X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2958 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

New zealanders on a rosdtrip around the uk. Great location! Walking distance to everywhere. Reasonable price too. would definitely recommend and would happily stay again. thank you.


86%

YMCA Bath is perfectly located, clean, and comfortable, and the staff are outstanding, especially Gabriel. One of our group needed medical attention, and Gabriel went out of his way to find a medical facility that would treat her and to arrange a cab for us to get there. I highly recommend YMCA Bath.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

WiFi was very frustrating.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

While the picnic tables are nice out front during the day st night gt hey encourage people to sit around a talk loud. As a result all the rooms facing the courtyard are very loud and it is hard to sleep. Should consider a curfew or having people dit inside to talk.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was good. The people were great. The only bad thing was the floor smelled a little bad.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really welcoming staff and lovely rooms altho' the beds were a bit creaky!

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Perfect location, the bathroom could be cleaner though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Our showers and toilets are cleaned daily between the hours of 10am and 12 midday. It is quite possible that guests staying for one day, who are allowed to check in before they've been cleaned, will find them messy from the guests who have stayed the previos night, by the same token, guests arriving later in the day may find the same situation from guests who have arrived earlier. We do not have cleaning staff here outside of the hours specified.

86%

Really enjoyed the stay. Would stay there again and recommend to others.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Whole place was spotless, we had a double room which was clean and comfy. Great location walking distance to the centre. Friends had a shared dorm, new bunk beds, clean, comfy, each bunk has it's own light and curtains for privacy. All round no complaints. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in, felt like any other hotel.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Showers were pretty bad. Beds were nice but absolutely no atmosphere or exciting staff. Not REALLY a hostel. Had an elementary school stay while I was there. Gets the job done if you are only staying for a night or two though.


89%

Big hostel without shared kitchen, we can use only microwave and hot watter from coffee machine. Bathrooms average. Hostel remember better times.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We have a restaurant here which is why we don't have a kitchen for guests to use. The restaurant doesn't open all the time, only when we have groups that book meals. It should also be mentioned that we, at present, supply crockery and cutlery for guests to use and also supply cups, milk and sugar for free for guests that bring there own supplies for hot drinks.

34%

It was very noisy at night. Apparently this hostel also houses homeless people as part of a charitable enterprise. They were drinking and yelling in the streets and courtyard of the hostel until after 3am. The women's shower was in the hallway with no lock on the door. One of my roommates was in the shower when a guy came in and used the shower as well. The only partitions were flimsy curtains. I moved out and had to find another place on short notice. Also, faint odor of urine throughout.


97%

We had a great stay at Bath YMCA. It is a lovely hostel that is so incredibly central in this beautiful city. Our room was airy, light and clean. The staff were amazing and the free breakfast was great. We had a great time here and would definitely stay again :)


97%

the quilt is not as clean as the other bedding but generally it is well

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We do not change quilt covers every day, they are done at certain periods of time, unless of course we notice one that is dirty or one is brought to our attention. The reason being that they are washed in house and with approximately 220 beds in the building we would need to contract it out and employ more staff to fit them each time they are used, that would sent room prices soaring. If guests use a top and bottom sheet then the duvettes should stay clean.

86%

Very friendly and welcoming staff - willing to store our bikes inside in a meeting room when the bike racks outside were full. Great location, clean room and hot shower with a filling free breakfast. Would recommend.

  • 4th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place to stay... even with a little two year old boy :-)


66%

I got confusing instructions from staff re tea bags available at reception & on the Monday a cooked breakfast was offered and I took it to mean that it replaced the usual semi-continental fare; I was lectured later by one of the staff for "stealing". I especially wanted a quieter dorm so the 2bed was ideal except the beds squeaked so badly that I woke up every time anyone turned over. I took advantage of the gym facilities which were excellent. The women's bathroom could do with a lock


77%

It was a nice place to stay in bath with a solid location and awesome bedrooms with lockers and privacy curtains with bed lights and plugs. Not much for cooking facilities just a microwave. The only issue I had was the size of the showers r very small and was even hard to move around to wash, other than that I would for sure recommend as a great value for your money to sty in bath


80%

Perfect location to walk to almost anything you are in Bath to see or do. The dorms and facilities are simple and in good condition . The wi-fi only works downstairs in the main area, but is a good connection there. The staff are friendly and helpful and know Bath very well. It's fine for a couple of nights, but if you're after luxury, you'd be in the wrong place. For the price it's a decent deal.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Good atmosphere, clean bathrooms, bright room, there is a supermarket nearby, a good choice at Bath!

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(196 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback