X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bellas Artes Hostel Rio Reviews

Rua Candido Mendes, 479, Gloria-Subida para Santa Teresa, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
17 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 67%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Cool common space, nice breakfast. Our room didn't have AC though, that's definitely a con in Rio. Awesome rooftop terrace with bar and great view. Great place for the little money they charge.


29%

This place is a nightmare. The owner is a very hostile and abrasive lady. If you check the many reviews I have done you can see I have stayed in tons of hostels with great experiences had. That was not the case here. When we arrived the room was a sweltering 107 degrees F. The room is advertised as having air conditioning, however the A/C unit is wired outside of the room and controlled by the owner whom informed us that when we signed in we waived our right to use the Air conditioning.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Bellas Artes Hostel Rio are really apologize for your disappointed. We could see you are not happy here which is really important to us is make our guests happy. You can check others reviews about us.Probably you are looking for a pousada or a nice Hotel with more infra. We are value for money and look for a fair price. Because it we looked for another place, arrange a cab and gave your money back. Hope you have a really nice experience in the marvelous city!!!

91%

Excellent locaion near Gloria Metro, near supermarkets, nice kitchen, good breakfast, and air con dorms at night. Nice helpful staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Lawrence. We are in the great part of the city. Close to downtown and easy to get at the beach. We are here for anything to help if you come back to Brazil! Best wishes!

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
37%

I booked a double with private bathroom on HW but I got a twin & no private bathroom - blatant misleading advertising on HW - they only offered R20 discount off price of R160! The room was stark and the doors to the balcony didn't lock either. They were pushy with tour sales and charged 20-25% more than other places. Staff tried to book an expensive airport shuttle and not a taxi that I asked for. They only want to make money and were rude. Also the internet only worked in the reception area!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are really surprised about this review. This guest made a reservation in a room that we don't even has anymore (HW error). So instead of paying R$160 for a night, we charge him R$120,80 (almost R$40 each night of discount). About tours, we indicated him a FREE Walking Tour in Downtown, totally FREE of charge. At check-out time, the guest ask us to book a transfer service in advance, of course is a little bit more expensive then a normal cab. We are really sorry, but we did our best!

89%

Great place to stay. The location is great - close to Gloria metro station, and about a 10-minute walk from Santa Teresa, which is also a nice area. The staff were very friendly and always available to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Mark!!! It was really great to heve you here!! Come back to Bellas soon!!! hugs.

91%

well...what can i say....rio is wonderful and in that city there are many hostels BUT....BELLAS ARTES GUEST HOUSE IS THE BEST....why is the best?? because wonderful people WORK THERE!always and i repeat always ready to help anyone....the location is good because is near to all....is clean, and the atmosphere is amazing....i love the owners they are so friendly!!! i been in rio 2 times and 2 times i went there....now the adress is changed but also the new house is really good...THANKS FOR ALL!!!!




View all Rio de Janeiro Hostels

Please give us your feedback