Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Belford Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 3,408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 3,408 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Belford Hostel Located at 6/8 Douglas Gardens, , Edinburgh.
Belford Hostel
Scotland
Edinburgh EH4 3DA 6/8 Douglas Gardens
78% 3408
55.9508578 -3.2207536
Belford Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

i stayed on a Friday night, i arrived at 11 pm and the wood broke in my bunk bed at 7 am so i checked out and showed them, i asked for a proportional refund for £5 back for a £15 pay spend for the night, i was told by the reception guy that the manager would come back to me as he could not offer refunds, despite asking for some money back, i got no call or any email from them or any refund in my bank account, so please be warned that they do not care!! so if you care then stay somewhere else!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Very friendly and informative staff. Room and bathroom clean. Available kitchen and dining facilities with wifi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
9.1

very friendly people. nice beds. i would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • shinsaber
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
8th Jul 2016
6.3

This hostel was a average hostel for me, compared to the previous ones I have stayed at. The rooms were clean, however they were very hot and noisy and no windows to the outside. They have a great deal for laundry and made it very easy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.0

This place has been around since the 90s but it's fallen on bad times since then. Just a place to sleep now. Pretty sure homeless people know the door code and go from room to room looking for an empty bed in the night, happened in our room. The rooms are completely enclosed except the door and a tiny hole in the ceiling (no fan) - so they smell like a sweaty hockey rink. Your stuff will absorb this smell!Never cleaned the floors the entire time we were there (4 days): garbage everywhere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jun 2016
9.4

I actually stayed here for a total of 15 nights. Liked the place so much I extended our stay on many occasions. The facilities are great, Common Room fantastic, and the staff is just superb! This hostel's atmosphere is built on mutual respect and friendliness like I have never experienced before. Even though I have a visual impairment, I didn't have any problems moving around. Contrast stripes on stairs adequate lights etc. Totally recommend for everyone and anyone! I will definitely come back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
8.0

Staff were friendly, location was great (a bit out of town but I loved the walk), the building was super cool. Only really complaint is that it was quite loud. I paid for a private room and it was on a main hallway so there was lots of noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
8.0

The staff was very helpful, the hostel has a nice common area but at the time I went was silent as everyone was doing his business with smartphones ecc.. I stayed in a private room that was nice, unfortunately I guess the walls are very thin that you hear everything during the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jun 2016
6.9

20 min walk from town center. Wifi only works on common area, which takes from the atmosphere. Staff friendly when on shift. Showers clean, but far away from rooms. Breakfast for 1£ that includes 2 pieces of toast with jam, tea and juice. Kitchen stocked with tools.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
10.0

Very good place to stay,staff very friendly accommodation has a novelty Street theme. All round friendly atmosphere.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.