Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 3,615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 3,615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.8
Belford Hostel Located at 6/8 Douglas Gardens, , Edinburgh.
Belford Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH4 3DA 6/8 Douglas Gardens
80% 3615
55.9508578 -3.2207536
Belford Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
8.6

A good value for the money. Clean and fairly comfortable, and walking distance from the Royal Mile. Absolutely beautiful space in a renovated church. There aren't many bathrooms, which can be an issue in the morning when everyone is trying to change, and the wifi only works in the common room, but you get what you pay for. I was totally happy with what I got.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Nov 2016
7.7

Cool Hostel, nice desk staff made me feel very welcome! Nice Hostel, just a little cold :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Nov 2016
7.4

Small rooms with small bunk beds... couldn't even sit on the bottom bunk and loud rooms. The female showers were in a strange location, downstairs past the kitchen area but had a solid kitchen and good sized lockers in rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
9.1

Nice hostel in a converted church with quirky decor not far from the city centre. Dorm and communal area were comfy, with a relaxed & friendly atmosphere. Kitchen had all the necessities and was clean. Staff were all really friendly and helpful :) Extras like towel rental, breakfast and luggage storage were available cheaply. Only issue was that toilets and showers were not always very clean, probably because there were not many for the number of people using them. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Oct 2016
7.7

The Hostel was in a nice area. My friend and I had a pleasant stay. We stayed for three nights. The hostel was only a short 10 minute walk from places to eat (we recommend Ryan's) and another 5 minute walk to the park and other attractions. The only strange thing was that there were (as it seemed) people there who were not under the age of 25. Though, also not sure if they advertise as a youth hostel. Other than that our stay was nice. We had lockers in our room. The beds were very comfortable!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Oct 2016
7.7

Good atmosphere, not overcrowded (our stay was during the week and in October), well-equipt kitchen and reasonably clean. Major downside for us was the lack of ventilation in the dorm room. Stuffiness was increased by child-sized bunk beds (in terms of height, not bed size). Also not quite enough toilets or space to change in female shower room. Very pretty location, a bit away from the tourist centre but all the better for it, we thought. Right on the gorgeous Water of Leith.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
19th Oct 2016
10.0

Great place. Walls are a bit thin and can be noisy, but that's what ear plugs are for! Rooms are also very small... but they give you a nice big locker. Beautiful location not too far from the town center. Great kitchen. Staff are really friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Oct 2016
8.9

If travelling by train, Haymarket is a lot nearer Belford Hostel. Accommodation was as advertised and value for money. The en-suite room had not only tea and coffee making facilities, but also a small table with two chairs, makes a change from one of us having to sit on a bed as in Premier Inn or Travelodge, plus two-seater settee and easy chair. The building itself is different,quirky and in our opinion well worth our short stay. Everyone we met, especially the staff were friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.0

Had a good time at the Belford hostel. The staff were disinterested while working. The hostel is inside an old church and how they converted was interesting, however, because of this the noise just echoed in the sleeping areas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Oct 2016
5.4

The bathrooms were very cramped and sometimes dirty. The showers were also clogged so water filled the shower floor. Also, I don't know if she was staff or not, but when I first came through, some girl assumed I was Chinese and made rude comments when she found out I was American. The staff was alright I guess.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.