Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 731 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Feb 2017
7.7

Good value for money , nice staff and location. Not much going though with regards to inclusion activities and things to do within the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Feb 2017
8.0

Good, but relatively loud because of night club underneath

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.1

Nice hostel I'll stay there again. No internet for free but it's ok

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
4th Feb 2017
6.9

Location was good but the building literally shakes when the wind blows. The hostel is full of stray and kiwi experience tours so very loud, lots of screaming and slamming doors through the night etc. Staff were helpful enough but often ignored you if you were stood waiting at reception. Shared bathrooms stank, girls bathrooms were a lot better. Didn't use the kitchen as it was always full. Free wifi in the lobby 7am - 7pm, otherwise you had to pay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.6

Good hostel, not too large but still good atmosphere and facilities. Bedroom I stayed in was functional, but towel, flannel and wash stuff provided was an added bonus. Under bed storage available but not easily lockable, however there are lockers to rent in the dining room too. Bathrooms were nice and clean and always one free on my floor even though the hostel was full. One thing to note is WiFi is only free between 7am and 7pm and the password is changed daily, but apart from that all good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jan 2017
6.6

You have to pay for wifi if you are not in the downstairs common room and to wash/dry your clothes it's $8. None of the rooms have opening windows so smell of damp and the showers take 5 minutes to heat up. Otherwise ok.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
16th Jan 2017
9.4

Good hostel. Really big kitchen with loads of cooking stations. Rooms are clean and so are the shared bathrooms. Big lounge area by reception is good. Shame that there's only 2 plug points in a room of 6

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
6.0

So many hidden costs like breakfast was a bowl of cereal for $5 and washer $4 then drier $4, and the price of a 4 bed room was so high in the first place, and the wifi is only free from 7 to 7 when you're not going to be in basically. Atmosphere of a hotel (and price) with a bar that seemed ok but lots of big groups on some kiwi travel thing that stick in their groups, and lots of French people. Never got any of the promotional stuff.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Surprised about some of your comments, all you can eat breakfast with simple squeezed orange juice, selection of 3 cereal, toast, yogurt, fruit and filter coffee, we believe it is the best value breakfast you can get...and not just a bowl of cereal. Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jan 2017
7.7

Not bad all in all, but nothing special. Can hear the music from the bar downstairs really clearly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. You were aware that our Bar is a Basement Bar ? Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.9

Unlike other base hostels, this one super nice and very clean, good conditions, i recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora,Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the kind feedback, Timo Hummel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.