Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 1321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 1321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
24th Feb 2017
4.6

Extremely loud as it's located on top of a nightclub that blasts music until late at night (the beds are shaking from the base). Bed linens were not clean, needs a general refurbishment. If you plan to party all night in Sydney it's a central and social place. Was charged a 10% higher price than the listed, as the receptionist charged me in another currency than AUD without asking (using a horrible exchange rate).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
2.0

I am sorry to say i wound not refer anyone to you and I would not return...the service provided was inadequate, over priced. And very manipulative...th e huge up sell on towels, water, and breakfast...the 6 buffet was an insult ...worst buffet experience in 32 countries...you have the most expensive water in the world ...you need to travel and stay in some real hostels..when you profit More than 2000 per week on a room you need to show your customer some appreciation...you should be embarrased,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We apologize for any inconvenience.

  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

I loved my stay at base! The room was lovely, clean and the bed was very comfy! Good size of tv with wide selection of channels. The toilet and showering facilities where very clean too! All the staff were very friendly! Especially Jamie who made checking in and out for me very easy! She was very helpful and such a lovely person. Will definitely stay here again! Thanks a lot base!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you so much for your review, legend!! We're stoked to hear that!! We'll let Jamie know, thats awesome! We hope you welcome you again soon! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.9

Good location, friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Feb 2017
8.3

In a good location if you want to be in the city centre but I think staying by the beach is nicer. The staff were nice but I didn't find the other backpackers as friendly and the vibe wasn't that friendly either. It was fine for 2 nights though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.9

Doesn't have very good communal areas but the general vibe is good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Feb 2017
7.7

Check in system is faulty and huge inconvenience. When you want to check in you don't want to have to use faulty ipads or download apps to surrender personal data for data mining companies. Keycards didn't work properly either. Staff were great and happy to help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving a review with us mate! We are sorry you got confused with the ipads. Hopefully you enjoyed your stay overall. Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
6.0

Stayed here for 4 nights in a 8 bed mixed dorm, think I was just unlucky with the people in my dorm as they were very chatty at all! Kitchen was a absolute mess but everywhere else was okay. Wifi was horrendous and had to pay $7 a day, no free wifi available! Staff were helpful. Club next door isn't too loud as long as you're not on the 1st floor, I was on the 3rd and couldn't hear anything. Shuttle bus from the airport you need to book in advance to get the 15$ pass rather than 22$. Average

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey mate, thank you for your review! The kitchen gets cleaned several times daily but if you've seen it in any other condition we are very sorry! Much love, Base Crew

4th Feb 2017
8.6

a WELL LOCATED HOSTEL.ONE OF THE BEST IN SYDNEY BUT NOT EXACTLY THE PARTY HOSTEL I'VE BEEN TOLD IT WAS.SOME STAFF FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review! We apologize for the inconvenience and hope you enjoyed your stay overall!! Much love, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jan 2017
9.1

Quality hostel with quality staff, loads to do throughout the week, great people and most importantly the location is amazing, darling harbour a 2 min walk and shops just around the corner.!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.