Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Sydney

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 1,184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 1,184 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
Base Sydney Located at 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia, Sydney.
Base Sydney
Australia
Sydney New South Wales NSW 2000 477 Kent Street, NSW 2000 Australia
79% 1184
-33.8732839 151.2048554
Base Sydney
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
10.0

We had a lovely stay at base backpackers. The room was beautiful and clean. The location of the hostel is great, right in the city centre. Staff were friendly and engaging. We'd absolutely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
6.9

Do not stay in the sanctuary - it's a great idea but unbelievably anti social. I was out in a 6 bed dorm with only 1 other girl

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
7.7

The hostel is very conveniently located. Staff was very receptive, helpful and friendly. A bonus is the travel desk that adds value and helps plan good day trips while you are in Sydney. The lobby is a little shabby and gives off a little shady vibe. I did not feel too optimistic walking in the first day. However, it does grow on you as you continue your stay. The area is a little noisy so if you are accustomed to peace and quiet, you will need to adjust a little. The room was clean and well lit

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
9.4

Loved this place. Made life long friends here. Will come back one day 😁 Only possible down side is the wifi but that's pretty minimal compared to what you get here :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
9.4

Base Hostel is a great place to stay with a bunch of friends and the location is superb yet you can still get away from the busyness of the streets! I've stayed here an number of times when visiting the city and is always my number on choice when on a strict cheap student budget.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2016
10.0

The hostel was both clean and spacious with a cool, relaxed vibe. Our room was more than we expected and would definitely recommend to friends. Staff could not have been anymore helpful and are there 24hrs a day to answer any question. Prime location for sight seeing and feeling the hustle and bustle of the city! Base Sydney, we will definitely be back!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2016
8.3

The hostel is set in a great location and has everything you would need. The staff are friendly and arrange great evening activities in the kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.9

Overall base had everything that you needed. Very friendly staff and had all the basics which is exactly what everyone is after! There is a bar next door which you get discounts in and turns into a huge night out!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2016
8.0

Good place to get started always cleaning which is good rooms are massive decent hostel would recommend location perfect

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jun 2016
10.0

Base was absolutely amazing. Super friendly and helpful staff with great recommendations. Bathrooms and dorms were very clean! Great experience overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks mate for your positive. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with us. We always strive to offer an amazing stay that is memorable. Safe trip and thanks again :)

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.