X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beacons Backpackers Reviews

Bwlch, Brecon, Wales

Reviews & Ratings Explained

94%

Rating
140 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 99%Staff
  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Nice employees, good food and nice walk routes (to go to the lake for example). Beautifull location.

  • 21st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Neil and Sarah are wonderful hosts! Please let them know I'll be back Thursday 20/8/15 for four days of Green Man Festival!! Sidney

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Extremely friendly hosts. Awsome food in great atmosphere pub. Bus from Brecon takes about 15 mins. No buses Bwlch-Brecon on Sundays though. From Cardiff it's bus T4 and sometimes you need to change bus in Brecon to get to Bwlch. There are some nice walking pats close by but if you're there for the nature beautiful Pen y Fan is a must.


100%

I was surprised: i was expecting just a simple budget acommodation. I got more than that. It was just one night but I can tell it has been one of the best hostels I have stayed in in the uk. It is a pity I was too tired to enjoy your pub. I will definitely recommend your place to friends heading for South Wales. Thank you!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very good hostel, if you are looking for a bed, this is the place. Owner is great. Food in the pub. There's plenty for breakfast.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very friendly and homely hostel. Made to feel welcome by both the staf and customers in the pub

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Neil and co were very friendly and accommodating. The location is great and you couldn't ask for a hostel/pub with a nicer vibe

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place, really friendly and considerate couple & staff at the hostel & pub, great value beds with good facilities and nice included breakfast of cereal/toast/tea & coffee with the option of meal at pub and few drinks in the evening. Stayed to run Brecon Beacons marathon and was comfortable and good atmosphere without being too loud above a pub to worry about.


100%

We enjoyed our stay! Neil was very accommodating and helpful in making our trip memorable!

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great location, great hosts, fab food

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

I stayed here for a night mainly to hike in some places around the brecon beacon. The hostel is small but very comfortable, the owners are happy to give directions to the best hiking trails and they even walked me to the start of one. There's a pub in the hostel which is basically the only one in the village (it's very small) so there's always locals to talk to.


89%

Pleasant hostel situated in the heart of the beacons, perfect for exploring the local hinterland. Attached to a pub, where hearty and affordable meals are on offer. Limited kitchen facilities however might not be ideal for those on limited backpacking budget. If travelling by public transport, be aware that there is no bus connection to the village of Bwlch Sundays or public holidays. I had to get a taxi out to nearest town which proved costly at £25.


100%

Couldn't have met friendlier people, they made us feel welcome from day 1.

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great owner, Amazing room love it !


83%

For the price, I would have expected a proper cooked breakfast


97%

Very friendly and welcoming. We will return with walking and cycling groups later. Highly recommended.

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)




View all Brecon Hostels

Please give us your feedback