Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bergen YMCA Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1327 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Jasonha19871411
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 59 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.0

The staff are very good, kind, polite and provide an excellent service. However,staffing hours are not 24/7,I have never seen security on the site, the place is like a prison, to go to the toilet you need a key card, to enter any room you need a key card. No drinking aloud at all, there is virtually no atmosphere and there are very limited plugs in the dorm rooms,I think I counted 2 plug for a 14 bed dorm.Bins on my second stay were over filled with food waste. Kitchen facilitie+Wi-Fi are good

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.1

Location is great and amazing. Security is cool, inside room is just trust Staffs are very gladly helping. Small room for 4 people, thin steel bed not only looks weak but noisy and not covered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • charleshill4119
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Not enough outlets in the room so extension cords were everywhere (still had to wait turn for a spot). Location was great but not a good hostel for meeting people in the offseason.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.0

It was very well located although there were no signs to help you get there in the city. Ihad to wait 10 min. in reception to do the check-in but everything else was fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • alazarov6571
  • Macedonia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Perfect place,everything good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2017
8.6

The showers are hot and good pressure, the rooms are ok and clean. The common cooking area has everything you need, though I imagine it would get pretty busy in high season. Improvements would be to have a 24-hr reception like most hostels and to have security lockers in the rooms! Apart from that, pleased with my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
9.1

This hostel was in the perfect location! Right next to the Bryggen houses, the funicular, and the dock where most fjord tours depart from. Directions to the hostel were easy to follow from the central train station. Hostel itself was clean and the kitchen was a good size. The staff were barely ever there, but we didn't really need them. You will need to pay about 10 nok for a towel. Very clean, and great location for price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Feb 2017
7.1

Because I arrived after 15.00h, the reception was closed (yes, this early) so I had to get my key from a locker in the building. All of this was explained in a very friendly mail, but it was weird because of course no one checked my passport. Anyone could have 'checked in' under my name. Not very safe. The rooms were nice and clean, the location is perfect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.9

The place was great overall, but the showers sucked. The water was barely lukewarm. And there are no lockers in the dorms which I thought was a bit strange. It was inconvenient having to carry my passport and money everywhere with me including to the toilet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Feb 2017
8.9

I enyojed my stay there. The staff was kind and helpfull. It is realy close to the city centre, markets, pubs...everything.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.