X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2597 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 77%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Hostel was great and staff were really accommodating. Would definitely recommend this hostel others.


86%

Especially the atmosphere and the staff were really nice! Great paintings on the walls.


80%

Friendly and welcoming staff, makes a difference!

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

The showers and bathrooms were too small and it should be a great improvement to clean them more than once a day. People who come in the evening and want to shower have to use dirty showers.

  • 13th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice hostel!! A pretty relaxed and nice vibe where you can party if you want but aren't obliged to. All the staff are really friendly and willing to help and make friends. In particular I mostly spoke to Belinda and Ryan and they were very welcoming and made my stay very easy and comfortable. Would definitely stay there again.


74%

A bit creepy at first but warmed up to it after awhile. Nice large common room though rooms were a bit cramped. A little far from the city centre, but very accessible from Haymarket. Unique look to the place.


74%

There aren't enough power sockets in the room and almost none near the beds. The hostel is an actual old church which is just plain awesome and gives it a really cool and unique atmosphere; the bad part is because of the unusual layout of the building the facilities are not organized in a direct and simple way. For example, the bathrooms and showers are in opposite directions and far from the dorms. Also, the staff was not unwelcoming but not especially friendly: for me they were too neutral.


91%

Brilliant place to stay, would prefer if there was more ventilation in the rooms if possible.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

There was one staff member who was on reception in the mornings and she was very grumpy and unwelcoming! The hostel was great though, very cool and very close to the centre.

  • 12th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We stayed for 2 nights in a private room. The hostel was secured with a code and our rooms were locked by key, for which you need to pay a 10 pounds deposit. The hostel was 15 minutes away from the city center if you took the tram. The staff at the reception were helpful and showed us our room, as well. The atmosphere of the hostel was kind of gloomy and it got really cold at night. Fortunately, we were allowed to use a heater free of charge. Our room and the bathroom were clean.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

If you don't like walking then this is not the hostel for you. Personally I like walking, especially round a beautiful city like Edinburgh, so this hostel was great. Wasn't left wanting anything.

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The best hostel we have ever stayed in , definitely the cleanest kitchen! Totally recommend! Thanks guys!


94%

I LOVED this hostel!! The staff were absolutely incredible... they are honestly what makes this place so great. The atmosphere is top notch, we wished we could stay longer!

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Stayed in a private room, was great, clean and quiet. Good facilities and very friendly / helpful staff

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice and helpful staff, comfortable bed and room, clean shower rooms and toilets, good location!

  • 3rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very nice hostel- good facilities, lots of communal space. Location is a bit far from the center of town (quite a hike from the bus station!) and it is a bit loud at night since there is a big empty space above the rooms for sound to echo in. Big lockers with keys come with the bed, and each bed has a reading light. Overall, one of my fav hostels so far this trip! Staff very friendly and helpful with suggestions on where to go. Thanks guys! :o)


57%

Despite female showers cleanliness was good, the cleanliness of the room I stayed in was awful and the smeel even worse. For the price I payed, I felt the location not so good.


46%

The hostel was damp and cold, it smelled mouldy.


83%

Toilet rooms weren't great, but showers were really nice. I liked the decorations. People at reception were very friendly and helpful


94%

Very nice kitchen and common areas


(102 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback