Hostelworld.com

Base Sydney

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1,155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1,155 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 6.9
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
74% 1155
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
2.9

Air conditioner was not working No drinking water facilities on the floor If you want to see how the backpackers accommodation should be then go to Melbourne and stay at Space Hotel. Base is such a fuked up accommodation o have ever been to.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.1

We are not allowed to keep our luggage in the luggage room for free once we have checked out our room (although we checked out earlier than the original check out time).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Apr 2016
6.9

I think it was okay. the dorms was big enough. the kitchen was dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
6.9

The club music at night was incredibly annoying after long days of traveling. Friday and Saturday were the nights we were charged the most for but we got the least amount of sleep those nights due to the music. Kind of misleading that they don't mention how loud the music can be on certain nights. Beyond that everything else was fine. The location was great and there's a lot to do around the place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Really good location. Met some really cool people. The room has an air conditioner, which was really good! The only issue would be that next door is the bar Scary Canary, so you can hear the music playing/vibrating into the early hours of the morning. But you get use to the sound.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.3

It's good if your a city person as your right in the centre. The bar next door does cheap and good food and always something on there. The lobby has no atmosphere as everyone is down there on their phones for the wifi. Night staff can be rude and don't seem to know what to do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.0

Good spot, but a bit of a party hostel. I personally needed something a little more chilled, BUT, I had an awesome time there. Beers and outings with the room mates were the best part. The Foam parties on Tuesday and the Wet T-shirt comps on Wednesdays at Scary Canaries were also kinda fun. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • leahxlittle
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Mar 2016
6.9

Good location with really nice staff. I thought the rooms were really clean until I found a toenail in my bed!!!!!! Other than that experience all else was fine!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.0

Cleanliness was lacking and no toilet paper in women's bathroom, even after they were told one night--still no paper in the morning. Felt the bathrooms should have been maintained a little better. It had a bit of party atmosphere and wasn't geared toward an older crowd. Location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • grantcooke1
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Mar 2016
10.0

Brilliant hostal in the centre of Sydney ! I could not fault it !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.