Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 1974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 1974 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Aug 2017
9.1

Amazing location and v friendly staff, who mostly speak very good english - would thoroughly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2017
9.4

A great place to stay. Amazingly neighbourhood, great location and very helpful staff. Super organsi d as well When we had to take our train to Ulan Bator a day early they know fly refunded us the extra night which was a pleasant surprise. Can't recommend the plac highly enough. When staying here take advantage of one of their tours as well. We did their hong one on a very quiet, almost 'wild' section of the Great Wall. Fantastic!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
22nd Aug 2017
10.0

Breakfast was lovely, staff were really helpful when it came to helping to book busses and tours, overall great hostel

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2017
9.4

It was fine. However though there is a common area, it's a little out of the way so there is not so much of a communal feel. Beijing costs a lot more than other parts of China. The tour of the wall from there is as awesome

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2017
8.9

This is a solid hostel located in the heart of Beijing's hutong area. The surrounding area has a ton of restaurants where you can get a quick bite to eat, though the pedestrian street can be quite crowded. There's not really a social vibe at this hostel, but the venue next door serves as the de facto restaurant/bar for the hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Aug 2017
9.4

Best location in Beijing! We booked an amazing hiking tour on the Great Wall directly with the Hostel. Free breakfast next door is so-so but it is a free breakfast! Staff was super helpful to the extent they could understand us. Great vibes overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Aug 2017
8.6

We stayed a week in this hostel. Positive: Big, very clean and convenient room. Confortable beds. Overall quite well located (still 500m from the subway though). Good organized tours (we recommend the "wild" great wall hiking). Negative: It was not always easy to make ourselves understood by the staff. They were not very friendly, answering all our questions only by "yes" or "no" and making us feel that we were annoying them a bit when we asked questions. We would still recommand this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2017
8.9

Great hostel, would stay here again if I visited Beijing again. The rooms were very clean and the staff was friendly. They have lots of fun tours and trips and a good common area plus the roof for hanging out. It's located right on a busy strip of shops and bars that were fun to wander. They provide free breakfast next door, which was good considering that it's free. The only downside for me was that the lockers were not located in the rooms and they did not provide keys for the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • claytonkimball4445
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
10th Aug 2017
10.0

I wish I had longer at this hostel. The street is so fun: a big draw for Chinese visitors. Metro was quite close. Room had great AC, a big clean bathroom, comfortable beds, and even curtains around the beds. Staff were helpful and always available. Breakfast was nice next door (included). And easy to join tours.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Aug 2017
9.4

Beijing Downtown was a great base for exploring the city. Private room and bathroom was comfortable and excellent value. Their Great Wall hike was a good day out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×