Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Basel Back Pack

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 861 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 861 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.4
Basel Back Pack Located at Dornacherstrasse 192, , Basel.
Basel Back Pack
Switzerland
Basel BS 4053 Dornacherstrasse 192
86% 861
47.5405998 7.5923252
Basel Back Pack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Jul 2016
9.7

Fantastic hostel! Would very highly recommend. The hostel and local area are very chilled and there is a lovely bar just 150m away at the beginning of the complex. Lady on reception was absolutely lovely and recommended good places to visit and gave a free tram pass. I stayed in a 8 bed female dorm which had double bunk beds, so it meant I had a nice big comfy bed for the evening. Best nights sleep I've had on my travels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2016
9.1

Hostel was nice. Staff were available and helpful with directions around town. Free bus/tram pass was awesome! I was a pastafarian for my visit to Switzerland, as it is very expensive to eat out. The kitchen was set up nice so that you have room to cook and clean. No negatives here. Highly recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2016
8.3

Felt like I was living in a garden and super close to the river. The receptionist when we checked in was very helpful and made the stay a lot nicer. Very close to Rhine river

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jun 2016
8.3

Very unique and interesting hostel, worth the stay, unfortunately during my stay there was a whole group of under-18 year old students staying and they were running through the hallways at all hours... Apart from that made some good friends and got to get out and see a fair bit of Basel. Restaurant down the laneway and the micro-brewery beer were both brilliant! would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • pauljkent382
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2016
10.0

Really friendly staff. Comfortable beds and great location not far from train station. Free tea, coffee sometimes and lots of space to lounge about and chill.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jun 2016
7.7

For me location was crucial so the short walk to the train station was ideal. For somone wanting a more social experience this may not be the best choice, but i was traveling alone so maybe this is why! Otherwise a great place with very helpful staff :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
20th May 2016
8.6

Pretty good place to stay. A wee bit out of town but you can catch the tram which they give you free tickets for. Plugs in the room were in awkward places and the kitchen was pretty small (no more than 2 people could cook at a time). No real atmosphere but there are group areas to hang out. Maybe they were just quiet when we were there! The bed linen could do with an upgrade.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Barbados, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th May 2016
8.6

We only stayed there one night so I'm not sure how in depth a review I can give. But the guy at the welcome desk was friendly, he explained all the stuff we would need to know. The WiFi works in and out of the rooms so that was nice, and also each bed had it's own plugs and lamp, which I really appreciated. The location is pretty nice too. It's not too difficult to get to. All in all it was a comfortable night's stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.4

We came specifically for Fantasy Basel the Swiss Comic Con and for that it is ideally located!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Apr 2016
10.0

a perfect place to stay, easy to get to and funky! plus in the same complex there is a place to dance tango some evenings (called corrientes)! so if you love art and tango... it is a great place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.