Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1802 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel is in a great location and offers some cool tours. The staff is kind, but not all that helpful and there isn't much of a communal vibe in the hostel. We booked a private double room ensuite. It was perfect. The free breakfast is a perk, but they offered one very Western meal of an egg, three pieces of toast, one piece of bacon, and two small slices of watermelon. You'd be better off turning left at the entrance and going to the breakfast spot at the end of the road. Good overall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.1

Super nice location in BJ, one of the best areas to walk and also reach other attractions. We'll definitely go back there next time in Beijing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
10.0

Was really nice

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • danclifton69295
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.6

Very comfortable beds with curtains, power socket and light. Nice clean ensuite bathroom with our 6 bed dorm. Big lockers for backpacks or luggage cases. Not much atmosphere at the hostel although it has the feel that it could be a fun place to be, perhaps it was a quiet period. Great location for the hatongs and good for getting to other major Beijing sights by metro, bus or bike. Free breakfast in the bar next door, does ok food but not good quantity, got about 20 fries with my steak.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
8.9

Great place. Using the metro, its very easy to find. Once you leave the exit, you just walk straight! (although it's farther down the alley than I first expected...) Walking distance to attractions. The hostel staff are not super helpful, but helpful enough. They speak English quite well, so no problems there. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
10.0

Nice place to stay. Staff was very friendly. Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Located in a touristy Hutong, this hostel is perfectly located to see the area on foot. The private room was small but adequate though the pillows need to be replaced. Bathrooms need hooks. The tour of the Great Wall was fantastic and highly recommended. The common areas were in the basement and not inviting but we did meet fellow travelers in the bar next door. The breakfast is convenient though western-style with eggs, breakfast meat and toast. Overall, I would recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Had an amazing stay there, staff was super helpful. Location was right amidst all the hutongs and at night, you can stroll around beihei lakes to explore the night life.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
8.6

This backpackers is in a great location. The staff is helpful and the rooms are basic but fine for a short term stay. There is a free breakfast in the morning which is great because it opens from 7:30-10:30. I hiked the Great Wall with this backpackers and it was AMAZING! I would highly recommend using them as a tour booking agency.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel! Will come again for sure! The breakfast is great! The location is everything we needed. Close to subway station, food, bars, and restaurants. The staff is really nice. Overall, a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.