X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1015 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I definitely recommend it and it is a really good location.The staff are really friendly .

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! What a fantastic review! It's great hearing you had a great time. The next time you're in Melbourne come and stay with us again - you'll have to come join us for Big Willy's Bingo as you missed out this time ;-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

63%

This hostel does not deserve the highest rating in Melbourne. It is clean but tiny and the atmosphere in the bar was pretty poor. Most of all you feel like you are a child at a primary school trip, being checked on every second of your stay. Also it is located outside of the city and St Kilda is pretty boring. The hostel also does not refund you when you decide to cancel, they only give vouchers. We were happy to leave and are staying at a better hostel now

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review. It seems like we weren't what you were looking for in a Hostel which is a shame however we appreciate your high rating on cleanliness, security and facilities. We are a bit shocked to hear that St Kilda is boring, as there are plenty of things going on like Markets, Clubs, Shops, Cafes, Festivals and a beautiful beach to name a few. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

77%

Avarage hostal with bar, the staff are quite friendly when they want to be I had a normal experience here nothing exiting unfortunately

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's disappointing to hear that you didn't have an amazing time with us as we've won awards for being the Best Hostel in Victoria and for Best Backpacker Night. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

One of my favorite hostels, very convenient location to the beach. Friendly staff and very entertaining events thoughout my stay! Although my stay was only one night because they didnt have availability i can see why this place stays full. Only downfall was the additional payment for wifi, but i wouldnt let that hinder my ratings

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us such a banging review! Although you do have to pay for WIFI it's very fast with unlimited downloads. To make up for it we also have free activities such as Yoga, Tours and a FREE BBQ ever Wednesday night. We're sad you couldn't stay with us for longer but we really hope if you're ever back in St Kilda you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

94%

The staff at Base are incredible. They really go above and beyond to ensure that everyone has a great time - can't really give them enough praise. Lots of fun activities - both daytime and evening. Great location and standard of hostel. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such a fantastic review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems that you had a great time with us which is awesome! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

Place to party not to sleep

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :-) you're right! We've won awards for having the best backpacker night in Victoria! There's always something going on in our bar. We hope you come and join us again next time! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

86%

In terms of location, this hostel is perfect; a short walk to main street and beach. Lockers are provided under beds so make sure you put EVERYTHING in them... My sister and I hid belongings on my bed during our stay and upon returning to the hostel we found my bed made (hers was untouched) and these belongings gone. Most of the staff were excellent, however one bar tender overcharged us on drinks and only rectified this when approached by another staff member... Seemed to be tipping himself.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. It seems that you enjoyed the location and atmosphere we provided. We take any staff complaints very seriously as we believe that the staff can either make or break someone's stay. If you could email me regarding this so I can investigate it, it would be much appreciated. Georgia Guest Services Manager E: georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com

100%

Would recommend Base in St.Kilda to everyone! Amazing stay all round!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Wow! What a great review. We loved having you here and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

74%

The facilities on offer are good, the rooms are tidy and the bathrooms were cleaned every day. It was a good location for St kilda beach etc, and only one tram to the CBD. Base is the perfect place for people who want to party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feed back given at it seems like you had a pretty fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for :-) We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

77%

Nice Location, excellent clean and security. Expensive for Facilities offered. People that work for accomodition have to be from different Country. It's good for young people. 6.5/10 total valutation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave an honest review. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels. Best wishes, BASE MANAGEMENT.

83%

This is a party hostel and it does what it says on the tin if that's what your after. Dorms are clean, beds are comfy and staff are helpful and fun. The breakfast isn't included and that seemed to be a common misunderstanding so maybe the wording on here needs changing. Good location for transport links and for the beach.


100%

Stayed at XBase with my husband and we ABSOLUTELY LOVED it!!!! Everything was just perfect with our stay from the moment we walked into the hostel to the moment we left. The crew was awesome!!! Always smiling and it's clear they all love their jobs. Travel desk, reception, breakfast, bar... And big ups to Aydn (bar manager) and Will (reception). These guys rock! If you're planing to stay at XBase, do yourself a favor and DO NOT miss the Monday Bingo! We had SO much fun! Such a great night!!!

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there!! What an amazing review! We certainly loved having you here :-) Thanks for leaving us a review and we hope that the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

The staff were helpful and friendly, room was small, but the beds were comfortable and clean. Being a Saturday night and with a room facing the road it was crazy noisy, but you get that in St Kilda. The 'where's wally' party seemed awesome. Overall, a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to bust out a review for us. It seems that you had a pretty awesome time with us which is exactly what we aim for! Our 'Where's Wally' party was lots of fun and we have a Hawaiian weekender, Disney and Masquerade party coming December too! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

This was my first time staying at Base. I loved it! After roughing it through Indonesia and the Philippines, it felt so good to do my own laundry and cook my own meals! The kitchen and laundry room were kept very clean. Base was the best party in town every night of the week! Sanctuary girls, don't worry - you'll get your beauty sleep on the 3rd floor and it's very quiet. 1 hour of free champagne every night for the sanctuary goddesses ;) HELL YEAH

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a banging review! We certainly think our Female Only Sanctuary dorms are worth it! It's great that you had such an awesome time with us and if you ever come back our way, come and stay with us again :D Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT!

94%

Too much noise downstairs and on all floors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us an honest review :-) We appreciate all feedback given and although you said it was a little too noisy for your liking you still seemed to have a great time. We do have a world famous bar downstairs that we party in 365 days a years with Ladies Nights, Bingo's, Trivia's and Karaoke just to name a few. We hope the next time you're in St Kilda you come and join us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

Hostel was awesome, good work guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. We think we're pretty awesome too but it's always nice hearing it from someone else. The next time you're in St Kilda come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Amazing stay! Everyone is so friendly and the staff are all super sexy

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! It's awesome that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come to Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

Good hostel overall, and an excellent location. Our room was very noisy, as the only window opened onto the smoking area, which was very loud. Would be worth installing aircon to allow the window to be closed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for giving us an honest review. We do have air-conditioning installed in every room and 24 hour staff to help with any maintenance issues however it seems that we failed to provide this during your stay, for which we are sorry :( We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and give us another shot! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had a great time in Base St Kilda ! Would recommend if you like partying all day long !

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for giving us a 100% review! We love that you LOVED us and we hope when you come back to Melbourne you come and party with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Great time at base st Kilda to finish off my stay in aus, lots going on and some awesome people

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay :-) We hope the next time you're in St Kilda you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

(50 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback