X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2819 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This is probably one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Great atmosphere, great staff, would stay at again if in the area. Would recommend highly to a friend.


89%

The mixed dorm had a slightly odd smell - not dirty or anything but slightly odd

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Seems a lot like an old, lower tier retirement home. Don't go here if you want to stay in a place that matches bath's charm and class, it will leave a sour taste in your mouth.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Fortunately for us, the vast majority of people disagree with you, as do the quality in tourism assessment board who regularly give us the highest rating that we can get (due to the fact our rooms aren't en-suite) which is a 3 star rating. We would encourage all our guests to give us some constructive advice about how to improve our hostel. Such advice will always be taken on board and action taken if we feel appropriate and costs permiting.

89%

Very safe, generous buffet breakfast,

  • 2nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

rGreat location to explore Bath and a lot of information was available at the hostel.The breakfast that was included was a big bonus and was tasty! Clean and comfy and quiet considering the central location. Would recommend to others and would stay again :)


83%

A nice hostel, quite big and impersonal but was still good. Wifi only in common rooms, rooms were nice with curtains around the beds, each with an outlet and light. Unfortunately if one person has their light on after dark it lights up the whole room though. Good location, not far from the Roman baths. Lots of hen nights/bachelor/bachelorette parties which can be annoying but was a good stay for me.


83%

It was difficult to sleep on Friday, and Saturday night when I stayed. The people in the square(front entrance )were so loud, and rowdy.. Screaming foul language, typical drunk behavior. It went on until 3:30 a.m. Not some thing I would like to experience again. Thank you.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. If it's on YMCA property then the night managers should have dealt with it, there is however an area below the hostel steps that we have no jurisdiction over. I will mention to our night duty managers the need to try and ensure that rowdy behaviour at the front of our building and on our premises needs to be dealth with.

94%

Such an awesome place to stay... right in the Centre. Staff are great. Room was quiet. Bathrooms very clean. Breaky for free. We even stayed an extra night. Would def recommend. Love bath!!!!


63%

Room was clean but had a musky smell to it. Toilets and Showers were pretty well kept. NO WIFI in rooms! Have to go downstairs and sit in the common room to get WIFI that is in and out every 2 minutes. If you are coming from a different country and need WIFI to plan your next days events, etc. this is not the place you want to do it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We will check the room out that you were in to see if the smell is still there. The likelyhood is that there is such a quick turnover from guests leaving and guests arriving that it is basically impossible at times to clear any bad odour from a particularly odouress room. We would urge guests to inform reception if their is any problem with their room and we may be able to move them, failing that, we do have some scented air fresheners that might help.

89%

Great place to stay and meet new people. Wish there had been a plug in our room though!! Had to charge our phones in the canteen! Other than that, a great experience!

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. There are plug sockets in all our private rooms, unfortunately some are obscured by the curtains. We did put a laminated not in all rooms to state this, unfortunately some may have gone astray.

91%

A perfect accomodation centre in agreat situation,all aspects of your wishes/requirements are spot on and there is the bonus of excellent staff and fellow wanderers.Will return with pleasant memories.Thank You

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean and comfortable. A little noisy during the night due to town centre location and people closing doors noisily.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location and room (every bed has his own lamp and plug). The breakfast was ok too. The bad this about this hostel is that you don't have a kitchen where you ca cook your own food. Only microwaves. Another thing, I know is not the hostel fault but in my room there was a weird guy who never left the room and when we came my friend was missing 20 euro from his bag....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We would encourage all guests in the dormitories to use the lockers for valuables or take them with them. Clothes aren's so much a problem and they have no sell on value. We cannot have cctv in the dorms themselves as it is totally illegal.

89%

The hostel was nice, clean. The staff was nice and helpful too. At night it was a little noisy, people slammed the doors quite a lot. On the second floor the ladies bathroom sink was blocked., wasn't noticed by the cleaners. When I booked the 2 rooms, it says "private shared bathroom", I assumed it meant, shared with the people in my room (private), but the bathroom was for everyone on the same floor, with cubicles. It was clean but not the same as private.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good hostel, with good rooms, beds and lockers. Satisfactory breakfast I had a little problem with the shower: the water was either too hot or cold. Not a party hostel for those who are looking for it!


89%

Great location and has the basics a hostel should have. No communal kitchen for cooking own meals is only down side.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Well maintained. Centrally located

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall nothing to worry about and everything you would expect from a good hostel. Quite calm. Very simple bedroom and showers, but the low price makes up for it.


100%

I loved the breakfast. The beds were very very comfy. The YMCA is centrally located and off street parking was not an issue. I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

New zealanders on a rosdtrip around the uk. Great location! Walking distance to everywhere. Reasonable price too. would definitely recommend and would happily stay again. thank you.


(125 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback