X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
2744 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The church looks impressive from outside, but there is nothing of the "gothic atmosphere" inside of it. It rather looks like a student dorm. The staff were nice, but the basic thing I came there for - to sleep at nights in between days of travelling - was disappointing. The walls of rooms seem to be made of paper, the neighbours in other rooms can be heard as if they are sitting near you. So at first night I found myself knocking at the neighbours' door at 2 am to ask them speak quieter.


60%

The location was extremely out of the way, the staff were very slow if not none existent, but the beds were comfy, the rooms were clean, and there was a decent amount of lounging space.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is quite nice, with pretty wall paintings everywhere. There is a big, nicely decorated, living room with a kitchen and a bar. Our twin room was nice and spacious, although quite cold outside the duvet! When you arrive, make sure to bring 20 pounds in cash to leave as deposit for the key - you'll save a trip to the cash point, that is far from the hostel.


37%

I booked 6-people room, but they gave me a room for 8 people. The room is like a prison. I will never go there again.


80%

Decent hostel for the money, however they messed my booking up so not sure how organised they are.

  • 25th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. All bookings made on Hostelworld.com are automatically processed, and the onus is on the guest to check their confirmation. The hostel is not responsible for incorrectly booked reservations. Happy travels!

100%

Very interesting experience to stay in Belford hostel! very nice atmosphere and nice location!


94%

We had a great stay. We loved the room and the hostel and we'll come back sometime.

  • 22nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

It is necessary to clean more the bathrooms.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Very strange place, church on the outside, and brought through to the inside. The rooms look a bit like temporary buildings. But clean and friendly with a 24hr bar, and plenty of showers and toilets which keeps the wait down!

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Hostel is allright except the mens shower and bathroom, which is really bad: dirty, musty, old and run down.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is very inexpensive- especially for Edinburgh. I would probably pay a tiny bit more next time to stay in a different place but that's only due to the lack of internet and power outlets in the rooms. To address others reviews: It's a walk from the "center" of things but it's an easy walk and worth it to save $. It can be a bit smelly (they have carpet and the windows don't open as it's an old church), The showers are downstairs but I found them excellent. Staff is gr8 esp Cheralyn :)


94%

I liked stay at this hostel.


74%

Nothing to complain! Great hostel, well located with easy access to city and old city and being inside an old church is a great experience! I would come back and recommend as well.


54%

Rooms are OK. Staff unfriendly (overworked? Well, sorry for you, but not my fault!) Showers - the male showers will be renovated this Oktober, so maybe it's better if I don't write any more about it.


69%

Depend on the staffs some have bad atmosphere, unfortunately.


63%

The bathroom in the private room was uncomfortable as the draining system was way too slow to refill.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great place to stay.

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It was interesting to see the hostel in the church,also location is near old town,where is romantic and quiet,far from tourists.Hostel by itself is ok,but a bit smelly and dark,rooms have no proper airflow,didn't meet any people with whom you could talk to,since all zombified on laptops and phones...Complete degradation..


60%

Not a terrible place to stay, but certainly wouldn't recommend it to people I liked :) The wifi is only accessible in the common room which is super annoying, the rooms were super tight even by European standards, and it wasn't very clean (the blankets were reused, seriously, and no top sheet...so basically you're sleeping with a blanket that's been used by who knows how many people..). The bonus is the staff were awesome to me. Sherrilyn I believe her name was, really went above and beyond


66%

Nice people. Hostel wasn't as spectacular as expected. It did not feel like a church once inside. And the location turned out to be a little further away from the places we wanted to be than expected. Overall: not as good as we had hoped it'd be.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(74 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback