Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 773 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Apr 2017
6.3

Wellington is not really spoilt for choice when it comes to hostels. If you like showers with Arctic cold water, this is the hostel for you! The water in the bathroom was absolutely freezing, so that wasn't pleasant. The room itself was fairly small (which isn't really a big concern), so no problems there. However, the walls were so thin we could hear someone snoring from one room over. The plus to this hostel is the location, it makes it easy to see city!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.0

The beds were not comfy and were really move every time someone moved. The place was generally clean. The was not enough fridge space as there seemed to be a lot of long term people. The wifi was bad even though you pay $4 for 24 hours it was still terrible at times. It was very noisy on Saturday night but that is to expected! The location is really good within walking distance to almost everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Awesome staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.3

Restored faith in base after a crappy experience at base Taupo. Staff that actually cared and a building that's managed properly!! Maybe they should send the staff here to train management in Taupo! :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
8.6

Great location and nice atmosphere. Good value compared to other rates. Has same faults as other hostels (duvet covers are not changed for new guests, only the sheet is changed), kitchen hobs are a bit slow), window in my room wouldn't open so it was stuffy. Staff are great and keep the place clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2017
4.0

Unfriendly staff, totally unwilling to provide any kind of help. It was busy, but I asked for a -$4!!!- internet voucher and a map + explanations where to park my car. Got a reply as if I was asking for something really hard. Dirty loos and cold showers both at night and in the morning lead to an even worse rating.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
8.0

Comfortable beds, decent facilities in the Kitchen. Didn't get to see showers, but bathroom was clean ! Good place - would stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
26th Mar 2017
6.3

We were not impressed with the cleanliness of our room, the sheets were filthy and really old, they definitely need replacing. The room in general was pretty grimey and needed a deep clean. The beds are old and make so much noise which means if you breathe they creak, we did not get a good nights sleep. Showers and toilets are fine but the rooms let the whole place down.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
7.7

Rooms, bathrooms, commonarea, location are good. BUT Wifi only from 7am to 7pm, or you have to pay for it!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
8.6

It's a dry hostel. Keep that in mind ;) other than that, not a bad place to stay at all

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.