X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Beijing Downtown Backpackers Reviews

No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1187 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great free breakfast next door, staff friendly and helpful, cheap beer available in the hostel. Very happy


100%

The staff were always available and very knowledgeable. Every service was great and was very convenient. From buying stamps, to doing laundry, and getting directions. And the Great Wall hike was fantastic as well. Lockers were very convenient and free to use them. The location required a walk from the main road which is not so bad. It is in the middle of a touristy hutong with lots of fast food and souvenir shops. Close to subway which was very good and a short walk to the tourist bus.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

One downside is that you don't get your own key. Now, it isn't much of a problem as the kind people at the reception unlock it for you, but not all people in your room will always lock the door. Nice clean room and in the middle of Nanluoguxiang. This is a great busy street, with lots of nice shops and a few places to eat. Try the Drum and Bell Restaurant down the street or the cheap Baozi Pu to the north of the hostel at the corner of Guloudongjie and Nanluoguxiang.


97%

Hostel Staff and terrace on the roof wonderful


80%

The location is great. Nice Hutong area. Also easy to reach by bus or metro. I slept very well.


80%

Overall was good. However a had a Canadian friend that lived in Beijing g for 6 months, he told me it was cheap about about $10 CND to go from Downtown to the airport. When I organized a taxi through the hostel on the way to the airport, they charges me $30 Canadian, and there was no sign on it saying it was a taxi. I'm pretty sure I got ripped off, but I can't be fore sure of course.


91%

I spend two weeks in Beijing, I'm happy with Downtown backpackers hostel. Was fun to be here.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The lockers didn't have locks, when I asked they front desk they gave me one to use. They also lend out umbrellas for free. I found the front desk to be very helpful, but I do speak Chinese so that might have made a huge difference. The rooms were very clean, but everything was a little bit old in there, so it kinda had that look like it was dirty. Oh huge bonus, they have a free breakfast, one egg, one piece of bacon, and two pieces of toast and a glass of orange juice. I had it every morning:)

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice hostel and staff. And we loved the price of the beer and water!

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Located on a gorgeous Hutong street with great bike tours being offered there. They also have very good Great Wall of China tours - the kind that take you to the more untouched parts of the wall. The shops on that street stay open quite late and there are lots of young people (both tourists and locals) around even late at night, so you feel quite safe no matter the hour. Also located near a subway stop and the Forbidden Palace. Accommodations are nothing luxurious but quite acceptable.


86%

Your belongings are relatively safe although you don't get a room key. It was a nice hostel though as the staff were nice and it was easy to socialise with other lodgers, and breakfast was provided. However, doing laundry was a quite expensive, more so because they didn't have a drier.


91%

Our room was fantastic.The best we has on the whole trip(one month) The stafff was very helpful . Thank you.


77%

I highly recommend the 6km Great Wall Hike from Jinshanling to Simatai West (1 Day The Great Wall Hiking trip). 280RMB/p might looks a little too much, but this part of the wall is 3 hours of bus, takes 3 hours of nice medium-hard walking-climbing and offer amazing scenary and untouched wall. Totally worth it.


63%

While basically ideally located, Nanluoguxiang hutong (where this hostel is located at) has turned into a huge domestic tourist magnet meaning huge crowds of people. Getting to and from the hostel during day time is a bit of a pain in the ass. Getting off from this hutong to any of the neighouring ones will however reward you. Other than the above, it´s your basic hostel with no major drawbacks or praises to give. Everything works as it is supposed to.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

very nice

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Really Nice hostel in a super location! Very friendly and helpfull staff! If you go to Beijing, this is where you should stay!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic place set in a delightful bustling hutong. The staff were very helpful with anything you needed and it was always good fun to relax on the roof garden with a few beers and the company of the other travelers. The doors to the rooms are left unlocked but security is fantastic due to their high tech locker system.


91%

We went back there after seven years. The staff is very helpful, they picked us up at the airport on arrival and took us to the airport when we continued our trip. Only, hutongs tend to be overcrowded, especially on wekends, but this is obviously not the staff's fault. The location is quite convenient for seeing Beijing (metro, buses and taxis are easy to find nearby).

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


71%

It's located in a major tourist street that is really frustrating to walk up and down when its packed with people. The staff was ok, but they need to speak up a bit. Their rooftop terrace was dark, so no place to chill in the evening =( Their trips and shows were great! The rooms felt like a hospital. Short distance to the subway, were you can reach everything from.


80%

The staff is very friendly, I would go there a second time.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(55 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback