Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wanaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.1
Base Wanaka Located at Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
Base Wanaka
New Zealand
Wanaka Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka
69% 297
-44.6972818 169.1348648
Base Wanaka
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! So clean and so impressed with everything about it. I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. Its awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka and we hope to see you here again in the future. Kind Regards.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.6

You get what you pay for: dorm bed for a cheap price at a party hostel. It is clean, however it is above a club so you hear the music all night long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, i'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka but i do apologise for the noise from Mint Bar we do provide earplugs on check in and try and keep it to a minimum. I hope to see you here again in the future. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
6.9

Ranga chick running the desk was pretty salty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
4.3

OK for a night or two when all else fails. Staff were all OK, but just OK. Pool and sauna? Still yet to find them. Noisy rooms, small kitchen. I walked into the kitchen at 11:50 one day only to be told quite strongly to "get out, kitchen closed for cleaning" I was amazed that the only kitchen for all the hostel would be closed at lunchtime. And to be told in such a manner was insulting. TV room could have been great, if it worked. Wi-Fi deal sucked. Would avoid at all cost.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, i'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to standard. I'm not sure why you thought we have a pool and sauna this shouldn't be advertised anywhere, if it is i would love to know so i can get it amended. We close our kitchen between 11-12 for cleaning just before lunch time but i would never expect my staff to be rude so i will be taking this matter up with them. As far as i'm aware there has never been a problem with our TV in the TV room but if it didn't seem to work i hope you took this up with my staff at the time so we could fix it for you. We have a free WIFI deal in the reception area which can get a little slow as alot of people use it but if you wanted high speed WIFI you can purchase it for just $4. I hope you give us another chance here at Base Wanaka and i will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.4

Huge hostel (300 beds) convenient if you wanna meet people... But noisy at nights (door banging, drunk ppl talking loud in corridors). Reception staff is OK, but often too many ppl asking for one person available. Kitchen is a mess, very little space for the number of guests... Free Wi-Fi btw 7am-7pm, for better Wi-Fi you have to pay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Nice hostel with comfy beds but some of the rooms smell pretty bad. The kitchen and toilets tend to be a little dirty. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby so that is a bonus. Location is amazing, just 2 blocks from the lake front.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.7

Basic hostel...nothing stood out, nothing to put you off! Good location, bar below does good deals and fun atmosphere. Get what you pay for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for leaving a review it is much appreciated, Its nice to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka, If there is anything you think we can do to improve the customer experience i would love to hear more feedback. I hope to see you here again and enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
10.0

The best experience in Wanaka during our stay. Highly recommended to all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There! Thank you for taking your time to leave a review it is much appreciated. Really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
7.1

Fine nights stay, folks were friendly. Trying to upsell the bar downstairs by playing loud music. Better off staying somewhere quieter but beds are comfy and showers are warm

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review, i apologise if the music in the bar was too loud and i hope you took this up with my staff so during your stay so we could have resolved this problem. I hope you give us a second chance here at Base Wanaka and i will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards

12th Dec 2016
8.0

Great staff. Good atmosphere. Kitchen is too small however. Bunk beds creak!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, It seems you were pretty happy with your stay which is great, i do apologise for the creaky bunks i will get my maintenance man onto this. I hope to see you here again at Base Wanaka and enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.