Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Basel Back Pack

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
Basel Back Pack Located at Dornacherstrasse 192, , Basel.
Basel Back Pack
Switzerland
Basel BS 4053 Dornacherstrasse 192
88% 931
47.5405998 7.5923252
Basel Back Pack
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
5.4

I had allergy on skin after one night stay, I don't know the reason but this is very rare to me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Only downside is value for money but considering that its Switzerland, its not out of the ordinary. You have to pay another $8 for the breakfast (typical hostel meal of coffee, bread, cereal and fruit). Atmosphere was great! There was a jazz show in the common area by the bar that was awesome. Really dug the surrounding area too (although it gets residential quick). Close to the train station and walking distance from the bars just on the opposite side of the station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.1

We loved this hostel! The staff were very friendly and even though we had orginally chosen a mixed dorm, we were switched into an all female one to make us feel more comfortable with no issues. The rooms are VERY spacious and the beds are super comfortable. A free travel card was included with our stay along with free lockers, bed sheets and wifi. About a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station! Would definitely recommend this hostel if you are in Basel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Oct 2016
9.4

Had a comfortable stay and got the bed that I need because of a back injury. Most Facilities are functioning very well except the wifi connection which needs to improve more. I get connected but slow. Staff were friendly both in checking in and out process. Near to the tram station (Tellstrasse) and you can easily reach the city center in minutes.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Oct 2016
9.1

Really great hostel. Pretty pricey but all of Basel is. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Breakfast okay but nothing special, you have to pay extra for it. Unfortunately while we were staying there was a large group of noisy people also staying. They were very noisy both late at night and early in the morning. They smoked in the hostel which made the corridor outside our room very smelly. If they had not been staying our stay would have been lovely.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
13th Oct 2016
7.7

Not much atmosphere in common area. So if you want to meet people it's not a place for you. If you just want some own privacy then yes it is a quiet and good place. Bedroom is very spacious and comfortable. Recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
10.0

Seriously great hostel. Close to station, clean, quiet, amazing kitchen, beer next door, walk everywhere. Wish I could have stayed longer!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Oct 2016
6.9

Zero atmosphere, beds were OK. Staff were very friendly

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Sep 2016
9.1

Good location from SBB once you find it (also close to grocery stores, shops, restaurants, tram etc.). Cool place, a hipster-esque converted warehouse. Clean overall and beds were comfortable. I stayed in the 8 bed dorm room which had individual bunk beds. Staff was friendly and helpful. Pretty quiet, not many people interacting in the common areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laradb
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.0

Its easy enough to get into the Old Town with a 3min walk to the tram stop, rooms were clean and the staff were helpful. There were heaps of school kids staying there and they were holding their classes in the dining area, they sort of just took over the whole place. There wasn't much of an atmosphere to the whole place. I was only in Basel for the night, so it didn't bother me as much.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.