Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wanaka

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.8
Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.6
BOOK NOW
6.8
Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.4
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 5.6
Base Wanaka Located at Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka, Wanaka.
Base Wanaka
New Zealand
Wanaka Level 1, 73 Brownston Street, Wanaka
68% 264
-44.6972818 169.1348648
Base Wanaka
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • NLBatchelor
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Nov 2016
3.7

So noisy as mint night club is underneath. Just go to the yha.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
10.0

Very comfortable, convenient location and structure. Highly Recommended

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for leaving a review we do appreciate your feedback. I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay here at Base Wanaka and I hope you choose to stay with us again in the future. Safe Travels and Kind Regards Sophie Heath General Manager

  • becclin
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2016
6.3

It was the only hostel available when we were booking due to the late notice and high number of travellers in the snow season. A sub-par hostel, seemed more like a prison than anything else. Bar downstairs was absolutely dead when we were there (but may have been because it was a Sunday night), kitchen was dirty and in disarray, rooms were overly hot and bunks extremely creaky (top bunk was extremely close to the ceiling too), the only redeeming factor were the clean bathrooms and hot shower.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for taking your time to leave a review we do appreciate your feed back. I'm sorry that you didn't have an enjoyable stay here at Base Wanaka. In regards to your creaky bunk I hope you bought this up with my staff members at the time as we have maintenance on site that would have been able to fix this problem for you. As it is the middle of winter we do have the heating on. This is on a timer system that comes on at 6 in the evening until 11 at night and again in the morning, there is also a dial in your room to adjust this heat setting. I apologise that the bar was quiet on this particular evening as you can imagine a Sunday isn't one of our busiest nights. Our Kitchen gets cleaned 3 times daily but with such a high volume of guests this can get a little messy during meal times, during meal times we do have a volunteer in the kitchen to help with this. Please let me know if you come to Wanaka again and I will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards Sophie Heath General Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2016
5.7

Shower was terrible. I was almost frozen cuz it was too weak.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your e-mail I do appreciate your feedback, I apologise that you experienced low shower pressure while you were here in Base Wanaka. this is not something we generally have an issue with and I hope you bought this up with my staff members while you were here. Please let me know if you choose to stay with us in the future and I will make sure you are well looked after. Kind Regards Sophie Heath General Manager Base Wanaka

  • catlady
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Jun 2016
6.3

We were only here a night so not much to comment on. Wifi sucked, showers were Luke warm, my sheets were dirty and the heaters are on way too hot over night!! But the staff were really friendly and helpful with everything. It was an ok place to crash for the night, but nothing special.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Thank you for your review we do appreciate your feedback. I'm sorry that the Wifi wasn't up to speed for you, we do have a high speed option that you could have been upgraded too for just $2 extra. In regards to the showers and the sheets I hope you spoke to my staff members at the time so we could fix these issues. We do have the heaters on in the evening and the morning but there is a dial on the heaters so you can adjust the temperature. I'm glad you found my staff friendly and helpful I will pass this message on to them. I hope you choose to stay here again in the future, if so please get in contact with me and I will make sure you are well looked after. Kind regards Sophie Heath General Manager

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.