Hostelworld.com

Base Sydney

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1,172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1,172 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.2
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
77% 1172
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
10.0

The hostel was both clean and spacious with a cool, relaxed vibe. Our room was more than we expected and would definitely recommend to friends. Staff could not have been anymore helpful and are there 24hrs a day to answer any question. Prime location for sight seeing and feeling the hustle and bustle of the city! Base Sydney, we will definitely be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Base was absolutely amazing. Super friendly and helpful staff with great recommendations. Bathrooms and dorms were very clean! Great experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
8.3

Overall I had a lovely stay! The location was great; its a nice 30 minute stroll to the harbour bridge/opera house and very close to the train lines if you prefer to get there a bit faster. The staff were great and the room was clean and comfortable. Met some great people and had some fun nights! My only complaint is that the bathrooms were pretty gross and unclean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th May 2016
9.4

Great hostel, with good central location in Sydney! Upon arrival my friend and I got upgraded from a 10-bed dorm to a private room which was also a big plus. Great, friendly staff! Only downside was that WIFI was only available in reception/foyer area, which was not clear on website.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day Legend, we are so stoked you enjoyed your time with us in the beautiful city of Sydney. We pride ourselves on our great location and our awesome staff. When we can, we upgrade all of our guests into our nicer room to ensure they have the best stay possible we are stoked you were one of the lucky punters. We are working on getting free wifi throughout the entire building and currently this is only available in our lobby we are so sorry if this caused any inconvenience. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Jae1911
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
10.0

Friendly and helpful staff, awesome location and great value for money, definitely will stay again next time I'm in Sydney!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for your positive feedback we are absolutely chuffed with the review. We put so much emphasis on the staff we have on the front line and its amazing to see the hard work paying off. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review! Much love from your Base Family

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Apr 2016
9.4

Loved my stay here in Base, was great to meet people and everyone was friendly!Great atmosphere and you get great deals at Scarys next door! Definitely my favourite hostel I've stayed in so far in Sydney and will go back when I move out of my apartment!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day Legend! Thanks so much for your feedback, we are absolutely stoked you enjoyed your stay with us and we are excited to welcome you back to Base Sydney whenever you wish. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
7.1

We are not allowed to keep our luggage in the luggage room for free once we have checked out our room (although we checked out earlier than the original check out time).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

G'day Legend! Thanks so much for your feedback, we are absolutely stoked you enjoyed your stay with us and we are excited to welcome you back to Base Sydney whenever you wish. Safe travels and thanks again!

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2016
6.9

I think it was okay. the dorms was big enough. the kitchen was dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thank-you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our big dorms! We are so sorry that you experienced a dirty kitchen - we have 3 rostered staff working on shift every day to keep the kitchen consistently clean and tidy however we will certainly make sure that this is up to standards for awesome travelers like yourself. We hope to see you again in Base Sydney!

13th Apr 2016
9.4

+ very good party atmosphere + bathrooms were clean and tidy + large social area in the kitchen downstairs + Scary Canary next door is good for nights out and is placed near many of the other clubs + very central location - kitchen facilities could be improved - not a great number of showers to people ratio

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such a glowing review for Base Sydney! We do pride ourselves on having one of the best locations in the city which is easily accessible for everything you could possibly need from the city! We have actually replaced all of our kitchen hobs in the kitchen which should make for a much better equipped kitchen for sure! Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you next time!

  • Jo-stuart
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.4

Great mid city hostel. Carpet on the rooms floors should be replaced with wood or laminate. Too much foot traffic + dirty/drunk backpackers equals messes that could be completely cleaned with a mop in that case. Hostel + carpet = gross! Huge kitchen in the basement and ground floor had a lot of character and places to chill, meet people and relax. A few people living/working there but generally seem to be a great work hard play hard bunch.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.