X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2886 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Great hostel - enjoyed staying there. The ONLY downside (and I really do mean only, because it was excellent apart from this) is that my dorm was on the main road and so was really quite loud at a few times late at night with clubbers.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall a very good value hostel, communal bathrooms very clean, private room clean and well appointed, bed really comfortable and I don't say that often , staff friendly. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. Communal areas are a little tired but fine. Great value for money and great location.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Good location. Nice room


69%

Hostel is good if you're looking for a quite place to stay for one or two nights!


71%

The bed was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was nice. Bathrooms were quite worn out though and not so clean, staining the overall impression of the hostel (which was good). Shower courtains were especially nasty.

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice hostel also for several days, good location. Rooms very basic (not many plugs), internet via Wi-Fi or the computers nearly useless (very slow). Showers, tidyness, breakfast were good

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the nicest, friendliest hostels I stayed at. The staff were nice and helpful, breakfast was really good, and the rooms were super clean! One time I had an issue with people in the next room making too much noise in the next room in the middle of the night, and the staff were SUPER helpful!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I was so impressed with the included breakfast! Staff were friendly. nice clean place

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Wifi did not work but great otherwise! Fantastic breakfast and awesome location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately we had asked BT to cut off one of our lines and they cut the wrong one, hence no wifi for about a week.

71%

This experience was dire thanks to a member of staff who was on duty around 8.30pm on Saturday 26 July. I asked for my key and also asked if there was a lift. Your staff member said “No!” and laughed like I had said something funny. Despite the fact that one of my friends who was standing beside me HAS A WALKING STICK. She can normally go upstairs but had sunstroke and was feeling unwell so a lift would have helped. It was a reasonable question. It was not okay to laugh. (Continued below)

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

This is a central hostel from which it is easy to navigate the city of Bath. It is opposit the Hilton Hotel if you get lost. We had a private room which had a sink, chair and ample storage for our things. It also came with soap for washing. Do not forget to bring your own towel. The bathroom an toilets which are shared were clean and tidy at all times. There was alway hot water as well. The free morning breakfast is a good way to start the day. The Full English breakfast cost £3.50.


91%

Really liked the female bathroom. Really clean and with enough toilets and showers. Make all the difference in the rush time. Also liked the curtains in the beds, the lights and plugs for each bed as well.

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, very good breakfast, clean and comfy, free wifi, staff friendly. Would def stay again.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

The hostel needs a lift. When you are travelling with a heavy baggage is HORRIBLE go upstairs to the 3rd floor!!

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately a lift would have to be installed on Broad Street and unless we were willing to pay for 24hr door staff on Broad Street it would allow ANYONE to access the building. It would also cost the small matter of around £1000,000, so clearly not viable. If guests wish a lower floor, then they can ask on arrival and it may be possible to change their room.

57%

cramped room, verry hot and tiny. could hardly move around in the room. There where Homeless people drunk near the hostel and in the ally where you had to pass to go to the hosel. Wifi was not available. Staff was inpatient except an verry old lady who was verry vriendly and helpfull.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This was one of the BEST hostels I've ever stayed in. So much value for such a little price! Beds were spacious and comfy, staff were friendly, location was excellent, and breakfast was decent. I was very pleased with my experience!


89%

Good accommodation for the price and very central. Basic breakfast was fine and plentiful. On third floor so a lift would have been nice but appreciate most residents are much younger and fitter than me!

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

The noises in night made me feel crazy. One nigh there was even no electric. And l often got no hot water for shower.


86%

Good value for money. We stayed in a private double which was a clean but cozy. The location is great and all facilities are up to the standard you expect at a hostel.


89%

The room was very clean and the staff were very professional and so helpful. They were polite and accommodating and made the stay very enjoyable.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(159 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback