Hostelworld.com

Base Wanaka

Prices
map
reviews
7.1
Very Good 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.1
Very Good 254 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.6
Base Wanaka Located at Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
Base Wanaka
New Zealand
Wanaka Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka
71% 254
-44.6972818 169.1348648
Base Wanaka
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th May 2016
2.9

Hostel had 1 working washing machine for the whole building but I'm sure none of the residence really cared as they were all under twenty and probably never used a washing machine before in their life. They think washing machine is a term used to describe the way to kiss somebody. Showers were luke warm and you'd probably find more power in a snail ejaculation than in these showers. The only decent thing about this hostel was the cute girl at reception who brought us tea to apologies.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Apr 2016
2.9

Modern hostel but filthy. Our room had dead moths all over the walls and blind. Bathroom soap dispensers were never refilled, washing machine was broken and staff very unwilling to help, kitchen TINY for the size of the hostel, wifi broken and generally quite an unfriendly vibe. I'm sure you can find better for the same price of cheaper in Wanaka.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
4.6

Not clean enough.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
28th Mar 2016
4.6

Dirty smelly showers, dirty kitchen

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2016
7.7

Was happy with the accommodation but not the lady behind the counter who checks in people.my sister booked the accommodation but booked it for a day earlier than I was arriving by mistake and i was charged for both nights, I know it was our fault but it was a genuine mistake but the girl couldn't care less and charged full price for the two nights. Not very happy,things are expensive enough besides paying double.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
6.3

Review is at this level due to the internet and the price. It is a NZ thing to make people pay for WIFI here but to pay for the WIFI to only find that it cant even handle a youtube video. Conveniently they do have a higher internet speed for a higher price that i didnt bother with as in the end i just used my data on my phone as it was alot faster. The staff were friendly and helpful and the place was clean but for the price you pay for the room and the net you expect it to at least work.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear you had trouble with your WIFI. We offer two speeds to accommodate guests who have different requirements for internet usage. Our standard speed is more basic whereas the high speed at $2 extra is to accommodate guests who would like to stream videos and skype etc. Apologies if this was no communicated to you I am glad to hear you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Wanaka The Base Wanaka Crew

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
5th Mar 2016
9.4

The carpets need changing in the dorms as they smell but otherwise it's in a great location and the staff are lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we do appreciate your feedback. Its great to see that you enjoyed your stay with us at Base Wanaka. In regards to the carpet i can only apologise that you experienced a room with a bad smell, as you can imagine we have a huge amount of guests come through our hostel in the summer time but the cleanliness of our property is top priority and we do try and get in as often as possible to do a deep clean. I hope you chose to stay with us again in the near future. Kind Regards Sophie Heath General Manager Base Wanaka

2nd Mar 2016
8.9

This is one of the better Bases that I've stayed in! Like all Bases, it's a larger hostel so it's a bit harder to meet people outside of your room, but it was super clean, great location, the facilities were excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi. Thanks for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at Base Wanaka. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around NZ! The Base Wanaka Crew

28th Feb 2016
8.3

My least favorite hostel stay of my 9 nights in new Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking your time to write a review we do appreciate your feedback. If you could elaborate on what didn't meet your expectations at Base Wanaka that would be greatly appreciated we can then look into fixing these problems. I hope you choose to stay with us in the future. Kind Regards Sophie Heath General Manager Base Wanaka

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
26th Feb 2016
7.1

Very good location and cool bar. Because it is so big the atmosphere stays anonymous. The kitchen was horrible. No space at all, not good equiped, no oven very dirty fridge. The room was cleaned within 2 minutes.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.