X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
997 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

This was my first time staying at Base. I loved it! After roughing it through Indonesia and the Philippines, it felt so good to do my own laundry and cook my own meals! The kitchen and laundry room were kept very clean. Base was the best party in town every night of the week! Sanctuary girls, don't worry - you'll get your beauty sleep on the 3rd floor and it's very quiet. 1 hour of free champagne every night for the sanctuary goddesses ;) HELL YEAH

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave us a banging review! We certainly think our Female Only Sanctuary dorms are worth it! It's great that you had such an awesome time with us and if you ever come back our way, come and stay with us again :D Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT!

94%

Too much noise downstairs and on all floors.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us an honest review :-) We appreciate all feedback given and although you said it was a little too noisy for your liking you still seemed to have a great time. We do have a world famous bar downstairs that we party in 365 days a years with Ladies Nights, Bingo's, Trivia's and Karaoke just to name a few. We hope the next time you're in St Kilda you come and join us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

89%

Hostel was awesome, good work guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. We think we're pretty awesome too but it's always nice hearing it from someone else. The next time you're in St Kilda come and stay with us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Amazing stay! Everyone is so friendly and the staff are all super sexy

  • 6th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! It's awesome that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you come to Melbourne please come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

Good hostel overall, and an excellent location. Our room was very noisy, as the only window opened onto the smoking area, which was very loud. Would be worth installing aircon to allow the window to be closed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for giving us an honest review. We do have air-conditioning installed in every room and 24 hour staff to help with any maintenance issues however it seems that we failed to provide this during your stay, for which we are sorry :( We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come back and give us another shot! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Had a great time in Base St Kilda ! Would recommend if you like partying all day long !

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for giving us a 100% review! We love that you LOVED us and we hope when you come back to Melbourne you come and party with us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

86%

Great time at base st Kilda to finish off my stay in aus, lots going on and some awesome people

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for leaving us an honest review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay :-) We hope the next time you're in St Kilda you come and stay with us again. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

74%

Pretty standard. Noisy if your trying to sleep before 11:30 but good atmosphere if not. Loads of people in the bar and some good night's.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. Every night we have something fun happening in the bar but during the day we have fantastic free activities like the Queen Victoria Market Tour, Beach Days and Yoga :-) We hope to see you in our bar the next time you're in St Kilda :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Best Monday Sesh I've ever attended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We had a blast too! We can't believe it was Bingo's 200th birthday! Make sure the next time you are in St Kilda you come and see us again as we've always got something going on in our bar :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

Absolute blast, I can't wait to come back. The staff were legendary aswell, thanks guys!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Cheers for leaving us a banging review! Come and see us again the next time you're in Melbourne :D Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Had such a great time here that I came back a second time. Would defiantly recommend it :)

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings! Hopefully we'll see you a third, forth and fifth time! Cheers for leaving us such an amazing review. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

91%

Great location, facilities are really good. Bit pricey and quite noisy at times but it's a party hostel so as to be expected. Quite young orientated like 18-22 but overall good hostel.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day! Thanks for leaving us an honest review. We appreciate all feedback and it seems like you had a pretty great time with us which is fantastic! We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you'll join us again :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

94%

Great staff, very professional! Brilliant atmosphere around the hostel (especially when the bar's open) and plenty of theme nights to keep you occupied. Would definitely stay there again when in Melbourne.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! It's awesome that you had such a great time with us. We'll see you the next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

83%

If you want a party hostel - this is THE place to be! A party every night - can be annoying when your roommates continue the evening in your room until 5 am. Friendly staff, but a rather young environment/guests, the shower/toilets are in each room which was very awkward at times, WAY too loud for me, especially when it's encouraged every night. They have an employment desk - but I highly recommend NOT paying the $125 for the membership - totally useless and I ended up getting a job on my own

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We agree - we ARE the best party hostel out there. However we do offer many other activities during the day like free yoga, free run club, free Queen Victoria market tours, free BASE RACE and more. Our jobs desk isn't only for getting a job - it helps travellers setting up bank accounts, tax file numbers, getting RSA & whitecards and many other things required for getting a job in Australia. Thanks again for your reveiw BASE

100%

Really enjoyed our stay and all the staff were extremely friendly, especially their awesome reception team.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and left us a review! Next time you're in Melbourne come and join us again :-) Best wishes and safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

71%

Facilities were good, bar was great fun especially on Thursday nights. Kitchen was very hot all the time, and often a huge mess, not necessarily base's fault but they can do more to improve cleanliness, the floor was so sticky like a rubbish nightclub floor. The rooms were alright too, beds were comfortable enough. Cleaners hoovered daily but only glanced in bathroom and never once saw them dust / clean a mirror or window. rooms above night club also noisy but to be expected.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We've recently worked out the issue with our airconditioner which is making the downstairs area much 'cooler' ;-) We try and have the kitchen cleaned at least five times daily however sometimes we aren't able to, for this we're sorry. I will bring all your points up at our next managers meeting to see if we can fix some of the issues you've brought up. We hope you stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations! BASE CREW

89%

Really friendly place with loads going on! Bar at night always busy with a good atmosphere, staff were great also! I stay in a mixed 8 bed with was fine with ensuite! Would and have recommended this to a friend and definitely would stay again

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Cheers for the awesome review! It's great knowing that you had a great time and that you'd recommend us to all your friends :-) We definitely hope to see you the next time you stay in Melbourne :-) Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

100%

10/10 in all departments! Loved every moment of our stay in Base St Kilda. Super friendly staff, immaculate private room with the best shower ever (the small things... its kind of a big deal), had heaps of fun at the bar with cheap drinks and live music, free BBQ for dinner. All round awesome hostel :) definitely recommend to everyone!

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
G'day there! We really appreciate the banging review you've left us! It's always nice finding out that we got things right! Next time you're in Melbourne - make sure you come and stay with us again! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE MANAGEMENT

54%

Great hostel to stay in for up to a week and looking for that 'freshers week' experience but I wouldn't recommend spending any longer there. The kitchen needs improving as there was never enough cutlery or utensils to make anything and was never clean. Most of the staff were lovely and helpful but a few thought they owned the place and made you feel uncomfortable with their questioning if you chose not to go out one night. Overall good fun hostel for a short stay & looking to party.


100%

Absolutely loved my stay at Base St Kilda! Thanks to the incredible staff! Always nice to walk in and be greeted by friendly people! Hope to see you guys again soon!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And we absolutely loved having you! Hope to see you back here again as we warm up for another St Kilda Summer. Bring your travel buddies and some sun cream ;P Happy Travels! Piers Cooke Rooms Manager Base St Kilda

(52 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback