Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 3738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 3738 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
5.7

The staff was so nice and the location very good because you can see beautiful places very near. But very dirty, the dirtiest hostel I stayed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
5.1

Extremely rude staff. Fairly bad location, 34 min high-need-to-pee-pace-walk from the old town. My bed smelled urine. Very bad. No ventilation in the rooms. Very bad illumination too. Wouldn't stay again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Friendly staff, cool concept (it's a converted church). A significant gripe however is that the beds near the building walls get really cold and drafty.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jessicadonegan381
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
7.4

We had a private room which was great, nice location as well however the male showers were disgraceful, it was so off putting.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
6.3

Very dirty and unhelpfull staff. Locker couldn't Close and they have no extra one i have to carry all importan things with to shower and toilet !! next day have to change the room i asked to leave my bag with them and will be back in the evening to get to my new room a guy said no more space for my bag i should take it with me and come back at 2 pm to make new check in . ?????? very unthoughfull staff. and very dirty toilet and comom area i ever seen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Apr 2017
3.1

Me and my girlfriend had the worst experience in this hostel. Not only the cleningness of the Hostel, overall was really bad, but also in the rooms as well. We booked a double room and it was a mess, panflets and receipts all around, used towels on the floor and even someones used panties.The room was clearlly not in conditions of receiving anyone.Unfortunately for us we made a 3 nights reservation and even though we made a complaint to the Hostel's manager about it, they only cleared the towels

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
8th Apr 2017
9.1

The Aussie staff member was awesome, and the others seems lovely too. Our private twin was really comfortable and super clean. We LOVED that it was in a converted church! It was really cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
6.6

The place has a good location, the only thing is that my room smelled very bad, I am not sure if it is for the necessity for having more windows, the bathrooms are ok. But it is necessary , to consider more the cleaness of the rooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Apr 2017
8.9

A charming place and a pleasant stay. Staff are happy to chat and help. Cooking and shower facilities work well. It could be just the building's age showing but heating doesn't work particularly well, and rooms feel cramped. It only happened to me as far as I know, but my locker was all the way out in the corridor as it didn't fit in the room, making it quite a hassle and security concern. WiFi does not reach into the rooms, hence the common dining area can get crowded at times.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
8.9

I loved that it was an old church. It was a bit of a walk to all the places I wanted to go, but it enabled me to see more of the city so I'm pretty okay with it. The girls bathroom was NICE and I loved the hallways that were painted. I just wish there was wifi that was available upstairs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.