Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,181 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
79% 1181
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
9.4

Loved this place. Made life long friends here. Will come back one day 😁 Only possible down side is the wifi but that's pretty minimal compared to what you get here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Base Hostel is a great place to stay with a bunch of friends and the location is superb yet you can still get away from the busyness of the streets! I've stayed here an number of times when visiting the city and is always my number on choice when on a strict cheap student budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
10.0

The hostel was both clean and spacious with a cool, relaxed vibe. Our room was more than we expected and would definitely recommend to friends. Staff could not have been anymore helpful and are there 24hrs a day to answer any question. Prime location for sight seeing and feeling the hustle and bustle of the city! Base Sydney, we will definitely be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

The hostel is set in a great location and has everything you would need. The staff are friendly and arrange great evening activities in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Overall base had everything that you needed. Very friendly staff and had all the basics which is exactly what everyone is after! There is a bar next door which you get discounts in and turns into a huge night out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.0

Good place to get started always cleaning which is good rooms are massive decent hostel would recommend location perfect

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Base was absolutely amazing. Super friendly and helpful staff with great recommendations. Bathrooms and dorms were very clean! Great experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks mate for your positive. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us. We always strive to offer an amazing stay that is memorable. Safe trip and thanks again :)

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.3

Overall I had a lovely stay! The location was great; its a nice 30 minute stroll to the harbour bridge/opera house and very close to the train lines if you prefer to get there a bit faster. The staff were great and the room was clean and comfortable. Met some great people and had some fun nights! My only complaint is that the bathrooms were pretty gross and unclean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day mate, thanks for your awesome review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and especially our location, which is unique. We are currently working on upgrading all of our bathrooms. We are sorry if this experience has caused you any inconvenience. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, with good central location in Sydney! Upon arrival my friend and I got upgraded from a 10-bed dorm to a private room which was also a big plus. Great, friendly staff! Only downside was that WIFI was only available in reception/foyer area, which was not clear on website.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day Legend, we are so stoked you enjoyed your time with us in the beautiful city of Sydney. We pride ourselves on our great location and our awesome staff. When we can, we upgrade all of our guests into our nicer room to ensure they have the best stay possible we are stoked you were one of the lucky punters. We are working on getting free wifi throughout the entire building and currently this is only available in our lobby we are so sorry if this caused any inconvenience. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Jae1911
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff, awesome location and great value for money, definitely will stay again next time I'm in Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your positive feedback we are absolutely chuffed with the review. We put so much emphasis on the staff we have on the front line and its amazing to see the hard work paying off. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review! Much love from your Base Family

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.