X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Wellington Reviews

21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
595 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

It was a great first hostel experience. I would definitely stay there again. The location is perfect!


77%

-seems like a former hotel - huge number of dorms -common areas don't convey a feeling of coziness - they look a bit cold (maybe because everything has to be a bit bigger than in hostels with less guests) -no WiFi except you pay for it (no problem as there is free WiFi in the street around the corner) -well situated -no parking


63%

Too big to socialise, I stayed in a 6 bed mixed room three nights, and it was always empty until evening. Most people in lounge were workers, disappointed with atmosphere


97%

Great place, fantastic location, comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend and would stay here again. I unfortunately was there for only a out 14 hours, wish I had more to experience Wellington and what the hostel offers. If driving, make sure you pre-book your parking. Off street can be a little tough to find and far.


100%

Very nice hostel, clean, positive staff.


91%

Wifi was expensive. Good central location by bus lines and Mt. Victoria. Cute guy behind the counter was extremely helpful! Thank you. :)


100%

Amazing! First time at a backpackers! There were 12 of us aged 46 -80 yrs & we all found it very comfortable. Staff were excellent ! Nothing was a problem & the place was VERY clean . Excellent location too. All round great stay!

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

Good location. Staff ok. Room really small, no place at all, for 4 persons you can only be 2 standing up. The kitchen is really poor. No oven !? One toaster for a really big place. Nothing free to use not even salt and peper. I think beacause there are to many long term who keep the stuff for them. No atmosphere really, big place where no one speak to each other. You can not drink your own alchool there. Not even a bottle of wine for dinner. They want to make more mone with there not so nice bar


69%

It is nice hostel if you want to meet new friends or want to party. I visited this hostel for a business visit in Wellington, was probably not the best option for me. But I can recommend it to other travelers. Noted that the kitchen can use an update.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Timo Hummel

57%

There where several issue we had with our stay at Base Wellington. One or two could be forgiven. But all together made the stay memorable for all the wrong reasons. We chose this hostel due to the car parking avaible. Not only was the parking paid parking which was not made clear (but could be forgiven due to the hostels location) the car park only has 6 spaces and was full. What made the experience the worst is the mattresses & the LOUD music and partying that seemed to be going on all night

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, sorry to hear you had such a bad experience with us, surprised to hear about the noise as we have 24hour staffed reception and will enforce any noise breaches, perhaps the loud music was from neighboring Courtney Place ? Enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

83%

Really big hostel , consequently the facilities are excellent, has everything you could want, nice big kitchen, dining room and TV room on the 1 st floor. Nice rooms, clean, roomy and secure - 7 floors and amazing views out the windows of these top floors! Excellent location too, right in the heart of the city. Potentially good hostel for long-term stays. The flip-side to these really big hostels is they can be a bit soul-less at times, not much character. But overall, a great hostel!


66%

Crappy Beds, small rooms, expensive wifi. A bit too big to actually talk to anyone.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback but surprised to hear about the Wifi cost, enjoy the rest of your travels, Timo Hummel

77%

A bit noisy on a Friday night until 1am, and also a bit on the chilly side.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Timo Hummel

86%

Only one night here, a good spot close by to everything but a typical city backpackers. And we had to pay for wifi


80%

Mainly good. Bed, bathrooms and facilities all fine. One issue was noise at night wth people talking and yelling in the stairwell, which was right next to our room.

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


40%

A shame really because most of the staff are lovely. But some are extremely unhelpful and gave me a negative impression of the hostel.

  • 16th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

It was OK, not too good or too bad. It should include free wifi or free breakfast because it says so at the web page, and also to store your luggage should be for free and not in a locker.


80%

poor kitchen, the rest is normal standard


83%

Good location, close to national museum and supermarket. They even offer me a free breakfast, nice staff. But there aren't enough shower room to be used.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your kind feedback, Timo Hummel

71%

The kitchen facilities were good we never struggled to find we needed. The toilets were always freezing. Some of the rooms smelt horrible were guests were long termers. Stayed during the winter & 80% of the guests seemed to worwork in the hostel so not great for meeting people.




View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback