Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1,659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1,659 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
Beijing Downtown Backpackers Located at No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing.
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
China
Beijing 100009 No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District
89% 1659
39.9374315 116.4030325
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
8.9

Very clean. Breakfast better than expected (toast+fried egg). 6km hike of great wall was great. Too bad the 10 km one was cancelled.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • gustavocms
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Sep 2016
8.0

The hostel is located in a very touristic area, in a very busy walking street. It's common to go through a "traffic jam" of people while walking through the street. The hostel is very clean and the staff is quite helpful and always did their best to try to answer my questions. I stayed in a 4 beds bedroom, which was very spacious, with individual lights for each bed and curtains that can be used if you want more privacy. The only downside is that it is not a very social hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dany_c
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Sep 2016
9.1

The staff are the most amazing people, so helpful and friendly. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, and the location is incredible - I'd recommend this hostel to everyone :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing! My wife and I stayed here, and with such a low price, we had low expectations. We were thrilled with everything, from the amazingly clean bathrooms to the soft and private beds! A truly wonderful hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Sep 2016
9.1

The location is amazing! Avoid public holidays though, otherwise the pedestrian street will be very crowdy. Rooms are very clean and tidy and they have a kitchen & lounge in the basement. We did the Sunset Tour to the Great Wall and it was amazing! Perfect trip to avoid the crowds! Would definitely do it again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Sep 2016
9.7

awesome stay! went there solo, didnt have any security concerns at all - there was a locker for the more valuable things. Their tours are also pretty great, if you have no time to plan - and especially for Great Wall, which can be a pain in the ass to organize. No hidden tours or shopping etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.6

Very good value hostel in a great location, especially considering a hostel down the road charges 130 without breakfast and is extremely cramped!! Downtown was spacious and had a roof terrace and good facilities. The staff were however very uninterested in helping us make the most of our trip.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • courtneymesser
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
6.9

Sunset tour of the wall was phenomenal! Beds were comfortable, facilities clean, but overall I was underwhelmed. Location on nanluoguxiang made it impossible to navigate from the subway to the hostel quickly between 10am and 11pm since it was so crowded. The subway line was inefficient, requiring a minimum of one transfer (sometimes two) to get to most places. Security was seriously lacking - anyone could walk in, and none of the dorm rooms were ever locked. I'd go on the tour and stay elsewhere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Aug 2016
10.0

Great location. Great tours and staff is amazingly helpful. Rooms are spacious and all communal facilities were very clean. Rooftop has a great vibe. Clean kitchen area and mini mart available 24/7. Will be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
26th Aug 2016
10.0

We had a wonderful stay at The Beijing Downtown Backpackers! It's in a great location, bustling with many shops and restaurants. It's a short walk to the nearest subway station. The staff were amazing and so helpful and patient with all our questions and requests. We were a family of 4, traveling with 2 teenagers and we had a private 4 bed room with our own bathroom. The room was spacious and comfy for us all! The tours they offer are excellent and well worth the money. Thank you!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.