Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wanaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 359 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 359 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 6.3
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.0

Centrally located in Wanaka. Rooms clean and secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking your time to review our hostel, we're really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you would stay here again! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th Jul 2017
9.7

Big kitchen, big rooms, good bar downstairs. Poor wifi that you have to pay for.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Many thanks for your review. We're glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us here in Wanaka! We're sorry to hear you had issues with the wifi during your stay, we hope you bought this to the attention of our reception staff so they could check the connection for you. Kind regards, Base Wanaka

3rd Jun 2017
7.4

Rooms are pretty small, the place is nice though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for leaving a review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us here in Wanaka! We're sorry to hear you felt the rooms were a little small but we hope everything else was good for you! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th May 2017
5.7

No free breakfast! In booking this hostel, I was very excited by the fact that the low price included free breakfast. However, when we got there, there was a sign that said $4 for breakfast, which consisted of milk to put on cereal. Easy to get something cheap in town but pretty blatant false advertising. Rooms were solid but a bit hot and stinky for my liking. Nothing really special about it, cheap place to go and get in and get out of. Hostel bar a plus.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, We're sorry to hear you thought there was a free breakfast here at Base Wanaka, it does state that we offer breakfast at the hostel but not that it is free, we're sorry for any inconvenience caused. We hope you would stay with us again here at Base Wanaka. Kind regards, Base Wanaka

25th May 2017
7.7

Like every other Base X hostel I've been to. Beds squeaky, not great facilities but very cheap and plenty of people to meet!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! Many thanks for taking your time to review Base Wanaka! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you met some great people here! We're sorry to hear you had an issue with our dorm room beds, we're always happy to receive feedback so we can check any issues and ensure they're fixed by our maintenance team! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
22nd May 2017
7.4

I booked a 4 bed ensuite for $33 a night I think it was..but the room was tiny and the beds were squeaky. The room was cold, I complained and they gave us a heater. The bathroom was small but nice but they never changed the bin in there once in the 3 days I was there. Pointless sofa in the corner of the room. Kitchen was nice and bar was nice. Helpful reception staff. Kept getting lost needs better signs!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for your review. We're sorry to hear you weren't happy with your dorm room. Our heating is on a controlled timer and we always try our best to ensure the rooms are a good temperature for our guests, which is why we offer smaller portable heaters to add that little extra warmth if it's needed! We're sorry to hear about the bin in your bathroom, housekeeping clean all rooms between 10am-2pm and emptying all hostel bins is a part of that, we hope you bought this to the attention of our staff so we could get that changed for you. We are always happy to update our signage in the hostel and have recently put plenty of new signs up so we hope if you come back to Wanaka you would come and stay with us again! We're really glad to hear you liked the hostel kitchen and the bar, our reception staff are always happy to help out with knowledge of the local area and help you organise activities so we're glad you found they were helpful! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

8th May 2017
6.6

Not too bad for a base actually - decent location near lake and supermarket, and typically clean and well maintained facilities... although the kitchen could do with being a cleaner. Other than that this is a fairly standard hostel; you get what you see (as is standard with base), and I would recommend this place if you're staying for a few days :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Many thanks for taking your time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Base! We hope you would stay with us if you visit Wanaka again! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

Beds were squeaky!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Thank you for your review, we are currently undergoing maintenance in the hostel during our quieter period and testing all beds in rooms. Any issues with the beds will be resolved and we hope you would stay with us again! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

  • ScratchMyPackTravel
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.0

Good Hostel overall. Perfect location. Super nice staff. However the hostel is huge and looks and feels more like a hotel than a hostel which means it lacks atmosphere and character. The kitchen was always dirty and overcrowded, probably because there were loads of school groups staying there at the same time. Enjoyed our stay here but probably wouldn't stay again. Can be difficult to extend your stay because this is the stop for the Kiwi Experience so it is always booked out.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey there, Many thanks for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed the location of our hostel! In peak season it's hard to stop the kitchen from being a little crowded but we do have staff members dedicated to cleaning the kitchen multiple times a day to keep it as tidy as possible for our guests. It's difficult to extend stays during the summer months because the hostel gets extremely busy, we always recommend booking your required time in advance to avoid disappointment. We hope this would not stop you from staying with us again! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

19th Apr 2017
4.3

This place is the worst only stayed her because I had to. Kitchen is a nightmare given the number of guests who stay there. Wifi is horrible and only available 7am to 7pm. Also expensive which makes it all the more ridiculous

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking your time to leave a review. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with our hostel kitchen, unfortunately we cannot change the size of the kitchen but do our very best to ensure it is as clean as possible for our guests by having staff members clean it multiple times daily. We hope you spoke to our reception staff about any issues with the free wifi in reception, we have recently had updates made to our wifi system so we hope this will make it better for our guests! Kind regards, Base Wanaka

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.