Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 3,551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 3,551 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Belford Hostel Located at 6/8 Douglas Gardens, , Edinburgh.
Belford Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH4 3DA 6/8 Douglas Gardens
79% 3551
55.9508578 -3.2207536
Belford Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2016
9.4

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed, really special one (how often can you sleep in a church?). The rooms are nice, beds are comfy, it has huge common room and nice kitchen. The only thing I had a problem with was the lady at the reception - when I've arrived, i've rang the bell and waited for about 5 minutes, then I tried again - she showed up in another 5 or 6 minutes, highly annoyed, talking to me like a was some little brat... But, otherwise it's the best place to stay in Edinburgh :).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kfarnold098135
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.0

The hostel is a short walk from Haymarket station and about 20-30 minutes from Edinburgh Waverley; it's very close to the modern art museums but a good walk from Old Town. Our private twin room was tiny and contained a bunk bed rather than two beds side-by-side, but it wasn't a huge issue for us as we were really only there to sleep. The staff were friendly and facilities clean, though the wifi really only worked reliably in the common area. Overall, a nice enough stay in Edinburgh!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jimmyleemcgregor2492
  • South Africa, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
8.3

I loved staying here! The people were helpful and friendly; the rooms were a tad cramped, but clean and comfy; the common room and kitchen are huge; and they have a bar! Will definitely stay here again if given the chance.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
7.4

Much farther away from the centre of town than I was expecting, but otherwise fine for the price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Sep 2016
7.7

Noisy, noisy. If anyone makes noise in their room you can hear it in any other room. You are essentially in a subdivided big sanctuary with horrible accoustics. Don't think you are going to get a quiet night's sleep here

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
8.0

Rooms and facilities were good. Location was pretty far from the city center. Strange group of people all playing computer games in the common area. But TV was convenient and kitchen was a good size.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
10th Sep 2016
10.0

This has been unquestionably my best experience in any hostel. It felt like being in an excellent college dorm with lots of privacy, on site entertainment and an easy going crowd. The rooms are SUPER CRAMPED and yet so well arranged that that was never a problem. Slept fantastically both nights. Great staff as well.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Sep 2016
7.4

Good hostel to stay at for a few nights, Just a few negatives: you can hear everyone's conversation outside of your room so easily so if people are loud in the morning leaving you'll definitely wake up. Wifi doesn't work in the room at all, and the Australian receptionist guy seemed like he hated his job, not very friendly or personal. Great beds and lockers in the room though, and also an amazing kitchen.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Sep 2016
4.3

I stayed in one of the private rooms. I was expecting it to be quieter there but that wasn't the case. There were some men hanging outside the windows of my room every day so I found myself drawing the curtains all the time I was in, in order to have some privacy and not feel observed. They don't clean the room. There were empty alcohol cans under my bed, obviously from previous guests. I know it is a hostel, but I was expecting more than this, especially when you paid for a private room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
7.4

I like the hostel. But instead the bed cloth are clean the bedrooms, baths and showers not really. So that's no good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.