Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1,246 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1,246 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.6
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
82% 1246
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
8.0

Compared to other hostels Base Backpackers is rather standard. Beds are alright, rooms vary but are mostly comfortable and the kitchen is quite big. The bathrooms are mostly clean but in these areas it simply fits into the mass of hostels in Sydney. The great advantage is a combination of location and friendly staff: It is located right in the heart of Sydney next to malls, Chinatown and very close to all sights and beaches with incredible connection through buses and trains. Staff amazing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear customer, we're happy you were satisfied with our hostel and that you like our staff and location especially. You're right, these location is amazing and there couldn't be any better place than in the heart of Sydney! We hope to see you soon again and wish you safe travels further on, Base Crew!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Nov 2016
5.4

I stayed here for 5 nights at the beginning of November in a mixed dorm. The last night an old man was sexually harassing me in my room. I notified reception and was left in the lobby at 1am for 2 hours before being told they had no free rooms so had to sleep on the floor in the tv room. I wasn't given any refund even though they wouldn't allow me to sleep in my room for the night & found the staff very unhelpful as a lone 21yr old female backpacker. The location is the only good thing about it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Oct 2016
8.3

Good hostel - a little noisy due to large facilities and many guests staying at hotel looking to party. WiFi internet was brutally slow. Overall felt very safe, good location in downtown core.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, we're sorry for the noises. We offer for our guest to come to reception and change their room to the other side of the building because over there it's a lot more quite. But we're glad to hear you like our amazing location and hope to see you soon and wish you a good trip, Base Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
5.7

Totally overpriced for what we recieved and the staff were a bit sarcastic.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, we're sorry you didn't like our prices but Sydney is one of the biggest and most famous city in Australia. That's why the prices are more expensive. And we also have to apologize that you found the staff were a bit sarcastic. Anyway we hope to see you soon again and wish you safe travels further on, Base Crew.

25th Oct 2016
8.3

If you are in Sydney for the nightlife, this is your hostel. Otherwise, I wouldn't recommend. Lots of late night food and cafes to cater for the crowds. They are adjacent to Scary Canary, a restaurant by day- club by night. And it's LOUD! The lobby is connected to the club and every night the combination of the club music next door and the competing blaring music in the lobby, the only common room open after 11, might make you want tear your hair out. Other than the noise, it is a nice hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Mate, we're happy to hear you would recommend our hostel for people who are interested in Sydney's nightlife. For everyone who would prefer to stay in a quiet room can ask reception on check-in. We also provide free earplugs for our guests. However we hope to see you soon again and wish you safe travels, Base Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
10.0

Base hostel is like home for me in Australia, the staff are so amazing and are always there to help out and to make sure I have the best experience. I always tell my fellow travellers and friends that base hostel is no.1 when looking for a place to stay. Cooking and wash room facilities are always kept clean and tidy every day, and the rooms are always spotless. Definitely be staying here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, we're happy to hear you had the best stay at Base Sydney and that you would recommend our hostel. We're looking forward to see you and until then safe travels, Base Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Oct 2016
4.9

Just want to say I won't be staying here again, the worst place EVER! Pee stains on mattresses, broken parts of wall! They don't wash the duvets!!!!! Toilets are disgusting on every floor, every the reception has holes in all the chairs. And to top it off there was TWO false fire alarms at 1am when we had to evacuate twice! Was a complete nightmare!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Oct 2016
6.6

Hostel is okay, nothing special and bathrooms were not very clean. Room was alright. The check-in process is quite ennoying because you have to download and register at an extra app which takes additional time. Didn't really like that and caused some confusion at check-in. Really loud air-conditioning in the room. Probably wouldn't stay here next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, we're sorry to hear you couldn't really enjoy your stay in our hostel. We've got the Tipi App since a few months which is supposed to speed up the check-in process. So we want to make the check-in as much comfortable as possible for our guests. The app has also other advantages like getting updated about activities in our hostel, speaking to other travellers in house and getting discount in our bar and at our travel desks. However we hope to see you soon again and we've got all your details in the system now so your check-in would be so much easier. We wish you safe travels further on, Base Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
14th Oct 2016
7.4

Very loud nightclub in the building in the weekends...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, we're sorry to hear you didn't like our nightclub next door but we're offering people who prefer more quiet rooms by night to move into a room on the other side of the building. We also provide free earplugs on reception for our guests. So we hope to see you soon again and just let us know on check-in you would like to have a quiet room. Safe Travels, Base Crew.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Oct 2016
6.3

Staff were pretty rude a majority of the times we tried to talk to them, the fact everyone in your booking has to download the Tipi app is kind of a joke especially after a long flight it's late and night and you want to go to bed but you're sent to the ipads to create an account and not allowed to check in otherwise. Beds weren't made when we got there. All in all felt pretty ripped off for the price paid, location however was ideal.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi mate, thank you taking the time to leave a review with us. We're sorry to hear you didn't like our new Tipi App. As mentioned we're using the app since a few months and it's supposed to speed up the check-in process. The app is also created to get updated about our activites, to speak to other travellers in house and to get awesome discounts in the bar and at our travel desk. Apart from that it also allows you to pre-check-in so we have all of your information on arrival and you can get in your room faster. We also have to apologize for the beds which weren't cleaned. Houskeeping is cleaning the rooms every day and whatever happened it might be that they've skipped your room. We're sorry but it wasn't on purpose. However we're glad to hear you like our amazing location and hope to see you soon again and wish you safe travels, Base Crew!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.