Hostelworld.com

Base Sydney

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.1
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
76% 1164
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Jae1911
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff, awesome location and great value for money, definitely will stay again next time I'm in Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your positive feedback we are absolutely chuffed with the review. We put so much emphasis on the staff we have on the front line and its amazing to see the hard work paying off. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review! Much love from your Base Family

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Loved my stay here in Base, was great to meet people and everyone was friendly!Great atmosphere and you get great deals at Scarys next door! Definitely my favourite hostel I've stayed in so far in Sydney and will go back when I move out of my apartment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day Legend! Thanks so much for your feedback, we are absolutely stoked you enjoyed your stay with us and we are excited to welcome you back to Base Sydney whenever you wish. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.1

We are not allowed to keep our luggage in the luggage room for free once we have checked out our room (although we checked out earlier than the original check out time).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day Legend! Thanks so much for your feedback, we are absolutely stoked you enjoyed your stay with us and we are excited to welcome you back to Base Sydney whenever you wish. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2016
6.9

I think it was okay. the dorms was big enough. the kitchen was dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank-you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our big dorms! We are so sorry that you experienced a dirty kitchen - we have 3 rostered staff working on shift every day to keep the kitchen consistently clean and tidy however we will certainly make sure that this is up to standards for awesome travelers like yourself. We hope to see you again in Base Sydney!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Apr 2016
9.4

+ very good party atmosphere + bathrooms were clean and tidy + large social area in the kitchen downstairs + Scary Canary next door is good for nights out and is placed near many of the other clubs + very central location - kitchen facilities could be improved - not a great number of showers to people ratio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review for Base Sydney! We do pride ourselves on having one of the best locations in the city which is easily accessible for everything you could possibly need from the city! We have actually replaced all of our kitchen hobs in the kitchen which should make for a much better equipped kitchen for sure! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2016
6.9

The club music at night was incredibly annoying after long days of traveling. Friday and Saturday were the nights we were charged the most for but we got the least amount of sleep those nights due to the music. Kind of misleading that they don't mention how loud the music can be on certain nights. Beyond that everything else was fine. The location was great and there's a lot to do around the place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey There! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you enjoyed the location, we think it is awesome too. We are so sorry that your sleep was limited due to noise from the bar. Weekends here in the city are certainly busy and alive and we are sincerely sorry if the staff didn't mention we had an awesome bar next door. We do really hope to see you again in Base Sydney!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
8.9

Really good location. Met some really cool people. The room has an air conditioner, which was really good! The only issue would be that next door is the bar Scary Canary, so you can hear the music playing/vibrating into the early hours of the morning. But you get use to the sound.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review for Base Sydney. We are stoked that you had a great time during your stay here and met some cool people. We think cool people attract cool people so we think you are pretty cool too! We do have a little awesome bar attached which can get a little noisy at times so we do apologise if you were not warned about any noise disruption on check in, unfortunately this does often come when a bar is involved! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!

30th Mar 2016
7.4

Nice place for a quick trip to Sydney. It's a bit generic and caters to the young party crowd. I enjoyed my stay and had a positive experience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Mar 2016
6.3

It's good if your a city person as your right in the centre. The bar next door does cheap and good food and always something on there. The lobby has no atmosphere as everyone is down there on their phones for the wifi. Night staff can be rude and don't seem to know what to do.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Mar 2016
8.0

Good spot, but a bit of a party hostel. I personally needed something a little more chilled, BUT, I had an awesome time there. Beers and outings with the room mates were the best part. The Foam parties on Tuesday and the Wet T-shirt comps on Wednesdays at Scary Canaries were also kinda fun. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.