Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beds on Bohio Hostel & Surf School

  • Jaco on the Central Pacific coast, Behind Papas & Burgers Art Café, Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 422 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.8
Beds on Bohio Hostel & Surf School Located at Jaco on the Central Pacific coast, Behind Papas & Burgers Art Café, Calle Bohio, Jaco.
Beds on Bohio Hostel & Surf School
Costa Rica
Jaco Puntarenas 61101 Jaco on the Central Pacific coast, Behind Papas & Burgers Art Café, Calle Bohio
77% 422
9.6148614 -84.6292089
Beds on Bohio Hostel & Surf School
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jan 2017
4.3

Kitchen was so discusting. There was no soap for a whole day while people were cooking chicken. Went to start cooking our dinner and every single thing I grabbed was dirty. Music was extremely loud all night. Not ideal for couples. Workers getting high all day infront of customers. Rooms were SO HOT. I suggest you pay more money to go else where. The atmosphere in the evening attracts many local drug dealers and you feel SO UNSAFE.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.7

Awesome hostel! The staff is super friendly. Prime location, right on the beach and central on the main street so it's really close to everything else (places to eat, tour info, shops, etc). The restaurant is good and the bar is always live, a lot of people go there every night so there's always something to do and people to meet. ONLY COMPLAINTS: Can be loud at night because of the bar, if you need to sleep early a lot, maybe consider somewhere else. AND no hot water to shower with :(

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danielmarr
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
28th Dec 2016
3.4

I paid for a 3 bed room and was given a double. I complained as the ceiling fan was broken. They installed a pedestal fan which simply blew hot air sideways. I think it was room 11. I had the cost of my accommodation rounded up from 38.70 to 40. They quibbled about the difference,only accepted cash. First booked on booking.com. This booking was not honoured. I explained that I would have been penalised $42 if I wished to cancel and they couldn't just cancel if they felt like it. Too bad.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Dec 2016
5.7

I was a little disappointed with this hostel, the atmosphere was pretty nice expect for the many drugs we saw in and around the hostel area. Great location and close to the beach. Some staff were definitely more helpful than others.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
8.0

Cute dog named Banana lives here. PERFECT location-only thing was the filth in the head.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
6.6

Good location, close to the beach and center of town but the rooms were not great. Bathrooms were gross with ants everywhere. Beds were very uncomfortable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Dec 2016
6.9

Hostel decorations and layout are very nice. Security is on point since there is a entrance gate that is locked after 10PM. The location is great with walking distance to main street, local beach, and a grocery store a few blocks away. Staff are very friendly and helpful to answer any questions that you have. The atmosphere is great for someone who refers laid back and chill definitely not party vibe. Sadly the first night I found sand spread all over my bed and the bathroom was just ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
17th Dec 2016
8.9

Staff was really friendly and helpful. Walking distance to the beach and a convenient restaurant located inside. Made so many friends here, we were there on a Saturday and participated in their beer pong tournament with other people staying at the hostel. They own a bar next door which is fun to go to at night. The lounging area is equipped with lots of hammocks and an outside shower, great for a post beach rinse off. Highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Dec 2016
9.4

This is definitely a hostel for a younger crowd. A lot of the kids working there definitely seem to be there for the beach and the surfing. That being said, they were incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms were a bit hot and humid, some sand floating around, but being a block from the beach, that has to be a bit expected. The night life here is very present, so it wasn't incredibly quiet, but again, if you're looking to go out at night, a great location in the middle of it all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Nov 2016
8.3

Being a couple steps from the beach was great. The rooms smelled a little moldy but that's just costa rica and its humidity so I'd suggest air con if you guys want anything to dry. People were cool and took some surfing lessons through them, cheap and quick! It was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.