Hostelworld.com

Base Taupo

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 164 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
Base Taupo Located at 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo, Taupo.
Base Taupo
New Zealand
Taupo 7 Tuwharetoa Street, Taupo
74% 164
-38.6888450 176.0697830
Base Taupo
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
18th Jun 2016
7.7

Good location near the lake, shops, food places, etc. Powerpoints by each of the beds, unlike others in the same chain that I've visited. Not too bad overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
8.6

I really enjoyed my stay considering the circumstances I had the flu Lol, not really funny but have to stay positive, the main thing that stood out to me was the loving kindness of the staff especially the one that served us, I think she may have been from England, top service.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We are thrilled that we were able to make your stay as comfortable as possible under the circumstances. We hope you enjoyed your stay and that you had a speedy recovery to enjoy the rest of your travels. We hope to welcome you back to Base Taupo in the near future. -Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2016
3.7

The hostel itself was not horrible but it's location was right by a loud bar. Window would not shut and we were up until 2am trying to sleep. Overpriced for what you get. Staff were friendly but it did not make up for our horrible sleep. We have now stayed at 2 BASE hostels (Wellington) and they were both crappy. Only stayed here because all other hostels were booked.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey, we value your comments submitted. I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We have made a number of changes to reduce sound spilling into accommodation areas. These include a state of the art sound system, sound proofing, and decibel reading though a hand help monitor during the night. We wish to apologise that noise from the bar area may have impacted on your stay. I hope that the next time you stay at this or another Base property you will encounter a more restful night. We hope to welcome you to this or another Base property in the near future! Best Regards & Happy Travels, Base Taupo Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Feb 2016
9.7

Fantastic location, we had a great room with ensuite and tv and a view of the lake.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for. We hope to again welcome you back to Base Taupo or another Base property in the near future. Best Regards & Happy Travels, Base Crew x

18th Feb 2016
7.7

Rooms were tidy and clean, the showers are not cleaned regularly enough. The kitchen is too small for the amount of people staying but otherwise it is a nice hostel!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. It sounds like you had a great stay with us which was fantastic to read and exactly what we would hope for. We hope to again welcome you back to Base Taupo or another Base property in the near future. Happy Travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Jan 2016
7.7

Not a lot of space in rooms, sundeck is nice, kitchen is not the best, staff was great, no atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thanks for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Taupo. We appreciate you taking the time to compete the online survey. It sounds like you pretty much enjoyed your stay with us which is great to hear and what we aim for! We hope to again welcome you back to Base Taupo or another Base property in the near future. Best Regards & Happy Travels, Base Crew

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jan 2016
5.1

Room was not clean when we checked in and had marks all over the walls. Kitchen was dirty and poorly equipped. Hostel generally looked like it was overdue for a renovation.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything clean as it is an area of the service we provide that we really value. Just to let you know - we have a professional team cleaning our rooms and a supervisor checks the work at the end of the day. It is pretty much the same story with overall cleanliness of the hostel the general areas are cleaned twice a day; and if there are any extra spills etc we ensure they are cleaned up as soon as we find out. Here at Base Taupo we see the cleanliness and functionality of our communal kitchen as a huge priority. We clean this area 4 times a day. 11pm it gets a thorough clean by professional cleaners, 10am and again at 2pm by day staff. We admit that despite signage and warnings, sometimes with the number of guests using the kitchen all at once, the mess can build up – especially if people “forget” clean up after themselves! The communal kitchen is an area that is a challenge for many hostels, as it is difficult to watch over people constantly. However base generally does an excellent job and able to keep this area clear and accessible at all times. I hope that should you choose to stay at another Base property you will encounter this cleanliness and high standards. We also hope you will give us another shot here at Base Taupo at exceeding your expectations. Happy travels for NZ!

1st Jan 2016
5.4

The location is nice. The rooms are old, run down and smelly. The restrooms are mostly nice and clean. I would never ever recommend this hotel to a friend because of the noise. It is located right across from a bar, and also above a bar. If you want to fall asleep before 4am, do not stay at this hostel.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for leaving a review we are thrilled you found our staff friendly and we agree that we are in a prime location! I noticed in your response that you noted that the noise from the Bar affected your stay with us which is disappointing. Although our in-house bar can be lively and patrons come to party hard this should not have impacted on your sleep. We have made a number of changes to reduce sound spilling into accommodation areas. These include a state of the art sound system, sound proofing, and decibel reading though a hand help monitor during the night. Here at Base we go to great lengths to keep everything clean as it is an area of the service we provide that we really value. Just to let you know - we have a professional team cleaning our rooms and a supervisor checks the work at the end of the day. It is pretty much the same story with overall cleanliness of the hostel the general areas are cleaned twice a day; and if there are any extra spills etc we ensure they are cleaned up as soon as we find out. I hope that the next time you stay at this or another Base property you will encounter a more restful night. We hope to welcome you to this or another Base property in the near future! Best Regards & Happy Travels,

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.