X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3163 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Hostel itself is clean and in a central location. No one could find the free parking which the hostel claims exists on its web site and there didn't appear to be many spaces outside the hostel for over night parking. We ended up parking in Charlotte st a 10 min walk away which is £16 for 12 hours. I would suggest not driving to Bath if you can help it and finding parking alternatives to the ones the hostel mentions.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The hotel doesn't claim free parking, the parking bit on the website is a link to various parking in the city. Charlotte Street car park states charges of £8.50 for 12hrs, this is because there is, as far as I'm aware, a nominal fee of £1 for overnight parking, thus, again as far as I'm aware, it's £9.50 for 24hrs.

91%

Loved this hostel, so central, nice welcome on checking in. Breakfast included in price is a bargain and only £3.50 for a hot breakfast if desired. We had a double room and had all we needed. The bathroom was clean, showers a little lacking in power but hot and never had to queue. We parked at Charlotte Street car park for 2 nights £17.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive comments, Staff work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to seeing you if visiting Bath again. Have a great Christmas. Best wishes Bath YMCA

91%

Had a great stay here in Bath! The beds in the dorm were comfortable, clean, and I particularly appreciated the curtains around the individual bunk beds. I thought the bottom 2 bunks could have had a bit more headroom though! Bathrooms were clean, breakfast much better than some hostels I've stayed in!


89%

This place is really good. They even provide free tea and hot water. The wifi and breakfast are included, the wifi is super fast and you can access it from your room. They even have tv, microwave in the dining room and you can use them any time. The front door of the hostel is really nice. The room for 2 persons are spacious.


83%

A bit expensive for a hostel like this

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It would be great if they provide USB hubs for charging the phones :) but the two people dorm is quite nice.


91%

Nice staff, good location with lots of pubs around where you can go for good food and cheap drinks. It was absolutely quiet (we had a twin private) and the shared bathrooms were spacious and clean. The breakfast included was also very good with fresh juices and fruits


89%

The hostel is very clean and staffs are so helpful and friendly. It is a little bit difficult to find the hostel and if you access by the entrance on Walcot street, have to climb up a flight of stairs but bath is small so it is very easy to get anywhere from this hostel. I have spent one night in a single room, so quiet, breakfast included and free wifi accessible from my room. A great stay, definetely come back!

  • 16th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Definitely stay here in Bath. The location is very easy to get anywhere, and is always staffed with friendly, helpful people. The bathrooms and dorms are nice, clean and spacious. I will stay again without question


80%

the toilet is too dirty。。。

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

The hostel was very dated. The room didn't appear to have been cleaned. On arrival there was no linen on the beds. On a positive note, the WIFI and location was excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The room in question is classed as a two bed dorm, hence the price. We do not make dorm beds, but issue fresh sheets and pillow cases to guests on arrival, or put them in the dorm ready. It is possible with 200 beds in the building that occassional a room guests missed when cleaning, but we would urge our guests to inform reception of any problems as soon as they are aware, it would then most likely be possible to sort out any issues.

71%

Bath YMCA is okay. But they have the best beds in town: curtains, as well as a personal light, outlet, and USB.


80%

Could have been cleaner but for 10 blokes on a rugby weekend it was value for money. Lack of shower facilities on top floor a issue.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Bath YMCA, is located in a great part of Bath but it can be a bit hard to find. The room was OK, I would suggest bringing your own blanket as the one provided was not very clean looking. Otherwise, it was a good experience.


86%

Staff were very friendly, the rooms were sizeable and clean and came with extra pillows. Bathrooms were very decent and the free breakfast was good.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your positive comments, staff take pride in offering a warm friendly welcome. We look forward to seeing you again if you are visiting Bath. Best wishes Bath YMCA

77%

It's a little bit inconvenient to find the toilet or bathroom, but overall it's great for value and a warm place to stay. Thank you very much.

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Location brilliant and central in Bath, but hostel quite dated and needs a refurb. Fine for a few nights. Would prefer if there were locks for the cubicle showers as felt anyone could come in as the female showers off a communal corridor but no locks..


69%

The hostel needs a facelift and an update, the facilities are good but the rooms are a bit dated.


74%

The single room itself was fine. it was big for a single room, including comfy chair and desk with chair. It is a pity there is no elevator in the building. Because I can't walk stairs very well. But I was only on the first floor and they offered help bringing my bag upstairs. The dining room is big and not very inviting. But for the price and location and I am very satisfied

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Breakfast was fair, rooms were ok


(82 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback