Hostelworld.com

Base Wellington

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 641 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 6.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.2
Base Wellington Located at 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, , Wellington.
Base Wellington
New Zealand
Wellington 21-23 Cambridge Terrace
76% 641
-41.2944623 174.7829961
Base Wellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

Really awesome hostel! Staff was super friendly and helpful and the spaces are all wicked to hangout in. Lots of people going in and out. Only downside - no wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th May 2016
7.7

Centrally situated hostel with clean rooms. Unfortunately, there was by far not enough place in the ONE fridge in the kitchen. I basically lost my food in there and couldn't find it anymore.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.6

Really nice hostel with great facilities, but lots of noise from the onsite bar (and people leaving the bar).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2016
6.9

I'm honestly not a huge fan of base hostels. They just seem like a cash machine made to generate revenue. That being said the people there are usually pretty fun and cool and the staff at base hostels tends to be pretty helpful and nice. But I'd stay at another hostel next time I'm in Wellington

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • sarahthepeanut8518
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.0

Good location, friendly staff, clean rooms but the shower was not hot on either day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.1

Overpriced. I've been here for three days in a 6 bed dorm. The room was tiny with just enough space to move and very noisy. Kitchen area is ok as well as the reception, the staff is nice but you can spend less in other places and have the same or better.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Apr 2016
9.1

Great place to stay if you want to feel like a visitor in your own country.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • CeSabatini
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
20th Mar 2016
6.0

I stayed in a room where it was not possible to open the windows. They were completely glued and we couldn't understand why, it was crazy hot and there was only one tiny fan on the floor for the whole 6 beds. The bathroom wasn't cleaned often although it was signed as if it were. Staff was really nice and helpful all the time, specially the girls at the bar downstairs in charge of dinner. The kitchen was nice and well equipped. But overall, just a massive hostel with nothing special to it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2016
5.7

Huge hostel with no personal touch to it.Spent an afternoon trying to get some organizing done in the lobby instead had an ignorant guest blaming everyone but himself for losing his wallet.Base often feels like a babysitters for young travellers.I guess hard for staff to be engaged and pleasant when the majority coming through are exactly in need of that I guess.They male staff were more interested in making sure their hair looked fine than being helpful and giving advice. Wish I could type more

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Mar 2016
8.6

Incredily poorly insluated windows so still had lots of noise from outside when trying to sleep at night. Make WiFi free like YHA etc. too. Great other than that. Great staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.