Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 1901 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 1901 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Really great location! The hostel is located in a hutong with lots of really interesting shops and great places to eat. It was our favorite street in Beijing. The hostel itself is clean and comfortable and offers a good free breakfast. I'd definitely recommend staying here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jul 2017
9.1

This hostel is great! Very clean private rooms (WITH A/C YESSS), very helpful staff with decent English skills, and AMAZING LOCATION! The roof garden was in a bit of disrepair, and the hot water for the shower was confusing (too cold then too hot), and there was never anyone in the basement common room, but honestly it was a great stay and we'll stay there again. The Gulou district has great snack food, cute bars and the most affordable postcards and souvenirs in China!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.9

This was a great hostel if you're looking for a quiet/private place. I stayed in a mix dorm - the room had lockers and each bed had a privacy curtain. I think everything was really good the only con was there's only a small common space at the front so it is more difficult to meet other travellers. I also did the tour through the hostel, definitely worth it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jul 2017
9.1

Great hostel for the price! nice facilities and good free breakfast

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.9

This is a great hostel in a very Chinese area. It's close to Houhai which is a great place for visitors. They offer free breakfast next door and have a lot of shows/tours/trips available. The bed was comfortable for China, the AC worked well in the room, and the wifi was good. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Nepal, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2017
8.3

Great location in most ways - you'll have to go out a bit to find really 'local' things, but if it's your first time in Beijing or if you're only there for a couple of days, this is a great place to be based!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
10.0

The staff at Beijing Backpackers Hostel are very friendly and very helpful. The facilities and the location are excellent. I would definitely recommend this hostel to other travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
9.1

My room at downtown backpackers was very clean as was the bathroom. Staff is very friendly and will help with anything you need. There are tons of places to eat nearby as the street is popular with tourists and locals. Subway station was very close and the location was perfect for most site seeing. My only concern was there are no room keys but they does provide lockers for free for valuables. Breakfast was next door and was great! Also go on the Great Wall tour with May! She was a great guide!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
10.0

I really like it. I booked 1 room for 2 persons, it includs bathroom, everything was good) Thanx =)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for your review. We'll try our best to make it better! You are welcome to our hostel any time!

17th Jun 2017
8.3

It was a nice clean hostel in a good location, but there was no atmosphere. The roof is the only real common area, but it was too hot so no one spent time up there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.