Hostelworld.com

Bergen YMCA Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 1304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 1304 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.1

Because I arrived after 15.00h, the reception was closed (yes, this early) so I had to get my key from a locker in the building. All of this was explained in a very friendly mail, but it was weird because of course no one checked my passport. Anyone could have 'checked in' under my name. Not very safe. The rooms were nice and clean, the location is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

The place was great overall, but the showers sucked. The water was barely lukewarm. And there are no lockers in the dorms which I thought was a bit strange. It was inconvenient having to carry my passport and money everywhere with me including to the toilet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.9

I enyojed my stay there. The staff was kind and helpfull. It is realy close to the city centre, markets, pubs...everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
8.6

Brilliant location, so for that the price was really good. But dates, but otherwise the families were pretty good. I had some really loud people in my room which I think ruined the atmosphere a bit for me,, but otherwise it's a fairly basic hostel in a fantastic location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.1

Top hostel. Within a three-minute walk you'll find: Center of Bergen, Fish Market, Bryggen (UNESCO World Cultural Heritage), Shopping Center, Kaffemisjonen (very nice speciality coffee house )

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
6.9

Just a god place to sleep, nothing special. Too much strange people inside of hostel, makes people don't wanna stay at public space. Shower is poor, you need to keep pushing the button in order to make water fluent. Won't come back again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Nov 2016
8.9

best location and very nice terrace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Checked in late and checked out early, so didn't interact with any staff but the process was easy and communication with them beforehand was straightforward. Make sure you read the emails they send you, if you check in late you'll have to pay beforehand and get instructions to pick up keys. The lockers were all full during my stay, so didn't get to lock up my stuff. The atmosphere is very quiet in the hostel, didn't bump into more than a handful of people. The place and facilities were clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Nov 2016
10.0

Absolutely amazing. Went alone and met so many cool people in the kitchen. Stunning location. So close to everything. Probably my favourite hostel and city in Europe (and i've been to 30 countries)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Nov 2016
7.4

This hostel is very basic but clean. Shower in room 303 is dreadful but I moved to another room during my stay and there was a proper cubicle with a shower you did not have to keep pressing for water every few seconds which was much better. The location is excellent, within walking distance of all sights and the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.