X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
3317 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Thankyou tge staff were very helpful for all our needs as international travellers

  • 31st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • fvandort29435
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, glad you enjoyed your stay.

83%

Very basic, but functional. I was very impressed with level of cleanliness and how quiet it was during the night. The atmosphere in the breakfast room is very bleak. Having a kettle in my room would have made a huge difference to my wellbeing.

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location, within a few minutes walk of all the major sights. Shower was warm the first time I used it (Thursday evening) but freezing when I tried to use it on a Friday morning. The atmosphere was not amazing, particularly on a weeknight, simply because there weren't a lot of people staying there, but it filled up over the weekend. Not many other backpackers, but that may be in part because of the time of year. Breakfast was good enough for a free breakfast. Overall I had a good stay!


83%

The location was great for exploring Bath and provided all basic needs. We are allergic to gluten so were excited when we booked to see they offered gluten-free options for breakfast. I went down to breakfast right when they opened though and they only had one "gluten-free" breakfast to offer! That wasn't going to feed three of us nor any other guests who may have needed it. So that was a disappointment, but they did have some fruit we could eat along with food we brought ourselves.

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I found the place very easy to be in and the only improvement I would make to it would be that the description of how to get there be ammended slightly to show that the entrance from one side has a set of steps and the other entrance is flat . This is important for older tourists. It was great.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We will look to see if anything can be done on the map side of things, unfortunately we are not allowed to put a sign out on Broad Street, which is the flat entrance, due to council restrictions.

71%

The only thing that detracted from our stay were the noise levels at night/in the morning. However, I appreciate there's not much the YMCA can do about external noise, but a large group did come back and were rather loud. Also, breakfast/check-out on a weekend could be a little later than 10am.

  • 12th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We do try and get people to behave quietly, but sometimes is an impossible task, unfortunately we cannot hear the noise on the stairs from reception. As for check out, we check out at 10am so that guests can check in at 12 noon, that gives us 2 hours to do a possible 120 beds, if we had later check out then it would be a later check in and quite a large number of guests arrive before 1pm in the afternoon.

94%

The room could have been cleaner ie dusted but on the whole a nice place to stay.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry about any dust in the room, the cleaners have a two hour window to service rooms and with 220 beds in the building things can sometimes get missed, especially if one of the housekeeping staff is off sick or on holiday.

86%

Friendly staff, good value for money, excellent location. Good hearty brekky.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

In the heart of bath. We had a great view out of our window. The breakfast was adequate too.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

86%

Nice hostel with friendly and helpful staff! Breakfast was also reasonable, especially compared to other hostels I have stayed in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

71%

The location was okay - about 20 min walk to main bus/train station. Bath is quite compact so no biggie. Rooms were very large


83%

Recommended Except for the noisy pub noising all the night


57%

Worst sleep I've ever had in a hostel, I have stayed in over 50 while travelling. The walls were so thin you could hear everything, I am a heavy sleeper but had no sleep for the two nights. Also you are meant to leave your key every time you leave the hostel but require no proof of who you are when you request the key back so essentially you could ask for any key and anyone could take yours.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Reception staff are meant to ask for booking name when handing keys out and by and large this is done. That being said, I have worked here 15yrs and there has never been a theft from a private room that a guest locked when going out. There is to much cctv for one thing, the other thing is a thief wouldn't know if the room was occupied and if we knew who was occupying it. As for noise, we can sort out noise on the premises if made aware, but can't with street noise.

63%

Check out time is too early(10:00), and the staff came to knock at our room at 10:05.... Also they charge you if you want to leave your luggage at the hostel for a few hours after you check out. And the information of the city is not much. Not really a youth hostel feel...

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. By checking out at 10am our arriving guests can check in by 12 midday. Many hotels and hostels check out between 9am and 10am and a lot of them don't start checking in until 1pm or 2pm in the afternoon. As for left luggage, many places in Bath won't store luggage at all. We did have lockers that were £3 a time to hire, we have gotten rid of these and feel 50p for a small bag and £1 for a large bag is more than fair for this service.

94%

Superb place highly recommended

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

thankyou for making my first stay in a ymca at the age of 52 very enjoyable.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and so glad you enjoyed your stay.

91%

It's very positive that the hostel has dorms with only two beds and that the bathroom was recently renovated. It's also rather quiet and the staff is friendly. Furthermore, we were happy to have a working radiator in our room. The breakfast was excellent for a hostel and there was a choice of different, actual coffees.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay. We do only have one two bed dormitory and one one bed dormitory, normally these are used by group leaders, but we are happy to use them for other guests when they aren't needed for that. Our other dorms range from a 10 bed dorm to an 18 bed dorm.

83%

The people and location are pleasant. Wifi refused to connect, and the lockers are metal cages under the bed with a heavy lid which may end up smacking the user in the back. I've still got scratches where the corner caught me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments, however, we believe you have mixed us up with another hostel as we don't have lockers under the beds, ours are stand alone ones. Many thanks, Bath YMCA

80%

Super clean, good location, very happy with our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and glad you enjoyed your stay.

100%

Such a lovely stay! The staff was incredible and the facility was well maintained. I did have to deal with two incredibly drunk men that came into the room at 4AM, but that is out of anyones control.

  • 24th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Apologies for the drunk men. We can't stop people getting drunk, but we can evict them if they cause a problem for other guests or ourselves and we would urge guests to inform us of anything that they feel requires this action to be taken.

(104 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback