Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Basel Back Pack

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1068 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
16th Aug 2017
8.9

I only stayed a night. The receptionist was so helpful and welcoming. The rooms are a bit dated but they are clean. They have a pretty decent dining/kitchen area and they have their own washing machine as well. Showers are clean and pretty good (hot water/good pressure etc). Close to multiple supermarkets. A decent enough hostel and a 5-8 minute walk to Basel Central Station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2017
7.7

They were flexible and waited for us to check in late. Close to the station sbb and free tram travel is helpful. The kitchen is small and there arent many showers. Fair price for what it is though, would stay again if in basel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2017
10.0

Fantastic stay at the friendliest hostel! Staff were very helpful, even lending out swim sacks for swimming in the Rhine for free, and answering all our questions about site seeing and transport. The location was perfect with the surrounding bars and restaurants providing great food and a lively atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Loving the aesthetic of the place, nice location, staff was brilliant, so helpful thank you!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
7.4

This is the right place in Basel if you're traveling on a shoestring. Overall a good staying but they do have a few things they could improve. The place is not near the centre but no worries because they provide you a transportation ticket to move easier.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • al7anashi53231
  • Oman, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Aug 2017
8.9

The place is fine but the green and blue rooms are without WiFi otherwise everything you would like in the hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
9.4

Basel Back Pack is a unique hostel. But Basel itself is traditionally unique. To find it, start with the newly constructed commercial pedestrian overpass that straddles 17 busy train tracks at the Basel Bahnhof SBB, which in it's own right has become unique. At track 17 keep going. At the south end of this passage is Guter Strasse. This fine hostel is on the street one block after that, on Dornacher Strasse, at 192.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Aug 2017
9.1

A lovely, calm and clean place, just what I needed! The facilities were great :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.6

Friendly staff, wifi a little weak, good breakfast and facilities

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2017
8.3

Great hostel, good location, the free travel card is a great thing for the city to offer and we were given ours as soon as we checked in! The amenities were good (space for cooking / chilling, nice size beds, automated key fob) except that there are not enough plugs near the beds, and the lights for each bed in our room were not working. The room was also VERY hot! The staff was great! The only issue we had was that the other patrons were inconsiderate (talking loudly and banging while we slept)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.