X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
3122 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Rooms were brand new and lovely. Very clean. Breakfast was included which is nice. Wifi isn't so great though


80%

My Dormitory was very clean and the bed was in a very good codition. The internet connection though wasn't very good, it would be great if we could use the internet in the dormitory too.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We hope to, at some point in the future, have internet throughout the building, but it will be a large and costly operation and it's a case of prioritising where money it spent and there are more pressing issues that will take priority first. It would also be a bit pointless at present as our wifi isn't very good. We would like fibre optic, but have met opposition from the council, but hopefully will get it at some point.

71%

This place has something akin to a hospital vibe. It's great if you just need a clean bed and decent bathrooms for a couple of nights but terrible if you want to meet other travellors.


77%

Close to everything in Bath. Quiet great to get to sleep. Little bit crowded with three level bunk beds. Showers were a bit cramped could hardly turn around in one. Bathrooms could have been a little cleaner.


71%

the place is in great location, and people on the reception were super nice... but i had leave cause of bed bugs, got money back for the nights i didnt stay there...


91%

The hostel was very nice. Building, rooms, dining hall, and bathrooms were all very clean. I enjoyed how each bunk had curtains to allow for some privacy. Location was great, close to everything. Was a bit difficult to find at first, and I recommend that those with suitcases access the hostel from the Broad St entrance(s). From Walcot St, there is a long staircase, making it difficult with suitcases. But otherwise a fantastic location. Free Wifi only on ground floor and had to log in every time.


71%

Nice hostel, great location, a bit hidden but not to busy. Showers could be better, but were ok. Could be more atmosphere, now there's just a hallway and a boring restaurant, that's only busy in the morning.


83%

I had a wonderful stay and would defiantly return back in the future and the staff where very helpful and kind.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Rooms are clean and big enough. No possibility to plough in anything in the room. Wifi does only work in the lobby, and then only 10 percent. Breakfast tastes horrible in a horrible breakfast room but there is a bakery nearby.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Staff was excellent, customers not so much. Drunk people screaming outside untill 3 every night. Breakfast is basically toasted white bread with butter, delicious but not nutricious. Location is amazing, just take your breakfast in one of the little shops and stay is cheap.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I LOVED this place! The best hostel I've ever been into! Very nice, kind staff, always listening and giving suggestions. Nice free break-fast. Awesome room with special curtains for additional privacy. Comfy beds, with curtains and special individual lights.


69%

Noisy bedroom doors. Smelly carpet in the corridor. a self catering kitchen would be a plus.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

1. They should keep the toilets much cleaner. 2. my room's window couldn't be locked. 3. It was the first time I was charged for leaving my luggage one hour longer than the check-out time in a room they have in the back.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Our showers and toilets are cleaned daily between 10am and 12 noon, we also now have a couple of cleaners coming in of an evening to sort out any mess that has occurred during the day, so any mess in the toilets will have occurred between these times. As for locks of the windows, the room in question on the 1st floor is 3 floors up on Walcot street and someone would need an extended ladder to gain access, beside the fact the windows only open part way.

86%

Really good value compared to other B&B's and hotels in the area. Location was fantastic - right in the centre, with staff on the front desk 24 hours - fantastic! All we needed.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Worse internet connection.

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Shelves in the shower stalls would have been helpful, but a coat hanger on the hook would do the same job essentially. Staff were helpful and friendly. Did not try the breakfast so cannot comment. Just a 5 minute walk from the Abbey and central area for tourists. There were some sketchy characters in one of the alleys leading to the courtyard but I just took the next alley. Overall a pleasant experience.


23%

Our 12-bed dorm room had half a stag party, the rest were in another room. There was only 1 bed available to us, though we paid for 2. We told the staff, but they did nothing. We were woken up by a drunk (who wasn't even staying in our room) who took pictures of us sleeping & then a 2nd drunk who had left his things on 3 different beds, but was convinced we were sleeping in his. The room was also a mess without the stag party with whole suitcases emptied.


91%

Excellent location! pretty good breakfast. Nice and spacious room. 地點非常好,附近機能健全,免費早餐很豐盛,熱食加購價也不貴。我這次住雙人房,共用衛浴,房間乾淨,空間也夠,只可惜唯一一個插頭無法使用。

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was absolutely wonderful and really made an effort to ensure I was ok with the bathroom sharing situation. The bed was super comfortable, and excellent value for money. I had such bad experience the first and last time I stayed at a hostel: staying here has completely changed my view, thanks for the welcome!

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, good atmosphere, nice garden. Very noisy because of a nearby pub during the night.


(147 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback