X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Sydney Reviews

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
958 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 71%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Rent? Nej, inte som vi hade läst i tidigare reviews. Köket var under all kritik. Det fanns nästan aldrig några bestick, skärbrädorna levde sitt eget liv, spisarna var så trötta att det inte ens gick att koka upp vatten. Det var ett nödvändigt ont att laga mat där. Rummen var ok. Sköna sängar men kuddarna var platta. Badrummen var skitiga. Det var inte tillåtet att dricka alkohol på rummet eller i allmänna utrymmen vilket vi tyckte var märkligt. Wifi kostar pengar och man kan inte dela på kontot.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

We stayed there only for one night. Nice staff, close to city, train and bus station is right across the road which is perfect in case you have a lot of stuff to carry around, it's as clean as hostels can get and pretty cheap for a big city ;) nice bar next door (8$ for a beer though). X base hostels are usually a good choice.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Katrin, Thanks for you great review. We love hearing when someone sees how hard we work to give people a great experience ;) Our cleaning team works really hard every day so Ill pass our review forward to them too. Happy to hear that you liked our staff (they are awesome ;) ) Happy Travels and hope to see you back in Sydney one day!! Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

57%

Bored staff, information at check-in laughable, keys didn't work. They said they'd lock front door after 10pm but it remained open. Last time at Base Sydney, for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Caroline, Thanks for staying at Base and for leaving a review behind. Shame to hear that you didn't had a good experience. We do leave our door open when we have a security guy at our door (on busy bar nights). I'm not sure what you mean by bored staff as we are extremely busy most of the time (so we love our quiet little moments ;)) I hope that whenever your back in Sydney again, you can give us another chance :) Safe Travels!! Base Crew Sydney

77%

The good: Clean beds and rooms very good location extremely helpful and friendly staff The bad: Kitchen could use an upgrade Lift could use an upgrade

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nick, Thanks for staying at Base and thanks for your review. Our kitchen is getting an upgrade very very soon :) Happy to hear that you liked our staff and rooms (2 most important things I guess). We hope to see you back when your back in Sydney. Happy/Save Travels :) Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

100%

Thanks Base Sydney for an awesome stay, not to mention my first ever dorm experience, thanks for popping that cherry! Facilities, location and staff absolutely amazing!! Can't wait to come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Superstar!! Thanks for your great review. We love seeing reviews like this :) We hope to see you back soon!! Safe Travels!! Base Crew Sydney

34%

Stayed here for two nights over the weekend. Hostel very busy but no atmosphere. Exceptionally dirty room. My bed sheets had not been changed and were covered in sand/ long hairs/ questionable stains. Beds also uncomfortable. No obvious facilities and limited common areas. Staff very unfriendly and useless in providing information regarding transport and eating options in the local area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Neil, Thanks for your review. Sounds like you didn't really like our hostel. I'm surprised that hear that you were in a really dirty room as we clean them daily and we do spring cleans for multiple rooms a day. We always are happy to move people to another room if they are unhappy. I'm especially surprised about your staff comment as we get great staff reviews. I hope you would give us another chance sometime so we can prove to you that we are awesome! Safe Travels, Base Crew Sydney

57%

Windows int he rooms couldn't be opened, quite bad smell with 6 guys in there. Shower was full of mold, pressure was a joke Beds were extremely shaky (loose or missing screws)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mark, Thanks for your review. Unfortunately hostels in Sydney CBD are not aloud to have opening windows because of security reasons, luckily we have our internal aircon. We clean the bathrooms 4 times every 24 hours so its a shame you caught it on a bad time. We are doing some major updates in the building so we hope you can give us another chance to prove ourselves ;) Happy travels, Base Crew Sydney

77%

Location is just 5 mins from Town Hall station, absolutely good for backpackers. I have got a toilet and bathroom inside the 5-bedroom dorm and it's clean. Thumbs up for such good quality. Just that lift is rather old and breaks down from time to time, and it was annoying as I have a medium-sized luggage with me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Simon, Thanks for your review. I'm sorry about our elevator unfortunately its heritage listed so we are unable to replace it, thats why we tell most people to take the stairs (although its better to wait with heavy bags ;)) We hope to see you back, Safe Travels Base Crew Sydney

80%

Private Double room really good. The only thing would be the bar close to the hotel which stop at 12am.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

The Sanctuary rooms that i have stayed in previously are heaps better than just the standard dorm rooms - take note girls!! The carpets could do with being ripped up and floor boards put down as they kinda smell...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Renee, Thanks for your review. We are updating our carpet as we speak so if you ever come back to Sydney, Ill promise that we have some better smelling carpet ;) Happy Travels, Base Crew Sydney

63%

The kitchen needs major updating- more cutlery, crockery, hobs that work. Staff were often rude and the organised beach BBQ was an excuse for the reps to get drunk, they didn't try to include everyone and get people to socialise. Bedrooms are clean and usually spacious although the 2nd room we were in was too small. Should be able to store luggage in the luggage room, not have to pay to do so.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

decent place, excited to be back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Nina, Short and great review, that's how we like it ;) Welcome back!! Kind Regards, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

91%

Everything is good in this hostel except the fact that we have to pay to have Internet !! No where else in the world we would pay for Internet guys...


74%

We had a good stay at Base, but it is quite obvious that you don't pay as much as other hostels. The carpet smelled pee and the room was quite dirty overall. The toilets however was clean, and so vere the beds. The staff was helpfull (most of them at least) and the kitchen and laundry facilities good. We would suggest to separate the laundry with the garbage room though, because it was not very fresh to have that close to your clothes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Rasmus, Thanks for leaving a review behind. We just ordered new carpet for the rooms so we are working on that :) Its a shame to hear that your room was not up to standards. Im happy to hear that you had an overall good stay! I wish you an awesome time in Australia. Kind Regards, Jeroen Guest Services Manager Base Sydney

77%

Pro's- location great for accessing many of the areas of interest, most staff were nice and helpful, sanctuary dorm has a row of mirrors with curling irons and hair dryers , key cards are keyed to individuals to deter theft and every door requires key card entry, shared baths are large and I never had to wait for a shower. Cons- men in the sanctuary dorm, internet is deathly slow, i felt nickel and dimed for everything, shower changing stalls were filthy

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jewel, Thanks for your review. We take these reviews real seriously so Im glad you left one behind :) We already spoke to our cleaners about the bathrooms as you weren't the only one mentioning this and we are working on quicker internet this week so if you ever give us another chance, we will promise you that we have fast internet ;) Happy Travels, The Base Crew

49%

I was in a so called sanctuary room which did have straighters etc but my duvet cover was ripped the sheets were stained, light was poor in my room and the paint was peeling off the walls, the beds were so creaky, the toilets were disgusting overflowing sanitry bins, had to wear flip flops, food all over the carpets, terrible slow lift horrible unclean kitchen, didn't feel very safe or welcoming just overall a huge disappointment!

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your valuable feedback with us, as we do take it super seriously and obviously it is so disappointing to get feedback like this. I will be bringing up your raised issues with both our housekeeping manager and our external laundry company, as all linen is Hotel quality and supplied fresh daily, while the guest kitchen and all toilets all get cleaned x3 times daily. Thanks again for your feedback, Warm Regards, Raph Kozminsky General Manager

74%

Base Sydney is located absolutely good location. There is nothing to say about it. However, facilities is not great, It doesnt mean suck. Room was clean but restroom was little bit messy. bad thing was a bed. the bed makes squeaking noise.. even there is a bar right next to hostel and you could hear loud music until midnight. Price is kinda expensive. "Welcome to Sydney, you have to pay for everything" You need to pay for towel, internet.. but you could find others dont need to pay in sydney

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yongseok, Thanks for your review. I will have a chat with our cleaners to check the bathrooms more often as you are not the only one mentioning this. We are taking care of the squeaking beds as we speak :) We always try to be a few dollars cheaper per night then our direct competition, but you are right, Sydney is an expensive city. I do hope that you give us another chance when you're back in Sydney and I hope you have an awesome trip :) Happy Travels, Jeroen GS Manager

63%

I felt sorry for the cleaners to be honest. The cleaners were really good, but the people stopping there just didn't care, meaning within an hour of cleaning the place was a complete hole. we witnessed bed makers not changing the bottom sheet only the pillow case, but were pleased to see after reporting it the guy did change them the next day. We wonder how long he'd been doing it though. Basically it's a decent hostel in a great location but some of the guests were a joke.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi James, Thanks for your review. I actually got rid of that bed maker straight after I heard this and we have some great, new bedmakers ;) Of course we can't do a lot about how much "respect" the guests have for our hostel/cleaners, but we try our hardest to keep all rooms as clean as possible so its great to hear that you noticed (we love our cleaning team) I hope to see you again someday at Base and I promise your bed will be clean ;) Happy travels, Jeroen GS Manager Base Sydney

83%

Excellent location, staff was friendly. Travel desk was absolutely amazing! It is a bit loud all the time with people partying since there is a club right next to it but if you don't mind that its a great place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Christina, Thanks for your kind review. I'm so happy to hear that you like our staff as we all try really hard to make this place the best hostel in Sydney ;) We hope to see you again someday in this beautiful city!! Happy Travels, The Base Team!

89%

Staff is very friendly and the rooms are big and clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave your super positive feedback with us! it is great to see you enjoyed your time with us :) Warm Regards, BASE Crew

« first « Prev 1 2
(21 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback