X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2658 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I liked stay at this hostel.


54%

Rooms are OK. Staff unfriendly (overworked? Well, sorry for you, but not my fault!) Showers - the male showers will be renovated this Oktober, so maybe it's better if I don't write any more about it.


69%

Depend on the staffs some have bad atmosphere, unfortunately.


63%

The bathroom in the private room was uncomfortable as the draining system was way too slow to refill.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great place to stay.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It was interesting to see the hostel in the church,also location is near old town,where is romantic and quiet,far from tourists.Hostel by itself is ok,but a bit smelly and dark,rooms have no proper airflow,didn't meet any people with whom you could talk to,since all zombified on laptops and phones...Complete degradation..


60%

Not a terrible place to stay, but certainly wouldn't recommend it to people I liked :) The wifi is only accessible in the common room which is super annoying, the rooms were super tight even by European standards, and it wasn't very clean (the blankets were reused, seriously, and no top sheet...so basically you're sleeping with a blanket that's been used by who knows how many people..). The bonus is the staff were awesome to me. Sherrilyn I believe her name was, really went above and beyond


66%

Nice people. Hostel wasn't as spectacular as expected. It did not feel like a church once inside. And the location turned out to be a little further away from the places we wanted to be than expected. Overall: not as good as we had hoped it'd be.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Wi-fi doesn't work in the rooms area. The common area is a pleasant place, with a bar, pool table and plenty of space. They need more people on the cleaning staff, although things are not horrendous as many people have said. Distance to the center is not a problem, Edinburgh is not a very big city and everything can be done walking. In a nutshell, it is a good place to stay, for the price you pay, but if you focus on the bad things the place has/lacks to offer you may not have a good experience.


71%

The lady who welcomed us was very nice and very helpful, we were happy to meet her.


89%

Wonderful place to stay with a wonderful, lively set of staff that will tell you loads of good places to visit in the city! :) Thanks for making our stay as pleasant as it was!

  • 26th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Very very nice hostel. A little rough around the edges but a great hostel in a beautiful building :)

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

We were staying in a private room and enjoyed the comfort offered: good bed, free coffee in the room, space for clothes, clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff too.Good location, close to a tram stop but also quite walkable from city center.And of course the unusual setting (an old church) makes it an original place to stay at! the only negative point: the thin walls( our neighbours were quite noisy ,laughing out loud and banging doors at 1 a.m. maybe a notice in the corridor wld be useful?

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

The staff here were quite unfriendly upon our arrival, which was a shame. The shower facilities are fine, hot water and power, but the actual room is a bit small and overheated. The bedding didn't seem very clean, although the mattresses were comfortable. Kitchen facilities were ok but seems a bit mean making you pay for breakfast when you've already paid to stay! Location is a bit out of the way but not too bad. The overall atmosphere was bit depressing - made you want to get up and about!


89%

Very nice place to stay in Edinburgh. Large kitchen and common room. Former church.......

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

I wouldn't go back to this hostel. First, you don't even realise you are in a church, since they refurnited everything in a way to hide the that you are in a church. But since it still is a church the dorms have only windows to the hallway which means that you hear even the guy across the hall snoring or the drunken girl getting back at 4am. Showers were disguting plastic boxes which were really not clean. And well, the location doesn't make up to all this.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comment. The vaulted ceilings and stained glass windows are original features, as are the columns and marble slabs, and are visible throughout the dorm area. I'm sorry this didn't meet with your expectations, and that you did not enjoy our new female showers. At least you enjoyed the location! Hope you had a good time in Edinburgh! Happy travels!

80%

Lovely folks, fine rooms and a spacious kitchen all in this amazing building (you can definitely see it used to be a church).

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Not enough toilets, too much noise, could hear everyone from other rooms.


100%

The rooms came with lockers, smelt clean, well ventilated and so did the bedding. The location was great - a nice short walk from the town centre on the main roads so as 2 girls we felt totally safe going back at night. There were enough showers and we were able to get straight in or only have to wait a couple of minutes. They were clean and modern. Friendly with good cooking facilities including an oven(!!!) and good utensil variety. Always enough bowls&cups etc. Beautiful stainglass windows


86%

Thanks a lot for that nice accomodation!

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(118 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback