X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bavaro Hostel Reviews

Bavaro, entr. Los Corales, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
121 Total Reviews
  • 69%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 77%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Lovely little place, glad we got the private room and was happily surprised it even had a couch! Lots of space, too bad we never had time to use the kitchen though. Kat's right next door is awesome and love their jalapeno sauce and burritos!!!! The little hut on the beach down the street that sells fish is awesome too!


100%

Private bedroom. Everything was just perfect. Almost private bathroom. staff very nice and helpful. A great place to stay. Close to the beach and close to the drink point ;)


80%

Great location and friendly staff, really helpful in guiding us around the area and recommending how to travel around the other areas of the DR! Only downside was on-and-off water source, with one bathroom things got a little gross quickly. But, Gill, the owner, was nice and offered an alternative place to shower. Large kitchen area enables cooking which is nice, a grocery store is nearby!


57%

We were happy to be able to stay at a hostel while in Punta Cana instead of one of the all-inclusive hotels. That's just not the way we like to travel. No big complaints overall, but the staff was not very friendly or helpful. In fact, they couldn't really give any suggestions about what to do around the area. As far as security, we had a thief get into our "private apartment" which has two rooms in it. Luckily the people in the other room were there to catch him and he ran away.


80%

Great location, the owner is great, the hostel its self is pretty nice, only problem I had was with the attitude with the receptionest but besides that I do recommend staying here :)


57%

Good location but the hostel itself is sorta disappointing. Only one bathroom for 2 rooms of bunk beds, noisy, no breakfast provided, screens missing from windows and there are mosquitos... Not sure how this place had so many positive reviews, I mean its not horrible but I felt like it was way overpriced for what it offered... then again it is right near the beach among all the stupid expensive all inclusive resorts so I guess it can get away with it.

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Breakfast Please!


69%

The owner is not present and not diligent in general up keep and keeping the place fresh. Cleanliness and organization could be improved. Most window screens are torn or absent. The owner clearly doesn't want to invest much in keeping the place in tip top shape.


54%

There were so many things wrong there isn't space here to list them. No breakfast provided , so false advertising. In the last 5 years we have travelled to 7 countries and even when backpacking through china and costa rica, never felt so ripped off by a place. The kitchen was poorly equipped and had leaky gas. "Deluxe double" was a bad, expensive joke.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! We're sorry for the confusion about breakfast, all of the booking sites we have direct partnership with reflect that we do not serve breakfast (including this one), and we had written the other one to please change their information and it has been resolved (finally!)- thank you for bringing this to our attention. We have extra dishes in the main kitchen if more are needed , and English speaking staff in the reception. who happily help with any issues when/if they are reported.

80%

Bavaro Hostel is very well located, the area is very safe and supermarkets etc are very close to it. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Some improvement should be done on cleanliness and building maintainance. Could be provided some apparel to put clothes while drying. When we read the included services breakfast was in it, though that wasn´t happening while this would be a very good service for the price being paid (by far much more expensive than in many other places in SA)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thank you for staying with us :). We're sorry for the confusion about breakfast, all of the booking sites we work with directly reflect that we do not serve breakfast (some sites provide misinformation- we have written several times to rectify this and it has now been resolved), we have full kitchen facilities for our guests to use and there are several bakerys/restaurants a short distance from the hostel. Hope to see you again soon! :)

77%

Average hostel. It needs basic housekeeping such as fixing the window screens and fixing the wooden lockers. Good experience considering it was a hostel.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


46%

I've stayed in hostels all over the world and this is one of the worst I've stayed in. It shows that there is a lounge area to hang out, but there isn't, it's a dark room with deflated bean bags and a TV that im not even sure works. All the beds were full, yet I never met a single person cuz there's nowhere to hang out. The food place downstairs has excellent breakfast burritos, just expect to wait at least 20 mins for it. It's the only hostel in the area, short walk to the beach, only plus.


89%

really enjoyed our stay, the hostel is only a short walk to the beach and has a number of bars and cafes in the immediate vicinity. if passing through Punta Cana, i'd recommend staying here!


89%

A few blocks from the beach, several restaurants nearby,friendly staff,only downside- bed in our private was very uncomfortable and dirty(stained sheets)




View all Punta Cana Hostels

Please give us your feedback