X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bendigo Hotel Reviews

125 Johnston st, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
197 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 90%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Good hostel in a great suburb of the city! It was perfect for what I wanted, well located, surrounded by a bunch of great pubs, cafés and eclectic shops. The common room was OK. The computer is very slow, pretty useless actually. I would've liked to have more glasses, mugs etc in the kitchen, but it was no big deal, I knew what I was expecting. I am not a fussy person and get by with the basics, so this was more than enough for me. Met some very cool people there too. I had a great experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your excellent review. Thank you for letting me know about the computer; i think this week i will do a big clean up on it. :-)

100%

Amazing place in a fab location with awesome staff :)


74%

You have to know that the hostel is on top of a metal pub. All though nobody of us staying here really likes rock it's more funny than annoying. Staff is very friendly, linen and towels provided and clean.


100%

Best place to stay in the whole world! Tiff and the team are utter legends. Warm, hospitable, rocking.

  • 15th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30


91%

Great little “old school” hostel with heaps of atmosphere, community, and helpful staff! Unsurprisingly, the place lives up to the Rock’n’Roll atmosphere that you should expect if you read the description, so it might not be for everybody, but if you can get down with that then look no further! Collingwood and the neighboring Fitzroy are my favorite places in Melbourne and provide lots of amenities and entertainment, while not being terribly touristy.


100%

It was exactly what I expected based on previous reviews. Very relaxed homely feel to it since it is a quite small hostel and the staff is wonderful - very helpful and friendly. They even have an house pet, a lovely cat named Emily who you can cuddle with when the nights get cold. The place looked surprisingly clean and was cleaned every day. Cheap food and a bar just downstairs, lots of cool places to shop/eat and street art everywhere around. Booked for 2 nights, stayed for a week more.

  • 11th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for such an generous and awesome review. I found the photo you left for me. Come back anytime you like. :-)

80%

Was a good stay. Friendly staff made it very welcoming and its biggest selling points i would think are, its a cheap bed, close to the CBD, has a bar downstairs and has the potential of making friends with fellow tourists in your dorm.The Bendigo is definitely a place i would be happy to go back to.

  • 18th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

i always stay here when in Melbourne and they play great gigs there to on the weekend


100%

Good location, nice staff, and great atmosphere. It's a pretty small place, which makes it a great place to stay for a few weeks as it's never too busy so if you have to work etc. can get quite noisy downstairs but it's normally over by midnight, and they're honest that the place is first and foremost a venue so no complaints there, plus if you like watching bands you can go to all the gigs for free. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Melbourne.


100%

BEST HOSTEL EVER. GREAT STAFF, GREAT PEOPLE, LIVE BANDS AND MUSIC DOWNSTAIRS EVERY NIGHT AND IF YOU WANNA CHILL THEN THE COMMON ROOM UPSTAIRS IS THE PLACE TO BE. YOU'LL MAKE FRIENDS IN NO TIME! LOCATION IS PERFECT. COLLINGWOOD IS THE COOLEST AREA IN MELBOURNE WHETHER YOUR INTO ART, MUSIC OR JUST EATING AS THERES A TRILLION AWESOME CAFES AND RESTO ALL AROUND! STAFF IS AWESOME, SUPER CHILL, ALWAYS THERE TO HELP YOU WHATEVER YOU NEED! THE BEST PLACE TO STAY AT IN MELBOURNE FOR SURE!

  • 2nd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
LOVE YOU, THIS YEARS BEST REVIEW.

74%

Great value for the money, a bit out of the CBD though. Still plenty to do around though. You stay on top of a music venue, great if you're a music lover. Melbourne as a whole is and amazing city. Could be cleaner, but if you're only staying a short time it's perfect


51%

Is a good place to spend a few days close to all the gay venues in Melbourne. If you like rock and roll this is the place for you.


100%

Great location. 5 min walk to tram, 10 min walk to train station. I been in Australia for a while and have stayed at this hostel a few times for weeks at a time, great atmosphere and awesome group of backpackers. It's a small hostel, witch is great! Def has a cozy family feel to it.

  • 5th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Awesome. Great price, great atmosphere. Items off the bar menu are $5. Loud at night due to the concerts that play in the bar downstairs, however by staying at the hostel you get to see them for free. Overall well worth it


100%

I absolutely adore this place. Great music, reasonable drinks, clean facilities. The shared bathroom was usually available even fully booked. The location seems somewhat grimy at first glance, but was an amazingly vibrant and colourful place to wander around. I'll definitely be checking back in on my way home.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Really looking forward to your return. Best review this year - don't think it can be trumped. :-)

80%

Beds are very comfortable, there aren't many bathrooms but it never became a problem even though the place was fully booked. It's kept quite clean and the hostel cat is too cute. I'm not crazy about the location though. It doesn't seem like a great neighborhood, it's far from the city center and quite a walk to the metro station. Overall a good stay though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Emily really enjoyed her cuddles with you. Thank you so much for your post. Next time your in melbz please drop by for a visit. Cheers, Tiff

86%

Very nice welcome from the owners (Tiff and Guy), very young, nice, easy going people!! Lovely atmosphere between the resident of the hostel, found such very good friends!! easy to find, not far away from the centre. Nice location close to Fitzroy. Not really expensive, clean accommodations.. I recommend it to all backpackers, you'll find yourself as if you are at home!!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Could not have asked for a better place to stay, the staff were super and the building is so funky fresh, Bendigo has everything you need including a family like bond with other guests. Highly recommended!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed my stay there. Good music and nice people!


86%

awesome hostel to stay at, met some great people and the location made it very easy to get to cbd

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(22 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback