Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 822 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
6.9

Good location but otherwise decidedly average - hostel was half empty but they still crammed me into a cramped 6 bed dorm with guys who were living there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We take all feedback on board and will look to rectify your concerns!

  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jul 2017
6.3

We are in winter time here in New Zealand, but the water in the hostel was COLD. Also it sais wifi is free, but it isn't. You only have free wifi in a certain timetable, and only in the common area. For me Free Wifi it's free wifi, not that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we will look into changing our advertising in regards to the Wifi! Unfortunately due to our Heritage Building you have to run the water for a decent time (sometimes up to 10 mins) before it gets hot. We are however looking into ways to resolve this as a priority!

19th Jul 2017
8.9

Great location, staff were very helpful. Reception open 24/7 which was nice. Free wifi was slow and only available 7am-7pm which was a bit of a drag, but not the end of the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we're glad for the most part you enjoyed your stay!

13th Jul 2017
6.6

More like a hotel than a hostel, kitchen facilities not great, however good location and comfortable room

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
6.9

Don't stay here if you like being warm during the winter. The windows in all the rooms I knew about (I had friends staying, too) were completely stripped of the sealing so the wind was actually coming through the window. Also no heating in the halls or bathrooms.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are currently working on fixing a lot of the windows and have taken your feedback on board!

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.3

After staying in Base Auckland and Base Taupo, is Base Wellington probably my favorite. I love the old building and the atmosphere. My 6 bed dorm was really small though. It could barely fit all the people + their luggage. And why are the bunkbeds so low? :')

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we are working on making the rooms more spacious! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
9th Jul 2017
7.7

Would definitely stay again - some good food deals at the bar. beds were a bit loud when someone moved you could hear them especially in a 8 bed dorm.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are currently updating a lot of our bunk beds so hopefully if you come back you will notice an improvement!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2017
5.7

I stayed here during the Lions tour, so appreciate that this was a busier time than normal. Have stayed in Base hostels in Aus & had great times there, so this stay was disappointing to me. Staff were not particularly helpful and seemed hungover most of the time. When asking for advice on things to do around the city I didn't find they gave me a very personal response - more just listed off the top things you should do around the city. Very sad as this was my favourite place in North Island

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.1

Double room was very spacious and came with an ensuite which was a very welcome surprise. Probably the best base I've stayed at in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay!! Hope to see you again soon!

4th Jun 2017
5.1

Pros: Good location Cheap bar below hostel Good for large groups Cons: Wifi is NOT Free from 7pm - 7am, during free times it is very slow Room we stayed in was a 6 bedroom, but so cramped was really only suitable for 2-3 people No free luggage storage (only paid lockers) No bedside lamps Bedroom door did not shut properly No hooks in showers (for clothes, towels etc.) Bed was very shaky Kitchen was far too small for volume of people Large school groups - lots of noise

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will work hard to resolve the issues you encountered!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.