X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Begovic Boarding House Reviews

Primorska 17, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
267 Total Reviews
  • 89%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

Although the position was OK the owners running this Boarding House need to separate their personal items from their business. The share kitchen included a large bin of dog food for their family dog - this does not belong in their business property. The shared dining room was so crowded with extra stuff that it was not a welcoming spot to sit. Fortunately the weather was good so all the guests sat outside but the dining area should not be a storage space for extra and unused stuff

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was perfect. The location is so close to the beach, promenade and bus station that takes you right into Old Town. We had our rooms cleaned and towels/sheets changed every few days. The family who owns the hostel is amazing. They were so helpful with everything we needed. I'm coming back here for sure just to see them again!!

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Helpful landlady


91%

The owner was top notch ,

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This a beautiful place to stay. Just a short bus away from Old Town. I was traveling alone and felt very safe. Stayed in a Private room which is very large and comfortable. Always had hot water. TV and small fridge in room with private bathroom. Only small comment was that mom is around which makes you feel safe but also like your mom is around watching you lol. But thats just something small. The place is great and if I ever make it back to Croatia I would stay here again!!!

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
63%

150 step climb to the hotel was rough. Our bed was only made one out of the four days we stayed. We never got clean towels even though its a beach town! The homemade shower was horrible and the hot water only lasted 5 minutes at the most.

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely place, relaxed, friendly and extremely helpful staff. Not far from the Old Town, very easy to get a bus or walk into town.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

It is located close to most of the restaurants and beach. Even the bus stop is closeby to visit the old town.


83%

Staff is superfriendly. The location is fine since it's close to a busstop. Not cheap for a hostel (well Dubrovnik is expensive anyway), but they do offer very good facilities. Did meet some other people, but when we were just sitting/chatting on the terrace at night time we were told to leave, as it was to loudly.


77%

Decent place to stay in Dubrovnik. Close to great swimming and a short bus ride away from the old city. Wonderful terrace. Wifi signal only covered half the hostel.. The son picked me up from the bus station and pointed out all the necessary attractions/info along the way. I found the lady who runs the hostel to be a bit rude at times, but perhaps it's a lost in translation issue. Overall, I would recommend this place as a reasonably priced, clean, and quiet place to stay in Dubrovnik.


100%

great place and a lovely family running it!....i was alone so the son took me out for a walk with his dogs in the evening! lovely bloke! it was awesome and he then took me out for a drive afterwards. definitely went above and beyond!! i had some washing and the mum did it all for me for free!! really nice view over the water as well!.....definitely recommend this place if you fancy a quieter hostel but with excellent facilities!


89%

This hostel is very nice but it is not a party place, it is relaxing and peaceful and quiet. It is run by a very helpful family out of there own house. So it is a small hostel.


91%

Extremely lovely and informative couple who own the boarding house!

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

My partner and I thought that Begovic Boarding House was, overall, an excellent place to stay. The owner, Bega, could not have been more helpful. He was happy to answer any questions by email prior to our arrival. On arrival in Dubrovnik he picked us up at the bus station and drove us to the boarding house and explained where the local amenities like the supermarket, bakers, bus stop were. He also arranged for a neighbour to give us a lift back to the bus station early on the morning we left.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice family. Nice rooms with air conditioning and WiFi. The area of Lapad offers lots of restaurants -- we ate at a fine one right on the water. A nearby bus took us in to the old city of Dubrovnik, a walled stone town right on the blue Adriatic. One possible problem for some: the Begovic Boarding House is up on a hillside, quite a few steps up, though you can drive to it with a car/taxi. The owners picked us up for free at Dubrovnik's main bus station; we paid a neighbor to drive us back.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The location (the beaches are unbelievably close) was great, but the lack of security lockers (or really any security whatever), a "secret" key system,


97%

The hostel is brand new, very clean, cozy and pretty well located, but it's greatest value are the wonderful hosts. When my friend and I had problems withe getting they, they looked for us in the middle the night. They were very hospitable offering a traditional breakfast, a traditional drink and their time for an interesting conversation. Highly recommendable!

  • 2nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a nice little place basically inside a local families home. They are very knowledgeable about the area and super friendly. The free pickup and drop off at the bus station is awesome! It is a bit far away from the old town, but really easy to get to by bus and really close to a nice little walking promenade. Facilities are nice and clean, kitchen is a bit small, but has everything you need, including lots of free spices! All in all a great place to stay.


86%

Friendly and pleasant atmosphere. Situated just a half an hour walk to Old City or one bus ride if not feeling energetic.

  • 15th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Owners were helpful and nice, collecting us and dropping us to the bus station. The main issue for me was the 149 stairs to the main promenade area of Lapad. Some of them could be avoided by partly walking up the hill where cars drive but the other half could not. The stairs were all built at different times and were not regular in flights, so even for fit people, in hot weather, it'll be a challenge, especially if you've been out all day! The computer for guests was broken but wifi worked.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(213 results)


View all Dubrovnik Hostels

Please give us your feedback