X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3801 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

bed with really tall legs, making funny noises even if you just turned around over night, shower drainage not very good, water was running all over the bathroom (no delimited area for shower), taps need continuous pressing to work (you can only wash a hand at a time) and their drainage was covered in hair from previous guests, very, very basic, no towels, no soap, but cheap and with a car park

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Not bad. Clean and in a good location however was absolutely lifeless on a Saturday day/night. Is definitely a place to stay if you are hoping to make the most of your days, not nights.


60%

There was only wifi on the 1st floor. And no atmosphere everyone is just on the 1st floor for the wifi. It was one of the worst hostels I have stayed in. Not good if you're a solo traveler! Like never really like IYH's so just don't!


97%

Excellent place, cafe sells cheap and delicious food!

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Big hostel with good facilities and amazing staff!


80%

Good position , staff helpfull and friendly enough , the place is old and average tho


69%

Our window in the room had a balcony so it couldnt be open and the room needed fresh air...

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Not a bad place to stay, has everything you need, 10 mins walk from the bus station and short walk into the city. You get what you pay for. There is also a coach tour office at the reception of the hostel which was useful.


74%

The floors of the shower rooms were kinda grim, but otherwise I pretty nice place to stay.

  • 24th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at.


77%

Was a bit of a walk to the main area about 15 minuets, but really close to the bus station which was good. Washing was a bit over priced £4 to do it your self other places charge that and they so it for you. Other than that it was good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. Our location means that we are accessible to not only the city centre (15 minute walk as you say) but also queens quarter and nearby Botanic and Stranmillis which are only approximately 5 minutes away. I am delighted to hear that you found us convenient to all the public transport links. I very much hope you enjoyed your visit to Belfast! Cathy

83%

I enjoyed my stay here and found the residents and staff very friendly.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Each and every staff member were friendly and efficient in all our dealings with them. It was a pleasure staying there.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

The hostel has friendly & helpful staff, good environment with good security. It is very good to have a lift so that the we do not need to bring the heavy luggage up the stairs. The room is clean and the bathroom is spacious. If the dust in the ceiling of the bathroom can be removed the cleanliness would be perfect.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us! I very much hope you enjoyed your trip to Belfast. Cathy

86%

The stay at the hostel was short but in that time I found the staff very friendly and helpful the made my stay very enfoyable.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. All feedback from guests is extremely important to us and I am delighted to hear that you found our reception staff to be friendly - we strive to ensure our guests feel comfortable and welcome throughout their stay and it is great to hear that this was your experience! Cathy

100%

Nothing to add. Everything was excellent. Special thanks to Phil.


40%

Very run down place, dirty, old.

  • 18th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast International Youth Hostel. It is obviously very disappointing and disheartening for us to receive such a low score, however all feedback is extremely important to us. We work extremely hard to ensure that we create a warm, welcoming, clean, comfortable, affordable environment for all our guests and this is usually reflected by the scores and comments left for us. I am sorry to hear that this was not your own experience. Cathy

66%

The rooms were pretty good, but the "lounges" were uninviting and the internet only works out by the reception. I think the only reason why I would go back would be for the attached causeway cafe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi - many thanks for your review of our Belfast International Youth Hostel. I'm disappointed to hear that you found our lounges to be uninviting. We strive to ensure all areas of the hostel are warm and welcoming for our guests and I'm sorry that this was not your personal experience. Unfortunately being a not for profit organisation, it is not economically feasible for us to offer wifi throughout the building but I do hope you found the FREE wifi in the common areas useful. Cathy

74%

I was in a basic 4-bed female dorm. There was no locker in the room. There were only 2 electric power points in the room. Understood that this hostel was under renovation at this stage.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Belfast Youth Hostel. All of our female dorm rooms have locker facilities and if these were missing throughout your stay, they may not have been yet returned after the recent renovation as you say. If this is the case then I sincerely apologise and hope that it did not cause you too much of an inconvenience. Wishing you all the best. Cathy

69%

Not my best hostel experience. Night Staff were very unfriendly. Day staff very helpful. Room - 222 had a broken radiator which made the room too hot. Also Noise from people smoking in the car park was an issue. So i changed to room 202. All ok until i was woken at 05.30 by the noisy plumbing. Taps at the hostel are operated by depressing the tops. This mechanism, once you let go, snaps back with a lot of pressure and this makes quite a racket, especially in the early hours of the morning.

  • 14th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review - It is disappointing that you found our night staff to be unfriendly, we strive to ensure all our guests feel welcome & I am sorry that this was not your experience. The purpose of our taps mechanism is actually to save water. Unfortunately over the years many guests have forgotten to turn off the taps & aside from flooding the building, this goes against our "green policy" in which we strive to minimise our environmental impact. I hope you enjoyed Belfast nonetheless!

(2664 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback