X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3191 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Bed linen nice and clean. Tops of units v.dusty Very helpful reception guy with excellent local knowledge Nice relaxed atmosphere Flexible booking arrangements very helpful

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Wonderful location, breakfast provided is good and plenty, bedrooms and showers are clean and neat. Really enjoyed the stay here :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Have a Happy New Year

37%

the bed room is not very clean expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Our apologies if you didn't find the dormitory clean enough, if would help if we knew just what wasn't clean as our cleaners service the dorms from 10am to midday every day. As for prices, the dorms have individual lights, plug points, usb points and curtains, also lockers, the price also includes a light breakfast, we had also cut our prices from £23 to £16 for the nights mentioned, that is really very cheap for Bath.

83%

Pleasant staff and a convenient stay in Bath

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It is nicely located close to the christmas markets and centre of town. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable, the only complaint was that our room was on the side of the entrance so someone coming in was rolling their luggage across the cobblestones in the middle of the night which was a bit annoying. But other than that everything else was pleasant.


91%

Neing a coeliac, normally even hotels don't provide gluten free bread - imagine my absolutel delight when they offered me white or brown! Excellent service, friendly and efficient.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location of the hostel is away from the main street which gives a quite but not remote setting. However, the dormitory I stayed at was near the main street. I got woken up by vehicle engine's sounds and the shouting and screaming of drunk people. I had a very poor quality of sleep for 2 consecutive nights

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

We booked two private rooms with twin bed, the room was great but the only short coming is the room is not en-suite. In the middle of the night while we were sleeping, very loud noise can be heard from the corridor made by other occupants, maybe can improve on sound-proof facility :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We are a hostel and I'm not aware of any hostels that have en-suite rooms and we would charge much more if our rooms were en-suite. As for soundproofing, it would be almost impossible to do anything that would alter noise levels within the rooms.

77%

This is a good clean hostel, with power points and curtains for every bed. Internet is only available downstairs in the foyer, which was a little inconvenient.


100%

We really enjoyed our stay. Everything was more than adequate and the staff were very kind. thank you very much!

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

We were thankfull to of found this accommodation. bath is so beautifull and central. There was no hassle in parking. Finding our way into town . the value for money was beyond excellent as breakfast was included. The option to pay for a cooked breakfast was appreciated. The continental breakfast was ample. we were warm and cosy on our stay. we would definitely return. The booking was also easy. a big plus. Thank you for making our stay so relaxed. sandra from devon

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments, staff work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay with us. We also agree that we offer good value for money in the centre of Bath amongst high priced hotels.

89%

Quite disappointing, I couldn't connect on internet from my room. Apart from this it is a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Our internet is now accessible from anywhere on the ground floor, 1st floor and left hand side of 2nd floor.

77%

Excellent location, though it is a little tricky to find from the Main Street. An easy walk from the train. Good basics breakfast, loved the free hot chocolate/coffee machine! It doesn't have a great deal of character but it's a good functional hostel with everything you need and efficient staff.

  • 30th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank for your positive comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you, if visiting Bath again. Best wishes Bath YMCA

57%

The location of this hostel was really good, very central and easy to get to all the tourist points around Bath. However, it is very much overpriced for what you get. I stayed in a twin bedroom room - the room had no finishing touches at all and was very run down (on moving the bed, the wallpaper was peeling etc.). The breakfast was ok but needed better maintained by staff i.e. ensuring there are bowls/plates, responding to customer requests and having cold milk (don't leave it out for so long!)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. Staff have checked the twin room you stayed in, as our rooms are painted they could not find any wall paper pealing off the walls - even behind the furniture. Pictures and room prices are shown on the website, we do not claim to be a hotel but a good quality hostel. In regards to the breakfast, the bowls/plates should replenished quickly, as we were fully booked this may have put additional pressure on staff which we apologise for.

77%

Hostel itself is clean and in a central location. No one could find the free parking which the hostel claims exists on its web site and there didn't appear to be many spaces outside the hostel for over night parking. We ended up parking in Charlotte st a 10 min walk away which is £16 for 12 hours. I would suggest not driving to Bath if you can help it and finding parking alternatives to the ones the hostel mentions.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The hotel doesn't claim free parking, the parking bit on the website is a link to various parking in the city. Charlotte Street car park states charges of £8.50 for 12hrs, this is because there is, as far as I'm aware, a nominal fee of £1 for overnight parking, thus, again as far as I'm aware, it's £9.50 for 24hrs.

91%

Loved this hostel, so central, nice welcome on checking in. Breakfast included in price is a bargain and only £3.50 for a hot breakfast if desired. We had a double room and had all we needed. The bathroom was clean, showers a little lacking in power but hot and never had to queue. We parked at Charlotte Street car park for 2 nights £17.

  • 28th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your positive comments, Staff work hard to ensure guests enjoy their stay. We look forward to seeing you if visiting Bath again. Have a great Christmas. Best wishes Bath YMCA

91%

Had a great stay here in Bath! The beds in the dorm were comfortable, clean, and I particularly appreciated the curtains around the individual bunk beds. I thought the bottom 2 bunks could have had a bit more headroom though! Bathrooms were clean, breakfast much better than some hostels I've stayed in!


89%

This place is really good. They even provide free tea and hot water. The wifi and breakfast are included, the wifi is super fast and you can access it from your room. They even have tv, microwave in the dining room and you can use them any time. The front door of the hostel is really nice. The room for 2 persons are spacious.


83%

A bit expensive for a hostel like this

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It would be great if they provide USB hubs for charging the phones :) but the two people dorm is quite nice.


(81 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback