Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 746 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 746 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.0
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 5.8
  • Facilities 6.4
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro Located at Rua Guilhermina Guinle 95, , Rio de Janeiro.
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro 22270-060 Rua Guilhermina Guinle 95
72% 746
-22.9513592 -43.1882965
Beach Backpackers Hostel Rio de Janeiro
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • icturner
  • British Indian Ocean Territory, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 34 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
10.0

It's not totally perfect but, for the extremely low cost, it is. Most of the staff are very professional and helpful, especially Andrés and Bernardo. (However, one breakfast woman is pedantic about what you can have while conversely contaminating all the food with the same tongs.) There are triple bunks but they are comfortable enough and (for once!) have proper ladders that are comfortable to go up and down. The bathrooms are pretty good, although too few. Large kitchen and common area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
6.3

This hostel is great for socializing, but there is no quiet spot anywhere. Everybody ends up cramping around the common area in the evening and hoping to get a seat. The hostel was oversold during our stay and had 3 people sleeping in the common room and one girl on the floor in our small 8 bed dorm (Olympics). They ran out of pillows, so we slept without one. The staff will help, but you have to ask. Kitchen seemed good, but never used it. The crowd made everything felt subpar for $18 a night.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

A great location nearby the metro station, and in Botafogo you can easily get to both Copacabana, Santa Teresa or Lapa. Furthermore Botafogo itself has a more local nightlife, which is cool to be a part of. The common areas and happy hour makes it a great place to meet other people. The only problem is the amount of toilets and how the constantly wasn't working properly. Would definetely recommend this place to others.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Aug 2016
3.7

I would definitely not recommend. You can get much cleaner, friendlier, better equip and more comfy hostels in the same areas for less money. The manager is very shirty and sly in some ways. We weren't allowed into the hostel before we had paid and it felt like he was just after our money. The beds are triple bunk beds and very creaky, when anyone in the cramped room moves it makes a horrendous noise. Cleaning twice a day would be great if they activly cleaned and didn't do it to tick a box.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
4.0

Kitchen utilities are old and over damaged, not safe to use, staff speaks english but not helpful, hostel is too crowded, the capacity should be half of the current one to be able to have space for everyone, there are too less bathrooms and one of them is always out of order and they are not clean. Other than that location is perfect Botafogo is one of the best locations you can stay at, hostel is close to bus&metro you can reach anywhere in Rio easily. Not good for alone travellers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, we will be replacing the kitchen equipment. Our staff is very helpfull and we have bathrooms all over the hostel and inside the rooms as well. It is a Hostel!!!! We hope you stay with us next time and have a better stay.

  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
10.0

Love it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Cyprus, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2016
6.6

This hostel is one of the worst I have stayed at but also one of the cheapest so I guess you get what you pay for. The triple bunks give you very little room to move and our 9 bed dorm had one socket for the whole room. The lockers are not in the rooms. The common area always smells like smoke because it opens onto the smoking area. The staff seem like they can't be bothered doing anything. The 'buffet' breakfast was minimal and we were told we could only serve ourselves once. Too many rules.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We have a great service. Our rooms are spacious and the 9 ned dorm you are talkimg about you got as an upgrade since you booked a 15 bed dorm. You are welcome! We do not allow people to smoke inside the hostel. Only outside but smoke is smoke, we cant do much about it. You are paying a rate pf R$20 and want to have a buffet breakfast to eat as much as you want? Come on! Be reasonable!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
8.9

This hostel was so much better than the more expensive one I stayed at. Spacious, clean common areas and kitchen, clean sheets and mattresses, and I was able to do work on the computers! Incredible value for the cost, especially in rio(:

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
6.9

Hostel had a horrific urine smell that was very strong in the common areas!! The rules you sign off on are a bit much (felt like I was 10)! Also, get some order to the chaotic breakfast in the morning!! And this is for the owner...Get the guy some help at night with the bar and check-ins!!!!! Happy hour that offers drinks is almost impossible to obtain since there is only ONE person doing it all!!!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry to hear that you had this uncommon experience about this strange smell you speak of. Its good to know that you are responsible and dont need to be aware of check out time and other important info about the hostel. But we need to inform every guest about our rules upon check in. We are sorry if it bothers you. There are 2 people working during the afternoon.

8th Apr 2016
10.0

During my short staying at the hostel i had so much fun. Everything and everyone was fantastic, and I'm still surprised because of the price. It was really cheap and incredibly amazing. I'll definitely stay there again and I DO recommend this hostel to all my friends

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.