Hostelworld.com

Belford Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 3,297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 3,297 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
Belford Hostel Located at 6/8 Douglas Gardens, , Edinburgh.
Belford Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH4 3DA 6/8 Douglas Gardens
79% 3297
55.9508578 -3.2207536
Belford Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
7.1

Location very good, Staff nice, quiet space between top and bottom bed really small, toilets, showers are not in convenience places,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
8.3

No dramas, good value. I'd stay there again. I would have liked the option to pay a bit more and have a bigger/ better breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2016
9.4

Cool place! Staff was friendly & knowledgeable in regards to city & travel tips. Kitchen was pretty spacious, which was awesome. Facilities were clean and easily accessible. Had a nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
5.1

Toilets were out of order for all of my stay. 4 toilets in total, 3 out of order. The one that was in use was dirty. Bar was closed on a Saturday night, even though we were told it would be open. Staff reluctate to give me a receipt. However, good sized locker and comfortable mattress. Noisy; but that's the same with all hostels.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, i looked into your dates and there was no toilets out of order over the weekend you stayed,we have 10 toilets here, not 4, so maybe you didn't explore our great church enough, also the hostel bar is open every friday and saturday night all year, not sure how you didn't find it, good luck with the rest of your travels

  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
4.3

Sorry to say that but wouldn't recommend this hostel. My single room looked more like a tiny storage room, with dark red walls, old shabby and dirty shelf. The room itself also smelled bad. There was no soap in the dispenser in the bathroom, but most importantly there was only freezing cold water in the sink. Poor experience.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback, our single room is small and cosy just for one, at £15 per night for your own room in Edinburgh we think its very reasonable, sorry that you didn't like our colour choices for your room, i will look into the issue of no soap because that shouldn't happen.Good luck with the rest of your travels

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
7.4

We literally stayed for the night, close enough to nightlife. - certainly adequate for our needs and wants. Shower had gum trodden into floor, and was cold. Thanks

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
9.1

it´s a good hostel in the city centre, you have to walk about 20 minutes to reach to the main landmarks and restaurants. I didn´t like wifi doesn´t reach the rooms and I had to go to lounge room to use internet it has a good kitchen

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • juacohi
  • Chile, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 42 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.0

Interesting hostel, it was good to stay in a church. It was weird that not all the lockers were in the room, some of them were in another place, and I had other locker next to my bed which result waking up in the night and morning when the other people wanted to take their things in the locker next to my bed. Was uncomfortable, why don't put owner's locker next to their bed? Would be easier. WiFi works really bad and slow and works only downstairs in the kitchen. Personal outlets in each bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.6

I stayed in a private room over easter weekend. The staff were very friendly, room was comfortable and showers were clean. Only downside is that it is a bit far from old town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Mar 2016
7.1

Was exactly what we were looking for, the staff were great and good value for money. The beds were really comfy and I had a great sleep both nights. I don't stay in a lot of hostels so don't have much to compare it to but I thought the toilets could have been a bit cleaner. Overall positive stay though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.