Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bergen YMCA Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1,247 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Bergen YMCA Hostel Located at Nedre Korskirkealmenning 4, , Bergen.
Bergen YMCA Hostel
Norway
Bergen 5017 Nedre Korskirkealmenning 4
83% 1247
60.3944059 5.3267383
Bergen YMCA Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Sep 2016
6.0

Pros -fantastic location, very close to the fish market, downtown area etc -kitchen to allow for cooking -comfortable beds Cons -two toilets on one level for 3 dorms totaling 45 people?! And have to walk downstairs for showers -rude staff. Had to wait 10 mins and literally grab a staff member walking past to be able to check in. This was DURING reception "opening" hours -no atmosphere. Not a good place for solo travelers looking to meet people

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Sep 2016
8.3

We stayed in a dorm for one night before leaving on a train from bergen so we checked in late and checked out early, but it seemed like a very nice hostel. I saw 'vegan friendly' on the window next to the door as well, but I did not have the chance to eat anything there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Sep 2016
8.3

Great location. Close to the Fish Market, Mount Floyen, the harbour, Bryggen, etc. Good kitchen facilities. Nice that each room had it's own washroom. Not much of an atmosphere at the hostel - wasn't super easy to meet people. All in all good value for the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Sep 2016
6.3

I think the no alcohol rule really ruined this hostel for me. The beers in Norway are so expensive and to crack a can on that roof terrace would have been ace. It lacked atmosphere. The showers are terrible, press a button every 30 secs to keep it running... Cramped dorms too with hardly any power points. And have to put down a deposit for a locker. I now have cash to get rid of because otherwise Norway can be travelled on a credit card. Location was great however and I found the place clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Sep 2016
8.9

This hostel is in the perfect location! It would be nice of they offered female dorms but sharing with a few guys really wasn't that bad. It just made changing a bit awkward. The lockers were on the small side so space was a little tight. Otherwise the views from the rooftop were fantastic. Again: if you care about location, THIS IS THE PLACE!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Sep 2016
9.1

Great location, right next to the harbour, in the middle of Bergen city. The check-in times felt a bit restricting, but not that it hurt my experience in any way. Great clean rooms and a great view from the 4th floor of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Sep 2016
7.1

Hostel does the trick. Right in the centre, and keeps quite quiet. No atmosphere though, not really much interaction between folk, which is a shame because the hostel has lots of space for socialising - especially a pretty cool roof terrace. Can't complain tbh, just would be cool with a bit more of a open social vibe

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Sep 2016
8.3

Great location. Fully equipped kitchen makes self catering easy in this very very very expensive city as is everywhere else in Norway. Enjoyable stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
6.0

Unfortunately I have to agree with many other reviewers - the only good part about this hostel was its location - the room was extremely small, difficult to move around with a luggage, we had only 2 outlets to charge (and the room had 6 people), there were no lights at each bed, and the shower in the room was defective. But the worst of all, the kitchenette in the room was dirty, with rotted food left over from other guests before us. The hostel did not inform us on what to do/rules of the house

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
5.4

Staff is friendly and really want to help you. When I arrived there the hostel was so dirty and with such a bad smell I really thought about leaving to another place. But I have met great people there so its kinda worth it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.