X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
919 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Absolutely loved my stay at Base St Kilda! Thanks to the incredible staff! Always nice to walk in and be greeted by friendly people! Hope to see you guys again soon!


100%

Absolutley fantastic hostel, I've travelled the world and this is up there with the best. Staff are amazing and it has a real family like feel. The bar is pumping all the time and the rooms are exceptionally clean. You get exactly what you pay for. Transport to the city is on your front door and is extremely frequent. Kitchen and common area are relaxing and spacious. Base has it!

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Very nice hostel. Good for party scene but music is quite loud if not. Lovely staff and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend to others.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a fantastic review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you've had a great time with us which is what we like! Next time you're in Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had a fantastic time at this hostel and wouldn't go anywhere else! All the people and staff are fantastic, like a little family, and there are always activities to take part in. It is a 20 minute tram ride to Melbourne and about a two minute walk to the beach. The hostel is the cleanest I stayed in. Loved my stay at base and miss it so much. I will definitely return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Wow! What a fantastic review. We really appreciate the time you took to leave us this amazing review! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you'll choose to stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

Good location in st kilda but far from the city centre. Full of long termers trying to find work though a good party hostel too. Bathroom was nasty, cleaned only once in my 5 days there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a fairly good time with us which is exactly what we aim for. Just so you know we clean the bathroom daily - we apologise if this didn't seem the case however we do have receptionists on duty at all times that could have taken note and fixed that for you. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Awesome place, awesome people will definitely be returning!! Thanks guys

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us an awesome review. It seems like you both had a great time with us and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

37%

dirty kitchen!!!!!!!!!, rude worker, uncomfortable bad and facilities, far location from central(at least 30 min by tram), and very noisy (everyday party)

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We pride ourselves on our cleanliness, facilities and staff however it seems in this case we failed you. If you could email me with more details regarding the staff and facilities it would help ensure this situation doesn't happen again. Just so you know, our reception desk is manned 24/7 and can help in any situation that arises. Thanks again for leaving us a review. Best wishes, BASE CREW

100%

Staff really friendly and helpful! Got everything you would need and location is really good

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and party with us! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Great Hostel...great vibe and energy. They have something going on every night so if you don't feel like going out you can have fun staying it. The rooms are great and clean and the staff if really helpful and friendly Made lots of great friends...will definately return

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like you had a great stay with us which is awesome! We will see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

This is a really great place to stay if you're looking for a lively, fun hostel. Every night they do a different deal on food/drink and there is usually we form of game going on in the evening which is great for meeting new people. It's cheaper than most other places too so it's a win win.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is awesome and exactly what we aim for! Next time you're in Melbourne definitely come back and stay with us! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had loads of fun at this Hostel. Great staff, clean rooms. Recommend. Boozy Bingo is a must as well, it's a riot!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you again the next time you come down to Melbourne. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

It was great stay at this hostel. Even though it's a bit far away from city central, the area has nice restaurants and places worth going. Especially staffs are really kind. I'd like to stay at this hostel if i come again

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love hearing back from our guests and finding out they had such a great time. We hope if you ever come back to St Kilda you choose to stay with us! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Too bad, there was no free bed when I arrived. Thought after a 25 hours journey to get to Australia that would have been pretty nice. On arrival it would be cool if the staff cares for you to get a bed and show the room, not just hand out the key card.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. Although Guests are able to check in before our standard 2pm check in time - sometimes they aren't able to due to other guests having late check out. However, regarding not being shown around the hostel is really unusual as we pride ourselves on being very friendly on check in and doing tours for each guest. If you could email me on georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com with more information it would stop this from happening again. Best wishes! BASE CREW

100%

I had a blast at Base St Kilda! The staff are super friendly and accommodating and when I wanted to change rooms to the Girls Sanctuary they made it really simple to upgrade. There was always something going on at night so you are never bored and you are always meeting new people in the hostel. My personal favorite night is Boozy Bingo but every night is a good time. If you are looking for a safe, clean, and fun hostel while in Melbourne, then Base St Kilda is the place to be!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us such a detailed review - it is so great that you enjoyed your stay so much! We're sad to see you go but if you ever come back to Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

100%

Best hostel in Melbourne!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed yourself which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

the kitchen is too small , there are no good aspirators for the smells, and cookware are carbonized, and the rooms are too small.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and use the comments to improve our hostel for future guests. We've taken your criticism on board however if you wish to contact me on georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com to further explain or suggest ideas regarding your comment it would be greatly appreciated. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

94%

Had a great time at Base St Kilda! Really friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the 'sanctuary' - all girls dorm on the top floor, felt really safe and secure and was good on nights when we wanted to get some sleep as downstairs gets pretty noisy! Great atmosphere though, real party hostel - great for meeting people :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We're incredibly happy you enjoyed your stay! It's exactly what we aim for. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay here with us. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

I arrived here by myself and felt so welcome. The reception staff that checked me in made me feel right at home and the bar staff were great too! All and all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back when I return to Melbourne!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for. We hope you choose to stay with us here at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA when you come back to Melbourne. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

base was a great place to stay in Melbourne I loved every moment of it, the staff are great and all ways happy to help 10/10 would stay again great atmosphere

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it looks like you had a blast which is exactly what we could hope for! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Base St Kilda is awesome! The staff are bubbly, friendly and eager to answer any of your questions. Every evening there is always something going on, whether it be Boozy Bingo (not to be missed), Funky Bunch Trivia or Ladies Night. They have specials on food daily also, which is great for a backpacker trying to save the pennies. The best hostel I have stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone, not just as a place to stay but as an experience!! Pump Pump!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay here which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda the next time you're in Melborune. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback