X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2626 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Wi-fi doesn't work in the rooms area. The common area is a pleasant place, with a bar, pool table and plenty of space. They need more people on the cleaning staff, although things are not horrendous as many people have said. Distance to the center is not a problem, Edinburgh is not a very big city and everything can be done walking. In a nutshell, it is a good place to stay, for the price you pay, but if you focus on the bad things the place has/lacks to offer you may not have a good experience.

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The lady who welcomed us was very nice and very helpful, we were happy to meet her.

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Wonderful place to stay with a wonderful, lively set of staff that will tell you loads of good places to visit in the city! :) Thanks for making our stay as pleasant as it was!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very very nice hostel. A little rough around the edges but a great hostel in a beautiful building :)

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We were staying in a private room and enjoyed the comfort offered: good bed, free coffee in the room, space for clothes, clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff too.Good location, close to a tram stop but also quite walkable from city center.And of course the unusual setting (an old church) makes it an original place to stay at! the only negative point: the thin walls( our neighbours were quite noisy ,laughing out loud and banging doors at 1 a.m. maybe a notice in the corridor wld be useful?

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff here were quite unfriendly upon our arrival, which was a shame. The shower facilities are fine, hot water and power, but the actual room is a bit small and overheated. The bedding didn't seem very clean, although the mattresses were comfortable. Kitchen facilities were ok but seems a bit mean making you pay for breakfast when you've already paid to stay! Location is a bit out of the way but not too bad. The overall atmosphere was bit depressing - made you want to get up and about!


89%

Very nice place to stay in Edinburgh. Large kitchen and common room. Former church.......

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I wouldn't go back to this hostel. First, you don't even realise you are in a church, since they refurnited everything in a way to hide the that you are in a church. But since it still is a church the dorms have only windows to the hallway which means that you hear even the guy across the hall snoring or the drunken girl getting back at 4am. Showers were disguting plastic boxes which were really not clean. And well, the location doesn't make up to all this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. The vaulted ceilings and stained glass windows are original features, as are the columns and marble slabs, and are visible throughout the dorm area. I'm sorry this didn't meet with your expectations, and that you did not enjoy our new female showers. At least you enjoyed the location! Hope you had a good time in Edinburgh! Happy travels!

80%

Lovely folks, fine rooms and a spacious kitchen all in this amazing building (you can definitely see it used to be a church).

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not enough toilets, too much noise, could hear everyone from other rooms.


100%

The rooms came with lockers, smelt clean, well ventilated and so did the bedding. The location was great - a nice short walk from the town centre on the main roads so as 2 girls we felt totally safe going back at night. There were enough showers and we were able to get straight in or only have to wait a couple of minutes. They were clean and modern. Friendly with good cooking facilities including an oven(!!!) and good utensil variety. Always enough bowls&cups etc. Beautiful stainglass windows


86%

Thanks a lot for that nice accomodation!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Coolest little hostel ever! Staff are so lovely and friendly, will definitely be coming back to stay!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Super unique hostel. Even just worth staying there for that fact. It looks awesome inside and I did not expect them to be able to make that out of an ols church.


83%

Amazing and friendly staff.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Perfect for what we needed, somewhere to lay our heads during the fringe festival.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Even though the hostel is relatively clean, the facilities it offers are below what I expected for the price I paid. The (male) showers can be found in a damp basement, where you can almost taste the moisture when breathing. The beds are squeaky and the doors noisy, making for a very bad night rest. "Have you ever wanted to sleep in a church?" is the first question you get, and my answer is "not in yours". For an example of a good Church-based hostel, check out Backpackers Plus in Oban.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The westend is about half an hour from the royal mile, it's quiet and feels safe walking home in the early hours of the morning. The staff were nice enough and mostly helpful, beds are comfy, the dorms are dorms, the showers do run out of hot water, so get up and go! I was there for the festival so I was staying much longer than most of the other guests, made it a little tricky to meet other solo travellers as most others were just moving through. Belford is nothing special, but it's good value.


69%

I would say it is an ok hostel but considering the price a good value for the money. Overall had a good stay but would say that toilets need some more attention.


77%

It was surprisingly nice to have the hostel in a church, the room was nice with no spring mattress. There was a lot room in the common area with the bar and the pool, need to improve the choice of music though (but that is just my point of you)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback