Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wanaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.4
  • Cleanliness 6.2
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.1

I took a private room in base and whilst it was lovely to have a big bed and real towels it didn't feel super clean or luxurious at all for the price. The towels and pillow cases had marks on them. I've stayed in much nicer private dorm rooms for considerably less money. Check in was a nightmare with filling in forms, passport production for a coach load. Could really do with giving customers free WiFi! Also the kitchen was very small for the size of the hostel which made it very hectic...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here at base Wanaka. We do have nice modern facilities and clean our hostel to a high standard each day. I hope you bought these issues up with reception during your stay so we could overcome these issues as we would have happily supplied new sheets/towels if they seemed to have marks on them. We do have free WIFI in the reception area and for all other locations of the hostel it is just $4 for high speed WIFI. We generally have a few buses check in per day so this can cause for a slower process than usual but guests are more than welcome to leave their luggage and pop back a little later when the que has gone down. We take passport information and check in forms for security reasons which you will find at most hostels/hotels across the country. I hope you do choose to give us another chance here at base Wanaka and we will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
5.1

The room was okay, got power outlets for each bed which was very convenient. However, the free WiFi is only made available from 7am - 7pm at reception. The kitchen was a mess ! And only open until 10pm. First time experiencing something which not really pleasant for backpackers. The staffs could improve more, I think the conditions were like that because it was the peak time for travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! So clean and so impressed with everything about it. I would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. Its awesome to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka and we hope to see you here again in the future. Kind Regards.

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.6

You get what you pay for: dorm bed for a cheap price at a party hostel. It is clean, however it is above a club so you hear the music all night long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, i'm glad you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka but i do apologise for the noise from Mint Bar we do provide earplugs on check in and try and keep it to a minimum. I hope to see you here again in the future. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Jan 2017
7.1

It's a nice place. I was afraid about the noise that so many people talk about in the reviews but at the end it was ok. The staff are not as friendly as in other places I've been but they do their job well which in the end is what matters. Since I was trying to find a place to stay in Wanaka and every thing was full booked finding a place like this was actually a good surprise. I would come back

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, I'm glad you were pleasantly suprised with our hostel and its great to see that you would like to come back. In regards to my staff members i will bring this issue up with them and make sure this issue doesn't arise again. Look forward to seeing you next time!! Kind regards

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jan 2017
6.9

Ranga chick running the desk was pretty salty

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
4.3

OK for a night or two when all else fails. Staff were all OK, but just OK. Pool and sauna? Still yet to find them. Noisy rooms, small kitchen. I walked into the kitchen at 11:50 one day only to be told quite strongly to "get out, kitchen closed for cleaning" I was amazed that the only kitchen for all the hostel would be closed at lunchtime. And to be told in such a manner was insulting. TV room could have been great, if it worked. Wi-Fi deal sucked. Would avoid at all cost.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi There Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback, i'm sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to standard. I'm not sure why you thought we have a pool and sauna this shouldn't be advertised anywhere, if it is i would love to know so i can get it amended. We close our kitchen between 11-12 for cleaning just before lunch time but i would never expect my staff to be rude so i will be taking this matter up with them. As far as i'm aware there has never been a problem with our TV in the TV room but if it didn't seem to work i hope you took this up with my staff at the time so we could fix it for you. We have a free WIFI deal in the reception area which can get a little slow as alot of people use it but if you wanted high speed WIFI you can purchase it for just $4. I hope you give us another chance here at Base Wanaka and i will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.4

Huge hostel (300 beds) convenient if you wanna meet people... But noisy at nights (door banging, drunk ppl talking loud in corridors). Reception staff is OK, but often too many ppl asking for one person available. Kitchen is a mess, very little space for the number of guests... Free Wi-Fi btw 7am-7pm, for better Wi-Fi you have to pay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jan 2017
8.3

Nice hostel with comfy beds but some of the rooms smell pretty bad. The kitchen and toilets tend to be a little dirty. There is free Wi-Fi in the lobby so that is a bonus. Location is amazing, just 2 blocks from the lake front.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.7

Basic hostel...nothing stood out, nothing to put you off! Good location, bar below does good deals and fun atmosphere. Get what you pay for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for leaving a review it is much appreciated, Its nice to see that you enjoyed your stay here at Base Wanaka, If there is anything you think we can do to improve the customer experience i would love to hear more feedback. I hope to see you here again and enjoy the rest of your travels. Kind Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.