X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Sydney Reviews

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
940 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The Sanctuary rooms that i have stayed in previously are heaps better than just the standard dorm rooms - take note girls!! The carpets could do with being ripped up and floor boards put down as they kinda smell...


63%

The kitchen needs major updating- more cutlery, crockery, hobs that work. Staff were often rude and the organised beach BBQ was an excuse for the reps to get drunk, they didn't try to include everyone and get people to socialise. Bedrooms are clean and usually spacious although the 2nd room we were in was too small. Should be able to store luggage in the luggage room, not have to pay to do so.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

decent place, excited to be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nina, Short and great review, that's how we like it ;) Welcome back!! Kind Regards, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

74%

We had a good stay at Base, but it is quite obvious that you don't pay as much as other hostels. The carpet smelled pee and the room was quite dirty overall. The toilets however was clean, and so vere the beds. The staff was helpfull (most of them at least) and the kitchen and laundry facilities good. We would suggest to separate the laundry with the garbage room though, because it was not very fresh to have that close to your clothes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rasmus, Thanks for leaving a review behind. We just ordered new carpet for the rooms so we are working on that :) Its a shame to hear that your room was not up to standards. Im happy to hear that you had an overall good stay! I wish you an awesome time in Australia. Kind Regards, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

77%

Pro's- location great for accessing many of the areas of interest, most staff were nice and helpful, sanctuary dorm has a row of mirrors with curling irons and hair dryers , key cards are keyed to individuals to deter theft and every door requires key card entry, shared baths are large and I never had to wait for a shower. Cons- men in the sanctuary dorm, internet is deathly slow, i felt nickel and dimed for everything, shower changing stalls were filthy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jewel, Thanks for your review. We take these reviews real seriously so Im glad you left one behind :) We already spoke to our cleaners about the bathrooms as you weren't the only one mentioning this and we are working on quicker internet this week so if you ever give us another chance, we will promise you that we have fast internet ;) Happy Travels, The Base Crew

49%

I was in a so called sanctuary room which did have straighters etc but my duvet cover was ripped the sheets were stained, light was poor in my room and the paint was peeling off the walls, the beds were so creaky, the toilets were disgusting overflowing sanitry bins, had to wear flip flops, food all over the carpets, terrible slow lift horrible unclean kitchen, didn't feel very safe or welcoming just overall a huge disappointment!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us, as we do take it super seriously and obviously it is so disappointing to get feedback like this. I will be bringing up your raised issues with both our housekeeping manager and our external laundry company, as all linen is Hotel quality and supplied fresh daily, while the guest kitchen and all toilets all get cleaned x3 times daily. Thanks again for your feedback, Warm Regards, Raph Kozminsky General Manager

74%

Base Sydney is located absolutely good location. There is nothing to say about it. However, facilities is not great, It doesnt mean suck. Room was clean but restroom was little bit messy. bad thing was a bed. the bed makes squeaking noise.. even there is a bar right next to hostel and you could hear loud music until midnight. Price is kinda expensive. "Welcome to Sydney, you have to pay for everything" You need to pay for towel, internet.. but you could find others dont need to pay in sydney

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yongseok, Thanks for your review. I will have a chat with our cleaners to check the bathrooms more often as you are not the only one mentioning this. We are taking care of the squeaking beds as we speak :) We always try to be a few dollars cheaper per night then our direct competition, but you are right, Sydney is an expensive city. I do hope that you give us another chance when you're back in Sydney and I hope you have an awesome trip :) Happy Travels, Jeroen GS Manager

63%

I felt sorry for the cleaners to be honest. The cleaners were really good, but the people stopping there just didn't care, meaning within an hour of cleaning the place was a complete hole. we witnessed bed makers not changing the bottom sheet only the pillow case, but were pleased to see after reporting it the guy did change them the next day. We wonder how long he'd been doing it though. Basically it's a decent hostel in a great location but some of the guests were a joke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi James, Thanks for your review. I actually got rid of that bed maker straight after I heard this and we have some great, new bedmakers ;) Of course we can't do a lot about how much "respect" the guests have for our hostel/cleaners, but we try our hardest to keep all rooms as clean as possible so its great to hear that you noticed (we love our cleaning team) I hope to see you again someday at Base and I promise your bed will be clean ;) Happy travels, Jeroen GS Manager Base Sydney

83%

Excellent location, staff was friendly. Travel desk was absolutely amazing! It is a bit loud all the time with people partying since there is a club right next to it but if you don't mind that its a great place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christina, Thanks for your kind review. I'm so happy to hear that you like our staff as we all try really hard to make this place the best hostel in Sydney ;) We hope to see you again someday in this beautiful city!! Happy Travels, The Base Team!

89%

Staff is very friendly and the rooms are big and clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your super positive feedback with us! it is great to see you enjoyed your time with us :) Warm Regards, BASE Crew

60%

this is a flash packer hostel... it doesn't set up the enviroment to feel traveler friendly... most of the people i talked to here were there long term to work on a visa and party with people from the same country as them...

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback with us online :) we do have a lot of guests who stay with us longer term, but also plenty who are just in town for a few days, often travelers love taking part in our free activities like the beach day BBQ as a great way of meeting other guests! Warm Regards, BASE Crew

80%

Clean hostel and great location. A very big hostel which makes it hard to meet people as a single traveller. Booked a 8dorm but got a 4bed dorm instead, not sure why , i do prefer bigger rooms when travellin alone so wasnt so happy about that. No activities goin on at nighttime , just lots of information abour the bar next by. Probably a great place if you are travelling with a group but felt very lonely as a single traveller. Wifi 4 dlrs per day, for paying 37/night should have been free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback with us, we really appreciate this as a measuring stick for what we can do to improve! Sorry for the free room upgrade, we do like to upgrade people into better dorms when we can. If you wanted a larger dorm you should have just asked :) the wifi ($4 day / $12 week) is very cheap by aussie standards, and very fast by hostel standards as well! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, Warm Regards & Safe Travels, BASE Crew

80%

There wasn't anything specifically bad about Base. It was clean and had a good big kitchen with basic supplies; everything worked. I just didn't like that it was such a big hostel because you don't get that kind of a warm atmosphere when it's different people all the time. And also for a hostel with this price range, I'd say wifi should be free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us here online. We are sorry our atmosphere wasnt up to scratch here this time! we do put on weekly free BBQ bus trips and take people on walking trips around time. We also have the Scary Canary bar adjacent to us which is always a great place to meet and greet fellow travelers, Hopefully you give us another chance to exceed your expectations if you are ever in Sydney again, Warm Regards, BASE Crew

86%

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm. Can't fault the hostel only on the lack of plugs in the dorm room. Only 2 plugs for an 8 bed dorm. For most of time there my camera, phone was dead!! At least put an extension lead in there!!!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us! Just as an FYI, as of Thursday 3rd July our full building electrical upgrades will be complete! This means that every single room will have a minimum of x2 power points per person! Sorry you had to stay in one of the last few rooms that wasnt finished, But we can 100% promise that wont be an issue next time, Safe Travels & Warm Regards, BASE Crew

86%

Came for a quick one night stay.... Met some amazing people! The staff behind the counter were very helpful and suggested to party in The Scary Canary next door! Wow..... What an experience. I'll Definately be back. Thanks Base Sydney

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us! The Scary Canary is a great place to hang out, grab lunch as well as go party at night! it is fantastic to see you enjoyed your time here, and hopefully we get to welcome you back sometime soon, All the best, BASE Crew

94%

Felt very welcome by the team there from check in throughout the stay. The room and other facilities like the bathrooms and kitchen were kept very clean at all times, and being located right in the heart of the city was very helpful also. Great stay

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear that you enjoyed your time here! we really are in a sensational spot, right across the road from Town Hall and a short stroll up to the opera house and darling harbour! All the best and Safe Travels, BASE Crew :)

51%

This hostel has one good thing: the location. It is located close to george st and the darling harbour. And the rooms are spacious. And that is it... The hostel is really dirty, I stayed for several days and I can assure the bathrooms and rooms were not cleaned in any way. Besides that, the staff is realy rough, they don't care if you are in a hurry or in doubt about something... This is true specially considering the guys (the one in the late night shift is really annoying). Everything is paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us! we do take these reviews very seriously, and in this instance we obviously got it wrong by you, and just wanted to say sorry! Just as an FYI though, all of our bathrooms get x2 professional cleans per day & every dorm room receives a clean every day as well. We are also disappointed to hear about your bad experience with the staff, we are sorry & hope you give us another chance to do better! all the best, BASE Crew

86%

My first time staying at a hostel... it was great. Met some interesting people. The staff were lovely and helpful. The only thing was, I was on the first floor and the bass from the club below was pumping till 2:30am. Don't get me wrong, I like to go clubbing myself. However, I had a conference over the weekend. Besides that, everything was great. Thank you

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stone (Great name) Thanks you so much for your kind reply. Great to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. I think this is one of the most important things in a hostel. As for the bar noise, we always hope all people join in ;) If you ever come back to Sydney, we will make sure you will be on level 2 (just ask reception), or just come and party with us......:) Safe Travel and hope to see you again, Jeroen GS Manager Base Sydney

74%

Location is really good, close to darling harbour. Wasn't really any atmosphere. I had a private room so was ok. Bit dirty, And got interrupted a couple of times by the hostel coming into our room late afternoon without knocking! Nearly caught me naked not impressed!! We also found cigarettes on my pillow and on the head board. Found that strange as my bed was all nicely made! Good for a couple of nights stay in the centre.


86%

Had a good time there...friendly staff, nice people and top location! But kitchen definitely needs more dishes... I would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us! Sorry the kitchen was a bit low on dishes, we do do weekly checks and resupplies but unfortunately some people do seem to help themselves to our equipment when they check out, Hopefully if you give us another shot here at BASE we can exceed your expectations! Warm Regards & Safe Travels, Raph Kozminsky, General Manager



View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback