X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bath YMCA Reviews

International House, Broad Street Place, Bath, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2978 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

A perfect accomodation centre in agreat situation,all aspects of your wishes/requirements are spot on and there is the bonus of excellent staff and fellow wanderers.Will return with pleasant memories.Thank You

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean and comfortable. A little noisy during the night due to town centre location and people closing doors noisily.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Good location and room (every bed has his own lamp and plug). The breakfast was ok too. The bad this about this hostel is that you don't have a kitchen where you ca cook your own food. Only microwaves. Another thing, I know is not the hostel fault but in my room there was a weird guy who never left the room and when we came my friend was missing 20 euro from his bag....

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We would encourage all guests in the dormitories to use the lockers for valuables or take them with them. Clothes aren's so much a problem and they have no sell on value. We cannot have cctv in the dorms themselves as it is totally illegal.

89%

The hostel was nice, clean. The staff was nice and helpful too. At night it was a little noisy, people slammed the doors quite a lot. On the second floor the ladies bathroom sink was blocked., wasn't noticed by the cleaners. When I booked the 2 rooms, it says "private shared bathroom", I assumed it meant, shared with the people in my room (private), but the bathroom was for everyone on the same floor, with cubicles. It was clean but not the same as private.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Very good hostel, with good rooms, beds and lockers. Satisfactory breakfast I had a little problem with the shower: the water was either too hot or cold. Not a party hostel for those who are looking for it!


89%

Great location and has the basics a hostel should have. No communal kitchen for cooking own meals is only down side.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Well maintained. Centrally located

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall nothing to worry about and everything you would expect from a good hostel. Quite calm. Very simple bedroom and showers, but the low price makes up for it.


100%

I loved the breakfast. The beds were very very comfy. The YMCA is centrally located and off street parking was not an issue. I would definitely recommend this to others.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

New zealanders on a rosdtrip around the uk. Great location! Walking distance to everywhere. Reasonable price too. would definitely recommend and would happily stay again. thank you.


86%

YMCA Bath is perfectly located, clean, and comfortable, and the staff are outstanding, especially Gabriel. One of our group needed medical attention, and Gabriel went out of his way to find a medical facility that would treat her and to arrange a cab for us to get there. I highly recommend YMCA Bath.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

WiFi was very frustrating.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

While the picnic tables are nice out front during the day st night gt hey encourage people to sit around a talk loud. As a result all the rooms facing the courtyard are very loud and it is hard to sleep. Should consider a curfew or having people dit inside to talk.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was good. The people were great. The only bad thing was the floor smelled a little bad.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really welcoming staff and lovely rooms altho' the beds were a bit creaky!

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Perfect location, the bathroom could be cleaner though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. Our showers and toilets are cleaned daily between the hours of 10am and 12 midday. It is quite possible that guests staying for one day, who are allowed to check in before they've been cleaned, will find them messy from the guests who have stayed the previos night, by the same token, guests arriving later in the day may find the same situation from guests who have arrived earlier. We do not have cleaning staff here outside of the hours specified.

86%

Really enjoyed the stay. Would stay there again and recommend to others.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Whole place was spotless, we had a double room which was clean and comfy. Great location walking distance to the centre. Friends had a shared dorm, new bunk beds, clean, comfy, each bunk has it's own light and curtains for privacy. All round no complaints. One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in, felt like any other hotel.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Showers were pretty bad. Beds were nice but absolutely no atmosphere or exciting staff. Not REALLY a hostel. Had an elementary school stay while I was there. Gets the job done if you are only staying for a night or two though.


89%

Big hostel without shared kitchen, we can use only microwave and hot watter from coffee machine. Bathrooms average. Hostel remember better times.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your comments. We have a restaurant here which is why we don't have a kitchen for guests to use. The restaurant doesn't open all the time, only when we have groups that book meals. It should also be mentioned that we, at present, supply crockery and cutlery for guests to use and also supply cups, milk and sugar for free for guests that bring there own supplies for hot drinks.

(203 results)


View all Bath Hostels

Please give us your feedback