X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3120 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Internet did not work well in the computer room in the lobby. That is one thing to improve. Generally I think it is a good hostel and mostly of the staff was friendly. It would have been good that they letting you borrow the kitchen, to use a fridge and to cook food. The location was good and close to supermarket.


83%

The room was very comfortable but was situated right above the entrance where went for a smoke their cigarettes. I was disturbed constantly by people chatting and by the whiff of cigarette smoke. The windows were not double glazed so every noise was heard and the smell of smoke came through even with the window closed. Other than that it was perfect.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

We checked in later in the evening and were surprised when our Dorm was overbooked. Thankfully reception was more than helpful and accommodated us in a Private Twin room and Private Triple room, which suited us perfectly. Only downfall was there was only one power socket in each room, for five people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The dorm wasn't overbooked, it turned out that some guests who were staying put loads of stuff on other beds. I managed to find the culprits later in the evening and they sorted out the issue and all of a sudden we had the 7 beds available that should have been free instead of just the 3 showing empty. As for power sockets in rooms, we do stock a few multiple adaptors and take a refundable deposit for these.

80%

A nice, clean, central place to stay. not spectacular but far from terrible. I would happily stay again.


91%

it is a simple tranquill place where you get good rest and extremely nice staff. location is great so you can get what you want. it does not have a pub itself but i went one which was 5 to 10 minutes away anyway at night and felt safe coming back with comfort.


80%

It good and thank you for staff there.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

When I arrived late at Bath YMCA in the evening, the guy on the reception was extremely helpful giving me advice on where to park, facilities and where to go. The single room was clean and spacious, reminded me a lot of uni halls of residence (minus the noise though, which was good!!). Breakfast was simple, yet nice. The building is nicely tucked away off the main road, however parking was an issue. It was good value for money considering the time of year, and i would definitely recommend it.


77%

Except the window can't be closed, all the aspects are good. It's worth the money. The scenery outside the window is nice! And breakfast is included.

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, the windows can be closed and so I suspect you mean they can't be locked. It's not necessary to have locks on any of the accommodation windows of the YMCA, this is because, even on the first floor the rooms are 3 floors up from Walcot street, there is no access possible at the back without reception letting someone through our locked door and at the front of the building is our courtyard, so someone would need to erect a ladder in front of our doors.

86%

Bed linen nice and clean. Tops of units v.dusty Very helpful reception guy with excellent local knowledge Nice relaxed atmosphere Flexible booking arrangements very helpful

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Wonderful location, breakfast provided is good and plenty, bedrooms and showers are clean and neat. Really enjoyed the stay here :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Have a Happy New Year

37%

the bed room is not very clean expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Our apologies if you didn't find the dormitory clean enough, if would help if we knew just what wasn't clean as our cleaners service the dorms from 10am to midday every day. As for prices, the dorms have individual lights, plug points, usb points and curtains, also lockers, the price also includes a light breakfast, we had also cut our prices from £23 to £16 for the nights mentioned, that is really very cheap for Bath.

83%

Pleasant staff and a convenient stay in Bath

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It is nicely located close to the christmas markets and centre of town. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, the only complaint was that our room was on the side of the entrance so someone coming in was rolling their luggage across the cobblestones in the middle of the night which was a bit annoying. But other than that everything else was pleasant.


91%

Neing a coeliac, normally even hotels don't provide gluten free bread - imagine my absolutel delight when they offered me white or brown! Excellent service, friendly and efficient.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location of the hostel is away from the main street which gives a quite but not remote setting. However, the dormitory I stayed at was near the main street. I got woken up by vehicle engine's sounds and the shouting and screaming of drunk people. I had a very poor quality of sleep for 2 consecutive nights

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We booked two private rooms with twin bed, the room was great but the only short coming is the room is not en-suite. In the middle of the night while we were sleeping, very loud noise can be heard from the corridor made by other occupants, maybe can improve on sound-proof facility :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We are a hostel and I'm not aware of any hostels that have en-suite rooms and we would charge much more if our rooms were en-suite. As for soundproofing, it would be almost impossible to do anything that would alter noise levels within the rooms.

77%

This is a good clean hostel, with power points and curtains for every bed. Internet is only available downstairs in the foyer, which was a little inconvenient.


100%

We really enjoyed our stay. Everything was more than adequate and the staff were very kind. thank you very much!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

We were thankfull to of found this accommodation. bath is so beautifull and central. There was no hassle in parking. Finding our way into town . the value for money was beyond excellent as breakfast was included. The option to pay for a cooked breakfast was appreciated. The continental breakfast was ample. we were warm and cosy on our stay. we would definitely return. The booking was also easy. a big plus. Thank you for making our stay so relaxed. sandra from devon

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, staff work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. We also agree that we offer good value for money in the centre of Bath amongst high priced hotels.

89%

Quite disappointing, I couldn't connect on internet from my room. Apart from this it is a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our internet is now accessible from anywhere on the ground floor, 1st floor and left hand side of 2nd floor.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(152 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback