X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
914 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best hostel ever! Was only supposed to stay a few days and just kept on extending as didn't want to leave! Great location 2 mins away from the beach and fantastic restaurants and there is always something happening at Base so there is never the chance to be even remotely bored. Such a sociable place and the bar was wicked fun. The staff made me feel right at home from the second I checked in and were so helpful and always willing to go the extra mile! Thank you Base St Kilda!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you leaving us a review. It seems like you had a fantastic time staying with us! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

All the staff here are friendly, approachable and are really helpful. Every night there are cheap, fun activities from boozy bingo to free BBQ to $5 pizza ect. Down at the bar all drink and food are reasonably priced. The rooms are clean and tidy with own toilet and shower in each room. The rooms get cleaned daily so it's always kept tidy. The location is perfect with a tram stop 300m down the road which leads straight to the city.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It seems like you had a cracking time with us which is what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA in the future, Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! The staff are all amazing, they make you feel welcome right through the door as well as into the night at the bar! A really fun bar to meet locals and backpackers on weekends. There's always something going on! Plus it's right by the beach in St Kilda. Wonderful location. I love this place and will continue to come back when in Melbourne!

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It sounds like you had a fantastic stay with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne and wish you all the best on your future travels! Best wishes, BASE CREW

100%

I will be going back without a doubt

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we'll see you the next time you are in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

This was my firs time staying in Australia, also it was my first time traveling internationally by myself. I was a little nervous, but from the moment I arrived to Base St. Kilda, I knew I had made the right decision to stay here. From the friendly and informative reception desk to the very cool and fun staff, I had found a wonderful group of friends. Also I have to mention the GREAT nightly entertainment which is right outside of my room door. Base St. Kilda is the place to be!

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a great time with us which is exactly what we want! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

77%

Nice location and close to tram stop for access to the CBD. Hostel itself is a party hostel. Could be more room in the dorms - tight squeeze when bags are in there. En suite is a pain as no other communal bathrooms available. We had a girl in our dorm who was throwing up all night and thus an en suite only became a nightmare!! Not the best hostel but not the worst either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from messy room mates you had a pretty good stay. We're sorry that it affected your stay and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay with us here at BASE BACKPACKERS ST KILDA so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

We loved our stay at Base. The evening activities were great, the food was cheap, and the people were so friendly (guests and staff). In particular, Richard behind the bar is one of the most pleasant people who works at Base and Aidan is also worth a mention; so lively and friendly. Everybody at reception were also great. However, a particular brunette female who works behind the bar rarely used manners and a smile which unfortunately stood out on what would have been perfect stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems apart from one staff member - you had a great stay with us which is what we aim for. We sincerely apologise that one of our staff affected your stay. We try to hire bubbly and happy people as we recognise that staff can make or break a holiday! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you choose to stay with us so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes, BASE CREW

51%

I am not an 18 year old alcy nor drug addict. I wasnt aware there was a CLUB on the first floor. Because of that, there was no alcy to be drank in the lounge area. this means that everyone was packed into rooms drinking goon (also not allowed) and once everyone was trashed, they would just roam the hallways or sit around playing drinking games; all while i was trying to sleep. i guess if 24/7 party is what u want, this is the place to go! if not, run!

  • 4th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. We take precautions nightly to limit noise from our club downstairs although we promote ourselves as a party hostel - upstairs should strictly be for sleeping. It seems like we failed over the nights you stayed - which we would like to apologise for. Just so you know our reception desk is manned 24/7 and we are always happy to ensure upstairs is kept quiet. BASE CREW

100%

Enjoyed my stay. Atmosphere was brilliant and the staff are very friendly. There is also plenty to do in st kilda and I wasnt ever bored. I have stayed in alot of base hostels and this was by far the best!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you had a pumping time with us which is fantastic! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & Safe Travels, BASE CREW

97%

Exactly what i needed. A cold beer on arrival, a comfy bed

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :-) It sounds like you had a pretty awesome time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Great Hostel, friendly staff!!!! Defo RECOMMEND!!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. It seems like you had a pretty amazing time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA in the future :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

80%

Having stayed in many hostels across the world, I think Base, St. Kilda, is good. The facilities are excellent and the staff are very switched-on and helpful. As someone who seriously enjoys to party, I very much looked forward to staying there. However, my criticism of the hostel, was the "party atmosphere" with which they are clearly proud of. It is great to have a decent bar in the building, but the constant "let's get hammered for the sake of it", at times often came close to cringe-worthy.

