Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 3,500 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 3,500 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Belford Hostel Located at 6/8 Douglas Gardens, , Edinburgh.
Belford Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH4 3DA 6/8 Douglas Gardens
78% 3500
55.9508578 -3.2207536
Belford Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
8.9

Place is really cool, in an old church, there are lockers inside the rooms and you get to use it for free (at least it was the time I went). Not far from downtown and from airport shuttle stop.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Aug 2016
10.0

Amazing stay! Very clean! Hot showers! Had a in oyr private room! I was travelling with a friend and she was also impressed with the cleanliness and how friendly and informative the staff was. We didn't use the kitchen facilities but was impressed by what was available to use if we did cook! They also provided us with towels! Amazing! Means, I bought alot more souvenirs! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.3

Sleeping in a church is not really common. I loved that ! I only spent a few hours to sleep so didn't get to experience a lot there, but staff was really nice, the place is safe and clean and is 20 min walk to the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
9.4

We had a wonderful stay at Belford! It's about a 15-20 minute trek from downtown, but on the plus side the surrounding area is much quieter than the city, which makes for a better night's sleep (and there's a bus if you want to save walking) Some of the cleanest hostel beds and showers we have ever seen, very comfortable, and really friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Aug 2016
8.0

Great hostel overall, a bit of a walk from the nightlife though. I'd recommend staying here if you're in Edinburgh for a longer time and need some peace and quiet around you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Aug 2016
5.4

I reported a petty theft in our room to the staff on duty which was unprofessionally passed on to the accused thief, even though the staff already knew the accused hadn't been acting normally for the duration of his stay. I was then put into a dangerous situation in the dormitory in which I felt threatened at 6am when the accused angrily returned. Having spoken to the manager the following morning I was given no resolution, just poor excuses as to why this was dealt with so badly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
6.3

an overnight stop for my family on account of our flight getting in late, forced to be in edinburgh on Fringe dates so pricey. This hostel was OK, butneeded to pay £40 deposit for keys, meaning a long walk to the cash machine at 2 in the morning. Slept the other way round in the bed as the corner stank of vomit. The shared toilets were dirty and overflowing with tissues. I am not a fussy person so could cope with this for one short night. May upset others

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
9.1

Fabulous, Beautiful hostel that used to be a huge church. Good facilities - best hostel showers EVER. Well equipped kitchen, awesome staff. Few complaints: it's about 20-30min walk into the city, and some of the dorms are in what used to be the sanctuary, and you can hear people going in and out of rooms. It was mostly quiet though, the beds were comfy, and I had no problems with sleeping. Really good clean hostel, would definitely visit again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Greece, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
10.0

Great hostel! I recommend it to everyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Aug 2016
8.9

The hostel is in a castle. Nice place good clean facilities and walkable to the city centre. Huge kitchen and TV room . Nothing to complain about .

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.