X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3658 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

this was a good hostel and great value for money. Not far from anything so it's a brilliant location. The atmosphere was lacking, maybe i stayed when it was quiet there but it felt quite cold and not very comfortable. I did only stay for one night though which can always be hard to judge. I stayed in a 15 bed dorm with only a few people and that room was brilliant. Everywhere was clean and the breakfast included for free was good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. It does go quiet at times through the week, especially near the end of the year.

80%

We live in a flat in the centre of Bath and had a lot of family staying over Christmas, so we booked into the Bath YMCA for Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Boxing Day. We basically just needed a spare place for us to sleep and, as it was just up the road from our flat, it proved to be ideal for our needs!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

97%

The staff is very patient and nice. Most of the things are well arranged except that the room is a little bit smelly. The location is nice and convenient. You are going to have a pretty good experience there. By the way, the offered breakfast is very abundant.

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay.

66%

My room window looked as though it could easily be slid open from the outside. During breakfast in the morning i noticed that there was mold on the brown bread. The date of the bread was an expiry date on that day, so they must not be kept in very dry conditions

  • 21st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments.The room you were in is at the rear of the building where there is no access, it is also on the forth floor from street level. Our apologies about the bread, as you say, it was in date so should have been fine. We obviously don't check every slice of bread, but would hope that guests report to us any such issues, we can then check and remove. I have bought bread myself that has been stored correctly but had this issue before expiry date.

91%

Really really nice place. Would love to stay again if go to Bath.

  • 20th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again sometime in the future.

83%

We had a very pleasant stay, the breakfast bar was excellent, the showers were hot and all facilities were clean. We're looking forward to returning soon.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.

74%

More plugs in the room would be great. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We do have a few multiple plug sockets at reception that can be obtained for a £5 refundable deposit.

86%

The facilities should be kept clean

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Unsure what facilities you are referring to so difficult to respond to that. We are a very large hostel and do our best to ensure everything is clean. We do however only have cleaning staff until about midday and so difficult to keep clean for 24hrs.

80%

Really good location, close to everything, amazing price, the 24 hour reception was also great! The rooms were simple and the beds comfy. We had a three bed dorm which was ideal. The downsides were that there was only one plug so we had to buy an extension and the guy on reception was rude and looked at us like we were stupid for asking whether they had a vegetarian cooked breakfast, he wasn't very helpful. Apart from that would book here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We do have multiple plug sockets at reception that are available for a £5 refundable deposit. As for vegetarian breakfast, the light breakfast is mostly vegetarian anyway, or so I'm led to believe, for the cooked breakfast, our chef says we do have quorn sausages that are cooked to order when the cooked breakfast is running, the obviously beans, eggs and tomatoes and hash browns. If you email us the member of staff or time he was working we will speak to him.

97%

Love staying in the YMCA. Staff are always superfriendly. Place is great location and building.

  • 11th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and really glad you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again in the future and have a wonderful Christmas.

80%

Pipework woke me up at 4 am as very noisy and windows dont seal properly so very noisy at pub/club kick out time at 1am. No way to charge mobile phone too.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Being a listed buildiing we aren't allowed double glazing and Bath can be a noisy city at night, I know this from experience of where I lived in the city. There are three pin sockets in all private rooms and individual ones in five out of our six dormitories, so if you have your own charger then shouldn't be a problem.

69%

First class location. Endless hot water. Toasty warm. Freshly laundered linen But, very shabby, run down, single, private room. Worn, stained carpet. Although reception area lovely, general paintwork and cleanliness everywhere behind reception very poor. Canteen especially filthy Maintaunence men and house keepers obviously do their best, bathrooms etc clean Top marks tho for centrality - shops, restaurants, sight seeing, public transport

  • 9th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We are in the process of carpeting the worst affected rooms, but it's a job that, due to us being so busy throughout the year, can only be done during about five or six weeks of the Christmas period. I believe our reception area is also due a facelift before long, but with such a large hostel, it's a case of prioritizing things.

100%

Excellent value for money accomadation.

  • 8th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really glad you enjoyed your stay.

77%

We enjoy a bargain. A bargain for this city for a clean,safe place to stay. It would be nice to have free tea/coffee all day.

  • 7th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The description of where the hostel is makes it sound closer than it actually is from the train station. You have to pay 50p to the hostel to leave your luggage with them after checking out (do take note). There is no lift in the hostel and rooms are located on the 2nd and 3rd floors (do take note). Other than that, the stay was good and value for money.

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. I am 60yrs old and can walk, without luggage, from the train station to the hostel in 10mins. Our private rooms are over three floors with two flights of around 10 stairs to each floor, our dorms are over two floors with much the same amount of stairs to go up.

63%

Incident with someone upstairs sitting on a sink, breaking water pipe. Very frightening lots of banging and crashing. Severe lack of information from staff. Why werent people responsible kicked out for all disruption? On return to room hoover came to clear water then very noisy maintenance outside room from 1.45 - 2.30 am.Very disturbed night of sleep (paying £156 for privilege!) As a grown woman had to sleep with light on all night. Very noisy. In Bath to celebrate daughter's 16 th ruined. Mad

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a very good stay. Rooms were clean and tidy, very close to the town and staff were friendly. The only negative i would have is the showers which although clean, tidy and electric were very temperamental in relation to hot/cold. Although with a building this size to be expected. Definitely would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. As you say, with possibly over 200 guests in the building, the showers will need a little time to reheat the water if used continuously.

74%

Other guests were totally inconsiderate to anyone else staying there. Shouting banging doors at 3.00am and talking loudly at 6.00am meant very little sleep for myself

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and so sorry other guests spoiled your stay. Reception do check areas of the building at times for noise, but hit or miss whether anything happening at the time of the checks. If reception staff are made aware of such disturbances then they will have words with the culprits. Noise cannot be heard from the reception desk itself.

71%

Lockers don't actually lock! You can put a padlock onto the door, but it is still possible to twist and open - so bit of an issue for people with valuables.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The padlocks for the locker need to have a fairly thick bar. We have some at reception which are available for a £10 refundable deposit.

80%

Some coat hooks in the forms - especially this time of year - somewhere to hang wet coats would be handy. Stayed in dorm 2, closest bathroom was a mess in the morning - could do with an extra bin and regular checks - one of the toilets was overflowing and water on floor. It was full that night, so bathrooms could do with some extra checks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and will pass them on to the management. we could possibly put a few coat hooks on the door but nowhere in the dorms that they could go. Our cleaners only work in the mornings and most nights only one person on reception and so a bit difficult to check and clear toilets as well as manage desk, especially as there are quite a few of them. If a toilet gets blocked of an evening and we are made aware, we normally just lock the door to it and sort it next day.

(117 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback