X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Wellington Reviews

21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
454 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 62%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Incredible location right next to the main bar area in town, friendly staff and interesting people made this a great stay.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at base in Wellington. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful, especially Rebecca and Cody! The facilities were great and there was such an eclectic mix of people staying at the hostel which made my stay so much fun. This is definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed at. A little piece of heaven on Earth. If you're planning on staying in Welly, make this your base!

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

Clean the bathrooms, and please put a floor mop in the bathrooms. Those were full of water all the time. And how is it possible to have only one male bathroom per floor, when the floors have 10 rooms?!

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
To Leandro, Thank you for your recent feed back on your stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate all the feedback and reviews that we receive. With regards to the bathrooms, please except my apologies. The volume of people coming though the hostel can be very high at times but I can assure you our bathroom get clean at least 4 times a day. I will pass you comments on to out head housekeeper so we can improve these areas to prevent future disappointment. Thanks

74%

Massive hostel and staff behave like we are just numbers on a page instead of paying guests. Felt like was being pitched add-ons whenever I spoke to reception. Wouldn't return if I could help it as wasnt in the best condition, quite run down. Beds too short for both my friend and i (we are only 5"7/5"9!) Definately the low point of all our hostels in new Zealand. Better ones in Wellington in similar locations. Won't stay at BASE again if this commercial everywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Eve, Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back on your stay with us at Base Backpackers Wellington, please accept my apologies. We pride ourselves on having high standards here at Base and I feel on this occasion these standards were no where near met. I can assure you we are in progress at the moment to address all your concerns so we can avoid this happening again and prevent any future disappoint. Kind Regards , Timo Hummel

89%

Really nice hostel with good facilities and friendly and helpful staff. The bunks are really squeaky so it can be hard to sleep if someone gets in the bunk after you have gone to sleep. Overall I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
To Karly, Thank you for your recent feed back on your stay at base backpacks Wellington. We really appreciate all the feedback we receive as it helps us to improve on our facilities that we offer to our guests. With regards to the beds, we are currently in the process of upgrading all the bunks in our dorm rooms. Its great to great that you enjoyed you stay with us and we hope to see you in Wellington sometime soon. Samantha McHardy Rooms Manager

66%

No free wi-fi, no free breakfast, no free luggage storage, bathroom not cleaned once in 3 days and less than enthusiastic staff. Fortunately it was close to the city but that was pretty much all their was going for it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Esther, Thank you for taking the time to leave feed back on your stay with us at Base Backpackers Wellington. In regards to the bathrooms not being cleaned, please accept my apologies. We pride ourselves on having high standards here at Base and I feel on this occasion these standards were no where near met. I can assure you I will pass on all the information to my head housekeeper so we can avoid this happening again and prevent any future disappoint. Kind Regards , Timo Hummel

80%

Had a really good stay here, the staff were friendly and it's in a great location in the city, close to everything!!!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alexandra, Thank you very much for taking your time to leave a feedback and staying with us, enjoy the rest of your travels. Your Base Wellington Team

66%

Bunk beds ruined my back. Dry hostel policy is nothing but a scam to make you buy overpriced drinks in their own bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , we recently been increasing our maintenance projects to improve our facilities even further. In regards to the Non alcohol policy, we comply with NZ liquor laws, we also have mostly $4-$5 drinks available in our Bar for residents which are the cheapest prices in town. Thanks again for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

40%

It was absolutely noisy because of the pubs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , apologies for the noise but a central location like ours usually gets a bit more noise during the weekends. Thanks again for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

51%

I stayed there because it was the only hostel with avaibility for 4 nights. It is a party hostel, most people are on the kiwiexperience bus, really young and unconsiderate about others. The kitchen is so small and dirty all the time. Not even enough glasses for 5 people... Same with the fridges, they're all full... Bathroom in the sanctuary was quite filthy... Wifi is not too expensive so that's a good thing, and the free towel was nice. But unless you have no other choice, don't stay there.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I hope even though you had a bad experience staying with us you enjoyed staying in Wellington, be assured we are taking your feedback serious and we will make sure to improve the services offered. Thank again for staying with us, Timo Hummel

100%

I really enjoyed my time at Base Wellington, the reception and bar staff were really friendly and most helpful, the hostel itself had everything I needed, and the location was perfect for exploring the heart of Wellington City. You will definitely be seeing me again! :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. . Thank again for staying with us, Timo Hummel

89%

Ideal location


63%

Bathrooms were dirty


77%

I only stayed one night, to leave early morning. Good sleep and received a free breakfast which was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , Thanks again for your great feedback, Timo Hummel



View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback