X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Belfast City Backpacker Reviews

53 - 55 Malone Avenue, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
296 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Overall, this hostel is very good. And there is one additional value: the dog. Yes, the funny black dog. =)

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

94%

Excellent hostel with excellent staff! Nice rooms, decent brekky and clean!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

100%

Great place to stay and would definitely recommend to anyone :-)

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

69%

The place looks awesome but the extended family of the owners took over the living room areas and the sofas with the parents, two kids, a sibling or two and a partner every evening. All the hostel guests were in the dining area instead of the social spaces. Very awkward. Had fluctuations in the hot water unit in the room. It was however the most comfy bed of my trip. Their coffee was instant which wasn't pleasant but was better than nothing. Very clean and the hosts were friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear David, Sorry you felt the extended family made your stay awkward, I would like to point out that extended family or not, all our guests are paying customers and are treated the same! As well as this all guests are free to make use of the common areas as they please. As you might have noticed many of the guests enjoyed the company of our family and sat with them, enjoyed 'the craic' and had a few drinks. We pride ourselves in being family very friendly.

83%

Was a nice hostel to stay in, good bright common areas and they also provide a good variety breakfast. Was an enjoyable stay however we would prefer that the staff when selling the tours have a bit more knowledge about timings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

69%

Hostel was clean and kitchen very well equiped. The disappointment was that the en-suite in our room had a broken shower which was disappointing as I had booked the room for specifically because of the private shower. it was not a problem though as the bathroom upstairs was always free.

  • 10th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker. Apologies about the broken shower.

89%

Very helpful and friendly staff

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

94%

Very good place to stay, some locks on the rooms and keys when you checked in would have been good, didn't feel too safe having valuables but other then that was very good place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Peter, all the rooms have locks on the inside door and are all equiped with security lockers under the beds. Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

77%

The Hostel was a bit further out of Town than i thought, but a 15-20min walk wasn't the end of the world and there were regular busses so it was not a problem. The door was on a securoty code, however one evening i came back to find the door left open. With recpetion not being Manned 24 hour this was a slight concern

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Matthew, It is very difficult to ensure each and every person entering and leaving the hostel closes the door, even with the 'please close the door' signs on the door, but if the security door is left open for a perlonged time an alarm sounds and the door is closed. There is members of staff on the premises 24hours a day 7 days a week. Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

74%

Hostel is in a quiet location, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast provided. about 20 minutes walk from Centre of Belfast

  • 8th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

97%

This is the best hostel ever!

  • 30th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

69%

The rooms were clean, location was decent, but the staff were terrible. I never spoke to the owners, only the guy helping out who was very helpful. The owners left their dog to run around the hostel all day which gets very annoying when you are trying to eat and the dog is begging for food. Not to mention him barking early in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kevin, We have been careful to allocate suitable areas where guests can eat such as the dining area, where the dog is not permitted. The dog belongs to the hostel and is loved by many. Although we understand not everyone is a doggy person and all you have to do is say to our staff member on duty (at the time you stayed in April we had just one member working) and the dog can be removed from the communal area.

91%

This was my second stay in the Hostel, and again I stayed for several days. Paula is running the histel responsibly, and her kind way creates a comfortable atmosphere. The rooms are clean, and so are the shared bathrooms as well. The common room with the TV is comfortable, and the kitchen is well-equipped even for, say, 5 persons to prepare food at the same time. We had a wonderful time there and are happy to know a good hostel in Belfast that we can return to and that we can recommend.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great Hostel the staff were really friendly especially with such a large group of us. I have stayed in this hostel twice now and would definitely recommend it, if you are staying in Belfast. Great atmosphere and facilities, and the staff were happy to help with phoning taxis etc.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.



View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback