Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1,198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1,198 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
81% 1198
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Aug 2016
4.6

The staff at reception on checking in were quite rude. We had no idea how to check in online, nor once we were checked in they didn't even tell us how to find our rooms. Unfortunately our private double room was near a common bathroom and we had no sleep for 3 nights with the constant banging of the bathroom doors. Bathrooms weren't overly clean. For the price we paid, this was not value for money. I wouldn't stay here again, I would find another hostel to stay at next time I am in Sydney.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Aug 2016
7.4

Nice stay. A little bit noisy in the common area. But perfect location. No free wifi in the rooms!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
9.1

The staff were very helpful and friendly during our stay at Base Sydney.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
6.9

I had a great stay for the two nights I stayed here, however if your up for the party life stay here because the music is blasting till the am and there's a lot of staff member and workers staying in the Acom.. So prepare for a long night and people playing knock a door run.. Staff are friendly and I felt safe, however drunken people at 7pm outside the door was a bit of an issue.. Other than this, it's a lovely over night stay and staff will sort out issues anytime!! Sydney is beautiful!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jul 2016
10.0

OMG Nick was the best at reception!!! Coolest staff and awesome clean rooms! So many activities for everyone and bestest location!!! Definitely reccommend Base!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
10.0

I was greeted at reception by a friendly member of staff who was very helpful. They checked me in and then went through all the facilities and activities the hostel has to offer. The room was huge with a massive bed, tv and ensuite!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
10.0

We had a lovely stay at base backpackers. The room was beautiful and clean. The location of the hostel is great, right in the city centre. Staff were friendly and engaging. We'd absolutely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
6.9

Do not stay in the sanctuary - it's a great idea but unbelievably anti social. I was out in a 6 bed dorm with only 1 other girl

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel is very conveniently located. Staff was very receptive, helpful and friendly. A bonus is the travel desk that adds value and helps plan good day trips while you are in Sydney. The lobby is a little shabby and gives off a little shady vibe. I did not feel too optimistic walking in the first day. However, it does grow on you as you continue your stay. The area is a little noisy so if you are accustomed to peace and quiet, you will need to adjust a little. The room was clean and well lit

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
9.4

Loved this place. Made life long friends here. Will come back one day 😁 Only possible down side is the wifi but that's pretty minimal compared to what you get here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

There are three types of friends in life. Friends for a reason, friends for a season and friends for life. It's good to hear that you've made the latter! Hoping you can come back soon and meet some more amazing people in this glorious city.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.