Hostelworld.com

Basel Back Pack

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 955 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

Staff are really awesome (thanks for the LEBKUCHEN), the hostel itself is in a beautiful area, set in an old factory with a lot of history and even though it has been quiet every time I have visited I still met a lot of amazing people. The facilities are simple, but you have everything you need for the weary backpacker The extortionate prices in Switzerland are the only reason I marked down the value for money! Thanks again, and see you in a few years.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
10.0

an interesting creative area for stay. Guests are friendly and chatty. Definitely stay again if I visit Basel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hannibananzy
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Dec 2016
8.3

This was a really great hostel, I was very impressed! Nice bed linens and duvet, friendly staff even though they were too quick with the check in and didn't give me the wifi or other detailed tips, located right by the tram, lockers included, and bar with kitchen! Great place. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
8.9

Great staff, quick service and well located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Dec 2016
10.0

Nice hostel in Basel. Best location, just beside the train station, well clean and the staff is really friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Dec 2016
9.7

My friends and I really enjoyed our stay at this hostel. The staff are really accommodating when we arrived outside of check in times. The hostel is located where everything (train station, bus station, etc) is within walking distance. Would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Dec 2016
9.4

Only stayed here for a night because I had to catch an early flight in the morning. Good facilities and location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Dec 2016
5.4

I had allergy on skin after one night stay, I don't know the reason but this is very rare to me.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
9.1

Only downside is value for money but considering that its Switzerland, its not out of the ordinary. You have to pay another $8 for the breakfast (typical hostel meal of coffee, bread, cereal and fruit). Atmosphere was great! There was a jazz show in the common area by the bar that was awesome. Really dug the surrounding area too (although it gets residential quick). Close to the train station and walking distance from the bars just on the opposite side of the station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Nov 2016
9.1

We loved this hostel! The staff were very friendly and even though we had orginally chosen a mixed dorm, we were switched into an all female one to make us feel more comfortable with no issues. The rooms are VERY spacious and the beds are super comfortable. A free travel card was included with our stay along with free lockers, bed sheets and wifi. About a 10-15 minute walk from the main train station! Would definitely recommend this hostel if you are in Basel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.