X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belford Hostel Reviews

6/8 Douglas Gardens, Edinburgh, Scotland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
3057 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The staff were helpful and friendly. Facilities were very clean and the all female dorm was decorated nicely.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff where very friendly and lovely more then happy to help all expect one grouchy lady who wasn't very happy to do anything, from what I hear this wasn't just a bad day she was having

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great Location, A little quiet at night, but very safe. Had a private room, and despite the room being small and the outlet being strangly located, loved everything else.

  • 28th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It's fine. Just far away from city center and supermarket. The staff are nice.


63%

You need to paint the walls of the television room to add some freshness, I stayed in the hostel in Penrith ND IT and it was much more modern and relaxing, just because it is a church does not excuse a lack of professionalism. It can smell musty and needs some air freshener.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Great hostel: helpful stuff, good services, showers are clean and work great, good kitchen, everything perfect during the five days I stayed there. Congratulations for the decorations around all the hostel, it looks great!

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The dorms were not very clean and rather stuffy. Male showers in a very inconvenient underground location, far from toilets. I reckon there would be a better and more exciting way to adapt a former church to a hostel!


71%

Good location and helpful staff, seen better days. Some parts like showers are clean and new, others like toilets although clean are a bit cramped! Well used hostel but needs some upgrading.


74%

I liked the idea of an old church being converted to a hostel and I think it had been done well. I think the toilet and shower facilities let the hostel down, as does the grumpy girl on the front desk. Otherwise I enjoyed my stay.

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Cool to see how a church can be used, though sound travels a bit to well in the huge open room over the dorms. The door slammed every time people entered the hallway to the dorms. Not much room in the bottom bunk but in general good beds. Nice with lockers to every bed and the key provided (did not have to bring own lock). Super friendly and helpful bearded Aussie guy in the reception at arrival. The other guy not so talkative, kinda just had to be there, seemed a bit annoyed...


94%

I didn't get his name, but the Australian guy who worked on reception was awesome. Exceptional customer service, super helpful and friendly.


97%

this is one of my favorite hostels. the rooms are small but the beds are clean, there are personal lockers beside (most) beds & others are just outside. the hostel is inside a 19th century church, pretty damn cool. kitchen is clean and has everything you need, showers are hot, manually powered showers (no pushing a button repeatedly here!) and the bar serves cheap drinks all night long. ONE THING: remove the shower curtains! they stink and they're useless and falling down. otherwise perfect!


91%

I had an amazing stay there! Excellent staff and a very good atmosphere. I really enjoyed this hostel!

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

amazing modern art hostel inside an authentic historic church! staff friendly and always available, facilities such as beds, showers new or even brand new. rather clean, very close to the old city centre. water in the bathroom's warm, but radiators go off automatically very early in the night. alcohol not allowed inside for its sold by the hostel bar. i'd definitely go back there if i'm ever in edinburgh again.

  • 17th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel located a short walk from central Edinburgh. Situated in a beautiful old church. The room was large and bathrooms were clean with plenty of hot water. Big kitchen with everything you need to cook for yourself. Staff are super friendly and helpful(Especially the guy with the beard). Couldn't be happier with value for money and would recommend anyone staying in Edinburgh to stay here. Will return to Belford when I come back to Edinburgh


63%

Hotel Bedford is about 10 mins away from the main high street and Haymarket train station so the location is good but a long walk down Palmerston Place. Building is lovely, quirky and has lots of style however lacks any sort of atmosphere!! There is a common room with a pool table, massive kitchen (very well stocked), loads of tables and chairs, a quiet TV room, a bar which serves breakfast also for an additional £3. But no one seems to talk to one another. Strange for a hostel! Smelly rooms!


83%

Fun atmosphere, and very friendly staff only downside I can say was the lack of wifi throughout the hostel, but that's a small complaint.


83%

Very good place, clean and nice vibe, walking distance to city center.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

good: great showers (hot, good water pressure), good staff, big lockers, cool atmosphere bad: it was a bit cold at night


69%

It is a nice and clean place. The wifi there is terrible and the corridors are cold. The acoustic of the rooms are bad, so it can be a little bit annoying. The staff in the reception made a mistake with my bed and one day before my departure a guy entered in my room saying that I was in the wrong bed, and I think it was very unpolite since the mistake wasn't mine.


(139 results)


View all Edinburgh Hostels

Please give us your feedback