X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Begovic Boarding House Reviews

Primorska 17, Dubrovnik, Croatia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
260 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 100%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

63%

150 step climb to the hotel was rough. Our bed was only made one out of the four days we stayed. We never got clean towels even though its a beach town! The homemade shower was horrible and the hot water only lasted 5 minutes at the most.

  • 23rd Sep 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Lovely place, relaxed, friendly and extremely helpful staff. Not far from the Old Town, very easy to get a bus or walk into town.

  • 21st Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

It is located close to most of the restaurants and beach. Even the bus stop is closeby to visit the old town.


83%

Staff is superfriendly. The location is fine since it's close to a busstop. Not cheap for a hostel (well Dubrovnik is expensive anyway), but they do offer very good facilities. Did meet some other people, but when we were just sitting/chatting on the terrace at night time we were told to leave, as it was to loudly.


77%

Decent place to stay in Dubrovnik. Close to great swimming and a short bus ride away from the old city. Wonderful terrace. Wifi signal only covered half the hostel.. The son picked me up from the bus station and pointed out all the necessary attractions/info along the way. I found the lady who runs the hostel to be a bit rude at times, but perhaps it's a lost in translation issue. Overall, I would recommend this place as a reasonably priced, clean, and quiet place to stay in Dubrovnik.


100%

great place and a lovely family running it!....i was alone so the son took me out for a walk with his dogs in the evening! lovely bloke! it was awesome and he then took me out for a drive afterwards. definitely went above and beyond!! i had some washing and the mum did it all for me for free!! really nice view over the water as well!.....definitely recommend this place if you fancy a quieter hostel but with excellent facilities!


89%

This hostel is very nice but it is not a party place, it is relaxing and peaceful and quiet. It is run by a very helpful family out of there own house. So it is a small hostel.


91%

Extremely lovely and informative couple who own the boarding house!

  • 11th Jul 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

My partner and I thought that Begovic Boarding House was, overall, an excellent place to stay. The owner, Bega, could not have been more helpful. He was happy to answer any questions by email prior to our arrival. On arrival in Dubrovnik he picked us up at the bus station and drove us to the boarding house and explained where the local amenities like the supermarket, bakers, bus stop were. He also arranged for a neighbour to give us a lift back to the bus station early on the morning we left.

  • 27th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice family. Nice rooms with air conditioning and WiFi. The area of Lapad offers lots of restaurants -- we ate at a fine one right on the water. A nearby bus took us in to the old city of Dubrovnik, a walled stone town right on the blue Adriatic. One possible problem for some: the Begovic Boarding House is up on a hillside, quite a few steps up, though you can drive to it with a car/taxi. The owners picked us up for free at Dubrovnik's main bus station; we paid a neighbor to drive us back.

  • 23rd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The location (the beaches are unbelievably close) was great, but the lack of security lockers (or really any security whatever), a "secret" key system,


97%

The hostel is brand new, very clean, cozy and pretty well located, but it's greatest value are the wonderful hosts. When my friend and I had problems withe getting they, they looked for us in the middle the night. They were very hospitable offering a traditional breakfast, a traditional drink and their time for an interesting conversation. Highly recommendable!

  • 2nd Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a nice little place basically inside a local families home. They are very knowledgeable about the area and super friendly. The free pickup and drop off at the bus station is awesome! It is a bit far away from the old town, but really easy to get to by bus and really close to a nice little walking promenade. Facilities are nice and clean, kitchen is a bit small, but has everything you need, including lots of free spices! All in all a great place to stay.


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

Friendly and pleasant atmosphere. Situated just a half an hour walk to Old City or one bus ride if not feeling energetic.

  • 15th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

Owners were helpful and nice, collecting us and dropping us to the bus station. The main issue for me was the 149 stairs to the main promenade area of Lapad. Some of them could be avoided by partly walking up the hill where cars drive but the other half could not. The stairs were all built at different times and were not regular in flights, so even for fit people, in hot weather, it'll be a challenge, especially if you've been out all day! The computer for guests was broken but wifi worked.


57%

Hostel is quite far out from the city centre - you need to take a bus to get there. We also had problems getting picked up from the bus station - our email to the owners regarding their free pick up service was not responded to. On the day we left, we were told there would be no drop-off service to the bus station - which was rather annoying, given there was only 1 bus an hour to the bus station, which didn't tie up with the bus to the airport. The room was fine, though could do with sprucing up


86%

A lovely location and really friendly owner. Would happilly stay here again.


74%

The apartment was a bit old and worn out, but the garden terrace was lovely. It's well situated.

  • 4th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

The guy that runs the hostel couldn't do more for you and is very friendly - the problem is his wife who is very rude indeed. We were given a 1 bedroom apartment for 5 people when we had booked for 2 apartments. It meant men sleeping together and ladies sleeping in non-aircon'ed kitchen. Dog barking and scratching outside our window as they keep them locked inside a cage (!!!?) all day. Kitchen facilities worst i've seen in a hostel. The area itself is nice and beaches amazing.


60%

Wasn't able to stay in the end as the hostel wouldn't let us adjust our booking to arrive a day later than planned. We were forced to cancel our booking completely.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(208 results)


View all Dubrovnik Hostels

Please give us your feedback