X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Base Wellington Reviews

21-23 Cambridge Terrace, Wellington, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
556 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Good location, close to national museum and supermarket. They even offer me a free breakfast, nice staff. But there aren't enough shower room to be used.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your kind feedback, Timo Hummel

71%

The kitchen facilities were good we never struggled to find we needed. The toilets were always freezing. Some of the rooms smelt horrible were guests were long termers. Stayed during the winter & 80% of the guests seemed to worwork in the hostel so not great for meeting people.


86%

An enjoyable visit.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks for your feedback, Timo Hummel

100%

I'm 70 years old and I this is the second time I have stayed .. You run a very good hostel even for my age .. I felt very respected by reception staff, ( a lovely welcome )..cleaning staff... also the younger guests... I was in a 4 bed dorm with lovely international backpacking young !!! ladies ... I like the idea of NO alcohol.. and when you arrive in your room late you respect your room mates.... I used a small travelling torch .. I have told my travelling friends you have great Hostel

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your kind feedback, Timo Hummel

100%

Everything was good in my stay as a backpacker.

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thanks again, Timo Hummel

91%

Thanks to the guy at reception that changed me to another room when I told him that there were no free beds in the dorm he gave me first. The hostel is located in a great location, the view of Wellington was stunning, and the cleanliness was really good! The price is the best thing, I will definitely come back to stay with you guys if I ever go back to Wellington. I fell in love with that city

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Great Feedback, I will pass this onto the Reception crew, Timo Hummel

100%

Awesome hostel! really friendly staff who are very helpful with local tips and really went out of the way to make sure I had a great stay. Will definitely return :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you very much for your kind feedback, Timo Hummel

74%

The location was very good if you dont have a car, because the parking in the street has a max of 2 hs and is very expensive. The kitchen is small, and it sas darty so i did not cook during my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Unfortunately we do attract sometimes so very messy people and the 4 times cleaning the kitchen daily is not enough....Timo Hummel

100%

very clean and tidy all the time, the staff is just wonderfull any question or whatever that i need them always open to help me when i need it, the location is awesome, close to everything and the room very clean with all the facilities requesting

  • 3rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

77%

Good location right next to wellington nightlife, clean rooms & bathrooms, warm blankets. Good views from the top floors. Free breakfast if you book on internet otherwise $7. wifi $4 and computers in the common area even more expensive. The weekend night receptionist, she was friendly smiley and helpful. The morning female receptionist, was not.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your great feedback. Timo Hummel

97%

We were in a private room up on the 7th floor, with an amazing view of the harbor. Everything was very clean and comfortable. The only drawback was having to pay for some extra features, such as wifi and breakfast (although the latter was free as we booked through hostel world). Great location, a close walk to everything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your great feedback. Timo Hummel

71%

Nice sofa area for relaxing average rooms poor mattresses

Owner Comment (Hide)
Kia Ora, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your great feedback, Timo Hummel

71%

Maybe we just came off-season but the hostel was absolutely dead. The bar downstairs was blasting music so loud you couldn't hear anyone even if they were screaming in your ear, and this was on a night when no more than 10 people were even in there. The rooms were comfy and the bathrooms were clean. The location is great, right in the downtown area with good access to lots of great food and nightlife.


89%

Dorm very spacious and facilities were very clean. Dorm keys stopped working all the time which was annoying and wifi was very unreliable and probably not worth buying.


49%

Was very noisy... could not sleep until 4am after the club underground had shut. The bathrooms were pretty dirty and did not feel clean at all. The staff were good and really nice and friendly! The lift was somewhat scary as took ages and was worried it had become stuck!


74%

only stayed one night, as was getting naked bus at 7am and arrived around 6pm. Suitable as once u pick nakedsleep Wellington you can collected right outside the door. also got free toast and cereal as I booked with hostelworld which was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. Timo Hummel

86%

Good enough and it's cheap. Close to the party zone of Courtney Place which you can hear all night with pumping music but it's not too invasive. Good value for $. Clean enough. Nice staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. Timo Hummel

77%

It is a very big and busy hostel. A bit of a shame that it sometimes took half an hour to get to talk to the staff because of the long long long queue. A big plus was that we could keep the room til noon for just a few $. On the down side there's no cheap parking anywhere near it. Of course, in Wellington it's hard to find parking spots anywhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. Apologies for long queue.... Timo Hummel

97%

clean, nice kitchen, very close to the bars. It was noisy outside on sat night (not the hostel's fault), which might be a problem for a light sleeper but not for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for choosing to stay at Base Backpackers Wellington. We really appreciate you taking the time to complete the on line survey. Thank you for your feedback. Timo Hummel



View all Wellington Hostels

Please give us your feedback