Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Beijing Downtown Backpackers

  • No. 85, Nanluogu Alley, Dongcheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 1763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 1763 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • ecphoneme904
  • Russia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
21st Feb 2017
7.7

Nice and solid backpackers! Nothing fancy, but all the basics that you need are there. On the plus side - great central location, rooftop terrace and free breakfast!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Feb 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel. Great location, helpful staff, excellent rooms. Tours organised through the hostel as well as plenty of info on things to do yourself. The street the hostel is on is a bit of a tacky Chinese high street but the surrounding area is awesome. Close to subway too. Free breakfast, laundry service, rooftop... couldn't ask for much more.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Feb 2017
9.1

Location is perfect in a bustling hutong in a trendy, young part of Beijing. Did the day trip to Jingshanling with one of the hostel staff and it was the best part of our trip! Highly recommended. There's also tons of food options close by and easy connections to every part of the city via subway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jan 2017
9.1

I stayed there during Chinese New Year, so unfortunately Nanluoguxiang was too crowded during the day. But apart from that the stay was really nice. Good and free breakfast, nice staff, clean and cozy place. Hot water and rooms. Definitely good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Jan 2017
10.0

10 out of 10! Honesty I have never ever been to such a nice hostel! Staff there is unbelievable kind and helpful. They will try everything to make your stay unforgettable - so did they our stay. I stayed in a double room with my friend and both of us liked it. Incredible cosy bed. The bathroom is quite small but it will make it's job. The room has a heater and well working wifi. They serve delicious little breakfast and won't forget your birthday!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
8.9

Amazing location, wishing they gave out keys to the room though because you could lock the door but had to get staff to unlock it each time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Really friendly and knowledgeable staff - the main reason to stay here is location and their tours of both great Wall but also dumpling making, opera, etc. The hostel is nothing special but gets the job done and beds are nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
9.7

Great accommodation in an awesome location. Went on the Jiushan Great Wall hike that was organised by the hostel today which was incredible! No fuss and great value for money. Going on their bike tour tomorrow which I'm sure will be just as good. Cannot recommend this place highly enough!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.9

Great place! Met some fab people the hostel is in a great place. The dorm beds are brilliant, no trouble sleeping :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
8.0

we stayed 2 nights in 2 standard twin private room. on the second day heater did not work during the night, when we informed the front desk the morning after, staff were apologetic and we were allowed for an extended stay/ late check out free of charge. we also got a free airport transfer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.