X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bay Adventurer Apartments and Backpackers Resort Reviews

28 Kings Rd, Bay of Islands, Paihia, New Zealand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
302 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 75%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Has the potential to be amazing. Rooms are a good size and the showers are hot and powerful but Staff too interested in drinking to clean any part of the hostel well. Kitchen is disgusting and the pool is only good the day it's cleaned. Laundry everywhere and no adheres to any rules.

  • 27th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We came to your backpackers 8 years ago and were so impressed with the value for money that we actually recommended it to friends who would never have even considered staying at a backpackers. They were also impressed. Unfortunately, 8 years on, the apartment we stayed in upstairs was a bit run down with badly stained carpet and windows that looked like they hadn't been cleaned in ages. Other things there were great though and making good upgrades. I guess we were just unlucky.

  • 23rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

the rooms were just decent, while the kitchen was almost impassable so the pots were dirty


86%

Good value for money staff were awesome great stay would come back next year and would also recommend to others well done

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Kitchen area was very dirty along with hot tub and smelled bad.. Rooms were pretty small but decently clean. Free wifi all the time which was very nice and staff was friendly and nice.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Place was overbooked. We were placed in another unit that was not what we have booked for the first night.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

I only stayed here briefly and didn't really use the facilities such as the kitchen and common room but the staff were really welcoming and friendly and there was a good sociable atmosphere.


54%

The showers could be cleaned more than once a day as the sanitary bins and rubbish bins were completely full and filthy. Also the kitchen utilities could be nicer and newer.


60%

OK hostel in good location. Kitchen and bathooms quite dirty at times.


100%

Best facilities, great staff

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Sweet hostel! Good people!


54%

Dirty kitchen, wouldn't recommend if you want it quiet at night and no party going on


69%

There was only one roll of toilet paper a day and on the1st day, someone threw it out the window. The bathroom didn't have any bathmats in it on the first night, so someone had left a soaking towel in there which was conveniently draped over the bath, so it was also dripping on to the already saturated lino floor. The floor of the shower was filthy on the first night (I had to wear my jandals) and the shower flooded on both of the nights we stayed there. I doubt we will return.

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


51%

This is the filthiest, most revolting hostel I have ever stayed in. The shower curtains were mouldy; the floor in kitchen and ensuite were filthy with a mass of hair and muck in the corner; no toilet paper; broken washing machine; pool was a sick-making dirty green colour; the kitchen was a mess of food, cutlery, glasses and rubbish all around the place. The main problem is that hungover residents are the 'cleaners'. Staff clearly don't give a toss about anything other than having a good time.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Its a nice backpackers! But the kitchen is very dirty and nearly no space in the fridge!!! And there is just 1 bike and 1 kayak so if you are a couple or traveling with someone you can't do it..

  • 11th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Bay adventures was a brilliant location, close to the beach and town in Paihia. We had a double room which was spacious and had a really comfortable bed. And an ensuite toilet, which we weren't aware of and was an added bonus. The staff were really helpful and friendly. The shower facilities were good, the kitchen not so much. As said in most of the other reviews it was messy and people hadn't bothered to wash up, which was a big shame and let the place down! The wifi and bikes were not great!


74%

When we arrived, no staff member was on site and we had to wait for about 30 minutes. Tried to ring the mobile number but nobody answered. Cupboards in the room were not cleaned, neither was the carpet. The room is small for six people to stay, specially if you don't know each other. Kitchen was fine, but the ladies bathrooms... Paper overflowing rubbish bin, dirty hand basins. The location is great, very close to the centre with pubs and restaurants. And still it is quiet during the night.


100%

Had an awesome time. Staff were sound and the facilities were clean. Thanks Manuel and Empa

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Absolutely loved my stay here at Bay Adventurer. Great facilities, especially the new secondary kitchens and bathrooms. Heaps of cool extras like free wifi, free international calls, pool, hot tub etc. Staff were excellent and made heaps of recommendations for activities in the area. Space and cleanliness of the kitchen is great now that there is a second kitchen. Very social place at this time of year and met heaps of great people. I would definitely stay here again!!


66%

Friendly staff but very untidy kitchen. Stayed for a week and room wasn't cleaned at least once!!! Would not recommend to go there!

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(42 results)


View all Paihia Hostels

Please give us your feedback