Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 1,593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 1,593 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
Beijing Downtown Backpackers Located at No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing.
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
China
Beijing 100009 No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District
88% 1593
39.9374315 116.4030325
Beijing Downtown Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Jul 2016
4.6

The staff were quite rude and unapproachable. I know this is China, but I still expect some customer service. No security- dorm rooms had no keys. Internet was very hit and miss.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
8.6

Location can't get better than this. Breakfast is awesome as well. The conduct of the staff left a lot to be desired though. Not very helpful and on a couple of occasions, downright rude.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jul 2016
7.4

Great facilities but the staff were surprisingly unhelpful and hostile. Good location on a busy street, but very minimal security with no locks on doors.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review and I appologize for what you feel about the staff. We will try our best to train the staff and improve their service. But there is lock on the door: you just need to push the button on the door knob from inside and shut the door, then it will be locked. I am sorry for having not explained to you earlier. And our staff at the reception can open the door for you when you need.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
8.0

Everything was great except that the crowds directly outside the hostel were ridiculous. Impossible to get to and from the hostel easily. It is peak of summer.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.6

PROS: I like this hostel and I keep coming back to it because it has a kitchen and it offers breakfast, something that is not common in China. Also, WiFi works pretty well, the place is cozy and staff is very helpful. CONS: I don't like the location that much, since it is in this touristy hutong that is always crowded and where everything is expensive, but you can't have it all I guess. What I think it can def improve is to have a lock in the rooms. They are always open.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.1

The wifi was a bit spotty, but the rooms were spacious and kept very clean (daily). The tour we booked through the hostel to the Great Wall was fantastic! There's a great rooftop space with laundry and weights if you feel like working out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

There is a staffperson at the front desk 24/7, which is absolutely amazing. The hostel is located right in the thick of things in the amazing Hutong area, and also a fairly short and lovely walk from the subway. The staff were the most generous people in the whole world; when I was having trouble exchanging cash at the bank, one of the staff took me on her motorbike to the bank and stayed with me throughout the process. Would recommend 10/10

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
7.1

A pretty good one. The atmosphere there was really good! Located in a busy street but is emty during the night, so it's still very quiet at night. Rooms were okay. The 6 km tour to the great wall was really good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.0

The hostel is located near the hutong area so its very convenient for food, drinks and shopping. There are nearby subway stations as well. Rooms are clean and staff are very accomodating

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jul 2016
8.0

The street is super touristic and most of the places to eat or buy things are pretty expensive. Staff was friendly and helpful, we gave them two book and got 10 yuan discount. Metro station is really close and a lot of bus stops around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.