X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1038 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Cleaning staff were a bit obnoxious at times, but otherwise a very good stay. Large kitchen which was nice. Free BBQ once a week which was cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're going to discuss your comments about the cleaning team at our next managers meeting. We're glad that you had a good time otherwise and we hope to see you again the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

cool area of melbourne, wonderful staff and overall a very fun place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We love St Kilda and it's great to hear that you loved it too :-) We hope the next time you come to Melbourne you come and join us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Honest review: Excellent security, location, cleanliness and atmosphere. Only bad point is the insistent on staff coming in at 9am to Hoover, then again at 930 to tell people in the room they needed to check out at 10am (they were already packing ther bags). Then to follow that up, every morning at 10am they staff would shout loudly on a microphone that played out through to hostel telling people that needed to check out. Really annoying as most mornings I had a disgraceful hangover.

  • 10th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Cheers for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feedback given and we are investigating your comments about the noise before 10am. We endeavor not to make any announcements or unnecessary noise before the hours of 10am and after 9pm. We hope you come and get another disgraceful hangover with us the next time you're in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

Base is a little more expensive than other hostels but you definitely get what you pay for. Not a bad word to say about it, super friendly staff, great facilities and always clean and safe. I've extended my stay as it is exactly what I'd hoped. Only downside is that it's not a little nearer to the city, but it's right by the beach and the tram stops a two minute walk away. Especially good for girls in the sanctuary rooms!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a banging review! We love that you loved us and we hope that you stay forever. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

One of my favorite hostels in all of Australia

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! That's awesome to hear! We really appreciate you taking the time to let everyone on Hostelworld know how awesome we are! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

One of the best hostels for meeting people that I've stayed in. There was always an activity every night where you could meet people and everyone (guests included) was so kind. As a solo traveler, you can't go wrong with staying here especially with the awesome location next to the beach, shops, and only a short tram away from the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Cheers! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We really strive to get everyone involved in our free activities such as yoga, beach days, trivia, karaoke, volleyball and bar wars. We hope that you come and join us again when you're next in St Kilda! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

booked a mixed dorm and was put into one of the girl only sanctuary dorms. nice room, good hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review. It's sounds like you had a pretty good stay with us which is exactly what we aim for! Our female only dorms come with free towel hire, free shampoo & conditioner and 1 free hour of sparkling wine each night! We're glad you enjoyed it :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

49%

How has no one mentioned the mandatory 10AM daily wakeup?!? At 10am: #1: There is a loud announcement in all rooms of the whole building (yes there are speakers in the bedrooms). #2: 3 maids come in the room, talking loudly. They then do things like vacuuming, throwing the mattresses all around (including a few centimeters from your head), etc. They stay for 30+ min. And more, but I'm out of room. It's insane. Besides the 10am wakeup, it's a fun hostel, but very UK centric.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thank you for leaving us a review. This is the first time we've heard this type of feedback but we will be bringing it forward at our next managers meeting - especially regarding the Cleaning Staff noise. We don't make announcements before 10am and after 9pm to ensure that people do not get disturbed however we have received compliments before as it gets people up and exploring our beautiful city and beaches. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

69%

They kept making anouncements and rang the fire alarm during the day for nye parties and in the morning around the check out times which woke us up. We also stayed in a private room with average comfort.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! We appreciate your feedback. We apologise for the fire alarm going off during our announcements and that problem has now been fixed. We're constantly improving our private rooms with general upkeep however it seems that you were in one of the older rooms that have now been refurbished. If you wished to change our Reception desk is open for 24 hours a day and are always happy to help :) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Rooms are very nice, staff super friendly and energetic. Location is actually not in Melbourne central but still great. Easy to meet people here and they have a lot of specials so its not too expensive to get food or drinks. Could be difficult for people who like it quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us a review! It sounds like you had a pretty great time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

A brilliant place to say, staff where very friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! What an amazing review! We try and give everyone the best experience here at Base Backpackers St Kilda and we're glad you had such a great time. Come and stay with us again when you come back our way! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

We were here for new year, the bar gives a great party atmosphere, something going on every night which is great, boozy bingo was a highlight. If you're not into loud noise than probs not for you. The bar is open to the public so security is pretty tight which is good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us such an awesome review! It seems like you had a pretty great time with us which is what we want! Bingo is a must if you're staying with us and we're glad you enjoyed yourselves. We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again :D Best wishes & safe travels! BASE MANAGEMENT

97%

I definitely recommend it and it is a really good location.The staff are really friendly .

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! What a fantastic review! It's great hearing you had a great time. The next time you're in Melbourne come and stay with us again - you'll have to come join us for Big Willy's Bingo as you missed out this time ;-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

63%

This hostel does not deserve the highest rating in Melbourne. It is clean but tiny and the atmosphere in the bar was pretty poor. Most of all you feel like you are a child at a primary school trip, being checked on every second of your stay. Also it is located outside of the city and St Kilda is pretty boring. The hostel also does not refund you when you decide to cancel, they only give vouchers. We were happy to leave and are staying at a better hostel now

  • 23rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate your review. It seems like we weren't what you were looking for in a Hostel which is a shame however we appreciate your high rating on cleanliness, security and facilities. We are a bit shocked to hear that St Kilda is boring, as there are plenty of things going on like Markets, Clubs, Shops, Cafes, Festivals and a beautiful beach to name a few. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

77%

Avarage hostal with bar, the staff are quite friendly when they want to be I had a normal experience here nothing exiting unfortunately

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's disappointing to hear that you didn't have an amazing time with us as we've won awards for being the Best Hostel in Victoria and for Best Backpacker Night. We appreciate all feedback given and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

One of my favorite hostels, very convenient location to the beach. Friendly staff and very entertaining events thoughout my stay! Although my stay was only one night because they didnt have availability i can see why this place stays full. Only downfall was the additional payment for wifi, but i wouldnt let that hinder my ratings

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us such a banging review! Although you do have to pay for WIFI it's very fast with unlimited downloads. To make up for it we also have free activities such as Yoga, Tours and a FREE BBQ ever Wednesday night. We're sad you couldn't stay with us for longer but we really hope if you're ever back in St Kilda you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

94%

The staff at Base are incredible. They really go above and beyond to ensure that everyone has a great time - can't really give them enough praise. Lots of fun activities - both daytime and evening. Great location and standard of hostel. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! Thanks for leaving us such a fantastic review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems that you had a great time with us which is awesome! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

Place to party not to sleep

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review :-) you're right! We've won awards for having the best backpacker night in Victoria! There's always something going on in our bar. We hope you come and join us again next time! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT.

86%

In terms of location, this hostel is perfect; a short walk to main street and beach. Lockers are provided under beds so make sure you put EVERYTHING in them... My sister and I hid belongings on my bed during our stay and upon returning to the hostel we found my bed made (hers was untouched) and these belongings gone. Most of the staff were excellent, however one bar tender overcharged us on drinks and only rectified this when approached by another staff member... Seemed to be tipping himself.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. It seems that you enjoyed the location and atmosphere we provided. We take any staff complaints very seriously as we believe that the staff can either make or break someone's stay. If you could email me regarding this so I can investigate it, it would be much appreciated. Georgia Guest Services Manager E: georgia.mackay@stayatbase.com

100%

Would recommend Base in St.Kilda to everyone! Amazing stay all round!

  • 8th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Wow! What a great review. We loved having you here and we hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback