X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bell & Hare Hostel Reviews

724-726 High Rd, Tottenham, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

77%

Rating
213 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 62%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

26%

Worst hostel I have ever been in. Not really clean, awful bed, and the personnel is probably the worst part. And of course, as a result, bad atmosphere. Every client has a long face. Don't go.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I only stayed for one night and collapsed into bed pretty much as soon as I got there so I can't really comment too much. Didn't see the kitchen, but the bedroom and showers were very nice and clean, although the stairs up from the pub were inexplicably filthy! The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there are lockers for each bed but you have to bring your own padlock. All in all, great for what I paid.


89%

Staff very friendly and helpful. The hostel is spotless clean. A little bit out of the way if you want to go clubbing in the west end by night, but if you want to explore London's day time attractions it is an excellent in a good location. A lot of buses run just outside the hostel run to both north, south west and east of London which makes going sightseeing from there easy and convenient. I highly recommend anyone staying at the Bell and Hare, you will enjoy it. Susanne

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I stayed at the Bell & Hare this summer for three weeks while I was looking for work in London. Wouldn't have changed a thing! By far, the best value accommodation in London. (It's not in the nicest part of town but there is a 24hr bus that stops literally right outside the door so no big deal). I would especially recommend this hostel to anyone staying here for more than a weekend. The staff is amazing- (Lola I loveeee you ;)) the kitchen is solid, good security, and there's a bar downstairs!


83%

Good place, friendly staff, nice rooms, transportation worked okay (bus+underground). Would stay here again!


97%

I had a great stay, the rooms and bathrooms were clean, ideally there could be another w/c although this was no great grievance. Although slightly out of the way for the price I think the slightly extra distance is worthwhile. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Also having access to the two computers in the hostel was very welcome! Would recommend!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

One girl from staff was very friendly and actually made effort to talk to customers, the remaining few didn't bother. There are small lockers in rooms (only big enough for your wallet and documents, etc.) but you need your own padlock. Security is decent, you need a swipe card to open the hostel door and a key to get to the room.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A well run, friendly hostel. It's not the best location compared to other hostels (unless you want to watch a spurs match) and it is a short train or bus journey from 7 sisters tubestation. However, it is clean, has a decent kitchen, outside balcony type area and good bathrooms. Could do with another bathroom though as there can be quite a wait in the morning. The drinks in the pub are cheap compared to the pubs in the town centre. The barmaids have good taste in music! Definitely stay again.


66%

Everything good except for the location!


69%

A toilet broke and flooded the room as well as leaked down to the kitchen below late in the evening. Was very upset about it and manager refused to give any type of discount for the nightmare.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Upon check out, we deeply apologized for the hassle which was taken care of immediately, you didn't seem to have an issue as those things happen which can be unfortunate. Nor did you ask for a discount. We do apologize once again.

89%

This was a great hostel to stay at during my time in London! While it was a longer ride on the tube than I expected, it allowed me to get comfortable with the city and the public transportation. The staff was really friendly and were great hosts while there. The room and beds were really clean, and the bathrooms were nice too!

  • 26th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Probably the best hostel I've used in London so far,


71%

The Aussie girl on reception was lovely! The hostel is fine if you're looking for just a few nights. It's a bit of a hike on the train from central London but Tottenham is a pretty cool place to be. The bedrooms are ok if not a little cramped and there was not much atmosphere (maybe because England had been kicked out of the World Cup already). Lockers in the rooms and free internet was nice. Bathrooms could have been cleaner.


86%

This was one of the best hostels I stayed at in terms of value. The beds and showers and kitchen were fine, not necessarily better than anywhere else. The best thing was that their computers were actually functional and reasonably new, and free, unlike most hostels (other places charge you for bad computers. Bell & Hare lets you use nice computers for free.) It's a little far out of the way, but is still accessible, and its location means there is much cheaper food available nearby.


69%

It was cheap but it was a 30 minute walk to the closest tube so it took over an hour to get to central London. The hostel was nice but the surrounding area wasn't


94%

you have wonderful people working there. i loved them all. i am glad you are taking care of the backyard. down the road i always found a cup of tea to wake me up. i hope the royals get the same treatment. i will be back love harry

  • 15th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you ever so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to have you both stay with us. We hope to see you again! safe travels. Love from all the girls at The Bell.

91%

Staff was very friendly! Thanks for a good stay.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you guys again.

91%

Laid back cool atmosphere. Easily accessible computers with internet access, and bathrooms are clean. Really enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your positive review. Glad you enjoyed your stay, hope Germany treats you well on your next adventure. :)

97%

Amazing place and the manager Lola is the sweetest, kindest and most friendly person you can ask for (and super fun too). She actually moved the bed arrangements around so that I could sleep in the same room as my friends. It's spotlessly clean in the living areas, and there is a fully equipped kitchen which pretty much never happens in hostels. I don't know how they keep it so tidy with people constantly coming and going, but they do.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It was an absolute pleasure to have you stay with us! Thank you for your kind words, we all try our hardest to make our guests happy. Hope to see you again for a rematch of King's Cup!

100%

Overall this hostel proved to be a good fit to my needs and expectations. If it isn't 24/7 clean is because clients don't clean behind them. It's absurd expect having someone ready to clean after you every second. At first glance your choosing will be biased by the distance from the city center but before making any rush decision you need to know that arriving to this hostel is only a matter of time and patience. You have the tube or the train until Seven Sisters and from there plenty of buses

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(63 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback