Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,721 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Beijing Downtown Backpackers Located at No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing.
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
China
Beijing 100009 No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District
87% 1721
39.9374315 116.4030325
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th Nov 2016
7.1

We were there during offseason and there was construction going on in the street. The hostel is walkable to Beihai and Jinshan park and few stops away from forbidden city. Metro station is very close by. The staff weren't informative. The heater was switched on only after requested by tenants and the earliest that they could switch on during our stay was at 9:45 PM. The location is the major plus and the place (the nearby streets) would hustle once the construction of roads is completed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
5.4

A little far from the subway and any useful shop. Far from attractions except the hutong. Street under construction that is really a problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice hostel and location. There was a construction going on the street to the hostel during my stay, NOV. 19-23, 2016 and it made access to the hostel pretty challenging at first. Staff was friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.7

The free breakfast was such a plus! Moreover, great places to hang out in the hostel as a group watching videos etc. 24/7 reception was also a big plus and we loved the big private rooms!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Nov 2016
8.0

Overall nice stay in Beijing, shame that Nanluoguxiang was under construction but obviously independent from your will! Still the best neighbourhood! Would be nice to have a cosy room to hang out (in the same vein as the entrance but a bit bigger!) Super nice and helpful staff! Thanks!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Nov 2016
7.1

In november 2016 the street it's located was totally torn up with roadblocks and construction. The hostel was basically only place open at the once-bustling tourist street. Itself the place is nice, has good kitchen although social space a bit lacking. Apparently they do great tours for the wall etc. Internet worked not so good downstairs but in the office it was ok, and nearby lots of cafes with wifi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2016
6.9

Was supposed to be located in a convenient location close to subway station and lots of bars/shops. Due to construction of this street, the entire street is currently closed off making it impossible to walk through. You need to now walk to a different subway which results in usually 3 subway changes to get to any of the city sites. You also now need to take a long detour to get to the hostel. We stayed for 5 nights in a private room and were told the rooms would be cleaned but no such cleaning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Nov 2016
8.6

Comes with a breakfast which I think is a plus. Location could have been perfect if only the road was not undergoing a repair (Nanluoguxiang). I got a bit lost in the Hutong Area going to the Metro. He he. But it was okay It would be grand if they could put a spot in the room where you can hang your Coat/Jacket.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

Enjoyed our 3 nights at the hostel. Great staff, nice location. Great to have kitchen to cook in. We will stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Nov 2016
7.7

This place is in a great location (normally) but when we stayed the whole street outside was being dug up meaning there was nothing going on. Would recommend if the road works are complete. Hostel is good value for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.