbq for $5 drink). Staff were helpful and there's a really good social aspect there

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Cheers for leaving us a banging review! We also have free hot dogs on a Monday and $5 meals all throughout the rest of the week! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

I really liked this hostel, I travelled by myself and I found it really easy to make friends because it's always something going on. It's definitely a party hostel and I really liked the location, close enough to the beach and transportation, strongly recommend to anyone traveling alone and looking to meet new friends!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Wow! What a nice review. We love that you had a great time with us and made some new friends. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Loved it! Defo worth a stay here!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us a banging review! It seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

Really liked. There is a lot of teenagers there, but this is not a problem to me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Too much of a party hostel. If you're not in the 16-20 year old bracket, suggest you stay away. Facilities are nothing to speak very highly off. Location of course is excellent - close to the st. Kilda beach and stone's throw from the city areas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Great party hostel in a great location. Met some lovely people and everyone wants to socalise. However, for the price of the accommodation the rooms are below standard, no reading lights and no individual plug sockets, there was hardly any space to sit up in the bottom bunk and I banged my head a lot. Also you have to pay for all of the extras which you get free in many of the cheaper hostels WiFi, luggage storage being two examples. That being said I would stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. We're going to discuss your suggestions in our next Managers Meeting. We are glad that you had a great stay with us and we hope to see you again when you come back to Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

80%

cool-place

  • 12th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems like you had a pretty great time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

i've stayed there 5 nights in total: 2 in a female dorm which was lovely and smelled very good. the room have a lot of space and everything is clean. the terasse on the top in very nice... it closes at 22-23h but until then it's very fun to be there. my three other nights were in a mix room and that something else: depending on who you are in room with... boys are just smelly... at least that what happened in my room. but the staff did everything to make it go away! so they cared =)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review! Our Sanctuary Rooms are amazing - especially with our free hour of sparkling wine! One of the added benefits is also not having the 'smelly' boys in your room ;-) We're glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope if you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

66%

If you like to stay at a partyhostel for youths, this is the place to be, if not, stay somewhere else. However, it is a clean place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We pride ourselves on being a party hostel with something different on every night! We have Trivia nights, Bingo, Karaoke, Live Music and our award winning Ladies Night! We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels :-) Best wishes, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Great hostel, had an super time. Loving it. But bring enough money. Expensive one

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thanks for leaving us a review! It seems like that you had a pretty good stay with us which is what we aim for! Just letting you know that we do have a lot of free activities such as Free Yoga, Free tours around the city, beach and botanical gardens and free activities in the bar every night. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Very well Organized HOstel - every night there is something to do - amazing Common Area - special deal like : 5 euro beef whit vegetable ( very affordable) they organize very good tours( i booked the Surf experience in toquay ) and i will rate is 5 stars . The staff is Cool i loved Kettle. the Hostel is very safe u get a key card whit the acces to the Hostel and rooms - well organized kitchen where you can cook and store your food- also loundry room whit reasonable prices. Tram Just outside

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us such an amazing review! We'll pass the message on to all of our staff because it was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us. We hope you come back and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

The staff are awesome... Especially Mac!

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! What a great review! Thanks for the praise. We'll pass on the message to Mac and we're glad you had such a great time. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

A pleasant enough stay had no real issues with hostel just massively overpriced, would stay again if not so expensive

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. As you stayed during the Aus Open prices around Melbourne are increased. To combat this we offer free activities such as yoga on a monday, tours around the city & St Kilda (City, Queen Vic Markets, Botanical Gardens just to name a few) & fun activities in the bar each night. Our prices drop on the 2nd of February as the event period is over. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you stay with us again. Safe travels, BASE CREW

86%

Cleaning staff were a bit obnoxious at times, but otherwise a very good stay. Large kitchen which was nice. Free BBQ once a week which was cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're going to discuss your comments about the cleaning team at our next managers meeting. We're glad that you had a good time otherwise and we hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

cool area of melbourne, wonderful staff and overall a very fun place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love St Kilda and it's great to hear that you loved it too :-) We hope the next time you come to Melbourne you come and join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Honest review: Excellent security, location, cleanliness and atmosphere. Only bad point is the insistent on staff coming in at 9am to Hoover, then again at 930 to tell people in the room they needed to check out at 10am (they were already packing ther bags). Then to follow that up, every morning at 10am they staff would shout loudly on a microphone that played out through to hostel telling people that needed to check out. Really annoying as most mornings I had a disgraceful hangover.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Cheers for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feedback given and we are investigating your comments about the noise before 10am. We endeavor not to make any announcements or unnecessary noise before the hours of 10am and after 9pm. We hope you come and get another disgraceful hangover with us the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

Base is a little more expensive than other hostels but you definitely get what you pay for. Not a bad word to say about it, super friendly staff, great facilities and always clean and safe. I've extended my stay as it is exactly what I'd hoped. Only downside is that it's not a little nearer to the city, but it's right by the beach and the tram stops a two minute walk away. Especially good for girls in the sanctuary rooms!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a banging review! We love that you loved us and we hope that you stay forever. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback