Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Bergen YMCA Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1365 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Jun 2017
9.1

The kitchen was well stocked with any tool you could possibly need. The common room was comfortable, and there was even a separate dining room that was spacious. Room and ensuite bathroom were clean. It was nice that linens were included (it's very common to have to rent them in Scandanavia). The location could not be beat. There was even a terrace overlooking the harbor. Would definetly would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2017
7.7

I'm used to hostels and people coming in and out but 32 beds is just too big. The bunks are literally 2-3 feet apart so there isn't much room for bags or privacy for that matter. The showers were clean, and the bathrooms were good. The location is great! Really central and pretty easy to find. It's across th street from two grocery stores so that was a plus. They don't have much in terms of stuff provided in the kitchen other than plates, cups, utensils etc. But not bad!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th May 2017
6.9

I stayed 1 night last year and it was very clean and in an excellent location. Stayed last week for 1 night, checked in and room was very dusty and dirty, not cleaned properly, bathroom stunk of bacteria and urine. I asked for another room, they were accomodating and moved me. The next room was just as dirty and again bathroom stunk of urine and bacteria. They must use the same mop in every bathroom?? without disinfectant or bleaching chemicals. Its in an awesome spot right beside the pier.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Romemmvxii
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th May 2017
9.1

The hostel is 10-15mins walk from main bus/station. Located at the heart of all the attractions in the area. Security is really awesome. The rooftop terrace is really great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th May 2017
7.4

The Bergen YMCA Hostel was okay. Great location in the city center, and friendly staff. The beds were not very comfortable and lights were on all night. Shower area was nice, but rest of bathroom facilities were a bit less clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th May 2017
9.1

Great location for the price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd May 2017
9.1

Loved it. It was my first hostel stay so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was still great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th May 2017
7.7

Very well located hostel and a great option for the budget traveller given the cost of alternatives, but there is space for more competition in Bergen hostels. Overall I was happy. Some points worth noting: door swipe at entrance and all doors very secure, but no large lockers for bags either in dorm room or other area. Small lockers for valuables if you obtain key from reception. Atmosphere a little muted (May visit); no breakfast; communal kitchen out of use at peak times due to cleaning!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2017
8.0

Facilities and location are great and there is a lot of free food in the kitchen! However, the atmosphere could really be better. There is even a piano in the dining room but guest aren't aloud to use it (why??).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th May 2017
8.0

cold, unfriendly environment. The staff were friendly, but most people were allergic to socializing. Also, I didn't like how the reception wasn't open 24/7.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.