Hostelworld.com

Bazils hostel & Surf school

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 142 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.3

Nice hostel in a good location to the town but a 45 minute walk from the beach. Room was nice, small but clean and we were lucky to be the only two people in there. Kitchen was great, well equipped and a decent size. We would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Jan 2017
7.1

Staff were ok. Facilities pretty decent. It's a bed at least, in a place you don't need to stay any longer than one day for

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
30th Jan 2017
7.1

Advertising on site says "we sell sleep." No drinking after 9, quiet after 10. Around midnight, after having asked to turn the volume down on the tv, my partner and I were able to sleep. We didn't want to wake up the staff, causing a scene and having awkwardness of those guests the next day. Staff obviously weren't enforcing in the least bit their hostel rules, causing almost no sleep for us. They also shut down the stoves until they wake up the next morning which means late breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Jan 2017
8.9

Really nice homely hostel with good kitchen and free unlimited wifi - hooray! Shame you can't pick the hostel up and move it somewhere nicer than Westport...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
16th Jan 2017
8.3

Nice place to stay if you're passing through the town. One night is probably enough to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
5.4

I got there very tired as can happen with travellers, just wanted to take off my shoes, lay on the bed and make some arrangements and cancellations for my journey.. I was already checked in.. The recepcionist refuse to give me the wifi password, he said something like, I have to finish checking in like 2 buses of people before giving you the wifi password.. What that has to do with me?..

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 33 reviews
4th Jan 2017
9.4

Awesome hostel. Super friendly staff and also very helpful. Highly recommend to all!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
9.4

This is a great hostel if you want to relax and chill out! Great atmosphere, great facilities, staff friendly and helpful and the hostel is next door to an excellent gym - only $6 for entry and full use. Also near a few nice cafes and restaurants. Free unlimited wifi. Surfing and paddle boarding run from the hostel every day, weather permitting. Mountain bikes also available to rent. Highly recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Dec 2016
9.4

Very nice hostel and facilities in excellent condition; friendly and helpful owners and staff with ideas on what to do in Westport and surrounds. Nice room, even though it was small and the room itself did not have lockers. All in all the hostel has great vibes and I throughly enjoyed my stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
8.9

Great little hostel, in a fantastic location, with fantastic hang out areas in the kitchen and lounge. Only sour points are a lack of lockers for smaller items, although that seem to be a theme on the South Island - the receptionist, Tom, did offer to store any high-value items behind the counter however. The Kiwi Experience does stop here, so there are 20+ people arriving everyday at around 4pm, although they leave before 9am the next day - great to meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.