X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belsize House Reviews

40 Belsize Park Gardens, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
744 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Really friendly staff and only a 5 minute walk from Belsize station. Excellent!


71%

Belsize house is located in a very nice area 5 min walking from the tube station, the value for money is excellent however the cleanliness isn't up to standards. The breakfast they serve is very poor but overall not so bad if you planning to stay for a short time.


57%

Good Location, easy to get to with the tube. We stayed in a twin room, was okay but abit small and crammed. Was insanely hot in july, and no AC... The shared toilets and shower did not seem clean (the toilet were NOT clean, and didnt want to try out the not-so-hygienic looking shower). Had a sink in the room, which was nice. Free wifi in the room. Abit annoying that the cleaning-lady just locked herself in every morning, especially if you want to sleep in. Altso very loud beween the walls.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

To be honest i love Belsize park mostly due to the neatness of the bathroom and the toilet. However, sometimes i have the sense of lack of security in the no. 30 since there is no reception . Having stayed in no.2 bedroom of Belsize house annex (no 30) sometimes people stand in front of the building and smoke and the smoke comes right into the bedroom ie no. 2 which is on the ground floor with its big window close to the entrance to the building. Apart from this, I think everything is all right.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Good value hostel near to belsize park in a good residential area.


86%

Good opinion in general. The only issue was the impossibility to actually take a shower (available a tub with no hose): to be improved.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff was very nice and accommodating, the room spacious and clean; will definitely come back!

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


83%

I stayed in a shared room and I was nicely surprised because it was quite big. Nice room mates, the staff is friendly and the location is excellent. Quiet and beatiful neighborhood very close to everything. Maybe the best hostel I have ever been for this price. Just one "but": showers are too small. Very safe and quiet hostel. I highly recommend it

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

If "free breakfast" means that you have to pay 4£, maybe they do not have understood the meaning of FREE. If you would like to do a relaxing shower.. well, it is not gonna be so relaxing. You have to keep the botton pressed, if not the water does not come. I like to do hot showers, but there the water was BOILING and i was not able to change the temperature. My room was really nice but so hot and airless, even if windows were all opened. On the other hand, staff and location were fine.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Average hostel, away from everything, staff guy at front desk didn't seem to be in a talkative mood or give me much details about the hostel/things to do. Not overly impressed, but it was decent enough for my stay in London.


63%

Unfortunately no longer offers free breakfast, despite what HostelWorld says. Have option to pay £4.95 for breakfast. Waited 20 min before someone was at reception to check me in. Wasn't given much info, so ask about things like wifi up front. No kitchen facilities for guests to use nor common room so people eat in their rooms. Many long term residents/guests, so it's a quiet hostel. In a nice residential neighborhood, good place to get good night's sleep. About 25 minute walk to Camden.


71%

Beautiful old house in a quiet, affluent suburb. 5 minutes walk from underground station, 15 mins from Central London. Split over two properties 2 mins away from each other, slightly annoying that there isn't a kitchen/common area in both. The kitchen is closed except for meal times. The staff were friendly once you started talking to them, but I had to ask a lot of questions about fairly basic things like internet, facilities etc. Basic bathroom & shower.


89%

Always a great place to stay :D Only minor suggestion might be to clean door handles more often (corridors, bathrooms etc) as they feel a bit grubby. Also another round of loo cleaning would be great - they often get a little untidy after a day (or however long) of use. Maybe you could do a quick wizz round to tidy in evening rather than full disinfectant?


100%

Perfect, thank you! I will be returning for sure.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed staying at this place! I came to London to visit Camden rock festival and was worrying about I will be locked out because I came back really late both days, but it was fine! The room was clean, with fresh bed linen and warm blanket, however the shower floor was a little bit slippery, but still clean and ventilation worked well. Excellent location, just three minutes walk to Belsize Park tube station. Would reccomend this place to everyone and will definitely come back=)

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice and tidy place. Looked like the average age was a bit older in this hostel. Only one tube from belsize park, but okay anyhow! No own key for the main entrance for me during my stays there, which means it could been hard to come into the house in the night for example...


49%

The staff tried to charge us more than we had to pay on arrival. We also booked a "double bed room" however we got given two singles and told to push them together. Housekeeping barged into our room while we were naked. Although in a beautiful area of London - we definitely won't be returning to Belsize House.


91%

Very good place to stay, incredible staff, they are very nice and helpful! I strongly recommend this place!

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Always a good night's sleep :) Excellent staff.


71%

My concern with the security was that anyone could enter the hostel by ringing the door buzzer and walking quickly past the front desk in another room. There was no place for valuables to be stored (metal baskets that could be locked with my own locks). The location was in a very safe area and a short walk from the Underground. The rooms were very clean and came with a nightstand and dresser, which were nice to have. Excellent value for the quality of the room and bed. And free breakfast!

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(36 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback