Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Batman Fawkner Inn

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 215 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Aug 2017
9.1

Good place, cheap, bed was a bit creaky, but otherwise pretty comfortable. A bit lifeless, with not much going on, but having said that, my stay was mid-week in the middle of winter, so there wasn't much going on anywhere i went in tassie!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
6.9

IF YOU WANT TO SLEEP DO NOT STAY HERE DURING THE NIGHTS THE CLUB IS OPEN! Music was blasting from 10pm-2am. The bass was so loud it shook our room. Did not sleep at all that night. Other then that the place is fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jun 2017
9.7

Staff were really helpful. Room was great, the kitchen was small but had everything you could wish for and a big common area so it was really easy to meet people. Just around the corner from the main area so great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • hapfroggy7027
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
8.0

Overall good. Very central location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.9

This hostel is an old building, but is clean and has fairly good facilitelies. The staff are very friendly and accommodating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • languageloony
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jun 2017
9.4

Highly recommend this hostel. Staff are kind and helpful. On-site facilities include large kitchen and laundry. Rooms are clean and cozy having only two beds per room. Location is conveniently located near downtown. Everything is just a short walk away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
10.0

Good stay in Launceston during my round tas trip , kitchen is big

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th May 2017
6.6

the mattress in 4 bed dorm, at least in 10B sucks. it is squicky, feels like spring is going to pop out any minute and my back hurts from sleeping on that horrible mattress. its good they have a bathroom in each room tho. big communal area w kitchen is a plus.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th Apr 2017
6.0

Not sure why other people rated it so highly. Basically, the rooms need some investment. Bunk beds wobbled when someone walked on the floor, let alone moved in bed. No locks on bathroom doors which I was told is standard. May be ok for some but when sharing with strangers, it's not for me. Bathroom door in second room didn't close all the way: not ideal in a mixed dorm. Missing rung on bunk ladder, bits in doona cover when laid on bed, smell upon entry to room. I didn't enjoy my stay in short.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with the Batman Fawkner Inn. We are rated highly as with a limited number of people per dormitory, each with their own en suite, we offer unbeatable value. Our staff have a high standard of customer service to adhere to, which reflects on the cleanliness of our rooms, and in addressing issues. We are disappointed that in this instance you received a bed that was missing a rung on the bunk. Once we were made aware, which we regret was not sooner, we requested our maintenance team rectify this immediately. We also requested our maintenance team check all bathroom doors after we received your review. They did not report any issues with closure. It is correct that we do not have locks on our bathroom doors due to the regulations we are required to meet. If guests report any issues with this we do what we can to address their concerns. Thus far the only issues we have experienced regarding not having locks on our bathroom doors is one or two guests feeling uncomfortable, which we understand. Our doona covers are cleaned upon every check out. The only thing we can think of is that lint from the dryer fell on to your bed, or that the doona cover was new. We did not see the incident therefore can unfortunately not determine the exact cause. We addressed your concern at the time regarding the smell by ensuring your room mates were being hygienic, for instance washing their clothes, not leaving wet clothes in the room and not leaving food in the room. We are fortunate that most guests respect the comfort of others, however when this does not occur we address it immediately. We hope to welcome you again in the future. If so, we would be happy to offer you a private room to ensure your peace of mind.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.