X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Bergen YMCA Hostel Reviews

Nedre Korskirkealmenning 4, Bergen, Norway

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
827 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

My umbrella has been stolen from the hall while I was in the toilet, but the staff offered me 100 NOK.


83%

Breakfast should be included in the stay

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It will be much better to expand the kitchen area.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff were excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfast was delicious.


71%

Excellent location but very simple otherwise. You get exactly what you pay for which is a clean place to sleep. No frills.


74%

It was a little noisy in the street at night. Our room was facing the back street. Maybe it was just because it was the tall ships race that weekend. We enjoyed the roof terrace. The beds and bathroom was comfortable.

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

The hostel is in great location , close to fish market, also the terrasse with the view on harbour is wonderful. We were in 4bed room, very small, no space for things, on upper beds no shelf, no light, at night noise from the street. The common kitchen very small and warm, no airing, with only 1 stove working, it is not enough for a plenty of people accomodated


94%

honestly, one of the best hostels I've been to. we were 2 in a four-bed room, with private shower and toilets, and it was very convenient. The roof terrasse was very nice with the 30 degrees weather we had. Best possible location. Kitchen with everything you need to cook. Good and affordable breakfastn with regards to Norway's prices. I highly recommand this hostel !

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The lack of air-conditioning or fan nearly killed me as an asthmatic in the hot and humid weather. Provisions of these might want to be considered. Also for breakfast, PLEASE include fresh fruit, healthier options. Our group had travelled through other ares of western Norway (Odda, Voss) and those were in abundance at the Hostels there, especially Voss.

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your suggestions for breakfast and we will take this into consideration. Unfortunately, the temperatures were extreme while you visited Bergen, but this is highly unusual for here. We tried to accommodate as many people as possible with fans, but since it does not usually get anywhere near those temperatures, it is generally unnecessary.

83%

Very overpriced stayed in a 6 bed dorm in Oslo for 50 Krone cheaper and here I had a 12-32 bed dorm range


57%

Bit expensive


86%

Staff were all very helpful and told us of the best places to go in Bergen! Whilst the showers were functional, the sharing of shower cubicles was a little odd!


60%

Security - no lockers in our room, had to rent ones that wouldn't fit a 75 L bag so we just kept it in our room Location - right in the middle, 20m from fish market Staff - nice enough, didn't ask them much Atmosphere - non existent. Didn't really run into anyone who wanted to socialize, no main things to meet other travelers or anything Cleanliness - decently cleaned Value - decent Facilities - nothing special to them, clean enough, Overall, just decent. worth it for location though.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


57%

small kitchen. no laundry room. How to escape from room in emergency situation? Hot


89%

The staff was wonderful. I would prefer a communal kitchen, but just happy to be able to cook there.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Since domitory rooms have between 16 to 32 beds, I think the hostel may needs to consider instal personal locker in the domitory rooms


83%

I was pleasantly surprised by our stay in Bergen. The hostel is in a great location in the city center with the fish market and Bryggen only a few minutes away while the train station is only a 15 minute walk. Loved the terrace and the view and met a lot of great people while staying there. Would definitely recommend it.


74%

Location is good, but just the dorm is a bit untidy and have some bad smell. But the common area is excellent to gather people there and meet friends there. Facilities are well provided, but just for kitchen, there is only one sink and 4-head stove seems to be not enoguh to cater a lot of people there. People required to wait for a long time to have stove to cook or to clean their stuff.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Best location if you're only in Bergen for a night or two. It's walking distance to the bus stops and harbor, which is nice because the city busses are quite expensive.


77%

Friendly staff and the cheapest place to stay in Bergen. It's weird to see old people hostelling, but they stay here too. The location is great, being so near the harbor. The showers were annoying-- you have to press a knob every 20 seconds to re-engage the water flow. That was my only complaint about the facility itself. I recommend staying here when in Bergen.


« first « Prev 1 2
(33 results)


View all Bergen Hostels

Please give us your feedback