Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Base Wellington

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 833 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th Jun 2017
9.1

Double room was very spacious and came with an ensuite which was a very welcome surprise. Probably the best base I've stayed at in New Zealand.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we're glad you enjoyed your stay!! Hope to see you again soon!

4th Jun 2017
5.1

Pros: Good location Cheap bar below hostel Good for large groups Cons: Wifi is NOT Free from 7pm - 7am, during free times it is very slow Room we stayed in was a 6 bedroom, but so cramped was really only suitable for 2-3 people No free luggage storage (only paid lockers) No bedside lamps Bedroom door did not shut properly No hooks in showers (for clothes, towels etc.) Bed was very shaky Kitchen was far too small for volume of people Large school groups - lots of noise

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We will work hard to resolve the issues you encountered!

26th May 2017
8.3

Overall the hostels in Wellington are pretty average care and this is the best that I have stayed in. The location is Good and close to the waterfront, centre and supermarket. Good rooms, good cleanliness and good bar. My only disappointments were that, during the Lions games they increased their drinks prices by 50% in the bar, which seemed like profiteering, and that my key card stopped working several times.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
22nd May 2017
4.0

Room was pretty small, barely enough room for two people to be moving around any more was downright crowded. Staff were indifferent at best and rude at worst. Showers were cold for a good 5-10 minutes before the faintest hint of warmth crept in. Had to pay for Internet, first time EVER at a hostel, and the wifi was so poor I had to go out to send emails Sheets were dirty, had stains and smelt awful. We've stayed at 5-6 hostels in NZ on our trip and they've all be great- bad note to leave on

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I'm sorry your stay was unsatisfactory. We will work hard to resolve the issues you occurred.

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
16th May 2017
8.0

Booked for one night and stayed for three. Location is perfect, and there was a good atmosphere in the bar on site every night. Decent kitchen and social space. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th May 2017
6.3

worst base hostel I've stayed in. Good location. No atmosphere what's so ever. Staff are clueless (apart from the girl from the 'Wirral'). Fine if you only book for a night or 2. Don't accommodate for 'long term'. Asked to extend our stay with 2 weeks notice they said they can't because it's full. The bar downstairs is a dive. You won't get any sleep from the constant large groups of noisy people they accommodate for! Overall wouldn't recommend this place at all!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
5.7

The kitchen was too small for such a large hostel, with not enough facilities, and pretty dirty. The showers were dirty. 2 out of the 4 dryers didn't work, so there was a constant queue to use them. There was a party in the next room till 11pm, reception was called, and ended it, but did nothing about the alcohol being drank, despite their zero tolerance policy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
24th Apr 2017
6.3

Wellington is not really spoilt for choice when it comes to hostels. If you like showers with Arctic cold water, this is the hostel for you! The water in the bathroom was absolutely freezing, so that wasn't pleasant. The room itself was fairly small (which isn't really a big concern), so no problems there. However, the walls were so thin we could hear someone snoring from one room over. The plus to this hostel is the location, it makes it easy to see city!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 26 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.0

The beds were not comfy and were really move every time someone moved. The place was generally clean. The was not enough fridge space as there seemed to be a lot of long term people. The wifi was bad even though you pay $4 for 24 hours it was still terrible at times. It was very noisy on Saturday night but that is to expected! The location is really good within walking distance to almost everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.4

Awesome staff!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×