Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1374 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
6.9

Nice size room and was upgraded to a nicer room with ensuite for free. Room was generally clean but cleaning staff did not pick up litter in the room so there were bottles., empty food packets and even a pile of dirty sheets in my room. Wifi isn't free - you have to pay although it's reasonable ($8 for 3 days). Not the best location in Sydney but near to the train station. Although they say 24hr reception I arrived at 10:30pm and was left waiting at an empty desk. Good atmosphere though

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us legend! We will let our team know - sorry about any inconvenience! We do have a 24 hour reception and there is always staff around - please allow them a short break in the office at night time :) We hope you had a great stay over all and hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Apr 2017
6.0

Wifi is $4 a day … wait, what? Absolute no-go nowadays! Rooms are ok, beds are the typical shaky beds you find in almost all hostels in Australia, cleanliness was alright and the staff was very friendly. Storage room didn't make a safe impression. The door was open most times without anybody checking who’s going in or out (which wouldn’t make a big difference anyway, since you don’t get bag tags). Not great at such a big hostel. The location is awesome however, very central!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us! We do provide bag tags on reception - so sorry you didn't get told!! When the travel shop is open our staff is keeping an eye on the storage room - on the weekends it is locked. We hope you enjoyed your stay overall and hope to welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.0

Kitchen was messy. Good toilets and showers. Good beds and big lockers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Apr 2017
8.0

The location was awesome, very centrally located. It was $6 for toast juice and jam for breakfast, and $4 per day for internet... in my opinion it was a bit much...the atmosphere is great if you like to party all night. The club next to the place literally shook the walls...so not ideal for people who like to sleep before 2am...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
6.0

Good location but other than that a pretty basic hostel. Don't bother paying for wifi because half the time it doesn't even work! Over booking rooms constantly my friend had booked for a night and basically got kicked out because they'd double booked bed! Not dealt with well. Kitchen has a lack of utensils and no one really wanted to chat - wasn't overly keen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Mar 2017
8.9

Perfect location, close to shops and train stations and walking distance to everywhere. It has a huge kitchen and cool lounge area as well as a huge lobby with free WiFi which is nice. The staff are also super welcoming and really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
29th Mar 2017
8.0

Clean, spacious rooms with under bed lockers. Key card used for room and ablutions. Good location, close to darling harbour, short walk to opera house

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2017
6.9

Location is perfect! Rooms are expensive for what they are! Bathrooms was clean but the kitchen was disgusting. People don't do their washing up and not enough utensils to use in the kitchen! Good atmosphere though and worth staying in for a short time! Staff are helpful on most occasions and reflection is open 24/7!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
8.6

Overall I had a great stay at Base, and would highly recommend it! Kitchen great. Sometimes noisy at night, outside dorms, but you get that everywhere. Security could be looked at. You have to pay for wifi and the connection in my room was bad. Also, I booked with Hostelworld thinking I had a best price guarantee, and when I turned up at base, they had cheaper prices offered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2017
3.7

Loud hostel, rude staff. Charge for everything. no free wifi and more expensive than most. Had to change room because loud partying in my room. Won't be coming back

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us! We are sorry you couldn't enjoy your stay and apologise for any inconvenience!! We wish you safe travels further on, much love, Base Crew

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.