X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
977 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Place to party not to sleep

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :-) you're right! We've won awards for having the best backpacker night in Victoria! There's always something going on in our bar. We hope you come and join us again next time! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

86%

In terms of location, this hostel is perfect; a short walk to main street and beach. Lockers are provided under beds so make sure you put EVERYTHING in them... My sister and I hid belongings on my bed during our stay and upon returning to the hostel we found my bed made (hers was untouched) and these belongings gone. Most of the staff were excellent, however one bar tender overcharged us on drinks and only rectified this when approached by another staff member... Seemed to be tipping himself.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. It seems that you enjoyed the location and atmosphere we provided. We take any staff complaints very seriously as we believe that the staff can either make or break someone's stay. If you could email me regarding this so I can investigate it, it would be much appreciated. Georgia Guest Services Manager E: georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com

100%

Would recommend Base in St.Kilda to everyone! Amazing stay all round!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Wow! What a great review. We loved having you here and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

74%

The facilities on offer are good, the rooms are tidy and the bathrooms were cleaned every day. It was a good location for St kilda beach etc, and only one tram to the CBD. Base is the perfect place for people who want to party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feed back given at it seems like you had a pretty fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for :-) We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

77%

Nice Location, excellent clean and security. Expensive for Facilities offered. People that work for accomodition have to be from different Country. It's good for young people. 6.5/10 total valutation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave an honest review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Best wishes, BASE MANAGEMENT.

100%

Stayed at XBase with my husband and we ABSOLUTELY LOVED it!!!! Everything was just perfect with our stay from the moment we walked into the hostel to the moment we left. The crew was awesome!!! Always smiling and it's clear they all love their jobs. Travel desk, reception, breakfast, bar... And big ups to Aydn (bar manager) and Will (reception). These guys rock! If you're planing to stay at XBase, do yourself a favor and DO NOT miss the Monday Bingo! We had SO much fun! Such a great night!!!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!! What an amazing review! We certainly loved having you here :-) Thanks for leaving us a review and we hope that the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

The staff were helpful and friendly, room was small, but the beds were comfortable and clean. Being a Saturday night and with a room facing the road it was crazy noisy, but you get that in St Kilda. The 'where's wally' party seemed awesome. Overall, a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to bust out a review for us. It seems that you had a pretty awesome time with us which is exactly what we aim for! Our 'Where's Wally' party was lots of fun and we have a Hawaiian weekender, Disney and Masquerade party coming December too! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

This was my first time staying at Base. I loved it! After roughing it through Indonesia and the Philippines, it felt so good to do my own laundry and cook my own meals! The kitchen and laundry room were kept very clean. Base was the best party in town every night of the week! Sanctuary girls, don't worry - you'll get your beauty sleep on the 3rd floor and it's very quiet. 1 hour of free champagne every night for the sanctuary goddesses ;) HELL YEAH

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a banging review! We certainly think our Female Only Sanctuary dorms are worth it! It's great that you had such an awesome time with us and if you ever come back our way, come and stay with us again :D Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT!

94%

Too much noise downstairs and on all floors.


89%

Hostel was awesome, good work guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. We think we're pretty awesome too but it's always nice hearing it from someone else. The next time you're in St Kilda come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Amazing stay! Everyone is so friendly and the staff are all super sexy

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! It's awesome that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come to Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

Good hostel overall, and an excellent location. Our room was very noisy, as the only window opened onto the smoking area, which was very loud. Would be worth installing aircon to allow the window to be closed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for giving us an honest review. We do have air-conditioning installed in every room and 24 hour staff to help with any maintenance issues however it seems that we failed to provide this during your stay, for which we are sorry :( We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and give us another shot! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had a great time in Base St Kilda ! Would recommend if you like partying all day long !

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for giving us a 100% review! We love that you LOVED us and we hope when you come back to Melbourne you come and party with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Great time at base st Kilda to finish off my stay in aus, lots going on and some awesome people

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay :-) We hope the next time you're in St Kilda you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

74%

Pretty standard. Noisy if your trying to sleep before 11:30 but good atmosphere if not. Loads of people in the bar and some good night's.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. Every night we have something fun happening in the bar but during the day we have fantastic free activities like the Queen Victoria Market Tour, Beach Days and Yoga :-) We hope to see you in our bar the next time you're in St Kilda :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Best Monday Sesh I've ever attended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We had a blast too! We can't believe it was Bingo's 200th birthday! Make sure the next time you are in St Kilda you come and see us again as we've always got something going on in our bar :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Absolute blast, I can't wait to come back. The staff were legendary aswell, thanks guys!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Had such a great time here that I came back a second time. Would defiantly recommend it :)

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Hopefully we'll see you a third, forth and fifth time! Cheers for leaving us such an amazing review. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Great location, facilities are really good. Bit pricey and quite noisy at times but it's a party hostel so as to be expected. Quite young orientated like 18-22 but overall good hostel.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. We appreciate all feedback and it seems like you had a pretty great time with us which is fantastic! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you'll join us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

94%

Great staff, very professional! Brilliant atmosphere around the hostel (especially when the bar's open) and plenty of theme nights to keep you occupied. Would definitely stay there again when in Melbourne.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! It's awesome that you had such a great time with us. We'll see you the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(51 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback