Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
85% 1216
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
10.0

Thought it was great. Got a free upgrade because we had a rough day after our flight and missing luggage to make us feel better. Location was ideal. The guy on reception (Scottish guy) helped out a load and pointed us in the right direction for places to go and what to do. Haven't stayed in a hostel before but it was pretty good all round.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
10.0

Absolutely loved my stay at base! One of the best hostels I've stayed in. It's in such a good location and I really enjoyed my time there. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and cleaned regularly! All the staff there were so friendly and helpful! Especially Ishi who helped me out a lot during my time there! When I go back to Sydney, I'll be staying here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel :) I really enjoyed my stay. Loved doing the activities. PS thanks Ishi for your help :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
5.7

Honestly I have no idea why this hostel is rated so good. Rooms weren't really clean, at night it was super loud because of the pub/club next door. Staff is super unfriendly. And if you charge 5$ for luggage storage for 3 hours to people staying there for a couple of nights, I can see what your interest is. This was the worst hostel I've been in Australia. (On international scale still okay). Upside: I'm really happy to go home now ;)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
5.4

This hostel was extremely loud at night. The night club played music till 3 am and then you had the screaming drunk people till about 4:30 am. The sheets on the bed were not cleaned. You could see hair and dirt on all the beds. The staff were not the friendliest group except for a select few. With the lack of sleep I had for the 3 nights- I wouldn't recommend this hostel. Might be the worst base I've stayed at. If you do stay here, ask for a room higher up and without people that snore.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • dabbya6038
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
5.7

Shared toilets were dirty. Rooms are ok.had issues in the room which was 1st allotted so they changed it but new one was right above the bar & very noisy.staff at reception couldn't give me basic directions for buses,had to wait for another staff to do that.then was charged $5 to store luggage.storage room is not even secure.anyone can walk out with anything.when asked about it the only answer i got was they have been charging for ages & still cant put a simple door and lock for it.Pathetic

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
10.0

Great place to stay! Super friendly staff who were always happy to help Showers and toilets were lovely and clean! The hostels in a great location too, super close to the metro and the main shopping streets Would totally recommend it here, plus the scary Canarys bar next door always has something on so you'll never be bored! Loved it Thanks Base

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
8.6

great place to stay if you like late nights and love loud music but if you need to sleep early then ask for a room that's not on top of the night club - the bed vibrated for hours!!! We only stayed 1 out of the 3 nights we booked in for after we were donated 2 nights at the local Holiday Inn which was fabulous!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Aug 2016
7.7

Staff were super friendly and helpful. The hostel organizes group events daily, has an active common room, and an app so travelers can meet each other. The downside of course, is that if you have no interest in the bar next door, earplugs won't save you. I also thought my room and floor smelled quite damp but they are doing a bit of construction to expand the luggage room and update some areas so perhaps a big carpet clean will take place shortly as well. Can't beat the location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Aug 2016
10.0

Last minute decision to book a room in Sydney CBD for the night. Base Backpackers had unbeatable prices in our prime location. The staff were so helpful and friendly throughout our whole stay, including giving us a late check out when we needed. The room was bright and so clean, had the best sleep and had a great cheap breakfast the hostel provides! Would love to move in!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.