X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bendigo Hotel Reviews

125 Johnston st, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
185 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Good location, nice staff, and great atmosphere. It's a pretty small place, which makes it a great place to stay for a few weeks as it's never too busy so if you have to work etc. can get quite noisy downstairs but it's normally over by midnight, and they're honest that the place is first and foremost a venue so no complaints there, plus if you like watching bands you can go to all the gigs for free. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne.

  • 9th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

Is a good place to spend a few days close to all the gay venues in Melbourne. If you like rock and roll this is the place for you.


100%

Great location. 5 min walk to tram, 10 min walk to train station. I been in Australia for a while and have stayed at this hostel a few times for weeks at a time, great atmosphere and awesome group of backpackers. It's a small hostel, witch is great! Def has a cozy family feel to it.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome. Great price, great atmosphere. Items off the bar menu are $5. Loud at night due to the concerts that play in the bar downstairs, however by staying at the hostel you get to see them for free. Overall well worth it


100%

I absolutely adore this place. Great music, reasonable drinks, clean facilities. The shared bathroom was usually available even fully booked. The location seems somewhat grimy at first glance, but was an amazingly vibrant and colourful place to wander around. I'll definitely be checking back in on my way home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really looking forward to your return. Best review this year - don't think it can be trumped. :-)

80%

Beds are very comfortable, there aren't many bathrooms but it never became a problem even though the place was fully booked. It's kept quite clean and the hostel cat is too cute. I'm not crazy about the location though. It doesn't seem like a great neighborhood, it's far from the city center and quite a walk to the metro station. Overall a good stay though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Emily really enjoyed her cuddles with you. Thank you so much for your post. Next time your in melbz please drop by for a visit. Cheers, Tiff

86%

Very nice welcome from the owners (Tiff and Guy), very young, nice, easy going people!! Lovely atmosphere between the resident of the hostel, found such very good friends!! easy to find, not far away from the centre. Nice location close to Fitzroy. Not really expensive, clean accommodations.. I recommend it to all backpackers, you'll find yourself as if you are at home!!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Could not have asked for a better place to stay, the staff were super and the building is so funky fresh, Bendigo has everything you need including a family like bond with other guests. Highly recommended!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed my stay there. Good music and nice people!


86%

awesome hostel to stay at, met some great people and the location made it very easy to get to cbd

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great lot of people felt very at home while we were there

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff and the place has lots of personality and has a cool punk/rockbar./ louise and moa the swedish girls

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Louise and Moa, thank you so much for your awesome review - it made my day. Cheers, Tiff.

46%

Wifi doesn't work, owner admitted the men's toilets were never really clean so everyone used the ladies and could smoke in the common room which made the whole place stink!


66%

Live music almost every night. It might be a good thing it's up to you. Very noisy though. Only 1 shower and 1 toilet for the whole premise. A bit ridiculous... Location and staff very good.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
To all who may read this review; this guest was with us for a total of 1 night & checked out early the next morning. Please note: there are 2 separate toilets up stairs, 2 separate showers upstairs & 9 toilets downstairs. I can only guess that this guest did not see the other separate shower, wash room & toilet because he was with us for just the 1 night. Please also note: we are a live music venue and guest must read our clear & detailed description thoroughly before they book with us.

80%

Melbourne is expensive for everything.But the room is really worth the money. My friend and I were in a double room. The room was old but good enough with microwave and fridge. The staff are friendly. After all it is a rather comfy place to stay in. Strongly recommend it If you don't mind the Livehouse downstairs at the first floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for posting a review. It means a great deal to me and Louise to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers, Tiff

100%

Such a great hostel to stay at! Good location and prices Tiff who manages it is amazing!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thank You so much for your review.

100%

Easily the best hostel experience I've had in Australia yet. Clean rooms and toilets, good bar food, friendly and attentive staff, and great location. Just an all around great atmosphere. If you're into rock 'n' roll culture, live music and authentic people, you'd be wise to seek this joint out.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You da best. Thank you for this most excellent review it means a lot to me, and when hostelworld does the rating of guests i will give you 100 percent. :-)

100%

The location is the best of any hostel in the city. Out of the CBD so you're not surrounded by only business people. Collingwood is a great place to start your time in Melbourne. It's got heaps of good food, music and coffee all around the place. Seriously. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Staff is real cool, friendly, and relaxed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you guys. and that's a smashing great review :-)



View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback