X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3310 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Not the perfect place to stay (a bit too old) but it was cheap, clean and I could sleep easily.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for our comments. As each year goes by, more and more is being done to make things better for our guests. A few years ago all our private rooms were fully refurbished, then the dorms were fully refurbished. Reception is being done as I write this and we now have wifi throughout the building. Everything boils down to cost and time and is a case of prioritisation.

77%

Great location to explore Bath. I booked a single room and felt safe and secure. There were some homeless sleeping in the building's courtyard, but they seemed courteous and did not bother me. Sheets on the bed were clean, though carpeting was old and stained. Toilet facilities were clean, did not experience the shower. Overall perfect for a 1 night visit to Bath!

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. The homeless weren't sleeping in the YMCA courtyard, they were sleep in an area passed the steps to the YMCA courtyard. It's basically a walkway to get from Walcot Street to Broadstreet and vice versa. Unfortunately the area is nothing to do with the YMCA.

80%

Great location. Generous breakfast. All day tea/coffee service was very nice. Even had a book exchange corner. Enjoyed that quite a bit. The facilities are a little old but overall would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We are working on the facilities. Wifi is now throughout the building and the reception area is having a makeover with new seats and carpets. We have big plans for many areas of the YMCA, but it all takes time and money and is a case of prioritising what's needed most.

86%

Extremely good value budget accommodation in the heart of Bath. A little bit of noise in bedroom corridors at times, due to other guests letting doors slam. This appears to be largely due to the mechanical closers which are fitted. Perhaps they could be adjusted slightly, or maybe some sound deadening material on the door frames ? But it wasn't a major problem, and you get the same thing in Travelodges & Premier Inns etc.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall a good stay. By far the cheapest place to stay in Bath and central location. However the self closes on the doors did not work very well, which makes for a noisy night when people are moving about. Also I did not feel the lock on my window was very secure.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, the doors are meant to close on there own, although settings can move now and again, some guests however tend to push them together. As for the windows, even the windows on the 1st floor are 3 floors above street level on Walcot Street and the majority of the others are inaccessible from the front of the YMCA, for the rest you would need to have a ladder extended right outside the front doors of the YMCA which has a 24/7 reception as well as cctv

83%

A very pleasant stay - thank you. Our only problem was that people staying on the same floor came in very late at night and made a lot of noise which kept us awake for some time. Perhaps the reception desk could remind late arrivals to be as quiet as possible?

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The best were the signs in the toilet doors...They were hilarious...The place was nice and tamiable...he staff kind and amiable...The only thing is that it's a 30 minute walk till the Village and a 40' walk up hill to go back, so if you decide to go down to the village for a drink think about the long walk home...

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, but we think you may have gotten Bath YMCA mixed up with somewhere else, we are based in the city centre of Bath, with all the tourist attractions within about a 15 minute walk.

97%

This is an absolutely brilliant facility in the centre of Bath. We have only stayed in single rooms so don't know what the dorms are like. Single rooms are well appointed, have a lot of storage space, nice comfy but basic beds. Breakfast was help yourself to a buffet including tea, coffee, juice, toast , cereals of many kinds, fresh fruit, tinned fruit, yoghurt(jam, honey or marmite). ... all fresh. Communal showers/ loos basic but all lovely and clean.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

94%

Very friendly, helpful staff and great location!

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

97%

Lovely place, the only complaint that i have is that since this is a hostel and its bound to have lots of people in the summer and not only, there should be a full english breakfest available to buy every morning.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The location was hard to find coming from the train station. It was very tucked away from the main road and a sign out front on the main road would of made it a lot easier but when I would ask someone for directions they were very helpful. The front desk clerk was very friendly and helpful too. I stayed on Easter Sunday where a majority of the town shut down and he was very helpful in where I could find something for supper and with getting to the attractions around town.

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Unfortunately, due to strict regulations from the council, we are not allowed to put a sign up on the street side to show where we are.

86%

We arrived a little late so it was a problem for us to find the place. However, it was a perfect stay in YMCA, we love it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay

89%

Really enjoyed my stay it was good value for money as well. The hostel is located 10 mins away from all the main attractions to visit in Bath including the Avon River, the thermae and Roman spa, the shops and boutiques etc. Overall if you're looking for a short break at a low cost budget then go for YMCA!

  • 4th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Senegal
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay

66%

The female dorm was overheated, for the amount of people in the room you need to have a better temperature control. Also, you should have a shelf in the showers that you can put your stuff down, not just hooks. It

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. There are large fans in all our dorms for when it gets to hot, we will look into the possibility of shelves in the showers.

66%

有点难找,房间里有股味


80%

very good location, nearby the Roam Bath and the Pulteney Bridge, Free Wi-fi, but no at room. luggage storage need to pay - £.0.50 for small one, £1.00 for large one. Kitchen only have microwave can use. no washing faciliities, if you want to wash fruit, neet to go to toilet to do so. 2 person private room has wash basin inside that is convenient, but the mattress is very soft,


91%

Thankyou tge staff were very helpful for all our needs as international travellers

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • fvandort29435
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay.

83%

Very basic, but functional. I was very impressed with level of cleanliness and how quiet it was during the night. The atmosphere in the breakfast room is very bleak. Having a kettle in my room would have made a huge difference to my wellbeing.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, within a few minutes walk of all the major sights. Shower was warm the first time I used it (Thursday evening) but freezing when I tried to use it on a Friday morning. The atmosphere was not amazing, particularly on a weeknight, simply because there weren't a lot of people staying there, but it filled up over the weekend. Not many other backpackers, but that may be in part because of the time of year. Breakfast was good enough for a free breakfast. Overall I had a good stay!


83%

The location was great for exploring Bath and provided all basic needs. We are allergic to gluten so were excited when we booked to see they offered gluten-free options for breakfast. I went down to breakfast right when they opened though and they only had one "gluten-free" breakfast to offer! That wasn't going to feed three of us nor any other guests who may have needed it. So that was a disappointment, but they did have some fruit we could eat along with food we brought ourselves.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(100 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback