X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3149 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

The room could have been cleaner ie dusted but on the whole a nice place to stay.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about any dust in the room, the cleaners have a two hour window to service rooms and with 220 beds in the building things can sometimes get missed, especially if one of the housekeeping staff is off sick or on holiday.

86%

Friendly staff, good value for money, excellent location. Good hearty brekky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

In the heart of bath. We had a great view out of our window. The breakfast was adequate too.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

86%

Nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast was also reasonable, especially compared to other hostels I have stayed in.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

57%

Worst sleep I've ever had in a hostel, I have stayed in over 50 while travelling. The walls were so thin you could hear everything, I am a heavy sleeper but had no sleep for the two nights. Also you are meant to leave your key every time you leave the hostel but require no proof of who you are when you request the key back so essentially you could ask for any key and anyone could take yours.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Reception staff are meant to ask for booking name when handing keys out and by and large this is done. That being said, I have worked here 15yrs and there has never been a theft from a private room that a guest locked when going out. There is to much cctv for one thing, the other thing is a thief wouldn't know if the room was occupied and if we knew who was occupying it. As for noise, we can sort out noise on the premises if made aware, but can't with street noise.

63%

Check out time is too early(10:00), and the staff came to knock at our room at 10:05.... Also they charge you if you want to leave your luggage at the hostel for a few hours after you check out. And the information of the city is not much. Not really a youth hostel feel...

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. By checking out at 10am our arriving guests can check in by 12 midday. Many hotels and hostels check out between 9am and 10am and a lot of them don't start checking in until 1pm or 2pm in the afternoon. As for left luggage, many places in Bath won't store luggage at all. We did have lockers that were £3 a time to hire, we have gotten rid of these and feel 50p for a small bag and £1 for a large bag is more than fair for this service.

94%

Superb place highly recommended

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

thankyou for making my first stay in a ymca at the age of 52 very enjoyable.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

It's very positive that the hostel has dorms with only two beds and that the bathroom was recently renovated. It's also rather quiet and the staff is friendly. Furthermore, we were happy to have a working radiator in our room. The breakfast was excellent for a hostel and there was a choice of different, actual coffees.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We do only have one two bed dormitory and one one bed dormitory, normally these are used by group leaders, but we are happy to use them for other guests when they aren't needed for that. Our other dorms range from a 10 bed dorm to an 18 bed dorm.

83%

The people and location are pleasant. Wifi refused to connect, and the lockers are metal cages under the bed with a heavy lid which may end up smacking the user in the back. I've still got scratches where the corner caught me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, however, we believe you have mixed us up with another hostel as we don't have lockers under the beds, ours are stand alone ones. Many thanks, Bath YMCA

80%

Super clean, good location, very happy with our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

Such a lovely stay! The staff was incredible and the facility was well maintained. I did have to deal with two incredibly drunk men that came into the room at 4AM, but that is out of anyones control.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the drunk men. We can't stop people getting drunk, but we can evict them if they cause a problem for other guests or ourselves and we would urge guests to inform us of anything that they feel requires this action to be taken.

83%

The staff were very helpful and accommodating!

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Our staff always try there best to ensure guests satisfaction.

54%

Internet did not work well in the computer room in the lobby. That is one thing to improve. Generally I think it is a good hostel and mostly of the staff was friendly. It would have been good that they letting you borrow the kitchen, to use a fridge and to cook food. The location was good and close to supermarket.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I believe there was a problem during this period when an electrician drilled through a cable knocking everything out, we also had problems with how the system was wired up, these have now been sorted. We have a restaurant that opens for breakfast and for group meals. Guests have two microwaves to use, can get hot water for free from a machine and cups, plates, cutlery, milk and sugar is provided free of charge. There is also a small fridge at reception should guests need it.

83%

The room was very comfortable but was situated right above the entrance where went for a smoke their cigarettes. I was disturbed constantly by people chatting and by the whiff of cigarette smoke. The windows were not double glazed so every noise was heard and the smell of smoke came through even with the window closed. Other than that it was perfect.

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We are a no smoking premises, but unfortunately we can't patrol the front area 24/7, but when we do spot people smoking then we inform them. As for double glazing, it would be an impossible task and not allowed as we are a listed building. We would urge guests to inform reception about anything they aren't happy with, it may well be that we could move the guest to another room or do something about solving issues they may have.

80%

We checked in later in the evening and were surprised when our Dorm was overbooked. Thankfully reception was more than helpful and accommodated us in a Private Twin room and Private Triple room, which suited us perfectly. Only downfall was there was only one power socket in each room, for five people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The dorm wasn't overbooked, it turned out that some guests who were staying put loads of stuff on other beds. I managed to find the culprits later in the evening and they sorted out the issue and all of a sudden we had the 7 beds available that should have been free instead of just the 3 showing empty. As for power sockets in rooms, we do stock a few multiple adaptors and take a refundable deposit for these.

80%

A nice, clean, central place to stay. not spectacular but far from terrible. I would happily stay again.


91%

it is a simple tranquill place where you get good rest and extremely nice staff. location is great so you can get what you want. it does not have a pub itself but i went one which was 5 to 10 minutes away anyway at night and felt safe coming back with comfort.


80%

It good and thank you for staff there.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

When I arrived late at Bath YMCA in the evening, the guy on the reception was extremely helpful giving me advice on where to park, facilities and where to go. The single room was clean and spacious, reminded me a lot of uni halls of residence (minus the noise though, which was good!!). Breakfast was simple, yet nice. The building is nicely tucked away off the main road, however parking was an issue. It was good value for money considering the time of year, and i would definitely recommend it.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(106 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback