Hostelworld.com

Bath YMCA

  • International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England
Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 4317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 4317 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Everyone was kind and helpful. The location of the hostel was close to the places I needed to go and visit.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Feb 2017
9.1

Rooms and facilities were clean but looked a little out of date. In the early morning, the pipes in the walls made very loud noises. While I didn't mind too much, it may be frustrating for those for want uninterrupted sleep. There were also communal areas to socialise, eat and for kids to entertain themselves.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments. The pipes banging was probably air in the radiators, we would ask guests to inform reception if they have this issue, our maintenance team will then look into it.

10th Feb 2017
6.9

I picked an individual room and I ended up a bit disappointed about it. You cannot expect an amazing place for a budget hostel, but I hate the bed (a small one for a 1.90m man), not comfortable at all. Plus, my room was oriented to the street and I could hear noise and shouts outside until late. Moreover, Wifi didn't work in the room either. On the other hand, this hostel has two good things: one is a perfect location, right in the city center of Bath, and the breakfast, which is quite complete.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments. The room you had was what we class as I one bed dorm and was £11 cheaper on the night than our normal singles. The room is over the dormitory side and is used a lot for leaders of young groups. Our private single rooms are much larger with desk, wardrobe and chest of drawers.

  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2017
6.3

Except cleaning every day in room all OK. No Mats in Bath rooms and conjucted rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments. We don't clean private rooms every day, as for mats, they could be considered a health hazard and would be soaking wet very quickly as showers are used by a lot of guests.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Feb 2017
8.6

First stAy in a hostel - very pleasantly surprised. Bath YMCA is excellent. Had to. Change from first room which smelt of cigarettes. Second room was fine, similar to student halls. Only negative is hostelworld booking system which is a scam. When I changed my booking they did not credit my original deposit despite it being 'protected '. Have emailed but they don't bother to answer. Next time will book direct with the hostel which operate a separate booking system.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments. As with everywhere, smoking is banned inside the YMCA, we have also extended this to the grounds. I don't believe the smell was from someone breaking the smoking ban, more likely from someones clothing who has stayed. Hope you get some joy out of HostelWorld.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
7.7

It was fine for a hostel, good breakfast, clean rooms. However, it was so expensive! And the showers didn't really work/give hot water. If they charged less it would be fine, but for 65 pound for a double room, I expect a fully working shower.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments. At busy times the showers may just need a little time to reheat the water. Our charges are in line with what other hostels in the city charge.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
7.4

Nice clean hostel, I stayed in a private room with friends and it was clean and in a great locations. I wouldn't recommend to solo travelers though didn't seem to be a lot going on / didn't seem to be many other younger solo people there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments. Except for maybe Saturdays, the hostel can be quite quiet at the beginning of February, but usually picks up quite rapidly later in that month and for the rest of the year.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jan 2017
9.7

Great stay for my quick trip in bath. I was upgraded to a private room which was fantastic. Clean facilities, good breakfast that is included. Overall good stay and would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay

21st Jan 2017
10.0

great location and easy to find, staff were great too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your lovely feedback, we look forward to seeing you again if you are visiting Bath. :)

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
8.9

Excellent stay. Clean and comfortable beds in a twin private warm room; simple but filling breakfast included. Recommended,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.