Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 3926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 3926 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Aug 2017
4.9

We stayed at this hostel for one night and wouldn't stay there again. Our rating is mostly based on the beds and bathrooms. Our dorm was crammed too full of creaky beds leaving only about a foot between beds; a person has to turn sideways to get through. The rooms were dark as there isn't much natural light. There also are only 5 toilets for the whole hostel and they're located far away from the rooms. In general, the atmosphere was pretty weird with signs warning people not to steal food, etc.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Nice quirky hitwl in quiet and pretty dean village. Bit of a walk into town if you're going to be spensing yours days walking up and down Edinburgh's hills. Small rooms but very comfortable and nice showers. Very friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • tommy_doughty6083
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
7.1

Staff are weird. Especially guy with long hair. Other than that, a decent place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Aug 2017
10.0

Amazing hostel!!!! Only complaint is the noise-- you can hear everything that happens throughout all the rooms of the whole hostel in your room. But other than that beautiful, clean, unique, quirky, all around amazing experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • keepupwiththejoneses172715
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
9.7

We stayed at the Belford during the fringe and the two main things we found not 10/10 was the washrooms were downstairs and no wifi in the room. Other than that everyone was respectful coming and going, great atmosphere, friendly staff, lockers in each room and it was clean! Breakfast was 1.50£ for coffee toast and jam :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Aug 2017
8.0

If they could've stuffed another bed into the dorm, they probably would have. It's really cramped, but fine for sleeping.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
7.1

It was worth it for the cheap price. But some of the staff were unfriendly and I was afraid to ask them questions. It is also very loud as there are windows on the roof of each room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
3.4

A very bad hostel. Very noisy and the stuff was very unfriendly. The have no safe place where you can leave your keys when outcheking early so it happend that even we put the key where we were to told to leave it they charged us saying that we didnt returned back the keys. I would never go there again.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As you left without leaving your keys, which we needed for the incoming guests, we had no choice but to charge you for replacement keys. Happy travels!

  • jolie1177
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2017
2.0

They do all they can to charge for extra things. If you're minutes late to your check out they try hard to charge you for an extra night. Not a nice staff or atmosphere. Wouldn't recommend staying there. Small bedrooms and too many beds inside, wifi only works in the kitchen.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

So sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Happy travels!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2017
8.0

I chose this hostel because of his particularity of being an ex church. It is a little bit far away of city center but in a safety area near the Modern Art museum and it is easy to get there from Haymarket station and to Airlink stop to Airport. Good place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.