Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 726 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.5
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro Located at Rua Guilhermina Guinle 95, , Rio de Janeiro.
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro 22270-060 Rua Guilhermina Guinle 95
74% 726
-22.9513592 -43.1882965
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th Jul 2016
6.6

This hostel is one of the worst I have stayed at but also one of the cheapest so I guess you get what you pay for. The triple bunks give you very little room to move and our 9 bed dorm had one socket for the whole room. The lockers are not in the rooms. The common area always smells like smoke because it opens onto the smoking area. The staff seem like they can't be bothered doing anything. The 'buffet' breakfast was minimal and we were told we could only serve ourselves once. Too many rules.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have a great service. Our rooms are spacious and the 9 ned dorm you are talkimg about you got as an upgrade since you booked a 15 bed dorm. You are welcome! We do not allow people to smoke inside the hostel. Only outside but smoke is smoke, we cant do much about it. You are paying a rate pf R$20 and want to have a buffet breakfast to eat as much as you want? Come on! Be reasonable!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
8.9

This hostel was so much better than the more expensive one I stayed at. Spacious, clean common areas and kitchen, clean sheets and mattresses, and I was able to do work on the computers! Incredible value for the cost, especially in rio(:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
6.9

Hostel had a horrific urine smell that was very strong in the common areas!! The rules you sign off on are a bit much (felt like I was 10)! Also, get some order to the chaotic breakfast in the morning!! And this is for the owner...Get the guy some help at night with the bar and check-ins!!!!! Happy hour that offers drinks is almost impossible to obtain since there is only ONE person doing it all!!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you had this uncommon experience about this strange smell you speak of. Its good to know that you are responsible and dont need to be aware of check out time and other important info about the hostel. But we need to inform every guest about our rules upon check in. We are sorry if it bothers you. There are 2 people working during the afternoon.

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
10.0

During my short staying at the hostel i had so much fun. Everything and everyone was fantastic, and I'm still surprised because of the price. It was really cheap and incredibly amazing. I'll definitely stay there again and I DO recommend this hostel to all my friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bobmilkyway
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Mar 2016
8.3

The Staff, especially Juan was amazingly helpful and organized. The location was great at just a few blocks from the Botofogo metro station. Lockers are being reconstructed as many were damaged by water and I highly recommend that you use a locker as your valuables and food will disappear. I lost food as I was cooking unfortunately. The room I stayed in 15 beds had a nice big bathroom and A/C with a few extra bathrooms outside the dormitory. The price was great and a great stay had.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Mar 2016
2.9

Hello. Not worht going there, even if you got paid for it.... don't use your money. Extremely dirty (pee on th floor, garbage everywehere, lots of insects. Aircondition didn't really work. The staff couldn't seem like they cared less about anything. The breakfast was terrible, only the cheapest imaginable bread, with butter (that obviously had been out of the fridge for at least 10 hours, and therefroe with flies and insects in it. :-(

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Our hostel HAS NO insects and we have a 16hs cleaning service, more than any regular Hotel. Our staff is there to help out all the guests and not to do personal favors as you were forcing them to do for you. Breakfast is good and matches the price you pay for your stay. The lady in charge of it ALWAYS takes good care of it. Please stop writing unreliable cooments.

18th Mar 2016
8.0

No keycards for the rooms! Noisy beds, but overall is a good hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
8.3

Juan es el jefe. Give this man a raise.. he deserves it. Super helpful and accommodating. Hostel itself has a good location close to metro and a long walk to the beaches. Great value for money. Always people hanging out. Not a quiet place if that's what you want though. Could use a couple more bathrooms but I highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Mar 2016
8.9

staff were great, really friendly and helpful. good value for money and good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2016
6.6

All I want to say is the Manager Juan is an awesome guy if it wasn't for him that place would truly suck ! He handles every situation with so much care and takes the time to talk to everybody and goes above and beyond. Thanks Juan :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.