Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beachside Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 437 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 9.2
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Sep 2017
10.0

The rating stops at 10/10 I tried to write 12/10 would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for being an awesome guest and getting involved in the fun! We made this little hostel for fun people like yourself!

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2017
6.6

No lockers to store their things, the best you get is putting it under a pool table in the common area for it to be "watched". The bathrooms were actually clean and so was the kitchen aside from a few cockroaches running around the countertops. Mixed feeling about staff, were kind enough to let me stay after check out until my bus arrived but it seemed it just depended on who you talked to. Watched the staff get drunk and take food from guests right in front of them. Wouldn't recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey hey team, Thanks for the compliments on our cleanliness! There are lockers under the beds in every room including the room you stayed in. After you check out we do allow guests to store their things under the pool table. If you have anything really valuable just ask and we will put it in a locked office... The staff do quite often have drinks at night with the guests, we love a sociable atmosphere where everyone can chat and talk about life and have fun. I have no idea about this food thing but i imagine it was just a bit of fun between a staff member and another staff member who you were not aware was a staff member as they were not on shift. None of the staff would take food unless it was in jest with another staff member or guest they were friends with.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2017
10.0

staff was cool and fun to hang with. Very social atmosphere, great place to stay if you are traveling alone and want to meet new people. Cool artsy vibe and VERY close to the beach!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Aug 2017
10.0

This place was by far the best hostel I've stayed at in Australia. When I arrived I had only planned to stay for one night, but I ended up staying for two more. The staff were excellent, not only did they give us ideas for what to do around town, they drove us to the beach then to coles since we were starved after surfing! The nightlife around town wasn't the best, but we really enjoyed hanging out and drinking with everyone at the hostel. Also, a perfect central location. I highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th Aug 2017
5.7

Was only here one day, I wasn't told what time check out was. They wanted a whole nights accommodation fee for me to sit in the common room area for a couple of hours. Due to my bus being at a ridiculous time. So I had to sit at the bus stop for 4 hours in the middle of the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey hey To be fair you did want to check out at 4am the day after your official checkout date which is a lot more than a couple of hours. We like to give our guests a sleep in so checkout of the rooms is midday. this is a lot later than the industry standard. We then allow our guests to use the facilities and common areas until midnight on the day of their checkout for free! which you did. This is very generous and a lot of other hostels charge for this service. Unfortunately we cannot allow people who do not have a booking to stay past midnight as it results in people sleeping on the couches which is messy and gives the guests who have paid for the night nowhere to sit. We really do try to be as fair as possible.

  • lucyasp
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Aug 2017
5.1

On arrival we were shown round the place and that was the last time we heard from any of the hostel workers. They advertised saturday night as 'party night' so we made our dinner then sat in the communal room, all the staff sat around a large table playing drinking games and not once did they invite us over, we waited there an hour. Our room was freezing and it seemed like someone would slam a door every few minutes. We were very disappointed by our stay here.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey team, Sorry you didn't feel included. The staff did sit around a main table playing drinking games with a bunch of the guests. We would have loved it if you had of joined us! We love guests who want to be involved in the fun. That is what we are all about. In running the activities we must have had an oversight and unfortunately you were somehow missed or we thought you were happy chatting and having dinner amongst yourselves. It was I guess a communication breakdown, a million apologies for this. We really would have loved you to be a part of things. The more people involved the more fun!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
2nd Aug 2017
8.6

Lovely share house style hostel. Was pretty quiet when I was there, but was still good, super chill staff who are always up for a drink in the evenings. Went surfing a few times in the van which was great, pretty cheap rentals.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jul 2017
8.0

A good 10 minutes walk to the centre of town. Beaches another 5. Did not have a drier for washing. I arrived at 5pm and left the next morning. Got washing done but not dried. Nice atmosphere in cosy surroundings. Could do with more showers. Kitchen area small and in the lounge. A billiard / pool table and free internet terminals. Free tea and coffee. Rooms OK with lockers under beds. Key lock door. Not a bad place to stay. Games and books there to use.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.4

Great place with great people. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
13th Jul 2017
10.0

Great hostel with lovely staff. Feels more like you're staying at a mates house than at a hostel. Good location and facilities, would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×