Hostelworld.com

Base Taupo

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 194 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay at Base Taupo! The location of the hostel is perfect and the staff were all so friendly! They were extremely helpful both in reception and in the hostel bar. The food in the hostel bar was delicious and good value for money! Perfect for a backpacker as the drinks are also really well priced!! I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel if you visit Taupo! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Kitchen/bathrooms/dorms are clean. Awesome staff - very helpful, wifi in reception decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.0

Staff at reception are very rude and unhelpful. It was like askig for blood when you asked to stay in the same room for two nights, instead of having to check in and out each day! Every other hostel manages to do it but not these guys! Location fantastic. Although don't expect to sleep if on first floor as you are nearest to the bars and clubs so can hear everything! In room 110..6 bed dorm. It should be a 4 but they shoved another bunk in, so impossible to move around the room!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jan 2017
8.6

Good experience overall. Hostel is expensive but facilities are good, rooms are clean and big enough. The hostel is in good conditions. Great locations as well. They do a burrito and Sol beer deal. What I don't really like was the fact that there are no social areas besides the bar. The bar is more like a night club. I wish there was a place inside the hostel to get to know people. It's a shame you cannot bring alcohol inside. I just went to another hostel to socialise instead hehe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jan 2017
3.4

Only stayed here for one night due to all other hostels having no availability and it was as awful as I presumed. There was no lockers in the rooms, or anywhere else. The kitchen was in a disgusting enough state that I didn't even bother cooking - with no cutlerly and no working hot water, you had to go back down to the ground floor reception to boil a kettle. The free wifi during the day at reception didn't even work. Even on the 2nd floor you can hear the music from the bar.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay here at Base Taupo! Leid, the lovely woman who checked me in was so gracious and understanding!! There was a mix up with the booking and so in the end I got upgraded free of cost! The room was great. Very spacious, with its own bathroom. Bed was very comfy and only ended up being 2 of us in a 4 person room the whole time. The whole staff at Base Taupo was more than happy to help me with whatever I needed. I would recommend this hostel to EVERYONE!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Dec 2016
6.9

No lockers in room. kitchen not enough pots and pans, difficult to light stove, few utensils, cleanliness ok in kitcken, not great but room clean. No individual sheet,just cover on quilt. Bothered by limited hours of free WiFi when you just have to go outside for city's free wifi

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Marinerk
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
6.0

There was no atmosphere at this place , and no real common area to socialise which is too bad when you're a solo backpacker.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
12th Nov 2016
6.9

stay here one night, didnt really like the hostel. close to a bar so it was noisy all night, kitchen is dirty and not enoght stuff for everybody. lots of people but not amazing atmosphere. can be nice if you want party hostel, just not really my thing.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
28th Oct 2016
6.0

Staff at reception friendly and helpful. Kitchen was okay, location was good. Noisy nightclub not so great especially when so many of us were waking early for the crossing the next morning. Bathroom was okay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.