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us an honest review. We appreciate all feedback given and have definitely taking yours on board. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

77%

This hostel was lovely to stay in. There was just a lack of free cutlery in the kitchen e.g needs more plates and cups etc and I found there was a lack of soap dispensers in the toilets/ dorm bathrooms, which is always nice when you've used the loo. Other than that it was a pleasant stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate all feedback given and will be looking into installing soap dispensers in each dorm room. We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Great hostel- great vibes and professional friendly staff- can recommend a stay here to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review - it seems like you enjoyed your time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

46%

I would like to say the worst hostel for staying, I have been complaint about the music noises until mid-night from the Pub. It made me and my husband could sleep after 12:30am 24/4/14. I requested to change to another room, the reception told me, there's NO rooms available for 25 and 26 April 14 night. Why we need to suffer your hostel party noise that making us can't sleep. Melbourne was the last stop when we stayed in OZ, we got sick when we back to Hong Kong.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like the bar noise really affected your stay. Just so you know we do have strict guidelines in place on the amount of noise our bar produces that are monitored hourly by staff on duty. Although we were 100% full over the weekend you stayed I apologise as we should have helped you find more suitable accommodation elsewhere - away from our party hard atmosphere we avidly promote. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

71%

Possibly the worst hostel experience I've had anywhere. Hard to get to from the airport without the free shuttle. I stayed in the 2nd floor just about above the bar and there was a party til late. Only got to sleep at around 1-2am because of the noise. Didn't have a pleasant experience with roommates either but this wasn't the hostel's fault. Although I could say these are the kind of people this hostel attracts? The toilet and shower in the room was small enough to do your business and get out.


77%

If you are 18 and wanna party every day and hang out with the young locals, then the place is perfect for you...otherwise you get really annoyed by the loudspeaker messages the whole day and the "party" events. Anyway the rooms are very clean, the beds are good and it's located in the beautiful st kilda!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate the time you took to write us a review. We value all feedback given. Unfortunately we cannot always accommodate all types of travelers - we do however pride ourselves on being a party hostel that provides an awesome bar and lots of activities. Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Amazing! Staff were fantastic - nights out amazing! Best party hostel in the world. Everyone was so friendly - I've made friends for life!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! It sounds like you had a sick time with us which is exactly what we aim for. We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA next time you're in Melbourne :-) BASE CREW

89%

If you're looking for an accommodation for fun and party, this is what you're lookoing for. If you look for a place for peaceful relaxation, it's not yours. I stayed in a private ensuite room with window facing the road side. The room is clean. Staffs are lively and helpful. Its location is superb. Find it convenient to go to the city center. On the other side, trams passing, after pub hour chit-chat on the street make it noisy at night. No surprise, ear plug provided in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. It seems that you mostly enjoyed your stay however the noise from outside was a problem. Due to the current laws regarding smoking, patrons can no longer smoke indoors, and sometimes when patrons are drinking they don't realise how loud they are talking. In an effort to reduce this we have security staff on duty to keep the noise down. The next time you are in St Kilda we hope you stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations. BASE CREW

100%

Not sure what to expect as a first-time visitor Down Under, This hostel exceeded my expectations, went above and beyond to ensure all visitors and guests stayed active and interested, and the energy level and excitement of all the staff and employees was top notch. Would very much recommend this hostel to anyone, and I look forward to another future stay in this and any XBase location. If you like San Diego then you will love St. Kilda!

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us feedback! It's awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

(55 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback