X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
940 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Had loads of fun at this Hostel. Great staff, clean rooms. Recommend. Boozy Bingo is a must as well, it's a riot!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you again the next time you come down to Melbourne. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

It was great stay at this hostel. Even though it's a bit far away from city central, the area has nice restaurants and places worth going. Especially staffs are really kind. I'd like to stay at this hostel if i come again

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We love hearing back from our guests and finding out they had such a great time. We hope if you ever come back to St Kilda you choose to stay with us! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Too bad, there was no free bed when I arrived. Thought after a 25 hours journey to get to Australia that would have been pretty nice. On arrival it would be cool if the staff cares for you to get a bed and show the room, not just hand out the key card.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. Although Guests are able to check in before our standard 2pm check in time - sometimes they aren't able to due to other guests having late check out. However, regarding not being shown around the hostel is really unusual as we pride ourselves on being very friendly on check in and doing tours for each guest. If you could email me on georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com with more information it would stop this from happening again. Best wishes! BASE CREW

100%

I had a blast at Base St Kilda! The staff are super friendly and accommodating and when I wanted to change rooms to the Girls Sanctuary they made it really simple to upgrade. There was always something going on at night so you are never bored and you are always meeting new people in the hostel. My personal favorite night is Boozy Bingo but every night is a good time. If you are looking for a safe, clean, and fun hostel while in Melbourne, then Base St Kilda is the place to be!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us such a detailed review - it is so great that you enjoyed your stay so much! We're sad to see you go but if you ever come back to Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

100%

Best hostel in Melbourne!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed yourself which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

the kitchen is too small , there are no good aspirators for the smells, and cookware are carbonized, and the rooms are too small.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and use the comments to improve our hostel for future guests. We've taken your criticism on board however if you wish to contact me on georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com to further explain or suggest ideas regarding your comment it would be greatly appreciated. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

94%

Had a great time at Base St Kilda! Really friendly and helpful staff. We stayed in the 'sanctuary' - all girls dorm on the top floor, felt really safe and secure and was good on nights when we wanted to get some sleep as downstairs gets pretty noisy! Great atmosphere though, real party hostel - great for meeting people :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We're incredibly happy you enjoyed your stay! It's exactly what we aim for. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay here with us. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

I arrived here by myself and felt so welcome. The reception staff that checked me in made me feel right at home and the bar staff were great too! All and all I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back when I return to Melbourne!

  • 11th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for. We hope you choose to stay with us here at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA when you come back to Melbourne. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

base was a great place to stay in Melbourne I loved every moment of it, the staff are great and all ways happy to help 10/10 would stay again great atmosphere

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it looks like you had a blast which is exactly what we could hope for! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Base St Kilda is awesome! The staff are bubbly, friendly and eager to answer any of your questions. Every evening there is always something going on, whether it be Boozy Bingo (not to be missed), Funky Bunch Trivia or Ladies Night. They have specials on food daily also, which is great for a backpacker trying to save the pennies. The best hostel I have stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone, not just as a place to stay but as an experience!! Pump Pump!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay here which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda the next time you're in Melborune. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

80%

It is good but location is a little far out but you have trams running all the time I'd recommend tho

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from our location you pretty much enjoyed your stay which is exactly what we could hope. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

The hostel is okey. Our bathroom was dirty, Im not sure if they changed the sheets and they dont clean the room daily. Its a party hostel, every night different specials and a lot of drunken young people. Its very easy to meet people. I'd recommend staying there if your on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Just so you know, we do clean the bathrooms daily and all linen is professionally cleaned by a external launder. However, it seems that we did not meet your expectations regarding this and for that we're sorry. We have a receptionist on duty at all times that are always happy to take comments/complaints regarding any issues and then act on them as soon as possible. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

I had such a great time at this hostel and I can't wait to go back!! Clean and great party

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us such an awesome review! It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at Base Backpackers St Kilda. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Best hostel ever! Was only supposed to stay a few days and just kept on extending as didn't want to leave! Great location 2 mins away from the beach and fantastic restaurants and there is always something happening at Base so there is never the chance to be even remotely bored. Such a sociable place and the bar was wicked fun. The staff made me feel right at home from the second I checked in and were so helpful and always willing to go the extra mile! Thank you Base St Kilda!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you leaving us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time staying with us! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

All the staff here are friendly, approachable and are really helpful. Every night there are cheap, fun activities from boozy bingo to free BBQ to $5 pizza ect. Down at the bar all drink and food are reasonably priced. The rooms are clean and tidy with own toilet and shower in each room. The rooms get cleaned daily so it's always kept tidy. The location is perfect with a tram stop 300m down the road which leads straight to the city.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It seems like you had a cracking time with us which is what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA in the future, Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The staff are all amazing, they make you feel welcome right through the door as well as into the night at the bar! A really fun bar to meet locals and backpackers on weekends. There's always something going on! Plus it's right by the beach in St Kilda. Wonderful location. I love this place and will continue to come back when in Melbourne!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne and wish you all the best on your future travels! Best wishes, BASE CREW

100%

I will be going back without a doubt

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we'll see you the next time you are in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

This was my firs time staying in Australia, also it was my first time traveling internationally by myself. I was a little nervous, but from the moment I arrived to Base St. Kilda, I knew I had made the right decision to stay here. From the friendly and informative reception desk to the very cool and fun staff, I had found a wonderful group of friends. Also I have to mention the GREAT nightly entertainment which is right outside of my room door. Base St. Kilda is the place to be!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a great time with us which is exactly what we want! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

77%

Nice location and close to tram stop for access to the CBD. Hostel itself is a party hostel. Could be more room in the dorms - tight squeeze when bags are in there. En suite is a pain as no other communal bathrooms available. We had a girl in our dorm who was throwing up all night and thus an en suite only became a nightmare!! Not the best hostel but not the worst either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from messy room mates you had a pretty good stay. We're sorry that it affected your stay and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay with us here at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

83%

Really nice 'party' hostel. Couldn't hack it for 2 of the 3 nights I was there due to jet lag, but even with this noise wasn't really an issue. Problem with chain hostels like base is that they are experts in maximising profit, so if they can charge you, they will.


(49 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback