Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 1427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 1427 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
5.1

Instead of being greeted with a warm smile you are greeted with ear plugs. This backpackers has no noise curfew which meant people were playing cricket up and down the hallway at 3am. The staff were absolutely clueless, being backpackers that had only been in Australia for a few weeks they could not help with anything. We were evacuated and made to stand out on the street in the cold for ages because people were smoking in the rooms. I would reccomend anywhere else in Sydney

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.0

Good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • bellakim715
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.7

Thanks for everything I went to many hostels in Sydney & Base hostel is always best! (Especially female room!)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
10.0

Best hostel in sydney, if not all of australia, i love Base Sydney soo much, been there a couple of times! The staff are the best ive ever known, Jamie P you absolute legend!!!! Maus and moon you are superstars too!!! Location is brilliant, and the rooms are so nice, always clean and tidy!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
5.4

Shower room was full of flies in the last day, don't know where they came from. The room was located above a nightclub and the room literally vibrated. Wouldn't be an issue if you were out on a night out but otherwise its was very annoying, however didn't ask to be moved as we were only there for few days. No WiFi in room and no drinks allowed in the hostel which was a bit annoying.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Morocco, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
4.6

Terrible place to stay i couldn t sleep the whole night, people entering the room at 3 am and talking to each other as if no one is sleeping. dirty environment in particular the toilets and the beds are unconfortable. I was not expecting a 5 star hotel or to get the best sleep of my life but i would like to get some sleep at least. I will never stay in a hostel like that again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2017
7.1

Generally this is a nice hostel in a good location with cheap rooms. Although the kitchen is well stocked with cutlery and tableware, it is generally grubby and there are cockroaches running around the surfaces, tables and walls. I saw at least one cockroach a day during my stay. The beds are uncomfortable and very noisy and could do with being replaced. The staff are friendly though and I would stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
8.0

Good hostel, the fact that the lift was not working and we had to drag out bags up and down lots of stairs wasn't great though! Very basic but for saying the price and location, you get what you pay for! The windows leaked condensation onto my pillow every morning which left me smelling of damp, but moving to the wrong end of the bed to sleep did help! Overall Good hostel, brilliant location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
9.4

I only stayed here one night because I had a night out, but it was great! I am planning on booking here every time I need somewhere to stay after a night out :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Awesome! Thank you so much for your review legend! We're stoked to hear you enjoyed your time here and we hope to see you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th May 2017
7.7

Friendly staff, rooms are ok, beds are comfortable - more clean that in hostels I stayed before. I would say that this is more a party hostel - at the reception/living room/chillout area is music turned on - the music is always really loud - I didn't like the atmosphere there. There is no "silent place" in the hostel where you can relax. Wouldn't come back for another stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.