X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3062 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Very good if you just need a place to sleep but there's not really much atmosphere in the place. No kitchen either. Rooms were clean and good size with lockers, bathrooms cleaned often, decent breakfast. Because it's a YMCA there were a few school groups coming through but they were no problem. No real common room or kitchen though. Good central location.


91%

Really central and excellent value for money. Rooms are basic but perfect if you just want somewhere to sleep! Staff were really friendly and the 24hr reception was handy. I would happily stay there again.

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

This is the most expensive hotel I have stayed in during my 4 night trip to uk and it was the worst. It thad the worst breakfast, it was the least clean and I had to sahre the bathroom. For that Price I could have stayed in a hotel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, the YMCA is a hostel with no ensuite bathrooms as stated on our website, not a hotel. If you were unhappy with your room this should have been reported to reception who would be happy to change your room if there was a problem.

60%

Hostel's coffee is never too good but this one was particularly bad. Lack of atmosphere.


66%

Showers were either boiling or freezing with no pressure. Our time was spoilt by another person staying in the dorm who was laying and being sick in bed. When I explained the situation to a member of staff, they said the girl had been brought in in that state and there wasn't much they could do. I was suprised they could accept someone in that state and felt there was generally a the lack of concern/ understanding by staff members who were also quite dismissive - could of been handled better.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Noisy at night. Lots of people laughing loudly in the hallways and running around. View was lovely.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Can't complain. The location couldn't be better. The beds were triple beds so you can't sit in them. But that's not necessary. Breakfast was included in the price. All in all a great stay. I would come back.


66%

I had room 220. There is serious black mold around the window and the frame is rotting. There is a horrible smell when you use the sink (probably bad pipes), and the ladies toilet on that floor had spiders all over the ceiling.


77%

The room was clean and comfortable aside from chair which needed a good cleaning and room had a smell. Toilet and showers were clean aside from no toilet paper in one cubicle in the morning in the ladies' loos. The windows and sills everywhere have been forgotten in the refurbishments and need a thorough cleaning! Cleaning team need to be a bit more attentive. Staff at reception were exceptionally friendly and helpful! Great location but bring earplugs to drown out all night revellers in Bath.

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel and a good place to sleep - although there is very little "life" to it. On the reverse you are virtually guaranteed a good night of sleep with great, quiet, bunk beds and super comfy mattresses. If you want more of a party feel then stay at St Christopher's just down the road - if you want early nights and rest (and a great breakfast in the morning!) stay here.


83%

15 bed dorm, on second floor. Curtains on beds really nice to mentally block out most others, but might be hard if there is a noisy group. Only six lockers in room, other lockers in hall. Must provide own lock. Full English breakfast for 3.50 GBP was pretty decently priced. Did not need a key to enter area where dorms are unfortunately. Felt that was a bit insecure. Staff pretty friendly. Common areas felt kind of like school cafeteria, even lounge. Small bathroom for 15 females; got very busy!


83%

Loved the free breakfast and the stay was well worth the money. Friendly staff but the bathroom can be cleaned more often.


71%

The only issues that I had with the hostel was that there was only wifi in the lounge and cafeteria, and not this the dorms. This made it difficult to watch movies before bed. Also there was no refrigerator to store food and no kitchen to prepare meals. There was only a microwave. The hostel was right near the clubs and city center.


80%

Used the YMCA as a crash pad when I stayed overnight in Bath. Couldn't complain about anything. Clean, comfortable, close to the city center where I'd been wandering around for hours and wasn't hard to find. It was my first time staying in a hostel by myself, and I never once felt concerned about safety or cleanliness or anything. I didn't really stick around to give accurate thoughts on much other than the bed and room, but I got what I was expecting.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The staff members at the front desk were wonderful and very helpful! The street noise was very loud throughout the night so if you are a lite sleeper ask for a room away from the street. It wasn't the best hostel for meeting other travelers.

  • 30th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

My wife and I would visit again. A wonderful site and fine staff.


100%

First class receptionists - always very helpful and friendly. Would definitely make a point of staying there again when in Bath. One of the best hostels I have ever stayed at!

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay

91%

Our room was fully booked, so they upgraded us to a private for free which was very nice of them. Staff are friendly, hot showers and a cheap, decent fry up.


69%

The common corridor were smelly. I suggest they open up the staircase window more often to let fresh air in and also is time to change the carpets

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

single room. exactly what I thought it would be. if possible ask for a room not by the bathroom as the doors slam/walls are very thin. .the whole hostel needs to be refurbished and if you leave the building you have to return your key to the front desk which, on return, can be annoying as you have to wait to get it back if they are checking people in. still ,a stay worth the price.


(178 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback