X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2526 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The price and performance rate is good.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall, the hostel was fine. However, some facilities such as shower and rooms need to be improved.


91%

very nice atmosphere. a little bit far from the centre bu still walking distance. toilet and showers are very small. beds are really comfortable. and again, atmospehere is very nice.


86%

Nice place to spend the night. Value for money based on the facilities it has. Walking distance to major attractions.


83%

Thanks. Liked kitchen, all facilities were there. Improvement : If the wifi is made accessible inside rooms as well, it will be even better.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Would have been nice if it had been built to absorb the old church feel...it was more like shacks put up within the church that block the beautiful architecture. Great security and location. Clean.


100%

I have slept in a Church before but only during Mass. The concept of turning a church into a hostel is simply great. Had a great time


94%

Very nice place


89%

It was really great experience to sleep in the church! We stay in doublebed room, with shared clean bathroom. It was very quiet outside and we had a good night. From the hostel to the center of Edinbra it was just 10-15 minutes walk.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

It was a great experience to stay in Belford Hostel, it was above our expectancies! We were really pleased, the building and decoration are amazing, the staff full of good advice and very kind, and the atmosphere very nice with the warm common room. We wish we had stayed longer and will definitely come back for our next trip to Edinburgh if we have the luck to come back there one day. Love from France! Lauriane & Léa

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

The building itself was neat, having been built inside a church, but the location was quite a hike from the Royal Mile, and the road to get there was a little sketchy late at night. The staff was friendly and helpful, esp. when I was interested in going for a morning jog. (FYI it's very close to a dirt trail that leads to an extensive bike path: excellent if you enjoy running!) Downside: no ventilation and it was hot at night. Also, I left my watch in the locker room and it was never recovered.

  • 3rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Great Hostel just out of the main mad house area of backpacker facilities in Edinburgh. Hard to see in the room even with the lights on. Cool to stay in an old church and the staff are friendly and helpful. Thanks for letting me check out late.

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel!

  • 22nd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Showers are kind of far from the rooms. Also very few showers and bathrooms for all. It's kind of away from the attractions but not by far.

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Hostel was great and staff were really accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hostel others.


86%

Especially the atmosphere and the staff were really nice! Great paintings on the walls.


80%

Friendly and welcoming staff, makes a difference!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The showers and bathrooms were too small and it should be a great improvement to clean them more than once a day. People who come in the evening and want to shower have to use dirty showers.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice hostel!! A pretty relaxed and nice vibe where you can party if you want but aren't obliged to. All the staff are really friendly and willing to help and make friends. In particular I mostly spoke to Belinda and Ryan and they were very welcoming and made my stay very easy and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.


74%

A bit creepy at first but warmed up to it after awhile. Nice large common room though rooms were a bit cramped. A little far from the city centre, but very accessible from Haymarket. Unique look to the place.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback