X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Base Wellington Reviews

21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

72%

Rating
444 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 65%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Had a really good stay here, the staff were friendly and it's in a great location in the city, close to everything!!!

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Bunk beds ruined my back. Dry hostel policy is nothing but a scam to make you buy overpriced drinks in their own bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , we recently been increasing our maintenance projects to improve our facilities even further. In regards to the Non alcohol policy, we comply with NZ liquor laws, we also have mostly $4-$5 drinks available in our Bar for residents which are the cheapest prices in town. Thanks again for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

40%

It was absolutely noisy because of the pubs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , apologies for the noise but a central location like ours usually gets a bit more noise during the weekends. Thanks again for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

51%

I stayed there because it was the only hostel with avaibility for 4 nights. It is a party hostel, most people are on the kiwiexperience bus, really young and unconsiderate about others. The kitchen is so small and dirty all the time. Not even enough glasses for 5 people... Same with the fridges, they're all full... Bathroom in the sanctuary was quite filthy... Wifi is not too expensive so that's a good thing, and the free towel was nice. But unless you have no other choice, don't stay there.

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I hope even though you had a bad experience staying with us you enjoyed staying in Wellington, be assured we are taking your feedback serious and we will make sure to improve the services offered. Thank again for staying with us, Timo Hummel

100%

I really enjoyed my time at Base Wellington, the reception and bar staff were really friendly and most helpful, the hostel itself had everything I needed, and the location was perfect for exploring the heart of Wellington City. You will definitely be seeing me again! :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. . Thank again for staying with us, Timo Hummel

89%

Ideal location


63%

Bathrooms were dirty


77%

I only stayed one night, to leave early morning. Good sleep and received a free breakfast which was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review for us. We do really appreciate all the feedback we receive. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us , Thanks again for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

100%

Clean, bright, and well-organized. The people behind the desk were incredibly helpful.


57%

We had 2 nigths in this hostel. This is a very big hostel that has a good location. If you are not fond of big hostels, don't choose this one. We stayed in a 6-bed dorm, and seriously this was not a good experience. The room was not clean. There have been living a guy there for a long time. There was a guy in the dorm that had been living there for a long time. There is only 1 kitchen available for 7 floors have to use. The staff in reception is really nice and helpfully.


89%

ROOM PRESENTED WAS CLEAN

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Check in was nice. 6 bunk dorm ensuite alright. Liked the duvets. I do think this hostel needs more kitchen facilities for the amount of people and I missed some more couches to hang around. WiFi reception on 7th floor didn't exist. But all in all I would recommend this hostel to a friend.

  • 26th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


29%

Bedbugs! When reported to reception I heard 'I wonder who's bringing them here'. Not an apology. The guy didn't make a note or anything, so I suppose they won't do anything! Bathrooms are not cleaned for days! They have cleaning reports in bathrooms and on 18th the last entry was from 14th - and mind you this is a busy place. Kitchen is dirty and smelly. Lots of facilities eg. cookers are out of order. Folks working there always have this attitude as if you're disturbing them. Noisy place.


100%

I had a great stay at Base Wellington during my bicycle tour of NZ. By far my best paid accomodation in all my time in this beautiful country. i was fortunate to have a 4-bed room to myself even though I paid the minimum. Im not sure who the staff member who helped me but she was wonderfully helpful and friendly. I would recommend this to any young people staying in the area.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

You get exactly what you'd expect from a Base hostel, but this one is far cleaner and comfier than some of the others!

Owner Comment (Hide)
To Elena, Thank you for you feedback on your stay at Base Wellington, we really appreciate all the reviews we receive. I am glad to hear you had a good stay with us here in Wellington and hope you choose base again in the future. Thanks Sam McHardy

80%

Need to fix brocken cooking facilities and broken shower apart from that its great

  • 11th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Caledonia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Front desk ran out of padlocks for lockers so had to go looking elsewhere early in the morning, but was a simple problem to solve

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Fergus. Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Wellington. We really appreciate all the comments we receive. I'm sorry to hear that we could assist you when you came to us to purchase a padlock. I really hope the rest of you stay was enjoyable. Thanks Sam McHardy

83%

Friendly staff and very central! Would def recommend this hostel and would def come back!!😄

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ruth, Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Base Backpackers Wellington, we really appreciate all the fee back and reviews we receive. I'm glad to see you had a good stay with us and hope to see you back in Wellington some time soon. Samantha McHardy Rooms Manager

71%

Nice hostel but next time I will stay down the road at YHA where there is no liquor ban




View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback