Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 3820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 3820 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Jun 2017
7.1

There is a lot of potential in Belford's concept, but it's drug down by other things. According to one of their web pages, the hostel opened in 2010, but it's still cluttered on some floors from when it was a church, which means there's so much space that's going to waste. Staff is a little unfriendly, don't often make themselves known, and it feels understaffed. Because of the high ceilings, the building is loud. Wifi does not extend to rooms. It is also not very close to the center.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
10.0

Belford Hostel is one of the best hostels I've stayed at. It has a great atmosphere, being a renovated church and everything, plus the staff is very helpful and the access to a full kitchen is fantastic. I highly recommend this hostel to anybody staying in Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
6.3

Quite smelly and stuffy place, not my choice any more. Kitchen us impossible to aerate so the smell of fried food will penetrate you clothes. This is also the only place where the wifi works properly.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • vemorning
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
10th Jun 2017
7.4

The gentleman working when we first arrived was wonderful, very helpful and friendly. The lady who came on for the day was very short and curt with us. Decent location and facilities, would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
9.4

Only here for one night but really cool hostel! When I was here the atmosphere was very quiet but overall great hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jun 2017
7.7

Cool Hostel in a former church, but unfortunately I was woken up 5-10 times during the night, as the walls are not keeping any noise out and the room doors close very loudly as well.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jun 2017
8.0

Good value for money, although overall cleanliness was lacking because there was no cleaning staff, just travellers who worked there to live for free at the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
10.0

Reliable, centrally located backpackers to stay in, on your visit to Edinburgh.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st May 2017
6.9

The price was right, and the location was good, but the walls are thin and you have to slam the doors to close them, so it's pretty loud at all times.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
3.4

Loud, kids slamming doors and running everywhere. Staff seemed disgruntled, buds where horrible definitely would NOT recommend this place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.