X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beijing Downtown Backpackers Reviews

No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1178 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I spend two weeks in Beijing, I'm happy with Downtown backpackers hostel. Was fun to be here.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The lockers didn't have locks, when I asked they front desk they gave me one to use. They also lend out umbrellas for free. I found the front desk to be very helpful, but I do speak Chinese so that might have made a huge difference. The rooms were very clean, but everything was a little bit old in there, so it kinda had that look like it was dirty. Oh huge bonus, they have a free breakfast, one egg, one piece of bacon, and two pieces of toast and a glass of orange juice. I had it every morning:)

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Located on a gorgeous Hutong street with great bike tours being offered there. They also have very good Great Wall of China tours - the kind that take you to the more untouched parts of the wall. The shops on that street stay open quite late and there are lots of young people (both tourists and locals) around even late at night, so you feel quite safe no matter the hour. Also located near a subway stop and the Forbidden Palace. Accommodations are nothing luxurious but quite acceptable.


86%

Your belongings are relatively safe although you don't get a room key. It was a nice hostel though as the staff were nice and it was easy to socialise with other lodgers, and breakfast was provided. However, doing laundry was a quite expensive, more so because they didn't have a drier.


91%

Our room was fantastic.The best we has on the whole trip(one month) The stafff was very helpful . Thank you.


77%

I highly recommend the 6km Great Wall Hike from Jinshanling to Simatai West (1 Day The Great Wall Hiking trip). 280RMB/p might looks a little too much, but this part of the wall is 3 hours of bus, takes 3 hours of nice medium-hard walking-climbing and offer amazing scenary and untouched wall. Totally worth it.


63%

While basically ideally located, Nanluoguxiang hutong (where this hostel is located at) has turned into a huge domestic tourist magnet meaning huge crowds of people. Getting to and from the hostel during day time is a bit of a pain in the ass. Getting off from this hutong to any of the neighouring ones will however reward you. Other than the above, it´s your basic hostel with no major drawbacks or praises to give. Everything works as it is supposed to.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

very nice

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really Nice hostel in a super location! Very friendly and helpfull staff! If you go to Beijing, this is where you should stay!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place set in a delightful bustling hutong. The staff were very helpful with anything you needed and it was always good fun to relax on the roof garden with a few beers and the company of the other travelers. The doors to the rooms are left unlocked but security is fantastic due to their high tech locker system.


91%

We went back there after seven years. The staff is very helpful, they picked us up at the airport on arrival and took us to the airport when we continued our trip. Only, hutongs tend to be overcrowded, especially on wekends, but this is obviously not the staff's fault. The location is quite convenient for seeing Beijing (metro, buses and taxis are easy to find nearby).

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

It's located in a major tourist street that is really frustrating to walk up and down when its packed with people. The staff was ok, but they need to speak up a bit. Their rooftop terrace was dark, so no place to chill in the evening =( Their trips and shows were great! The rooms felt like a hospital. Short distance to the subway, were you can reach everything from.


80%

The staff is very friendly, I would go there a second time.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great hostel! Only issue is the shower which soaks the whole bathroom!


97%

Staff are extremely friendly, it's in a great location. Ticks all of the boxes for a backpacker: clean, communal area on the roof (can buy cheap drinks), wifi, cheap.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an absolutely great stay here, the staff were lovely, would definitely recommend to anyone

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This Hostel was one of the best I have ever been and probably the best in Beijing : Good quality and service, nice people and positive atmosphere. Good prices. Available tours and possibilities for organised visits such as great wall are a really good idea. Thanks for these good holidays.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hotel!! Good location and everything was very good

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location in the middle of one of Beijing's hutong. Friendly staff, English wasn't great, but good enough and they try to be as helpful als possible if you ask. Didn't figure out until my third night that they had a common area with computers and tv in the basement and a rooftop - go look for it, it's great! Beds are Western style, not the thin ones you'll find in the rest of China, and have curtains around them for extra privacy. Will stay here again before my return flight!


94%

This was a really fun hostel! Located on a humongous with lots of restaurants and bars close by. It has a great rooftop to drink and socialise on. There were lots of fun people staying at the hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful, they went above and beyond while I was there. The rooms are basic but comfortable and there are secure lockers on the bottom floor. Internet was a little difficult to get in the rooms but easy to get in the common room. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback