Hostelworld.com

Belford Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3650 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3650 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Feb 2017
7.4

Nice staff. Rugby weekend so a male dominated crowd. Loud groups coming back late but quiet people in our room. A bit of a walk from the hostel to Royal Mile, Edinburgh Castle, etc. Generally content with the weekend stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
8.9

It is a good hostel. The only thing I didn't like it is too dark inside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.4

The people working are all super nice and the place is great as well. Edinburgh is a beautiful place and Belford is a hostel I would definitely stay at again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
10.0

I would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Jan 2017
9.4

Good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
8.6

The place is nice, the Staff is GREAT always willing to help hosts. - I have to say that ITS COLD everywhere (even in the rooms)...maybe its because of the building (its an old Church). I had a great time at Belford hostel, and I would go back of course !!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
8.9

I had nice stay at the Belford Hostel. It was a solid location near downtown which was very walkable. The facility was fairly nice with a good communal space. The best thing about the stay was the staff. There was a worker from South Africa who was and exceptionally helpful. I had a tour to Loch Ness that fell through and she spent almost an hour helping me set up new plans. She also knew Edinburgh like the back of her hand, so she recommended loads of things to do. Her service was the x-factor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
7th Jan 2017
7.4

The private room that we stayed in was warm, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a shared facility but it was cleaned very regularly and there are enough bathrooms that there was never any waiting. It was a bit of a trek to the city centre, about a 25 minute walk to Princes Street and a 40 minute walk to the Royal Mile and there aren't many shops or places to eat nearby but for most travellers this shouldn't be too much of a problem. Would recommend to anyone on a budget.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
9.7

The place is beautiful, the atmosphere is cozy, the staff is very nice, and the location is convenient. We stayed in a private room that exceeded expectations in most regards, only disappointment was the insufficient heating in the room due to high ceilings, but the covers are thick and we had a good night's sleep.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
30th Dec 2016
4.6

Had an incident in the room but the staff handled it very professionally.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.