Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 683 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.3
Base Wellington Located at 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, , Wellington.
Base Wellington
New Zealand
Wellington 21-23 Cambridge Terrace
79% 683
-41.2944623 174.7829961
Base Wellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
14th Nov 2016
6.6

My advice for anyone wanting a clean and comfortable bed for the night is to go to YHA down the road. We stayed at both Base and YHA and YHA is better in every way. I found Base to be unhomely, smelly, unclean and cramped. You can get cheap drinks on the main strip so you don't need their bar and you can take your own booze into YHA if you want to keep it cheap - that's not an option at Base. Base wifi is okay but cuts off at 7pm until 7am. It's a pretty sub par hostel overall.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Nov 2016
5.7

I guess it's alright for younger ppl there, but was put off by a not very welcoming staff and the tons of kiwi experience arriving. The place seemed so sterile without and atmosphere and was annoyed by having to pay an additional 4 dollars for wifi after 7pm, after having payed almost 40 dollars for a room. Cannot recommend to others

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.1

I had a 4-bed dorm on 7th floor - found it comfortable enough. They provide towels and a set of shower gel, shampoo & conditioner! I never saw that in a hostel before (only in hotels) and found it really nice. Breakfast is not included but you can buy one for NZ$5, including coffee, tea, chocolate, orange juice, toasts, cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad (from can) & jam. :-) NB: Free storage room for arrivals only. Lockers to pay for departures. Internet free in lobby 7am-7pm. Then have to pay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
5th Oct 2016
8.3

Cool place to stay, 6 man dorm was slightly cramped and no security lockers which would have been better. Easy place to meet people as there is a bar downstairs which run games/bar crawls

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thanks for the great feedback, just to note we have under every bed at all Base Hostels large under bed metal draws which are lockable. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

I spent two nights here and had an overall good experience. The beds and bathrooms were clean and we were provided with towels and toiletries as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to go and things to do, as well as allowing us to store our luggage before official check-in. Location had beautiful views and was close to many cafes, museums, etc. Few downsides were that wifi and breakfast were extra (though not expensive) and the room was cramped for four people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for the feedback, more info on the lack of cleanliness would be great. We just started to have free wifi in reception which will make our place even more affordable. Enjoy the rest of your travels. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
6.6

Location is good, staff were welcoming. The duvet was ultra stinky and gross. There was quite a big earthquake & being on the 6th floor of an unreinforced masonry building was scary

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Sorry to hear about your duvet...we have them washed daily or after each departure unless there was a staff error, next time please let us know at reception and we can replace it straight away ( 24 hours reception ). Unfortunately earthquakes do happen in Wellington but be assured, Base Wellington is a former government building and is 87% , more than most modern building. The building is a steel reinforced concrete building. The biggest issue is the round movement as most land around the harbor is reclaimed land. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travel. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.6

Seeing shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and soap being supplied in the room along with some tea bags and coffee was a pleasant surprise :) Would definitely stay at base wellington again in future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Nice Hostel. We received a free dinner on night one. It was small but tasty. Also received one free dinner. The rooms are very small, especially the six bed dorms. The toilet facilities are very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
5.7

The room was small and dark. No cupboard space or place to sit other than on the bed. The view out the window was nice so it was disappointing that the room was not up to such a good standard. Had to pay for wifi which seems a little mean in this day and age. 10:00 on the dot we were asked to leave.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, we will try to improve our services further with your feedback. Timo Hummel

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.