X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Belsize House Reviews

40 Belsize Park Gardens, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
738 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Good value hostel near to belsize park in a good residential area.


86%

Good opinion in general. The only issue was the impossibility to actually take a shower (available a tub with no hose): to be improved.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

If "free breakfast" means that you have to pay 4£, maybe they do not have understood the meaning of FREE. If you would like to do a relaxing shower.. well, it is not gonna be so relaxing. You have to keep the botton pressed, if not the water does not come. I like to do hot showers, but there the water was BOILING and i was not able to change the temperature. My room was really nice but so hot and airless, even if windows were all opened. On the other hand, staff and location were fine.

  • 19th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

Average hostel, away from everything, staff guy at front desk didn't seem to be in a talkative mood or give me much details about the hostel/things to do. Not overly impressed, but it was decent enough for my stay in London.


63%

Unfortunately no longer offers free breakfast, despite what HostelWorld says. Have option to pay £4.95 for breakfast. Waited 20 min before someone was at reception to check me in. Wasn't given much info, so ask about things like wifi up front. No kitchen facilities for guests to use nor common room so people eat in their rooms. Many long term residents/guests, so it's a quiet hostel. In a nice residential neighborhood, good place to get good night's sleep. About 25 minute walk to Camden.


71%

Beautiful old house in a quiet, affluent suburb. 5 minutes walk from underground station, 15 mins from Central London. Split over two properties 2 mins away from each other, slightly annoying that there isn't a kitchen/common area in both. The kitchen is closed except for meal times. The staff were friendly once you started talking to them, but I had to ask a lot of questions about fairly basic things like internet, facilities etc. Basic bathroom & shower.


89%

Always a great place to stay :D Only minor suggestion might be to clean door handles more often (corridors, bathrooms etc) as they feel a bit grubby. Also another round of loo cleaning would be great - they often get a little untidy after a day (or however long) of use. Maybe you could do a quick wizz round to tidy in evening rather than full disinfectant?


100%

Perfect, thank you! I will be returning for sure.

  • 30th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Really enjoyed staying at this place! I came to London to visit Camden rock festival and was worrying about I will be locked out because I came back really late both days, but it was fine! The room was clean, with fresh bed linen and warm blanket, however the shower floor was a little bit slippery, but still clean and ventilation worked well. Excellent location, just three minutes walk to Belsize Park tube station. Would reccomend this place to everyone and will definitely come back=)

  • 29th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Nice and tidy place. Looked like the average age was a bit older in this hostel. Only one tube from belsize park, but okay anyhow! No own key for the main entrance for me during my stays there, which means it could been hard to come into the house in the night for example...


49%

The staff tried to charge us more than we had to pay on arrival. We also booked a "double bed room" however we got given two singles and told to push them together. Housekeeping barged into our room while we were naked. Although in a beautiful area of London - we definitely won't be returning to Belsize House.


91%

Very good place to stay, incredible staff, they are very nice and helpful! I strongly recommend this place!

  • 16th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Always a good night's sleep :) Excellent staff.


71%

My concern with the security was that anyone could enter the hostel by ringing the door buzzer and walking quickly past the front desk in another room. There was no place for valuables to be stored (metal baskets that could be locked with my own locks). The location was in a very safe area and a short walk from the Underground. The rooms were very clean and came with a nightstand and dresser, which were nice to have. Excellent value for the quality of the room and bed. And free breakfast!

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice and friendly place, quiete location and very close to tube station. Rooms were simple and clean, staff very helpful.

  • 12th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Pro: I booked a bed in a four-person-dorm and they put me in a two-person flat; it is rather quite in the rooms; rather central to the northern part of inner city; fast wifi Con: You hear every door slamming outside your room (hapening often); the cleanliness is average, while the bathrooms are rather dirty (a lot of mould on the walls); beds were squeaking all of the time and mattresses were realy old and used; washing is rather expensive (3.20£ per load)

  • 6th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Fantastic location and even better value for money. It's certainly not the ritz, and you get what you pay for - simple sparse room. The rooms were quiet, comfortable and clean. Bathrooms were few and far between but at no point did I queue. Would recommend for those on budget constrained travel.


46%

The toilet on the 3rd floor was constantly clogged. The location is not as great as many reviewers had made it sound. So glad I only had to stay one night. Will never recommend to somebody.

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

It was uncomfortable not to have a kitchen or at least a dinning room for a free use. The dinning room was only for who payed the meals (and they were at an inconvenient tine for us). The beds were quite unconfortable, very old matrassess. But it was good not to have bunk beds. If you want to practice your English and you have Spanish as a mother tongue, this is not a good place! A lit of the staff spoke Spanish!


89%

Security: Great scan lock system for entrance. No locks in room. Location: Literally 8 minutes' walk from station and very easy to find. Staff: Great check-in provided. Check-out could be better but will let it pass. Atmosphere: Just stayed for 1 night so cannot comment accurately. Cleanliness: Just about clean and tidy enough for a short stay. Value of Money: Great Facilities: Just about ok Overall: Definitely will be back for short stays Suggestion: Just put some locks in the room.


« first « Prev 1 2
(31 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback