Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1,741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1,741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Beijing Downtown Backpackers Located at No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing.
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
China
Beijing 100009 No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District
87% 1741
39.9374315 116.4030325
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
8.0

we stayed 2 nights in 2 standard twin private room. on the second day heater did not work during the night, when we informed the front desk the morning after, staff were apologetic and we were allowed for an extended stay/ late check out free of charge. we also got a free airport transfer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Dec 2016
8.3

Nice hostel all around, but what really sets it apart is the hiking tours they offer. It can be difficult to find good hikes in China, but they offer four different hikes of the Great Wall, each with a different difficulty level. Good way to get away from the crowds. The location is more touristy than it was a few years ago, but that's hardly the hostel's fault. Just a five minute walk to the subway. Free breakfast in the morning. Room is clean and warm in the winter. A very nice place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th Dec 2016
8.9

We enjoyed our stay at the hostel, the Great Wall tour to Jinshanling was really good! If you are interested in the Hutongs then this is a good place to stay. The underground common room was not popular during our stay so we did not really meet with others. The rooms have only 1 key at the reception but there are small lockers available for valuables. The breakfast is western style.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Dec 2016
9.7

I can only recommend the hostel. Our room was clean, spacious and the location of the hostel is great. The staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast is free ;)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Dec 2016
9.1

Great location in the middle of the Hutongs. Easy access to all the sights and public transport. Breakfast was included and the pub next door offers special prices for hostel guests. The staff was very willing to help and offered maps and showed the easiest way to reach POI. We didn't spend too much time in the hostel but the atmosphere didn't seem to warm, It seems more like everybody would do his/ her own thing. Maybe that's not even to do with the hostel itself. Rooms were nice though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Dec 2016
8.3

Location excellent , but bedding needs to be washed and changed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Dec 2016
9.4

This was a great place to stay. Thank you for everything

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Nov 2016
7.1

We were there during offseason and there was construction going on in the street. The hostel is walkable to Beihai and Jinshan park and few stops away from forbidden city. Metro station is very close by. The staff weren't informative. The heater was switched on only after requested by tenants and the earliest that they could switch on during our stay was at 9:45 PM. The location is the major plus and the place (the nearby streets) would hustle once the construction of roads is completed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
5.4

A little far from the subway and any useful shop. Far from attractions except the hutong. Street under construction that is really a problem.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We will try our best to improve the service. I am sorry for the road construction which is out of our control. But the construction is to be finished in a few days.

24th Nov 2016
7.4

average hostel, atmosphere was a little lacklustre and the staff seemed standoffish. not too bad a place to settle for a few nights though and good value for money thanks

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.