X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Taupo Reviews

7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, Taupo, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
156 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Not a lot of space in rooms, sundeck is nice, kitchen is not the best, staff was great, no atmosphere


51%

Room was not clean when we checked in and had marks all over the walls. Kitchen was dirty and poorly equipped. Hostel generally looked like it was overdue for a renovation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything clean as it is an area of the service we provide that we really value. Just to let you know - we have a professional team cleaning our rooms and a supervisor checks the work at the end of the day. It is pretty much the same story with overall cleanliness of the hostel the general areas are cleaned twice a day; and if there are any extra spills etc we ensure they are cleaned up as soon as we find out. Here at Base Taupo we see the cleanliness and functionality of our communal kitchen as a huge priority. We clean this area 4 times a day. 11pm it gets a thorough clean by professional cleaners, 10am and again at 2pm by day staff. We admit that despite signage and warnings, sometimes with the number of guests using the kitchen all at once, the mess can build up – especially if people “forget” clean up after themselves! The communal kitchen is an area that is a challenge for many hostels, as it is difficult to watch over people constantly. However base generally does an excellent job and able to keep this area clear and accessible at all times. I hope that should you choose to stay at another Base property you will encounter this cleanliness and high standards. We also hope you will give us another shot here at Base Taupo at exceeding your expectations. Happy travels for NZ!

54%

The location is nice. The rooms are old, run down and smelly. The restrooms are mostly nice and clean. I would never ever recommend this hotel to a friend because of the noise. It is located right across from a bar, and also above a bar. If you want to fall asleep before 4am, do not stay at this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review we are thrilled you found our staff friendly and we agree that we are in a prime location! I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We have made a number of changes to reduce sound spilling into accommodation areas. These include a state of the art sound system, sound proofing, and decibel reading though a hand help monitor during the night. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything clean as it is an area of the service we provide that we really value. Just to let you know - we have a professional team cleaning our rooms and a supervisor checks the work at the end of the day. It is pretty much the same story with overall cleanliness of the hostel the general areas are cleaned twice a day; and if there are any extra spills etc we ensure they are cleaned up as soon as we find out. I hope that the next time you stay at this or another Base property you will encounter a more restful night. We hope to welcome you to this or another Base property in the near future! Best Regards & Happy Travels,

46%

One of the worst hostels I`ve ever stayed. Confined rooms and labyrinth-look space, No living room for social activities. cooking utilities are worn-out. The most intolerant thing was the bar under the window kept making tremendous noise UNTIL 3:00 AM EVERY NIGHT!!!

  • 31st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. I noticed that you stayed around the new year period when Taupo is in full party mode, noise can be an issue around this time. However, we attempt to keep noise to a minimum and provide complimentary ear plugs for light sleepers at reception. We have a TV lounge in reception and lounge zones in our onsite bar for those travellers wanting to relax and watch movies etc. We also have a daily entertainment program to encourage social activities. We are sorry to hear that the cooking utensils were worn out and would like to let you know that we have replenished stock. We hope that you will give us another shot at exceeding your expectations at this, or another Base property in the near future. Happy travels - GM Base Taupo

74%

The kitchen is not very good equipped. Unfortunately you have to pay for the wifi. Everything else was all fine. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Base Taupo and that is exactly what we would hope for! Our kitchen is replenished weekly and should be fully equipped with everything a traveller requires! I would like to apologise that this is not the experience you had and assure you that the kitchen is now fully stocked! Happy travels - The crew at Base Taupo :-)

97%

Great and clean accommodation in central location, nice and helpful staff, just off you want to sleep and have a room facing the entry wall of the building you might find it hard due to the little bar of the hostel as well as two busy and loud bars opposite the street.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Taupo and wish you happy travels for NZ!

94%

overall the stay was all right. only problem was bar in front of hostel . it makes noice till 2 o clock in the night. if you are classical loud music lover than its ok. but if you love sleeping then , think twice.

  • 27th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at base Taupo. Due to our prime location we can sometimes experience noise issues. However, we do our best to minimise issues and provide complimentary ear plugs at reception. Happy travels!

89%

I really enjoyed my stay at the base hostel in Taupo, the staff was so friendly and helpful it was great. The location was right next to the lake and it was just beautiful. I would recommend lockers in the rooms, (small ones are enough), where you can lock your valuables, so you don't have to carry them around all the time. In addition, a bin in the bathroom would be nice. The cleanliness of the bathroom was acceptable, but although I stayed two nights it hasn't been cleaned one time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay in beautiful Taupo and we are thrilled you found our staff helpful and friendly. Thank you for your suggestions we have taken them on board to improve on in the future. We hope you had a lovely christmas and we hope to welcome you back to Base Taupo in the near future. Happy travels around NZ and all the best for 2016!

57%

The hostel is set right by the lake, which allows you fantastic views of the sunset, however something to keep in mind, this hostel is also located by several bar, which can be a plus, but at the weekend if you are trying to get some sleep & your room is facing the bars. good luck! The room (i was in a four bed deluxe) was dirty & tiny, hardly any room to put you luggage, when the room was fully occupied. Facilities are ok, the kitchen is fine, lacking a lot of basic utensils and atmosphere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We hope you enjoyed your stay at Base Taupo. We do go to great lengths to keep everything clean. Sometimes we do not get everything right, if you were in a room when this happened we’d like to say sorry. We go into each room every day to clean, and a supervisor checks the work at the end of the day. We hope you experience this high level of cleanliness at Base in the future. Happy travels and all the best for 2016.



View all Taupo Hostels

Please give us your feedback