X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beagle Houseboat Reviews

Prins Hendrikkade 500 / Oosterdoksdam, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
229 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

It's something different than everything else I have stayed before. Just few minutes from the Central Station and the red light district. When we arrive there late of night the owner had left some cool song playing in the speakers, some tabaco, paper, pipes, grounder and beer. The fridge was full of Heinekens and was just one euro each one. Really fair price. The space inside the boat is more than enough for 4 people. The boat is quite old and some reform is necessary. Be prepared for that!


94%

it was fab, we will be going back next november. it was so perfect. xxx

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
91%

The boat have a really good vibe, it's cozy and nice to be there with a view of the canal. Aart was very helpfull anytime we needed.


97%

We had an excellent time on the boat, I would say it would be more suited to those under 30 and without children. Aart and Bert made us feel very welcome. If we come back, we'll be on the beagle!

  • 30th Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The stay on the Beagle Houseboat is very relaxing due to its private location. You can make your own meals in a small kitchen and have breakfast/dinner enjoying the sunrise/sunset on the rooftop. It's a five minute walk both to the train station and to the city center. You have WLAN and a computer with internet access on the boat which you can use to make plans for the next day. Wa have stayed as family on the boat last year and this summer and had a great time there.

  • 14th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Best accommodation of interrailing trip. Fridge filled with food and drink for little cost. Certain equipment were available for those who require herbal medicinal remedies and treatment. Computer with speakers, good deck with seats. sofa, hot water etc...


89%

We had a lovely stay! It was clean warm and dry with amazing views!

  • 9th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The swimming pool is the marina I'm afraid but we had a great stay in the Beagle boat ! Woud definetely recommend it !


86%

3rd time to Amsterdam and I will never stay in hostel/hotel again if I go with a group of people. The boat is a little rough on the outside but has all of the charm you could ask for on the inside. It's close to the city center and the happening area however, just far enough away that it's quiet when you want to sleep. This is the Amsterdam experience you're looking for.


77%

I enjoyed my 3 night stay at the beagle, it could do with a little renovation but all was as expected. The owner Aart is very helpful n friendly. It is something differrent to a hotel or apartment with nice views off the docks.

  • 27th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Excellent location, close to all the main attractions

  • 19th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The Beagle was one of the best things about our trip to Amsterdam. It has only 4 beds so you have the place to yourselves. Sweet living room with massive couches, PC with fast internet, fridge full of munchies, speakers for bangin out few tunes, kitchen and da bedroom downstairs was clean nd comfy. I cudnt imagine gettin messed up in the Dam, trippin, having to go back to a 20 person dorm and having to be quiet. Back to the beagle, few tunes, beers nd munchies, no one to wreck ur buzz!! 5* ;-)


100%

It was perfect. Less than 5 minutes from the city, very affordable, had a lot of character. When we arrived there was a tray with 50 grams of tobacco, papers and a bong. We put Bob Marley on YouTube and had an awesome smoke. What more could you ask for?


100%

We had a great time at the Beagle, and we would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a home away from home in Amsterdam. All the facilities were great and the service from Aart was top notch. Everything was set up great for us to enjoy our break, from the wireless internet which worked great right down to the fully stocked fridge of goodies at a reasonable price. The place is just so comfortable and spacious, I couldn't imagine swapping it for a cramped hostel room. Cheers Aart!

  • 20th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

We really enjoyed our stay at the Beagle, and will definitely be visiting again, we've told all of our friends also and they all seem very keen! Don't really have any negatives, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

  • 10th Sep 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The Beagle houseboat is an inspiring place. It's comfortable, roomy, private, and funky. Amsterdam will never be the same now that I know you can stay in a place like the Beagle. Aart, the owner, is friendly and helpful--though we didn't need him for anything after the introductory tour.

  • 23rd Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

He had an amazing time at the Beagle. It is right next to the Centraal Station in the centre of Amsterdam, has a nice and comfortable common room for four people, a huge living room and a upper deck with the most amazing view. Highly recommended, go for it and be happy!


89%

All I have to say is thanks for a wonderful stay, thoroughly enjoyed our trip to Amsterdam

  • 2nd Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

The location and the atmosphere were great! Only the sheets and towels smelled like they have been in the washing machine for a week. But in general we enjoyed a lot and we'll come again if visiting Amsterdam.

  • 23rd Jun 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your comment and I am sorry about the sheets and/or towels. This is not supposed to happen. It would have been nice if you had informed me about this during your stay so I could actually take care of the problem. In general, I will do anything to make your stay as comfortable as possible and please inform me if anything seems to be out of order. If you do not inform me, I can not take care of it. Kind regards Aart Captain of The Beagle

86%

Really cool place to stay. The captain is awesome and really friendly. The layout is awesome, the ability to use the computer and the Wi-Fi as much as you want is brilliant, be it for looking where to go next or for watching YouTube videos after a few smokes. The only thing I could say is that it could be cleaner. Would definitely recommend this to anyone to stay here.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(204 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback