X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
928 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

base was a great place to stay in Melbourne I loved every moment of it, the staff are great and all ways happy to help 10/10 would stay again great atmosphere

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it looks like you had a blast which is exactly what we could hope for! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Base St Kilda is awesome! The staff are bubbly, friendly and eager to answer any of your questions. Every evening there is always something going on, whether it be Boozy Bingo (not to be missed), Funky Bunch Trivia or Ladies Night. They have specials on food daily also, which is great for a backpacker trying to save the pennies. The best hostel I have stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone, not just as a place to stay but as an experience!! Pump Pump!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay here which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda the next time you're in Melborune. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

80%

It is good but location is a little far out but you have trams running all the time I'd recommend tho

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for reviewing us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from our location you pretty much enjoyed your stay which is exactly what we could hope. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

The hostel is okey. Our bathroom was dirty, Im not sure if they changed the sheets and they dont clean the room daily. Its a party hostel, every night different specials and a lot of drunken young people. Its very easy to meet people. I'd recommend staying there if your on a budget.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Just so you know, we do clean the bathrooms daily and all linen is professionally cleaned by a external launder. However, it seems that we did not meet your expectations regarding this and for that we're sorry. We have a receptionist on duty at all times that are always happy to take comments/complaints regarding any issues and then act on them as soon as possible. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

I had such a great time at this hostel and I can't wait to go back!! Clean and great party

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us such an awesome review! It looks like you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at Base Backpackers St Kilda. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Best hostel ever! Was only supposed to stay a few days and just kept on extending as didn't want to leave! Great location 2 mins away from the beach and fantastic restaurants and there is always something happening at Base so there is never the chance to be even remotely bored. Such a sociable place and the bar was wicked fun. The staff made me feel right at home from the second I checked in and were so helpful and always willing to go the extra mile! Thank you Base St Kilda!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you leaving us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time staying with us! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

All the staff here are friendly, approachable and are really helpful. Every night there are cheap, fun activities from boozy bingo to free BBQ to $5 pizza ect. Down at the bar all drink and food are reasonably priced. The rooms are clean and tidy with own toilet and shower in each room. The rooms get cleaned daily so it's always kept tidy. The location is perfect with a tram stop 300m down the road which leads straight to the city.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It seems like you had a cracking time with us which is what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA in the future, Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The staff are all amazing, they make you feel welcome right through the door as well as into the night at the bar! A really fun bar to meet locals and backpackers on weekends. There's always something going on! Plus it's right by the beach in St Kilda. Wonderful location. I love this place and will continue to come back when in Melbourne!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne and wish you all the best on your future travels! Best wishes, BASE CREW

100%

I will be going back without a doubt

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we'll see you the next time you are in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

This was my firs time staying in Australia, also it was my first time traveling internationally by myself. I was a little nervous, but from the moment I arrived to Base St. Kilda, I knew I had made the right decision to stay here. From the friendly and informative reception desk to the very cool and fun staff, I had found a wonderful group of friends. Also I have to mention the GREAT nightly entertainment which is right outside of my room door. Base St. Kilda is the place to be!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a great time with us which is exactly what we want! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

77%

Nice location and close to tram stop for access to the CBD. Hostel itself is a party hostel. Could be more room in the dorms - tight squeeze when bags are in there. En suite is a pain as no other communal bathrooms available. We had a girl in our dorm who was throwing up all night and thus an en suite only became a nightmare!! Not the best hostel but not the worst either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from messy room mates you had a pretty good stay. We're sorry that it affected your stay and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay with us here at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

83%

Really nice 'party' hostel. Couldn't hack it for 2 of the 3 nights I was there due to jet lag, but even with this noise wasn't really an issue. Problem with chain hostels like base is that they are experts in maximising profit, so if they can charge you, they will.


97%

We loved our stay at Base. The evening activities were great, the food was cheap, and the people were so friendly (guests and staff). In particular, Richard behind the bar is one of the most pleasant people who works at Base and Aidan is also worth a mention; so lively and friendly. Everybody at reception were also great. However, a particular brunette female who works behind the bar rarely used manners and a smile which unfortunately stood out on what would have been perfect stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from one staff member - you had a great stay with us which is what we aim for. We sincerely apologise that one of our staff affected your stay. We try to hire bubbly and happy people as we recognise that staff can make or break a holiday! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay with us so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes, BASE CREW

51%

I am not an 18 year old alcy nor drug addict. I wasnt aware there was a CLUB on the first floor. Because of that, there was no alcy to be drank in the lounge area. this means that everyone was packed into rooms drinking goon (also not allowed) and once everyone was trashed, they would just roam the hallways or sit around playing drinking games; all while i was trying to sleep. i guess if 24/7 party is what u want, this is the place to go! if not, run!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We take precautions nightly to limit noise from our club downstairs although we promote ourselves as a party hostel - upstairs should strictly be for sleeping. It seems like we failed over the nights you stayed - which we would like to apologise for. Just so you know our reception desk is manned 24/7 and we are always happy to ensure upstairs is kept quiet. BASE CREW

100%

Enjoyed my stay. Atmosphere was brilliant and the staff are very friendly. There is also plenty to do in st kilda and I wasnt ever bored. I have stayed in alot of base hostels and this was by far the best!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you had a pumping time with us which is fantastic! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & Safe Travels, BASE CREW

97%

Exactly what i needed. A cold beer on arrival, a comfy bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :-) It sounds like you had a pretty awesome time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Great Hostel, friendly staff!!!! Defo RECOMMEND!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems like you had a pretty amazing time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA in the future :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

80%

Having stayed in many hostels across the world, I think Base, St. Kilda, is good. The facilities are excellent and the staff are very switched-on and helpful. As someone who seriously enjoys to party, I very much looked forward to staying there. However, my criticism of the hostel, was the "party atmosphere" with which they are clearly proud of. It is great to have a decent bar in the building, but the constant "let's get hammered for the sake of it", at times often came close to cringe-worthy.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We appreciate all feedback given and have definitely taking yours on board. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

77%

This hostel was lovely to stay in. There was just a lack of free cutlery in the kitchen e.g needs more plates and cups etc and I found there was a lack of soap dispensers in the toilets/ dorm bathrooms, which is always nice when you've used the loo. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and will be looking into installing soap dispensers in each dorm room. We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Great hostel- great vibes and professional friendly staff- can recommend a stay here to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review - it seems like you enjoyed your time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

(56 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback