X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belfast International Youth Hostel Reviews

22-32 Donegal Road, Belfast, Northern Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
4101 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

mettre un coin salon, et juste fermer la cuisine pas le réfectoire, et le gardien de nuit est un con.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Really enjoyed the stay, great location and very friendly at reception.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

I was not expecting much from a hostel but I was pleasantly surprised. It is a quite good hostel with a very helpful staff. The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and the place on the lower floor where we had breakfast served really good food. However, when taking a shower, the window was open and we were freezing, and it was impossible to close it since it was unreachable. What's more, the WiFi, which was supposed to only work in the lobby, didn't.

  • 20th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Very helpfull staff, that's great. Given cheats were clean, but not the under bed and blanket ...

  • 17th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

I have always found this hostel very good and the staff very helpful and friendly.The only criticism that I would have is that the showers need updating re shower heads old/drainage within in the shower is sometimes poor.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Unfortunately I cant say I enjoyed my stay here. The shower & toilet facilities on Level two were freezing due to the windows permanently open and difficult to reach to close. The Shower room smelt strongly of urine and therefore I did not shower. The bedroom window in room 215 didn't close entirely,making the room permanently cold and drafty. The internet only accessible on the ground floor to which was continuously lagging and or not working at all. The staff however were friendly & V helpful

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us. Obviously we were disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay. We do have a dedicated team of housekeepers who work tirelessly to ensure that the hostel's hygiene is of the highest standard. Be assured we will look at the window you mentioned and have taken your comments re wi-fi on board. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

The staff were really friendly and helpful with lots of good recommendations. The twin private room we stayed in was basic but clean and perfect for our time in Belfast. The only downside was that the wifi only worked in the lobby and on the second day it was so slow that it didn't work at all.

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us and I can assure you your comments regarding the wi-fi have been taken on board. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

77%

Some of the staff were lovely and really helpful but we asked one guy about the titanic museum he just listed off train times and said the station was around the corner and that was the conversation over. The cafe they have is really nice and has reasonable prices. Also the parking is fantastic and really secure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave us your feedback - we always appreciate it. We hope you enjoyed your time in Belfast. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

86%

This is a really great hostel. Every staff member I met was fantastic and it is in a very good location - very easy to drive to (plus they have free, secure parking at the back of the hostel) and conveniently located in the city centre, without being so central that you're kept up all night with the city noise. There were only a few downsides: squeaky beds, a lack of wash basins in all of the toilets and the kitchen could possibly have been a little better equipped. But still a great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for taking the time to review us. We're glad you had a nice stay and we would love to welcome you back. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

83%

Very friendly and welcoming staff. Lovely lounge areas where we spent a lot of time on beanbags! Unfortunately the WiFi only worked on the ground floor/reception area, and not in our rooms. They have a lovely cafe, the "Causeway Cafe," that offers a variety of breakfast and lunch for a good price. Also a bonus is they have a tour company, McCombs, directly in the hostel. Any tours you book leave directly from the hostel - very convenient! Would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us such a nice review. We would love to have you back! Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

It's close to two rail stations so no complaints about that. The cafe below does good breakfast.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your high scoring review - yes we are centrally located for bus and train and it was great to read that you enjoyed the food! Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

43%

Chambre type cellule de prison, sanitaires sales et bruit constant.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

everything is fine, except the night staff is not pretty much patient.

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to review us - we were pleased to read that you thought the hostel was good and be assured that we value all feedback. Safe Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

69%

Le personnel présent à l'accueil est très gentil et pour certains, très disponibles. Auberge très bruyante par son emplacement. salle de bain désagréable les WC sont "douchés" lors de la prise de douche, pas de mélangeur au lavabo, draps en très mauvais état, matelas avec ressorts qui "perforent" le dos, bruits très sonores et très forts dans les tuyauterie (pas très sympa à 3 h du matin après avoir réussi à s'endormir malgré le bruit ambiant...). salle repas pas éclairée et pas chauffée le soir

  • 20th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

no wifi no teakettle

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for your high scoring review. Just to point out that we do have free wi-fi in the reception area and there is more than one kettle in the kitchen - please don't hesitate to ask at reception if you have any queries in future. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

It is valuable to live there!

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel itself was great but unfortunately staying on a Saturday evening we didn't get much sleep due to the noise from the nightclub round the corner, music until late then the patrons going home with the clean up operation next. Staff were friendly and food in the cafe was really good value

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and it was great to read that you thought our hostel was so good. You are correct that there is little we can do about on street noise, especially coming up to Christmas with office parties etc, but some rooms are of course quieter than others if you ask for availability. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

91%

The heater in our room did not work. (

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for giving us such a high scoring review. The heater in your room should certainly have been working and be assured we will look into this. Happy Travels Belfast International Youth Hostel

86%

Showers and toilets usually are the trickiest thing in hostels. We were lucky it was not very busy during our stay so we had the shower room to ourselves and always hot water. They were extraordinarily clean and spacious!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thank you for taking the time to leave us a review - we do appreciate it and were pleased to read that you were impressed with the facilities! Belfast International Youth Hostel

89%

wonderful staying,the only negative point is the number of toilets/shower is poor for the rest,one of the best hostel we've ever been!

  • 11th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and it was great to read that you thought our hostel was one of the best you've been to! The number of toilets and showers we have in relation to beds far exceeds the Northern Ireland Tourist Board minimum standards, but be assured we value all feedback. Best Wishes Belfast International Youth Hostel

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(179 results)


View all Belfast Hostels

Please give us your feedback