X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Beijing Downtown Backpackers Reviews

No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1143 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Staff are extremely friendly, it's in a great location. Ticks all of the boxes for a backpacker: clean, communal area on the roof (can buy cheap drinks), wifi, cheap.

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had an absolutely great stay here, the staff were lovely, would definitely recommend to anyone

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This Hostel was one of the best I have ever been and probably the best in Beijing : Good quality and service, nice people and positive atmosphere. Good prices. Available tours and possibilities for organised visits such as great wall are a really good idea. Thanks for these good holidays.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very nice hotel!! Good location and everything was very good

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great location in the middle of one of Beijing's hutong. Friendly staff, English wasn't great, but good enough and they try to be as helpful als possible if you ask. Didn't figure out until my third night that they had a common area with computers and tv in the basement and a rooftop - go look for it, it's great! Beds are Western style, not the thin ones you'll find in the rest of China, and have curtains around them for extra privacy. Will stay here again before my return flight!


94%

This was a really fun hostel! Located on a humongous with lots of restaurants and bars close by. It has a great rooftop to drink and socialise on. There were lots of fun people staying at the hostel. The staff were friendly and helpful, they went above and beyond while I was there. The rooms are basic but comfortable and there are secure lockers on the bottom floor. Internet was a little difficult to get in the rooms but easy to get in the common room. I would definitely recommend this hostel.


83%

a good place to stay, in the middle of the heart of everything. Many bars and shops with in 5 minutes walk. Doors are never locked, but always some one at the front desk. Small free lockers for wallets and passports ect.. If you want to secure your big bags bring a lock. Wifi was spotty.


94%

This was by far one of the best hostels i stayed, in china and worldwide! Clean, beds comfy, spacious rooms, nice terrace to chill out, excellent position and above all very friendly and helpful staff!!!! Choose their great wall tours, they're very well run; i also saw acrobatic show organized by the hostel, spectacular! Only little to signal: the toilet got stuck quite often here, better not to throw paper inside! ;)


91%

The staff was excellent and very helpful! Great tour of the Great Wall. Thanks!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is great surrounded by restaurants and shops and it is close the metro station. The staff are very helpful and breakfast is nice however it would be great if it wasn't the same everyday. Our room was huge as was the bathroom and these were cleaned everyday though the sheets were only changed on request. Towels are not provided but can be rented if necessary.


80%

The hostel was nice and right on the bustling street of the Hutongs, which gave you lots of food options. I enjoyed the breakfast each morning, although sometimes the toast was a bit stale. The staff were very helpful and had good knowledge of how to get to most places. Thanks for a pleasant stay!


83%

Was pretty good.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great hostel - helpful staff - awesome location - and met some great people staying there.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I was very well looked after by the staff and Zachery was very helpful and charming!


80%

Staff where always very helpfull.


100%

When I arrived at the Beijing Downtown Backpackers hostel I thought of one word: "Awesome!" . There are mini journal entries adorning the walls, a small beverage shop, two excellent computers to use, wonderfully clean shower facilities both in the room and for the entire hostel, and the staff working there are patient and kind and eager to solve any problem you give them.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Loved our stay. Fantastic location. Surprisingly quiet rooms for such a popular spot. Highly revcommended.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

Fine place - stayed in a 6 bed dorm. Couldn't really get loud because there was nowhere to gather. Doors on the dorm needed to be opened by a staff member, so we generally left the room unlocked unless we had all left. There were free lockers in the basement to store stuff securely. The location is a love or hate thing. Very touristy (Chinese and otherwise), busy until quite late at night. Always had to push through people to get back to the hostel. 10 min walk from subway, 45 from Tiananmen.


89%

Great value for our money. Enjoyed the trip to the great wall. The only issue is with the alleyway being not only narrow, but also crowded with shoppers & vendors, it really is not.conducive to a cab or auto. We felt like we should walk from the closest main street intersection which is 2-3 blocks.


94%

As a tourist it was a fun location. Lots of activity outside. So much though, it makes it difficult to get a cab to the door. Not too far of walk to the main street & then to subway station. Breakfast is included next door.Allow sufficient time for a meal. We stayed in 3 different rooms. All were fine, although our 2 nd one, on the 2nd floor was in the back and had a private porch that was very nice. The rental towels are sufficiently large. The WiFi worked fine in our rooms. Would go back.


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback