X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Beijing Leo Hostel Reviews

A Lai Ke Zhan, 52 Da Zha Lan Xi Jie, Qianmen, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1091 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Leo Hostel is in a good location and the hostel bar/restaurant has a good atmosphere. I reserved a single room but I was not happy with it as the room was not ready when I arrived. I requested for it to be cleaned and although the sheets were changed and the trash taken out the bathroom was dusty and dirty. The room also did not have any windows which may it very musty. I tried to avoid spending the least amount of time necessary in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your comments. Sorry, we are sometimes very busy. However, we were able to change your single room booking into a double room. We are really happy that you enjoyed our atmospheric 24hr bar and restaurant - its one of the biggest in Beijing and its a great place to meet new friends. We look forward to seeing you again next time! Take care and happy travels :)... LH

31%

overcrowded, bad service especially in the bar and in the "reception", bad food, bad information, expensive tours can NOT be recommended

  • 7th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your comments. We are quite a popular hostel, so sometimes we have tour groups staying. Our Restaurant/24 hour bar is also very popular with guests from other hostels, so our staff can sometimes be very busy! Most guests really enjoy our unique tours - as you can see from our comments books. We really hope you have a better stay next time - and if you have a problem please speak to manager NOODLES or JOE. Take care... LH :)

77%

A hostel with a very nice courtyard. it is quiet and i had a good sleep here. the price wasn't increased at a peak season. that's great! but the sheets and pillow have an awful smell :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. We would be happy to change your sheets - please tell reception! See you next time, LH

89%

If you want a place to stay in Beijing, please go to Beijing Leo Hostel. Location is great and environment is friendly. Second time, I go there - great reference for Beijing's travelers.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for staying with us again. We are perhaps Beijing's oldest hostel and we hope to keep improving! See you next time for an even better stay! Regards, LH

80%

I was a little upset that the staff didn't notify me upon check-in that they had luggage storage available. The lockers were unable to accommodate even the smallest of backpacks, so many guests just had to leave their backpacks on their beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your comments. Our room lockers are big enough for laptops and other valuables, so most people only use our storage room when they check out. You are welcome to store your bag in our store room during your stay, however. See you next time for another great stay! Regards, LH.

83%

Very good party atmosphere. Expensive food and beer though.


80%

Lovely hostel, friendly and helpful staff, good food! Fantastic location, my room was nice and quiet. They organize a cool trip to the Great Wall which is good value for money but the time on the Wall (2 hrs) was a little short for me - but then again I am a long distance runner. The internet is not always working perfectly though and unfortunately the showers smell of urine... All in all, I would recommend the hostel but it´s a good idea to bring shower shoes ;) Would come again!

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello.Thank you for your great comments! We hope to see you next time! Regrds, LH.

91%

One of the best hostels I've seen so far, except for the showers/toilets. Staff was awesome, many people in common area (which is a bar, people do not come only from Leo there) with always a good atmosphere there, and lots of beers. Location is perfect, right on the edge of both touristic and much less touristic areas. Only 2 things I didn't really like: lots of lockers have an almost non-functional lock (you can open them without key quite easily), and the showers & toilets that are not clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your great comments! We are happy that you liked our socialable bar - we are also quite famous for our food. You need to attach a lock to the lockers(!). You can use your own lock or rent one from reception. See you next time! Regads, LH.

100%

Helpful staff, very clean rooms and great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your great comments! Everyone likes our great location - just south of Tiananmen Square, the Forbidden City and the subway network. We look forward to seeing you next time for another great stay! LH :)

83%

Leo Hostel is a well equipped and large hostel. The rooms are very cheap for Beijing but vary, and if you need a quiet room make sure you contact them to put you in the courtyard building otherwise there will be noise from the bar. Also some of the dorm beds do not have a mattress but some kind of rock solid tatami thing - good for the back I'm sure but for sleeping? The bar is cheap and serves a range of food that comes out slowly. Staff vary but do their best. Tours are cheap.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, thank you for your comments. If you would like to change your mattress please tell reception. We are really happy that you liked our restaurant/24 hour bar. See you next time for another great stay. Regards, LH.

94%

Room was dirty and musty when we arrived but they quickly cleaned it - minor oversight. Good facilities with a big bar and some gamerooms, Location is fantastic - on a pedestrian street 10 minutes from Tienamen Square.


94%

Great hostel, very comfortable, and really friendly staff. Best thing about the hostel is the location, just a short walk from Forbide City and Tiananmen Square and in a nice Hutong area

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you next time for another great stay! LH

94%

Very good hostel, very good value for money and very friendly staff. However, I wouldn't book a tour to the Great Wall with them as it was a bit disappointed. Check in other hostels or travel agency and ask before what exactly you're going to do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your great comments. Please let us know what the problems were with our Great Wall tour. Most guests love our Secret Great Wall tour (and lots of guests from other hostels often join us), so we are surprised! Anyway, see you next time for another great stay. LH

71%

Only one PC was available to check emails. Table for the emails was not good to type emails. The rest was perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your comments. Most guests have computers or phones that can use our FREE WIFI, so we only have one FREE PC. We do not want the table to be too comfortable, as then guests will sit there all day and not allow other guests to use it! See you next time for another great stay. LH

66%

Dirty sheets, towels, and bathroom. Bathroom light didn't work for a night and was not fixed promptly, though management did give us a refund for half the price of the room for the night the light did not work. Wifi only works in the lobby. The Great Wall tour was enjoyable and reasonably priced, however. It was nice to go to a part of the wall that was not overrun by tourists.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your refund. It is unfortunate that our repairman was not available sooner. Wifi works (usually!) all over the hostel. If there is a problem, please tell reception. It's good hear that you enjoyed our famous Secret Wall tour - the best choice for people wanting to visit a quiet part of the Wall with unrestored sections. See you next time. LH

97%

definitely the best hostel in beijng. good location, nice stuff, and i love the secret great wall tour. rocommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you next time! LH

89%

Leo's is in a really great location and they offer really great tours. Ideal if you only have a few days to explore Beijing as it's right by Tiananmen Square and the forbidden city. Staff are really helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you next time! LH

100%

Leo Hostel is very conveniently located, has a good atmosphere and offers a great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello. Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you next time! LH

66%

The Hostel is located in the Hutongs, so you are already in the nicest location in Beijing,in my opinion. A lot of old restaurants and you get to see the real life in Beijing. Staff is really unfriendly and many don't speak English. Also they gave us the wrong room in the beginning. But the Restaurant and Bar in the Hostel are nice. Cocktails and Shishas are cheap so you can have a nice evening. Rooms are cold (were there in march) and furnished very simple. Don't know if I would stay again!


(54 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback