X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2720 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Welcomed back to the best backpackers in Edinburgh with open arms, as expected!


34%

To make it as a word, it was "horrible." The room was dirty and no sunlight. In small room, there were 10 beds so it was so crowded. There was no ladder to go upstair bed, so should jump up to the bed. Also, in downstair bed, we couldn't even sit up because the height was so low. There were only 4 toilets totally. There were no staff at midnight. I wanted to buy water so I waited about 20 mins but they didn't come. You should pay more if you want a towel or baggage storage after checking out.

  • 6th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was really nice to stay in Belford Hostel. I was a bit surprised though, that people in the common dining area did not talk much to each other. Mostly people were engaged with their laptops or phones. This was a bit a pitty. I liked the big kitchen, where everybody cooked somehow together. Staff was really kind and helpful. Thanks for that.


86%

Shower water was too hot.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel. Beds were comfy, rooms were clean, staff were great, only downfall was the boys showers being fairly dirty.


77%

A lovely little Hostel in a renovated old church which added to the experience... location is quite far out of town but buses are regular and it means that noise isn't a problem! Staff and people we shared a room with were friendly and the facilities were generally clean and well maintained. I would stay again!

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The only negative is they need more toilet facilities I was always waiting everytime I had to go

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

So cool, sleeping in a converted church! The private room was great, no noise from others or from outside. Perfectly close to the museum of modern art.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel is nice. The fact that it is in a old church is awesome. But the staff is not nice. We have to arrive in the morning in the hostel. And then the girl in the reception got very angry with me and my friends. But we put the time on HostelWolrd. So why is there a time setting on there? And any other staff that appears in the reception this girl starts to complain about our luggage. This was very rude.


60%

It's... Unique. Renovated from a church. Same group hostel as Edinburgh backpackers. Cheaper than there and not bad. A little bit far away but I prefer here. Large kitchen and they keep many free foods (oil, salt, tea, pasta or rice someone left etc. )


83%

Lovely old church building and very comfortable beds. Helpful, friendly staff.


74%

The price and performance rate is good.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Overall, the hostel was fine. However, some facilities such as shower and rooms need to be improved.


91%

very nice atmosphere. a little bit far from the centre bu still walking distance. toilet and showers are very small. beds are really comfortable. and again, atmospehere is very nice.


91%

I had an excellent stay, and would recommend to others. Comfortable room, quiet, friendly staff, clean and great value for money. Also quirky being in an old church.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice place to spend the night. Value for money based on the facilities it has. Walking distance to major attractions.


71%

Far from the city center but is a good place to stay... If you doesn't mather go on your feets to differents places, its a good place to stay...


80%

It was a room inside a room and you can not open a window for some fresh air. If you have an allergy for dust,do not go. Staff was amazing, friendly and helpfull. Distance to town was ok.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

Thanks. Liked kitchen, all facilities were there. Improvement : If the wifi is made accessible inside rooms as well, it will be even better.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Would have been nice if it had been built to absorb the old church feel...it was more like shacks put up within the church that block the beautiful architecture. Great security and location. Clean.


(111 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback