X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Base Sydney Reviews

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
922 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Staff is very friendly and the rooms are big and clean!


60%

this is a flash packer hostel... it doesn't set up the enviroment to feel traveler friendly... most of the people i talked to here were there long term to work on a visa and party with people from the same country as them...

  • 19th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Clean hostel and great location. A very big hostel which makes it hard to meet people as a single traveller. Booked a 8dorm but got a 4bed dorm instead, not sure why , i do prefer bigger rooms when travellin alone so wasnt so happy about that. No activities goin on at nighttime , just lots of information abour the bar next by. Probably a great place if you are travelling with a group but felt very lonely as a single traveller. Wifi 4 dlrs per day, for paying 37/night should have been free!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback with us, we really appreciate this as a measuring stick for what we can do to improve! Sorry for the free room upgrade, we do like to upgrade people into better dorms when we can. If you wanted a larger dorm you should have just asked :) the wifi ($4 day / $12 week) is very cheap by aussie standards, and very fast by hostel standards as well! We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, Warm Regards & Safe Travels, BASE Crew

80%

There wasn't anything specifically bad about Base. It was clean and had a good big kitchen with basic supplies; everything worked. I just didn't like that it was such a big hostel because you don't get that kind of a warm atmosphere when it's different people all the time. And also for a hostel with this price range, I'd say wifi should be free.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us here online. We are sorry our atmosphere wasnt up to scratch here this time! we do put on weekly free BBQ bus trips and take people on walking trips around time. We also have the Scary Canary bar adjacent to us which is always a great place to meet and greet fellow travelers, Hopefully you give us another chance to exceed your expectations if you are ever in Sydney again, Warm Regards, BASE Crew

86%

Stayed in an 8 bed dorm. Can't fault the hostel only on the lack of plugs in the dorm room. Only 2 plugs for an 8 bed dorm. For most of time there my camera, phone was dead!! At least put an extension lead in there!!!

  • 20th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us! Just as an FYI, as of Thursday 3rd July our full building electrical upgrades will be complete! This means that every single room will have a minimum of x2 power points per person! Sorry you had to stay in one of the last few rooms that wasnt finished, But we can 100% promise that wont be an issue next time, Safe Travels & Warm Regards, BASE Crew

86%

Came for a quick one night stay.... Met some amazing people! The staff behind the counter were very helpful and suggested to party in The Scary Canary next door! Wow..... What an experience. I'll Definately be back. Thanks Base Sydney

  • 18th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback with us! The Scary Canary is a great place to hang out, grab lunch as well as go party at night! it is fantastic to see you enjoyed your time here, and hopefully we get to welcome you back sometime soon, All the best, BASE Crew

94%

Felt very welcome by the team there from check in throughout the stay. The room and other facilities like the bathrooms and kitchen were kept very clean at all times, and being located right in the heart of the city was very helpful also. Great stay

  • 16th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear that you enjoyed your time here! we really are in a sensational spot, right across the road from Town Hall and a short stroll up to the opera house and darling harbour! All the best and Safe Travels, BASE Crew :)

51%

This hostel has one good thing: the location. It is located close to george st and the darling harbour. And the rooms are spacious. And that is it... The hostel is really dirty, I stayed for several days and I can assure the bathrooms and rooms were not cleaned in any way. Besides that, the staff is realy rough, they don't care if you are in a hurry or in doubt about something... This is true specially considering the guys (the one in the late night shift is really annoying). Everything is paid.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us! we do take these reviews very seriously, and in this instance we obviously got it wrong by you, and just wanted to say sorry! Just as an FYI though, all of our bathrooms get x2 professional cleans per day & every dorm room receives a clean every day as well. We are also disappointed to hear about your bad experience with the staff, we are sorry & hope you give us another chance to do better! all the best, BASE Crew

86%

My first time staying at a hostel... it was great. Met some interesting people. The staff were lovely and helpful. The only thing was, I was on the first floor and the bass from the club below was pumping till 2:30am. Don't get me wrong, I like to go clubbing myself. However, I had a conference over the weekend. Besides that, everything was great. Thank you

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Stone (Great name) Thanks you so much for your kind reply. Great to hear that our staff was friendly and helpful. I think this is one of the most important things in a hostel. As for the bar noise, we always hope all people join in ;) If you ever come back to Sydney, we will make sure you will be on level 2 (just ask reception), or just come and party with us......:) Safe Travel and hope to see you again, Jeroen GS Manager Base Sydney

74%

Location is really good, close to darling harbour. Wasn't really any atmosphere. I had a private room so was ok. Bit dirty, And got interrupted a couple of times by the hostel coming into our room late afternoon without knocking! Nearly caught me naked not impressed!! We also found cigarettes on my pillow and on the head board. Found that strange as my bed was all nicely made! Good for a couple of nights stay in the centre.


86%

Had a good time there...friendly staff, nice people and top location! But kitchen definitely needs more dishes... I would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us! Sorry the kitchen was a bit low on dishes, we do do weekly checks and resupplies but unfortunately some people do seem to help themselves to our equipment when they check out, Hopefully if you give us another shot here at BASE we can exceed your expectations! Warm Regards & Safe Travels, Raph Kozminsky, General Manager

80%

We enjoy our stay for 1st 2 notes. But when we came back for our last nite stay at room 114 the aircon not working. And the window cannot be opened. We have to endured the whole nite without any fresh air ventilation for all 6 of us. It will be better if windows can be open at least partially

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable online feedback for us! We are sorry the AirCon Unit played up for your stay here, but next time just let one of our receptionists know! we have a 24 hour reception desk, with Handy Men on site fixing anything that breaks every single day of the week! Thanks again for staying with us here in Sydney! Warm Regards, Raph, General Manager

91%

Love this hostel! BBQ day at bondi was great. Really good location. we werent told at check in that there's no alcohol allowed in the hostel and it will get taken off you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Emily, Thank you so much for your great review and so good to hear that you loved our free BBQ :) As for the no alcohol policy, this is because we have a fully licensed bar. We try to make this as clear as posiible by all our signs in the building and it is on our check in form that people sign when checkin in, I am sorry it hasnt been mentioned upon check in. I hope to see you again when ever you are back in Sydney :) Happy Travels, Jeroen GS Manager Base Sydney

89%

Base is a great Hostel! I even got a cupcake when I checked in from the cute guys at the reception! Would highly recommend it, especially if you like to party!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Bryn, Thanks for your great review! Great to hear you had an awesome time here at Base Sydney/Scary Canary. Always good to hear that our staff was so helpful (only the nicest guests get a cupcake ;) ) We know how to party so next time you are in Sydney, please come and join our party again ;) Cheers, Jeroen Guest Services manager Base Sydney

100%

Amazing staff! Great nightlife at Scary Canary! The atmosphere at the hostel is incredible. Rooms are nice and spacious and the kitchen area is really good. Cannot fault the hostel! Would definitely recommend it, and stay there again! Raph the General Manager is a superstar as well!

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Liz, Thanks you so much for your kind review and its awesome to hear that you had a great time here. Raph is real happy with your reply too. Please come by and say "Hi" next time you are in Sydney again. Kind Regards, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

100%

I love Base Sydney. Stayed in a double room. It was so spiffy. The reception team were so friendly. Special shout out to Gabby, Mauricio and Raph for being all round mad dogs. Would definately stay again.and again. =]

  • 12th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Kendelle, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Sydney. We appreciate you taking the time to leave this awesome review behind. I was particularly pleased to read that you rated your overall experience as 5 out of 5!! So, It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for. We hope to again welcome you back to Base Sydney or another Base property. Best Regards & Happy Travels, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Syd

71%

The room itself was nice. It opened on to a balcony that unfortunately we could not utilize as there was no door just a top to bottom glass window. We were also able to look past the shower-stream like tap that was about to fall into the sink. We had many a lol in our chamber. However we were constantly disturbed, 7 times a day, by your staff abruptly entering without knocking. This paturbed us immensously during our quin time. Please mention this to your staff. Tah YG

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mike, Thank you very much for leaving this review behind. I am really curious why our staff entered the room as we only enter the rooms to clean or after noise complaint, if you could let me know why they came in your room that would be great. I will def have a chat with our cleaners or reception staff about this. I am happy to hear that you had a great time in Sydney and we hope to see you again. Cheers, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

97%

XBase is a slice of home in Sydney!!! Reception crew are incredibly friendly... absolute legends!!! Beds are great for what you pay and the hostel bar Scary Canary is heaven on earth for party travellers like me...!!! 100% sure I'm back.. Xbase es un pedazo de tu casa en Sidney... Los chicos de Reception son de puta madre..!!! Las camas son limpias y el ambiente es de lo mejor...!!! El bar abajo es la locura...!!! si quieres tener las mejores vacaciones de tu vida, Xbase es el lugar perfecto!!!

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Javier, Great to hear that you had a great time here at Base/Scary Canary and we are all very happy to hear that you felt at home here. We hope you have a great time travelling Australia and hope to see you whenever you are back in Sydney again. Cheers and safe travel, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

100%

Very social hostel!! I had great time at Base! It's a very youthful hostel which can't be said to many hostels. There's a free Bondi beach BBQ which is great for meeting people if travelling solo. Also a bar next door with special discounts on certain nights if you show your key! Staff is awesome 24/7, happy to answer every stupid question. :) I could go on, shortly I' d recommend this hostel when you' re looking to socialise. I wouldn't if you want to be in bed by 8pm. :)

  • 6th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Antarctica
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The location is excellent! Right down the road from beautiful Darling harbour! The rooms were clean and spacious! Staff were very friendly! My only BIG complaint is that we bought transfer bus to the airport and we left in plenty of time and got to the pick up point Base had told us to wait but an hour later it hadn't turned up, so worrying about the flight we had to jump in a taxi and spend more money to get to the airport. Me and my friend paid $30 each, we would like this money back?


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback