X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Sydney Reviews

477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1017 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Great location in central Sydney, decent bar next door and the rooms had lockers. Plenty of cooking facilities and storage, and the staff let us have a day pass to get around whilst waiting to go to the airport

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review and great to hear that you liked it. We hope to see you here at Base again whenever you're back in Sydney and wish you the best time ever here in this amazing country!! Cheers, Base Sydney Crew

66%

Kitchen was carnage no order to any equipment, My bed was hangin on for dear life I dared not move incase it fell apart Room 207 top bed metal bent in shape of a banana

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving a review behind. We always take these reviews super seriously so we can make this hostel the best one in Sydney. Our maintenance manager fixed the bed straight after seeing your review. Did you come and see us at reception at all? We are always happy to move you to a better bed if something is wrong or our maintenance manager will fix it straight away. I hope you can give us another chance whenever you're back in Sydney and we'll promise you that it will be better.

86%

Rooms were lovely and very spacious. Option for lockers/storage in rooms which we weren't offered at any other hostels which was good. Bathroom facilities (shared) were really good. The other people staying there weren't as friendly as other hostels as they seemed to be staying there more full time but we still had a wicked time with some wicked people!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for leaving a great review behind. Shame you weren't that lucky with the people in your room/that you met. I hope that whenever you come back to Sydney you come and stay at us again so you can meet some other people that are awesome ;) I hope you have a great time travelling Australia and hope to see you back in Sydney again someday :) Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

83%

Stayed in the room of 4 mixed dorm for two days. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is very convenience but rather noisy, can't sleep well at night. The floor under the bed filled with rubbish and it's dirty.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi There, Thanks for leaving a review behind. I'm glad to hear that you find our staff so friendly as this is in my opinion the most important thing :) I'm really sorry the cleanliness of your room was not up to standard. I hop that you can give us another chance whenever you're back in Sydney and I'll promise that your room will be cleaner then the last time. I hope you have an amazing time in Oz and hope to see you back someday in this amazing city :) Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

97%

Stayed at base on a stopover in sydney for a few days and had a blast! For starters they organised a free shuttle bus for me from the airport and then when I arrived before check in time the really nice receptionist got me straight into a room with a free upgrade! The room was a 6 bed dorm with bathroom (I booked a 10 bed) and was well presented with a super cool brick feature wall. They have a bar next door that does amazing food specials and is a busy nightclub at night! 10/10 would recommend!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your awesome review. This is how we like our reviews :) We hope to see you again whenever you're back in Sydney and we hope your oz trip is absolutely amazing. Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

89%

Generally good hostel with very friendly staff at the counter. However, the cleaning staff randomly throws away stuff in bags even if they were placed right next to the bed. Overall clenliness hardly depends on the roommates.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review behind. We find ourselves friendly too :) We're sad to hear about our housekeeping, they do work hard - probably too hard this time! Hope to see you again here at Base Sydney :) Safe travels, Base Crew

71%

Staff came across abrupt and not very willing to assist. To their defense it was a long weekend and they were obviously very busy.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. Shame our staff wasn't up to scratch though. We were actually heavily understaffed that weekend so that might've been the reason why our staff was a bit "stressed". I hope you'll give us another chance whenever you're back in Sydney so we can show you how awesome we are ;) Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

91%

Really good, nice people, close to city, I sleept good:-) Minus was no free WiFi and the power plugs where a bit far away from my bed. But I recommend this hostel :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Klas! I'm glad you're enjoying your stay here at Base! I am sorry about the WIFI too, Sydney is expensive. Ha en bra dag! :) Base crew Sydney

80%

Very noisy roommates but other than that everything was good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yenny, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review behind and I'm so sorry that you weren't lucky with your room mates. Next time, please come and see our reception desk (open 24 hours) so we can change you in a better room or tell your roommates to be less noisy. I hope it didn't ruin your stay too much and we hope to see you back whenever you're back in Sydney again. Happy Travels! Jeroen Base Sydney

94%

Great location, right near all the tourist spots in downtown Sydney! Was super easy to get to from the airport by free shuttle, and the staff all looked like they really enjoy their jobs. The hostel owns Scary Canary, the bar/club next door, so there's always deals on food or drinks going on, and I heard they're redoing one of the floors and adding a cinema room, which will be great! Definitely a chill place to stay if you want to meet other backpackers and have a great time.

  • 23rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you! And thank you for choosing to stay at Base Sydney. We really appreciate the feedback, our reviews are really important to us! Hope to see you again in the future! Base Team

74%

The location is excellent, in the middle of the CBD. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. The bar next to the hostel is really loud! If you are staying at the first and second floor forget about sleeping!! The good thing about bar is they have good and cheap meals. We would advice not to use the kitchen because its the most disgusting and dirtiest kitchen you will ever see!


86%

Charging for wifi is a bit cheeky but other than that, the hostel was great. I had an incredibly loud snorer in my room stopping men (and the rest of the room) from sleeping at 3am. Fortunately the overnight front desk agent (guy with glasses) was kind enough to move me into another room in the middle of the night. It was kind of him to do that, thanks very much


83%

The location is pretty good! Short walk to Darling Harbour and to George Street where you can catch the free bus to Circular Quay (Opera House and Sydney Harbour Bridge). The restaurant / bar attached to the hostel Scary Canary always have deals on food and drink so check them out! Pretty good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Hannah, Thanks for your review, we love good reviews :) Also great to hear your feedback about the bar as most people just talk about the hostel. We hope you have an awesome time here in Australia and hope you'll be back at Base whenever you're back in this amazing city! Happy Travels! Jeroen Base Crew Sydney

66%

My friend and I were initially put in separate rooms which was annoying as we had asked to be together when booking months in advance. I was lucky and was put into a 10 bed with some lovely people, my friend in the other hand was put into a room full of people drinking and although we both like a party it began to get tedious when they were in and out of the room making noise until 6am. Our food was stolen from the fridge in the kitchen which was also very annoying


66%

shower stalls could use a small shelve to put your soap or shampoo on! complimentary wi-fi would be nice too, even if its a limited 30-45min access a day.


89%

Stayed in the girls sanctuary which I would definitely recommend. Found the cleaner a bit rude my room mate had him walk in on her in a towel cos he didn't wait after he knocked and the lift had broken so carrying all our stuff down from the 4th floor wasn't ideal. Not a very good atmosphere there but the bar next door Is perfect for meeting people. Definitely recommend it good location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Amy, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review behind. We actually had a chat with our cleaning team about your "situation". Apologies for this. Our lift is old and heritage listed, so no replacement aloud what is a shame, but we always try to fix it asap :) Great to hear too that you like our bar and we hope to see you back her at Base again whenever you in this beautiful city again :) X-base Crew

94%

Amazing place to stay Lot of good people very friendly staff

  • 26th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi David (the man with the best last name!!) Thanks you so much for your awesome review. We LOVED you too! You are such a positive and friendly guy, its great to have you staying here and we hope you have a great trip in Australia. We hope to see you in Sydney again someday. Cheers, Base Crew Sydney

86%

Great place to stay in a great location. Friendly welcome. Rooms were ok and clean Would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Tony, Thanks for your great review. We take these reviews super serious and try to improve wherever we can so great to hear that you liked it. We hope to see you again whenever you're back in Sydney. Happy travels, Base Crew Sydney

94%

No issues while staying here. The room was clean and facilities were clean.

  • 20th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Brian, Thanks for your short and great review. We all work hard to keep this hostel clean, friendly and exciting so its great to hear that you noticed. We hope to see you again whenever you're back in Sydney :) Kind Regards, Base Crew Sydney

63%

This is definitely a place for young travelers who like to party. Expect staff to knock on your door in the evening promoting drink specials for the bar next door. Cleanliness was ok. Curtains didn't shut properly letting light stream in.


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback