Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bay Adventurer Apartments and Backpackers Resort

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 608 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.7

Really good Hostel, did the job. Really cool atmosphere. Wifi not the best, but thats what happens in small town NZ. The lady who checked us in recommended the Haruru falls take aways to us and it was one of the best burgers I've ever had, so good local knowledge I guess haha. I would defiantly stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
9.7

Had a double bed in a normal dorm all to myself! Free tennis is sweet but WIFI unreliable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Nice hostel, very comfy bed, clean and in a good area. Definitely worth the money!. Staff were friendly however, they did not like people staying past check out at 10am which did make things a bit awkward at times. Facilities were good but the showers only provided hot water for 8minutes.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
6.6

Very very noisy which made sleeping difficult. Bathrooms basic but clean enough. Kitchen awfully messy- dishes and food everywhere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2017
10.0

cheaper than hostel kiwi experience but us with. freindly staff. lively place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.4

Great hostel but we had a few issues with the communal areas being taken over by long termers that made most new people feel a little uncomfortable and so we ended up using the 2nd kitchen like most people with barely any hobs that worked and no where near enough plates and cutlery and pans. And the sofas were laughable! They could definitely do with an update but they did have a pool and a hot tub which would have been nice to use If it didn't rain the whole time we were there!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
9.4

Quality place to meet people. Dorm even had a double bed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Feb 2017
10.0

Can't fault this place and cheaper than base.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jfoley2017
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Feb 2017
4.6

We stayed in a 6 bed dorm (4 of us) but in arrival we were told that only 3 could stay together on our first night s they had screwed up. The place was a mess. Kitchen filthy, fridges rammed so full they wouldn't close, swimming pool dirty, other long term tenants were rude and blocked pathways and smoked weed. The manager was apologetic of the blocked shower drains and we received a full refund for our last 2 nights (originally booked for 5 days) and we moved. Not as advertised

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
12th Feb 2017
7.7

Wifi came and went, but was free. Had a pool and hot tub. The main kitchen was very busy all the time, but they did have another one. Right by the beach! I managed to have a double bottom bunk 👍No lockers in my room though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.