Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast City Backpacker Reviews

53 - 55 Malone Avenue, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained


317 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


The rooms were clean, location was decent, but the staff were terrible. I never spoke to the owners, only the guy helping out who was very helpful. The owners left their dog to run around the hostel all day which gets very annoying when you are trying to eat and the dog is begging for food. Not to mention him barking early in the morning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kevin, We have been careful to allocate suitable areas where guests can eat such as the dining area, where the dog is not permitted. The dog belongs to the hostel and is loved by many. Although we understand not everyone is a doggy person and all you have to do is say to our staff member on duty (at the time you stayed in April we had just one member working) and the dog can be removed from the communal area.


This was my second stay in the Hostel, and again I stayed for several days. Paula is running the histel responsibly, and her kind way creates a comfortable atmosphere. The rooms are clean, and so are the shared bathrooms as well. The common room with the TV is comfortable, and the kitchen is well-equipped even for, say, 5 persons to prepare food at the same time. We had a wonderful time there and are happy to know a good hostel in Belfast that we can return to and that we can recommend.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


Great Hostel the staff were really friendly especially with such a large group of us. I have stayed in this hostel twice now and would definitely recommend it, if you are staying in Belfast. Great atmosphere and facilities, and the staff were happy to help with phoning taxis etc.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for you review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Belfast City Backpacker.

1 2 Next » last »
(23 results)

View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback