Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base St Kilda

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 8.0
Base St Kilda Located at 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne.
Base St Kilda
Australia
Melbourne Victoria Victoria 17 Carlisle St, St Kilda
82% 1297
-37.8671294 144.9799847
Base St Kilda
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
8th Jan 2017
7.4

Clean facilities. Nice, large room. Quite a party hostel, staff knocking on your door every night to get you down to the bar, seemed quite judgy if you didn't want to go. Nice kitchen, good location, good wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
10.0

Had a great stay here. Very friendly staff, lots of fun, and great location. Also, was able to iron some clothes for free. Definitely recommend for when staying in the St. kilda area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
4.9

The services advertised where not as expected. The 'Day' and 'Night' events were not properly organised or even performed. This place didnt feel like a hostel, it felt like a pub where you just had your room upstairs, with all sorts of locals entering the place for the cheap alcohol. If i had known this was going to happen, i wouldnt of stayed here. I cant stress enough The staff were unprofessional, would just barge into our room uninvited to use our toilet when they were drunk, and were rude.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
7.7

A ok hostel. The pub downstairs has fun activities and parties hard at night, yet the rooms are still quiet! I thought it was weird that the breakfast buffet was set but not for everyone, but that's ok. A lot of long timers but the vibe between travelers was friendly. To give the most honest review I have to say some of the staff were really antipathetic, I thought it was only my impression but later some other guests confirmed. Too bad, it gives a bad first impression of the whole hostel...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Dec 2016
7.1

This hostel is alright. All of the staff seemed to be travellers that were just there for the free ride.. so not one of them cracked a smile the whole time I was there. Free slow wifi. Kitchen is useless, not a fork. if you're hungry you might have the last persons mouldy pasta stuck in the bottom of a pan. Room cleaning seems to be hoovering around everybody's belongings.. so I would say absent. The air conditioning wasn't working so I slept in a pool of sweat. Not worth the money they ask for.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
10.0

Had a good time and net some cool people. Bingo was a blast!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Dec 2016
9.4

I've just spent 4 days at base whilst stopping in the Melbourne area and can't say enough positive things about this place, the facilities and the staff were great throughout my stay and the atmosphere was perfect for meeting new people. I have been travelling on my own and found meeting new people very easy at base. I will most definitely be returning shall I come to the Melbourne area again. Thanks guys 😀😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Dec 2016
4.0

Roommate invited their friends into the room and consumed alcohol, leaving a mess in the room and alcohol was spilled all over the floor for 2 of the nights i stayed there. It was so bad I left to stay in another accommodation on my third night and forsaken my paid accommodation for that night. I request that I get a refund from Base St Kilda.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Nov 2016
8.3

Great vibes, good atmosphere, really enjoyed our 2nights. Pub crawl was lit AF! Would deffinitly recomend and return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Ah damn! Thanks for the kind words! Our pub crawl is seriously..along with Bingo.. our favorite time of year!...every week! Safe travels homey!

  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
7.1

The hostel is in a really good location, close to the beach. Kitchen is small and dirty. Rooms are small but have bathroom for every room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heyy! Cheers for taking the time to leave your thoughts. The hostel's locations is Gnar...that's for sure. Sorry to hear you think our kitchen is small...and dirty. We find most guests don't have a problem with the size but size does matter! With every room having a bathroom it definitely helps make us the best hostel in St Kilda. Cheers and have a great holiday!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.