X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base St Kilda Reviews

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

89%

Rating
928 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

I would like to say the worst hostel for staying, I have been complaint about the music noises until mid-night from the Pub. It made me and my husband could sleep after 12:30am 24/4/14. I requested to change to another room, the reception told me, there's NO rooms available for 25 and 26 April 14 night. Why we need to suffer your hostel party noise that making us can't sleep. Melbourne was the last stop when we stayed in OZ, we got sick when we back to Hong Kong.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for leaving us a review. It seems like the bar noise really affected your stay. Just so you know we do have strict guidelines in place on the amount of noise our bar produces that are monitored hourly by staff on duty. Although we were 100% full over the weekend you stayed I apologise as we should have helped you find more suitable accommodation elsewhere - away from our party hard atmosphere we avidly promote. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

71%

Possibly the worst hostel experience I've had anywhere. Hard to get to from the airport without the free shuttle. I stayed in the 2nd floor just about above the bar and there was a party til late. Only got to sleep at around 1-2am because of the noise. Didn't have a pleasant experience with roommates either but this wasn't the hostel's fault. Although I could say these are the kind of people this hostel attracts? The toilet and shower in the room was small enough to do your business and get out.


77%

If you are 18 and wanna party every day and hang out with the young locals, then the place is perfect for you...otherwise you get really annoyed by the loudspeaker messages the whole day and the "party" events. Anyway the rooms are very clean, the beds are good and it's located in the beautiful st kilda!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate the time you took to write us a review. We value all feedback given. Unfortunately we cannot always accommodate all types of travelers - we do however pride ourselves on being a party hostel that provides an awesome bar and lots of activities. Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Amazing! Staff were fantastic - nights out amazing! Best party hostel in the world. Everyone was so friendly - I've made friends for life!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! It sounds like you had a sick time with us which is exactly what we aim for. We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA next time you're in Melbourne :-) BASE CREW

89%

If you're looking for an accommodation for fun and party, this is what you're lookoing for. If you look for a place for peaceful relaxation, it's not yours. I stayed in a private ensuite room with window facing the road side. The room is clean. Staffs are lively and helpful. Its location is superb. Find it convenient to go to the city center. On the other side, trams passing, after pub hour chit-chat on the street make it noisy at night. No surprise, ear plug provided in the room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving us a review. It seems that you mostly enjoyed your stay however the noise from outside was a problem. Due to the current laws regarding smoking, patrons can no longer smoke indoors, and sometimes when patrons are drinking they don't realise how loud they are talking. In an effort to reduce this we have security staff on duty to keep the noise down. The next time you are in St Kilda we hope you stay with us again so we can exceed your expectations. BASE CREW

100%

Not sure what to expect as a first-time visitor Down Under, This hostel exceeded my expectations, went above and beyond to ensure all visitors and guests stayed active and interested, and the energy level and excitement of all the staff and employees was top notch. Would very much recommend this hostel to anyone, and I look forward to another future stay in this and any XBase location. If you like San Diego then you will love St. Kilda!

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for leaving us feedback! It's awesome that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

83%

Nice hostel. Staff were lovely. Room was very messy and was kept up all night by everyone coming and not not respecting the others in the room. One person had their other half stay in the room so there was 9 people not 8. Bar was cool and surprisingly quiet rooms considering the Noise downstairs. Good hostel if you want to party but getting up early for work was impossible after no sleep.

  • 14th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We appreciate you filling out a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you pretty much enjoyed your stay! We're sorry that you had inconsiderate room mates - just so you know we do have a Night Receptionist that can help you keep your dorm room just for sleeping. We hope the next time you are in Melbourne you come back and stay with us so we can exceed your expectations and give you a 10 out of 10 experience! Best wishes, BASE CREW

66%

Location is excellent. The tram brings you fast into cbd. There are no bathrooms except the one in your room. If one of your mates has a shower for 20minutes everyone has to wait. Quite stupid if you are in a hurry. But the best is the noisy speaker which the staff uses frequently to remind you on check out time and the happy hour. Never seen such a stupid thing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review for us. We do try to monitor the use of our loud speakers and keep it to a minimum but we appreciate your feedback and will look into minimising it further. We hope to welcome you back to Base St Kilda or another Base property in the future. Best wishes & Safe travels, BASE CREW

86%

Had a great time here and the staff were the best and super helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us an awesome review! It seems like you had a great time with us which is exactly what we aim for! We hope to see you next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

77%

Nice hostel, clean bathroom in the room, an easy tram ride from Melbourne CBD. Staff were very helpful, and Saturday nights there's a good atmosphere in the bar downstairs. A bit pricey, but overall a nice place to stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thanks for writing a review for us. We appreciate all feedback given! It seems like you enjoyed your stay with us which is awesome! We hope to welcome you back to our hostel in the future :-) BASE CREW

89%

stayed in mixed dorm loved it staff excellent

  • 10th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate all feedback given and you seemed to have a really good time with us! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes and safe travels, BASE CREW

97%

My friend and I stayed here for our first week in Australia and it was fantastic. Every single member of staff is super helpful and friendly, and the activities they set up every day are awesome. Rooms are huge and cleaner than many other hostels I've stayed at. Located right next to the beach in St Kilda and close to everything else. Security is thorough and probably the best I've experienced at a hostel. Would recommend Base St Kilda to anyone!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for leaving us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it sounds like you had an awesome time! We hope to see you again next time you're in Melbourne! Best wishes & safe travels! BASE CREW

100%

Best hostel I have stayed at...highly recommend

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate every bit of feedback and it seems like you enjoyed your stay which is what we aim for! We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes! BASE CREW

71%

The hostel staff was helpful in finding trips and navigating St. Kilda and proposing ideas for things to do around Melbourned. Each dorm room has its own bathroom. The rooms get a quick clean over daily, which keeps the dorms fairly okay. This hostel caters to the idea of a good time and as such has a lot of events throughout the day and especially at night. So if you are looking to meet a lot of people and have a good time partying this is the place. Though the rooms were quiet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thanks for giving us a review. We appreciate all feedback given. It sounds like you had a pretty good stay with us which is what we aim for! We love our party atmosphere - we hope to again welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

100%

Had a great stay, very social hostel. One of the more modern hostels in St Kilda. Staff cleaned the rooms on a daily basis. Great location close to the beach and all the bars. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a great time staying with us which is what we aim for! We hope to again welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

89%

Always something to do every night and the staff is awesome!! Had so much fun at base and would definately recommend staying here for anyone who wants to have a good time in st kilda!

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Cheers for leaving us a review! We appreciate all feedback given and it seems like you had a pretty awesome time with us. We hope to welcome you back to BASE ST KILDA or another BASE property in the future. Best wishes & safe travels, BASE CREW

1 2 3 Next » last »
(56 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback