X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Bendigo Hotel Reviews

125 Johnston st, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
174 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Beds are very comfortable, there aren't many bathrooms but it never became a problem even though the place was fully booked. It's kept quite clean and the hostel cat is too cute. I'm not crazy about the location though. It doesn't seem like a great neighborhood, it's far from the city center and quite a walk to the metro station. Overall a good stay though.


100%

Could not have asked for a better place to stay, the staff were super and the building is so funky fresh, Bendigo has everything you need including a family like bond with other guests. Highly recommended!

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed my stay there. Good music and nice people!


86%

awesome hostel to stay at, met some great people and the location made it very easy to get to cbd

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great lot of people felt very at home while we were there

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Friendly staff and the place has lots of personality and has a cool punk/rockbar./ louise and moa the swedish girls

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Louise and Moa, thank you so much for your awesome review - it made my day. Cheers, Tiff.

66%

Live music almost every night. It might be a good thing it's up to you. Very noisy though. Only 1 shower and 1 toilet for the whole premise. A bit ridiculous... Location and staff very good.

  • 29th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
To all who may read this review; this guest was with us for a total of 1 night & checked out early the next morning. Please note: there are 2 separate toilets up stairs, 2 separate showers upstairs & 9 toilets downstairs. I can only guess that this guest did not see the other separate shower, wash room & toilet because he was with us for just the 1 night. Please also note: we are a live music venue and guest must read our clear & detailed description thoroughly before they book with us.

80%

Melbourne is expensive for everything.But the room is really worth the money. My friend and I were in a double room. The room was old but good enough with microwave and fridge. The staff are friendly. After all it is a rather comfy place to stay in. Strongly recommend it If you don't mind the Livehouse downstairs at the first floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for posting a review. It means a great deal to me and Louise to hear how you enjoyed your stay with us. Cheers, Tiff

100%

Such a great hostel to stay at! Good location and prices Tiff who manages it is amazing!

  • 22nd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there Thank You so much for your review.

100%

Easily the best hostel experience I've had in Australia yet. Clean rooms and toilets, good bar food, friendly and attentive staff, and great location. Just an all around great atmosphere. If you're into rock 'n' roll culture, live music and authentic people, you'd be wise to seek this joint out.

  • 15th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You da best. Thank you for this most excellent review it means a lot to me, and when hostelworld does the rating of guests i will give you 100 percent. :-)

100%

The location is the best of any hostel in the city. Out of the CBD so you're not surrounded by only business people. Collingwood is a great place to start your time in Melbourne. It's got heaps of good food, music and coffee all around the place. Seriously. One of the best hostels I've ever stayed. Staff is real cool, friendly, and relaxed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you guys. and that's a smashing great review :-)

97%

If you don't like this place, you don't like Melbourne! Collingwood has history man, get with it!! I seriously don't want to leave, its like my new home

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel i have been to so far. Friendly staff, clean, cheap but good food and drinks, great bar, awesome bands that play from wed-sun, perfect. If you like bands this is heaven on earth. If you don't, they usually stop around midnight so no worries. If this was in Belgium i would come here every day. Keep it up!


100%

Originally only planned on staying here for 5 days, but am now here for my 5th week so far! Really friendly staff om hand to help if anything is needed, and met lot of cool people staying here. Drinks are cheap for hostel stayers as is the food at only $5 for stuff on the menu! Quite a laid back atmosphere in the day, picks up at night with the live bands on downstairs playing rock/metal etc (which im not a fan of lol). Really enjoying my stay, not leaving anytime soon!

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

It was cold and didn't smelled good. The beds were very loud and under the hotel is a bar, every night a band which you could hear very good. The washing machines were expensive and it wasn't that easy to get to the city. You had free wifi and and the kitchen wasn't that bad but we won't stay there again.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, please note: there are heaters in every room & the private rooms have the american styled oil heaters, which may not be a type of heater in other countries so it is understandable that you didn't see it. winter is very cold in Melbourne & it would be crazy to not supply heating. I feel terrible that you had a cold nights stay. We are a Live Music Venue first & foremost. This I won't apologise for. As a guest you are able to see some of the best International & local acts for free



View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback