Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1399 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.0

Good hostel, the fact that the lift was not working and we had to drag out bags up and down lots of stairs wasn't great though! Very basic but for saying the price and location, you get what you pay for! The windows leaked condensation onto my pillow every morning which left me smelling of damp, but moving to the wrong end of the bed to sleep did help! Overall Good hostel, brilliant location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.4

I only stayed here one night because I had a night out, but it was great! I am planning on booking here every time I need somewhere to stay after a night out :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! Thank you so much for your review legend! We're stoked to hear you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th May 2017
7.7

Friendly staff, rooms are ok, beds are comfortable - more clean that in hostels I stayed before. I would say that this is more a party hostel - at the reception/living room/chillout area is music turned on - the music is always really loud - I didn't like the atmosphere there. There is no "silent place" in the hostel where you can relax. Wouldn't come back for another stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
8.9

Nice and easy place to organise to stay. Central and well priced.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us mate! We're glad you had a good time and we hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th May 2017
3.4

This hostel is good for 19 year olds working for 6 months who don't care about hygiene. As a traveller the room was filthy and clearly hadn't been cleaned in weeks. Smelly clothes strewn everywhere and the "secure storage" had some foul smelling residue inside so there was nowhere to lock up your bag. In the room there was so much mess from the permanent residents there wasn't anywhere to put my bag at all. Noisy. The floors in shower were black with grime and you had to pay extra for wifi!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us. Our 24 hour reception allows you to come see us any time if you wish to swap rooms or make a complaint. We are always happy to move you into another room if you don't feel comfortable. Our facilities get cleaned three times daily but we apologise if you experienced that during your stay. Much love, Base Crew

22nd May 2017
8.3

Great location. Lots of common areas. Lift wasn't working both days :/

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us mate! We are happy you enjoyed your stay here at Base! We are sorry this happened during your stay and we got it fixed again. We hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2017
10.0

Bother the staff and guests are really friendly. The hostel is situated right in the centre, a minutes walk from Town Hall station so it's easy to get around Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey legend, thank you for your review! Good to hear you had a great time. Our staff is stoked to hear they could help you out! Safe travels further on and come back soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
12th May 2017
6.6

Smells pretty bad but decent for a night, wouldn't want to stay here for long. Good location for touristy stuff but not to see the nicer districts of Sydney.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th May 2017
9.7

good place to stay at sydney

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us mate! We're happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
8.0

I have mixed feelings about my stay at this hostel. Positives: It was in a great location in central Sydney providing easy access to various attractions. My room was cleaned every day and kept tidy. Staff were helpful and available 24/7. I was provided with a free map showing central Sydney as well as tours and attractions. I was also provided with discounts on local attractions. Negatives: Expensive private rooms. Messy, cluttered and crowded kitchen. Guests not encouraged to meet together.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.