Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beds on Bohio Hostel & Surf School

  • Jaco on the Central Pacific coast, Behind Papas & Burgers Art Café, Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 452 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jackb_phillips
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jun 2017
4.3

Beds on bohio? Ay Dios mío! We arrived to this location having already seen the sub-par reviews, our extreme desire to party hard af overcame bad reviews. This however was a fruitless effort, the blackout could easily be attained at the adjacent Swell bar while staying in any hostel. To provide a telling example, staff attempts to ban drinking alcohol in rooms. This however is quite ironic considering it would be physically impossible to sleep there with a BAC lower than 0.25. In summation. Na

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • kellyrutland414
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th May 2017
3.7

One bathroom for all the rooms to share... maybe 20 +/- beds.. all sharing one shower no warm water that clogs up and one toilet in the same room. Lot of people drunk pissing all over the bathroom. I thought I got a room with ac... I got a room with a fan. The window is open but backed up to a wall so no breeze could come in. The bed was clean the bathroom was not. Lockers without locks outside the room. The staff is very nice, only one girl knew what to do.There is two parking spots with camera

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • brisleynaomi
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

This place is paradise! I would DEFINITELY recommend this hostel to any and all people planning on going to Jaco. The staff are so incredibly friendly and helpful, the grounds themself are very beautiful with hammocks and picnic tables and friendly dogs strewn about and the private rooms are exactly what we were looking for for the price. The first two nights we were there we had a room with a fan and a cold shower and that was enough to hide away from the heat and be comfy with some privacy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
19th Apr 2017
8.9

Internet was down for the weekend but I'm assuming that was an anomaly. It was a beautiful old building with a pool and hammocks to hang out in, as well as a free breakfast. There are some shops close by but it's not in the heart of San Jose, which might be better depending on what you're looking for .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Apr 2017
6.0

So if you are passing through for a night or two and you want to spend your time in Jacó staying up late partying and making friends, this is a great place. The staff are generally nice and fun too. But, don't expect to get any sleep at night! Extremely loud music is played far into -every- night. And they don't do refunds no matter what, so be cautious if you want to book here, maybe do a night or two at the time. It's certainly not for everyone.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2017
7.4

The hostel was in a great location but the building was going through some renovations which made the stay a little different . There was also no AC in the rooms so be careful when you book to select the right option for you.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
6.9

Friendly staff and good security. Next door to a bar w/ loud music. Jaco is a party town, so expect noise anywhere. Neg. is construction w/ workers hammering, digging, laying cement etc. This was going on most of the day, all 3 days I was there. Also lacks a certain ambiance:no real place to gather and hang out, besides scattered hammocks. Poor kitchen upkeep-the only spatula was broken n had to track down a lighter to ignite stove when cooking. No sun. Go Han next door--pool, big kitchen etc

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2017
8.0

Good place to stay, right by the beach. Great location for chilling by the beach and surfing. The staff were pretty awesome for the most part - almost all of them were super friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was fine, but it wasn't amazing. They have a bar, but it goes from 0 to 100 (there's like nothing going on to the music is super loud and you can't hear a thing). It's fine if you want to just get drunk with strangers, but it would be cool if you could hang out a bit first

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Absolutely loved it at Beds on Bohio. It's centrally located, close to the beach. Rented a private room with a/c. it was a large room. The staff are super friendly! The vibes there are very laid back and friendly. We made lots of new friends while we were there. Also they have really good French fries at the restaurant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alexsteinau
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.9

Overall great place to stay. 1 min walk to beautiful beach and surf. 1 min walk into town. With the beach so close it is difficult to keep clean however. Major downside is how many people share 1 single bathroom. But great staff and great times for sure

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.