Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Taupo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 208 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
10th Jun 2017
8.3

Maybe put off doing your washing here unless you either have time to air dry or a pocketful of dollar coins you'd like to waste on the dryer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2017
10.0

The bar noise at night is a bit too loud.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
10.0

Stayed here with my partner on a few occasions and each time we had a great experience! The staff are super friendly and helpful, the rooms and facilities are clean and well maintained. The Food and drinks in the bar were great and very affordable. The location is perfect and as it's right in town and only a minutes walk to the lake! We were also able to book any activities we wanted from reception and got great advice on what to do, which made our stay hassle free. Thank you base!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th May 2017
10.0

I stayed at Base hostel recently and loved my experience there! I was greeted by friendly and helpful staff in reception and throughout the hostel which gave the place a good atmosphere and helped me feel right at home! My room was clean and comfortable and the bathrooms were also clean and checked regularly. They also provide free wifi which is a huge plus!! Would definitely stay here again as the location is right near the lake front it's perfect! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th May 2017
9.4

Molly on reception was super lovely and helpful, gave me a free upgrade

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Apr 2017
10.0

My Stay at Base was great, the staff were helpful and friendly from the minute I walked in. The facilities are good and my room was clean. The hostel has an onsite bar, both food and drinks were reasonably priced which was good for me being on a budget. The location is within walking distance of all other bars and restaurants! Would definitely stay here again and recommend to other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Feb 2017
10.0

I absolutely loved my stay at Base Taupo! The location of the hostel is perfect and the staff were all so friendly! They were extremely helpful both in reception and in the hostel bar. The food in the hostel bar was delicious and good value for money! Perfect for a backpacker as the drinks are also really well priced!! I would definitely recommend staying at this hostel if you visit Taupo! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Feb 2017
6.0

The room was tiny and dirty and the staff weren't very friendly. There are definitely better hostels to stay in in taupo but it's ok for a day or so.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jan 2017
9.4

Great hostel! Kitchen/bathrooms/dorms are clean. Awesome staff - very helpful, wifi in reception decent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.0

Staff at reception are very rude and unhelpful. It was like askig for blood when you asked to stay in the same room for two nights, instead of having to check in and out each day! Every other hostel manages to do it but not these guys! Location fantastic. Although don't expect to sleep if on first floor as you are nearest to the bars and clubs so can hear everything! In room 110..6 bed dorm. It should be a 4 but they shoved another bunk in, so impossible to move around the room!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.