Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 8.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
Base Wellington Located at 21-23 Cambridge Terrace, , Wellington.
Base Wellington
New Zealand
Wellington 21-23 Cambridge Terrace
76% 659
-41.2944623 174.7829961
Base Wellington
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.7

I spent two nights here and had an overall good experience. The beds and bathrooms were clean and we were provided with towels and toiletries as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, suggesting places to go and things to do, as well as allowing us to store our luggage before official check-in. Location had beautiful views and was close to many cafes, museums, etc. Few downsides were that wifi and breakfast were extra (though not expensive) and the room was cramped for four people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Sep 2016
6.6

Location is good, staff were welcoming. The duvet was ultra stinky and gross. There was quite a big earthquake & being on the 6th floor of an unreinforced masonry building was scary

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2016
8.6

Seeing shampoo, conditioner, bath gel and soap being supplied in the room along with some tea bags and coffee was a pleasant surprise :) Would definitely stay at base wellington again in future.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
8.6

Nice Hostel. We received a free dinner on night one. It was small but tasty. Also received one free dinner. The rooms are very small, especially the six bed dorms. The toilet facilities are very good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the good feedback. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jun 2016
5.7

The room was small and dark. No cupboard space or place to sit other than on the bed. The view out the window was nice so it was disappointing that the room was not up to such a good standard. Had to pay for wifi which seems a little mean in this day and age. 10:00 on the dot we were asked to leave.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback, we will try to improve our services further with your feedback. Timo Hummel

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jun 2016
3.1

STAFF IS SO RUDE! I was forbidden to put my bike inside to protect it (it's worth a small car). The housekeeper said I could damage the paint and should have bought a cheaper bike, the manager accused me falsly of having broken their bikes. First I was put in a room with no window and extremely smelly, after reclamation with a window, but you couldn't close it. Bathroom often flooded and dirty, no free WiFi and lots of stupid rules. To AVOID!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, confused about the no windows as all rooms have windows...in regards to the bike, we do not have space to store bikes , unfortunately we are a central city location and have to have clear rules otherwise we could not operate. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.0

a big hostel, really big. atmosphere is quite impersonal because of that. apart from that a superb location not far away from the city and Mt Victoria either. In the 4th floor we had a great view over Wellington.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great Feedback, Thanks.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Jun 2016
8.6

Great hostel! Really clean bathroom facilities, perfect location, good rooms. Only negative point: no free wifi. But other than that: I loved it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for the feedback.

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th May 2016
9.1

Really awesome hostel! Staff was super friendly and helpful and the spaces are all wicked to hangout in. Lots of people going in and out. Only downside - no wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey.Great feedback, we are working on the WIFI issue.

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th May 2016
7.7

Centrally situated hostel with clean rooms. Unfortunately, there was by far not enough place in the ONE fridge in the kitchen. I basically lost my food in there and couldn't find it anymore.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Sorry to hear about your food, we had 1 fridge broken down and lead times in NZ are sometimes outrageous, took us 4 weeks to get parts to fix it again...

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.