X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2971 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

I had an amazing stay there! Excellent staff and a very good atmosphere. I really enjoyed this hostel!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

amazing modern art hostel inside an authentic historic church! staff friendly and always available, facilities such as beds, showers new or even brand new. rather clean, very close to the old city centre. water in the bathroom's warm, but radiators go off automatically very early in the night. alcohol not allowed inside for its sold by the hostel bar. i'd definitely go back there if i'm ever in edinburgh again.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel located a short walk from central Edinburgh. Situated in a beautiful old church. The room was large and bathrooms were clean with plenty of hot water. Big kitchen with everything you need to cook for yourself. Staff are super friendly and helpful(Especially the guy with the beard). Couldn't be happier with value for money and would recommend anyone staying in Edinburgh to stay here. Will return to Belford when I come back to Edinburgh


63%

Hotel Bedford is about 10 mins away from the main high street and Haymarket train station so the location is good but a long walk down Palmerston Place. Building is lovely, quirky and has lots of style however lacks any sort of atmosphere!! There is a common room with a pool table, massive kitchen (very well stocked), loads of tables and chairs, a quiet TV room, a bar which serves breakfast also for an additional £3. But no one seems to talk to one another. Strange for a hostel! Smelly rooms!


83%

Fun atmosphere, and very friendly staff only downside I can say was the lack of wifi throughout the hostel, but that's a small complaint.


83%

Very good place, clean and nice vibe, walking distance to city center.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

good: great showers (hot, good water pressure), good staff, big lockers, cool atmosphere bad: it was a bit cold at night


69%

It is a nice and clean place. The wifi there is terrible and the corridors are cold. The acoustic of the rooms are bad, so it can be a little bit annoying. The staff in the reception made a mistake with my bed and one day before my departure a guy entered in my room saying that I was in the wrong bed, and I think it was very unpolite since the mistake wasn't mine.


100%

love it! brilliant staff, showers are good. everything is clean. fantastic!


37%

Room was wet and dirty and stinky. There was no ventilation. The wi-fi was unavailable in the room. Mould on the walls. Terrible hostel, I paid 10 nights, but stayed only one (they have no refund!!), and on that night I was thinking that being on the train station would be more comfortable and clean. Never ever again this hostel, not even if it was free...

  • 5th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. Every effort is made to ensure our cleanliness is to the highest standard, and the room you were assigned met these standards completely. The change in your plans was also beyond our control. Happy travels!

80%

Great location...great staff, take a few moments to get to get to know them...well worthwhile... Fabulous city to visit....... Kind regards Mark and Eileen

  • 4th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Very interesting hostel. Only spent one night there, but there was not a whole lot to do at the hostel. Perfect location to just walk around wherever and super friendly staff. Only thing that was a bit annoying was the skylights in the rooms that showed the insides of the church walls, which would have been cool if they turned the lights off or dimmed when it was time for bed.


57%

There were more staff than guests staying here, which was awkward when the staff took over the common areas. Not all staff were friendly and only 1/3 of them seemed to actually work. Location was really far from center and stores, which wasn't too bad but it is a 30 minute walk to Waverly and further to the old Royal Mile which socks walking in the rain. The kitchen was nice to have. Wifi didn't work in the rooms, only downstairs. The hostel was cold. Bathroom was new. Beds were short.


91%

Great place to stay - however I had paid for 4 nights but could only stay for 2 and was not refunded the nights I couldn't stay.


43%

The room was dirty and very cold.the sheets in the bed were not clean.the bathroom was old,cold and dirty.


83%

The wifi isn't always working and the fridges get crowed but the kitchen is well equiped with 2 stoves and all the pots and pans you need. The hostel is charming but a little far from the city center. Good value for money.


57%

I have been only one night in this hostel but the experience was not good. People at the reception was not so friendly, but often unwilling and unpolite. I have rented a private room which was very tiny and not so comfortable (there was no space enough for a hand baggage....). There was no hot water from the sink in the bathroom, internet connection was very slow, especially in the bedrooms, and there was not adaptors at the reception (they only sell it for 5 pounds!).

  • 25th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

This is a lovely wee hostel in a converted church. It's in a residential area and therefore quiet at night, but also a short walk from Haymarket Station and therefore all the Edinburgh attractions. I stayed in a private room, which was basic but clean and a wonderful value for the money. Would definitely stay again.


97%

Impressing location in a former church. Fully equipped kitchen. Boxes (rooms) are a bit frousy since you can't regulate the heating.


100%

Best service and hotel I have been to in a while. Really really clean. Perfect atmosphere.

  • 24th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(114 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback