Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wanaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.9
Good 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
6.9
Good 320 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.2
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
6.0

Very big so there are available rooms. Showers and toilets far from the room, not so clean. Wifi didn't work at all

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
12th Mar 2017
8.6

Perfect location. Outlets and light in every bunk which is a huge plus for base! I always stay at base for the atmosphere, simply because I usually travel alone. This base was not as fun as most of my experiences has been with them. Also, staff was the least helpful out of all bases as well. However, would stay again if in Wanaka.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Mar 2017
9.7

Helpful staff, great bar downstairs but noise doesn't seem to reach the dorms at night. Super clean bathrooms, water always hot. Close to everything. Free wifi is not the best but hey, that's about all I could complain about.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Mar 2017
6.0

You have to pay for WIFI! Their is no option to park, you have to be lucky and find a free spot on the next street... Overall it was 'okay'... best part, you have a socket with each bed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Mar 2017
7.1

Kitchen is way too small. It was a big mess everytime as everyone leaves their dishes in the drainers. Sinks were full with pots and pans and there was nearly any cutlery or mugs. Just a few tables to eat on. The rooms were allright, not spotless and some spaces in the bathrooms looked like they were not touched for ages. The bar is right under the rooms, which can be pretty loud if there is a party, but the staff provided ear plugs. Overall it was not the best base I've stayed in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Caramaye
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Feb 2017
4.6

The staff were really quite rude & unfriendly, at one occasion when I asked for help, the British girl on duty didn't even look up from what she was doing to answer me. The WiFi is completely non existent no matter how hard you try to log in, the kitchen was an absolute disgusting state with no cutlery to even eat with! My 4 person dorm was tiny, plus no lockers for my valuables. Main baggage storage was also left unlocked so anyone could have walked into the hostel & stolen peoples bags. Shame.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
6.0

Super dirty kitchen, unhelpful/slightly rude staff when asked about why the wifi (which I had paid for) was not working. Would look for somewhere else to stay in Wanaka next time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
11th Feb 2017
8.3

Perfect location and a big plus was the plug sockets and lights by each bed (in the 4 bed dorm at least). Major downside to a Base hostel is that you have to pay for good wifi and if you want it in your room. Was also extremely disappointed by the lack of cutlery in the kitchen- there were hardly any forks ever. The bar was also pretty noisy at night but you can mostly block it out with headphones!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.1

I took a private room in base and whilst it was lovely to have a big bed and real towels it didn't feel super clean or luxurious at all for the price. The towels and pillow cases had marks on them. I've stayed in much nicer private dorm rooms for considerably less money. Check in was a nightmare with filling in forms, passport production for a coach load. Could really do with giving customers free WiFi! Also the kitchen was very small for the size of the hostel which made it very hectic...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay here at base Wanaka. We do have nice modern facilities and clean our hostel to a high standard each day. I hope you bought these issues up with reception during your stay so we could overcome these issues as we would have happily supplied new sheets/towels if they seemed to have marks on them. We do have free WIFI in the reception area and for all other locations of the hostel it is just $4 for high speed WIFI. We generally have a few buses check in per day so this can cause for a slower process than usual but guests are more than welcome to leave their luggage and pop back a little later when the que has gone down. We take passport information and check in forms for security reasons which you will find at most hostels/hotels across the country. I hope you do choose to give us another chance here at base Wanaka and we will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2017
5.1

The room was okay, got power outlets for each bed which was very convenient. However, the free WiFi is only made available from 7am - 7pm at reception. The kitchen was a mess ! And only open until 10pm. First time experiencing something which not really pleasant for backpackers. The staffs could improve more, I think the conditions were like that because it was the peak time for travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.